Online engagement on Indigenous procurement modernization 2019, what we heard

Background

As part of the federal government-wide procurement modernization agenda, Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) is reviewing the federal approach to Indigenous procurement, including the Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business (PSAB) which has been active for over 20 years.

The purpose of the review is to:

To date ISC has:

Engagement

The Government of Canada launched a wider public engagement to validate the findings from the discussion paper by posting it online for public comment. Indigenous people and businesses (and other interested parties) were given the opportunity to have a say in the policy that governs federal Indigenous procurement. Several in-person roundtable discussions were also held.

The engagement period was from April 15th to May 15th, 2019 and was posted on the Consultation and Engagement page of the Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) and Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) website.

The discussion paper was arranged into seven themes:

To elicit feedback and suggestions from all relevant parties, ISC sent out invitations to all registered Indigenous businesses in the Indigenous Business Directory and Indigenous partners. Separately, to meet constitutional requirements, Comprehensive Land Claims Agreement (CLCA) holders were also formally consulted through a separate process. ISC also invited the general public to participate in the engagement by posting on Facebook and Twitter over the span of the engagement period.

Interested parties were invited to provide input through three methods: email, fax, or by mail. Overall ISC received comments from 21 interested parties. These parties include: five CLCA holders, three non-Indigenous private sector organizations, four national Indigenous organizations and eight Indigenous businesses. All comments have been reviewed, summarized, and organized to correspond with the seven themes from the discussion paper.

What we heard

Theme 1: mandatory targets

Overall, several respondents from Indigenous and non-Indigenous organizations indicated that they want the federal government to adopt and implement mandatory targets. They believe that mandatory targets are an effective tool to increase accountability and that processes should be implemented to ensure targets are met. The majority of respondents agreed that a target should be set at 5% for each department and agency. Some respondents indicated that the target should be split to distinguish by product and services with a 4% minimum for services. Other respondents suggested that targets should be a "floor to build from" and "not a ceiling to achieve," thereby prompting departments and agencies to strive to go above and beyond what is set for them. The majority of these organizations agreed that reporting should be done on an annual basis. Some respondents suggested that reporting on targets may be either on an annual basis or longer term depending on the organizational capacity of the department or agency.

Theme 2: fostering a culture of awareness, trust and understanding

Overall, there is recognition from respondents that the federal government needs to foster a culture of awareness and understanding. All respondents agreed that a federal champion with the authority to affect change was necessary. Also, respondents indicated that federal procurement officers should be made more aware of Indigenous business capacity, build better relationships, and government should work to eliminate behavioral biases. To implement this change, one respondent suggested that training for procurement officers be done in collaboration with Indigenous groups. Another suggested that more awareness should be created for potential Indigenous business capacity.

There was general support for the re-evaluation of the concept of "value for money". One respondent indicated that many Indigenous businesses have higher costs, especially businesses directly connected to communities and tribal councils, and often find themselves serving 2 purposes: the contract cost containment and the Indigenous leadership or council’s need to see immediate financial benefits. They, in turn, are under a lot of pressure to provide socio-economic benefit to their communities. It was suggested that a revised system be integrated to acknowledge prospective suppliers that have Indigenous content in their business, and that the federal government’s request for proposal process include incentives for larger suppliers to have regional Indigenous partners.

Indigenous organizations and businesses suggested that a core set of social impact measures be developed into a measurement framework. Based on this measurement framework, Indigenous economic development initiatives can be measured for success and compare themselves to other initiatives in the Indigenous and non-Indigenous business sectors.

Systematically and regularly reassessing the federal procurement demand to identify opportunity areas was generally supported by Indigenous organizations. It was suggested that the federal government identify procurement trends that would allow Indigenous institutions, businesses and other parties to proactively engage with Indigenous communities in order to prepare for future opportunities in the supply chain.

Theme 3: Data collection

Respondents clearly indicated that there is a need for the federal government to improve its data collection practices and reporting requirements. Indigenous business respondents unanimously agreed that establishing an effective and timely data collection and reporting system would ensure all federal departments and agencies are engaged and can track against their mandated targets.

Indigenous organizations suggested that the federal government create an oversight committee that would include Indigenous participation to provide accountability and governance on data collection, along with annual public reports.

Indigenous businesses were more focused on tracking information in relation to how many Indigenous people were employed and how many sub-contractors were involved in a given project, how businesses qualified as Indigenous and where Indigenous peoples were engaged in the project.

Theme 4: Indigenous Business criteria and business directories

Several respondents indicated that the current criteria for Indigenous businesses are rigid and should be more flexible; modifying it would create more opportunities to participate in federal procurement. However, respondents also cautioned about making the definition more flexible. Some respondents indicated that flexible criteria could create situations where joint-ventures between Indigenous businesses and larger non-Indigenous businesses are created with no accountability for the Indigenous resources used in a contract. One respondent indicated that many non-Indigenous companies develop a partnership with Indigenous individuals then win the contract and do not hire any Indigenous employees. One respondent suggested that a policy should establish a certification process to qualify eligible businesses and how Indigenous peoples and communities will benefit. Another respondent suggested that the federal government consider adding a minimum percentage of Indigenous resources to be used or contracted through the resulting arrangements, in addition to changing the definition of Indigenous business.

Respondents generally supported a point-system to support a definition, because it is believed that it would expand the number of eligible Indigenous businesses. Furthermore, it would provide incentives for minority-owned and managed Indigenous businesses to increase Indigenous ownership, recruit and promote Indigenous managers, and employ more Indigenous staff. Some respondents cautioned that a points system would disadvantage smaller, more remote communities who have less access to specialized labour. One respondent suggested that the federal government should consider increasing capacity-building components into contracts such as training, social and economic community contributions, and Indigenous content.

Most respondents agreed that a centralized business directory is needed as it facilitates the search for Indigenous suppliers, and that CLCA business directories should also be recognized and used. However, respondents were less unified regarding third-party control and rights-bearing nations or organizations setting the criteria for identifying an Indigenous business. Although some respondents indicated that an Indigenous-run business directory would promote empowerment, trust and transparency, others cautioned that a third-party would reap all the benefits and set criteria creating biases which would disadvantage certain groups. It was suggested that a neutral third party be created and operated at arm’s length by the federal government with a more inclusive structure.

Theme 5: simplifying processes and reducing barriers to Indigenous participation in federal procurement process

Respondents indicated that they wanted to see the procurement process simplified, as this would effectively help Indigenous businesses. Generally, respondents favored Indigenous community or organization involvement earlier in the planning stages, and to better communicate procurement offers of set-asides for Indigenous businesses. They also cautioned that while simplifying the process may reduce barriers, reducing technical requirements would create a pool of underqualified businesses, thus promoting a race to the bottom and opening up the federal government to unnecessary risk. The goal should be to create favorable conditions for qualified first time bidders, ensuring technical capacity is maintained. It was suggested that notifications on set-asides be communicated earlier, and for the federal government to learn from other jurisdictions and work with the Office of Small and Medium Enterprises and PSPC to address issues raised by Indigenous businesses and small and medium-sized enterprises across Canada.

There is overall support for institution-building and third-party delivery led by Indigenous organizations on procurement services for businesses. The range of services suggested by respondents include training on federal government relations technical support and certification, matchmaking and forums where Indigenous businesses can build relationships and see contract projects on an annual basis. Suggestions for third party delivery included leveraging existing relationships by supporting existing organizations or support communities to deliver services.

Theme 6: building capacity

There is recognition by federal departments and agencies to identify Indigenous business capacity in opportune areas, so long as any changes honour CLCAs. It was suggested that Indigenous organizations provide systematic assessments of capacity to meet emerging federal contract demands. It was indicated that the government be mindful of businesses’ financial capacity when creating the conditions for increasing Indigenous participation in the federal supply chain.

Respondents support systematically and regularly assessing Indigenous business participation in procurement, while trying to increase the number of registered businesses in the Indigenous business directory. It was expressed that the current data does not capture all Indigenous procurement done by the federal government. There also seems to be a lack of willingness to enroll in the directory, which impacts the number of available and visible businesses in the directory. It was suggested that an Indigenous organization manage the business directory, thereby motivating businesses to register and making them more visible.

Respondents agreed that capacity building is necessary to increase Indigenous participation in the federal supply chain. This includes funding for training, education, and apprenticeship for Indigenous employees and employers. It was suggested that ISC lead the charge to increase awareness across the federal government.

Theme 7: Considerations on transforming the federal procurement process

In general, respondents were mixed over the use of set-asides. Those who disagreed believed that set-asides can have negative impacts since it could leave some communities disadvantaged, and can perpetuate the view that Indigenous businesses can only fulfill contracts that are directed at them. One respondent did agree in the broadening of mandatory set-asides and suggested that penalties be more severe for contractors who do not generate business, employment, and training opportunities for Indigenous communities.

Respondents were generally in agreement for requiring Indigenous benefit plans in larger contracts. It was suggested that the federal government place particular emphasis on the benefits rather than the number or value of contracts, as well as how the benefits are measured and reviewed. Another respondent indicated that while Indigenous benefits plans are a good idea, the monitoring and measuring after contract award is where the problem lies, and that joint-ventures must also be reviewed.

Overall, respondents did not provide clear indication as to whether they supported regional and distinctions-based approaches. Respondents did, however, provide caution when implementing such an approach and gave suggestions for making it more effective. Some respondents also cautioned that a regional and distinction-based approach would yield unexpected consequences when looking to maximize benefits to communities, particularly if a contract was awarded to an Indigenous business from outside of the contract area.

Furthermore, one respondent indicated that an effective Indigenous procurement policy recognizes the obligations contained in CLCAs related to procurement through policy provisions. Other respondents’ suggestions for this type of approach include: integrating incentives for larger businesses to have regional partners in their request for proposals, creating a pre-qualified list of regional Indigenous businesses, and setting regional targets.

Respondents all agree that the federal government needs to apply Indigenous procurement requirements to entities outside of the core federal government. Respondents suggested that the federal government require large contractors and suppliers to use diverse subcontractors and develop a federal-provincial/territorial approach in consultation with Indigenous communities to provide businesses more procurement opportunities. This could be done by establishing a committee within their respective province or territory.

Date modified:

Mobilisation en ligne sur la modernisation de l’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones de 2019 – ce que nous avons entendu

Contexte

Dans le cadre du programme de modernisation de l’approvisionnement à l’échelle du gouvernement fédéral, Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) examine l’approche fédérale en matière d’approvisionnement auprès des Autochtones, y compris la Stratégie d’approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones (SAEA) qui est en vigueur depuis plus de 20 ans.

Cet examen vise à :

À ce jour, SAC a :

Mobilisation

Le gouvernement du Canada a lancé un processus élargi de mobilisation du public pour valider les conclusions du document de travail et l’a mis en ligne pour que la population puisse commenter. Les peuples et les entreprises autochtones (et d’autres parties intéressées) ont eu l’occasion d’avoir leur mot à dire dans la politique qui régit l’approvisionnement fédéral auprès des entreprises autochtones. Plusieurs discussions en personne ont également eu lieu au sein de tables rondes.

La période de consultation s’est déroulée du 15 avril au 15 mai 2019 et a été affichée sur la page Consultation et mobilisation du site Web de Relations Couronne Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAANC) et de Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC).

Le document de travail s’articule autour de 7 thèmes :

Pour solliciter des commentaires et des suggestions de toutes les parties concernées, SAC a envoyé des invitations à toutes les entreprises autochtones inscrites dans le Répertoire des entreprises autochtones et aux partenaires autochtones. Par ailleurs, pour satisfaire aux exigences constitutionnelles, les signataires de l’Entente sur les revendications territoriales globales (ERTG) ont également été officiellement consultés dans le cadre d’un processus distinct. SAC a également invité le grand public à participer à la mobilisation en publiant sur Facebook et Twitter pendant la période de mobilisation.

Les parties intéressées ont été invitées à faire part de leurs commentaires par 3 moyens : par courriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste. En tout, SAC a reçu des commentaires de 21 parties intéressées. Ces parties comprennent 5 titulaires d’une ERTG, 3 organisations du secteur privé non autochtones, 4 organisations autochtones nationales et 8 entreprises autochtones. Tous les commentaires ont été examinés, résumés et organisés de manière à correspondre aux 7 thèmes du document de travail.

Ce que nous avons entendu

Thème 1 : cibles obligatoires

Dans l’ensemble, plusieurs répondants d’organisations autochtones et non autochtones ont indiqué qu’ils souhaitaient que le gouvernement fédéral adopte et mette en œuvre des cibles obligatoires. Ils croient que les cibles obligatoires sont un outil efficace pour accroître la responsabilisation et que des processus devraient être mis en œuvre pour s’assurer que les cibles sont atteintes. La majorité des répondants ont convenu qu’une cible de 5 % devrait être fixée pour chaque ministère et organisme. Certains répondants ont indiqué que la cible devrait être divisée de façon à distinguer les produits et services et qu’il faudrait fixer une cible d’au moins 4 % pour les services. D’autres répondants ont suggéré que les cibles soient un « plancher sur lequel on peut construire » et « non un plafond à atteindre », ce qui inciterait les ministères et les organismes à s’efforcer d’aller au-delà de ce qui est établi pour eux. La majorité de ces organisations ont convenu que des rapports devraient être présentés annuellement. Certains répondants ont suggéré que les rapports sur les cibles puissent être annuels ou à plus long terme, selon la capacité organisationnelle du ministère ou de l’organisme.

Thème 2 : encourager une culture de sensibilisation, de compréhension et de confiance

Dans l’ensemble, les répondants reconnaissent que le gouvernement fédéral doit favoriser une culture de sensibilisation et de compréhension. Tous les répondants ont convenu qu’un champion fédéral ayant le pouvoir d’apporter des changements était nécessaire. De plus, les répondants ont indiqué que les agents d’approvisionnement fédéraux devraient être sensibilisés davantage à la capacité des entreprises autochtones, établir de meilleures relations, et que le gouvernement devrait tâcher d’éliminer les préjugés comportementaux. Pour mettre en œuvre ce changement, un répondant a suggéré que la formation des agents d’approvisionnement se fasse en collaboration avec les groupes autochtones. Un autre a suggéré de sensibiliser davantage quant à la capacité potentielle des entreprises autochtones.

La réévaluation du concept « d’optimisation des ressources » a reçu un appui général. Un répondant a indiqué que de nombreuses entreprises autochtones ont des coûts plus élevés, surtout les entreprises qui sont directement liées aux collectivités et aux conseils tribaux, et qu’elles ont souvent deux objectifs : la limitation des coûts du contrat et la nécessité pour les dirigeants autochtones ou les conseils de voir des avantages financiers immédiats. À leur tour, ils subissent beaucoup de pressions pour obtenir des avantages socioéconomiques pour leur collectivité. Il a été suggéré qu’un système révisé soit intégré pour reconnaître les fournisseurs éventuels qui ont un contenu autochtone dans leur entreprise, et que le processus de demande de propositions du gouvernement fédéral comprenne des mesures incitatives pour que les grands fournisseurs aient des partenaires autochtones régionaux.

Les organisations et les entreprises autochtones ont suggéré qu’un ensemble fondamental de mesures de l’impact social soit élaboré en un cadre de mesure. À partir de ce cadre de mesure, la réussite des initiatives de développement économique des Autochtones peut être mesurée et se comparer à d’autres initiatives dans les secteurs des entreprises autochtones et non autochtones.

Les organisations autochtones appuyaient généralement la réévaluation systématique et régulière de la demande d’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral afin de déterminer les secteurs qui présentent des possibilités. Il a été suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral détermine les tendances en matière d’approvisionnement qui permettraient aux institutions autochtones, aux entreprises et aux autres parties de s’engager de manière proactive auprès des communautés autochtones afin de se préparer aux occasions futures dans la chaîne d’approvisionnement.

Thème 3 : collecte de données

Les répondants ont clairement indiqué que le gouvernement fédéral doit améliorer la façon dont il recueille les données et ses exigences en matière de production de rapports. Les répondants des entreprises autochtones ont convenu à l’unanimité que l’établissement d’un système efficace et opportun de collecte de données et de production de rapports permettrait de s’assurer que tous les ministères et organismes fédéraux sont mobilisés et qu’ils peuvent faire le suivi en fonction de leurs cibles prescrites.

Les organisations autochtones ont suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral crée un comité de surveillance qui comprendrait la participation des Autochtones pour assurer la responsabilisation et la gouvernance de la collecte des données, ainsi que des rapports publics annuels.

Les entreprises autochtones insistaient davantage sur le dépistage de renseignements relatifs au nombre d’Autochtones qui étaient employés et au nombre de sous-traitants qui avaient participé à un projet donné, sur la façon dont les entreprises se qualifiaient en tant qu’entreprise autochtone et de quelle manière les peuples autochtones participaient au projet.

Thème 4 : critères pour définir ce qu’est une entreprise autochtone et répertoires d’entreprises

Plusieurs répondants ont indiqué que les critères actuels de détermination d’une entreprise autochtone sont rigides et devraient être plus souples. Le fait de les modifier créerait plus d’occasions de participer aux activités d’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral. Toutefois, les répondants ont également fait part d’une mise en garde contre l’idée de rendre la définition plus souple. Certains répondants ont indiqué que des critères plus souples pourraient entraîner des situations où des partenariats entre des entreprises autochtones et de grandes entreprises non autochtones sont créées sans qu’il y ait d’obligation de rendre compte pour les ressources autochtones utilisées dans un contrat. Un répondant a indiqué que de nombreuses entreprises non autochtones établissent un partenariat avec des Autochtones, puis obtiennent le contrat et n’embauchent aucun employé autochtone. Un répondant a suggéré qu’une politique devrait établir un processus d’attestation pour que les entreprises admissibles aient les conditions requises et pour savoir comment les peuples et les collectivités autochtones en profiteront. Un autre répondant a suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral envisage d’ajouter un pourcentage minimal de ressources autochtones à utiliser ou à retenir par contrat dans le cadre des ententes qui en découlent, en plus de modifier la définition d’une entreprise autochtone.

Les répondants étaient généralement en faveur d’un système de points pour appuyer une définition, car on croit qu’il augmenterait le nombre d’entreprises autochtones admissibles. De plus, il offrirait des incitatifs aux entreprises détenues et gérées par une minorité d’Autochtones afin d’accroître la propriété autochtone, de recruter et de promouvoir des administrateurs autochtones et d’embaucher plus de personnel autochtone. Certains répondants ont prévenu qu’un système de points désavantagerait les petites collectivités éloignées qui ont moins accès à une main-d’œuvre spécialisée. Un répondant a suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral devrait songer à augmenter les éléments de renforcement des capacités dans les contrats, comme la formation, les contributions sociales et économiques des collectivités et le contenu autochtone.

La plupart des répondants étaient d’accord pour dire qu’un répertoire d’entreprises centralisé est nécessaire, car il faciliterait la recherche de fournisseurs autochtones, et que les répertoires d’entreprises de l’ERTG devraient également être reconnus et utilisés. Toutefois, les répondants étaient moins unifiés en ce qui concerne le contrôle par des tiers et les nations ou organisations titulaires de droits qui établissent les critères pour déterminer si une entreprise est une entreprise autochtone. Bien que certains répondants aient indiqué qu’un répertoire d’entreprises dirigées par des Autochtones favoriserait l’autonomisation, la confiance et la transparence, d’autres se soucient qu’une tierce partie récolte tous les avantages et établisse des critères qui créeraient des préjugés, ce qui désavantagerait certains groupes. Il a été suggéré qu’une tierce partie neutre soit créée et exploitée de façon indépendante par le gouvernement fédéral avec une structure plus inclusive.

Thème 5 : simplifier les processus et éliminer les obstacles à la participation des Autochtones au processus d’approvisionnement fédéral

Les répondants ont indiqué qu’ils voulaient que le processus d’approvisionnement soit simplifié, car cela aiderait réellement les entreprises autochtones. En général, les répondants favorisaient la participation de la collectivité ou de l’organisation autochtone plus tôt dans les étapes de la planification et pour mieux communiquer les marchés réservés aux entreprises autochtones. Ils ont également mis en garde que, même si la simplification du processus pouvait réduire les obstacles, la réduction des exigences techniques créerait un bassin d’entreprises sous-qualifiées, ce qui favoriserait un nivellement vers le bas et rendrait le gouvernement fédéral vulnérable à subir des risques inutiles. L’objectif devrait être de créer des conditions favorables pour les soumissionnaires qualifiés qui présentent une offre pour la première fois et de veiller au maintien de la capacité technique. Il a été suggéré que les avis sur les marchés réservés soient communiqués plus tôt et que le gouvernement fédéral tire des leçons des autres administrations et collabore avec le Bureau des petites et moyennes entreprises et SPAC pour régler les problèmes soulevés par les entreprises autochtones et les petites et moyennes entreprises partout au Canada.

Il y a un soutien global pour la création d’établissements et la prestation par des tiers, sous la direction d’organisations autochtones, des services d’approvisionnement pour les entreprises. La gamme de services suggérés par les répondants comprend une formation sur le soutien technique et l’attestation de la compétence en matière de relations avec le gouvernement fédéral, le jumelage et les forums où les entreprises autochtones peuvent établir des relations et voir des projets contractuels chaque année. Parmi les suggestions pour la prestation par des tiers, on mentionne la mise à profit des relations existantes en soutenant les organisations existantes ou en aidant les collectivités à fournir des services.

Thème 6 : renforcement des capacités

Les ministères et organismes fédéraux reconnaissent la nécessité de déterminer la capacité des entreprises autochtones dans les secteurs opportuns, dans la mesure où les changements respectent les ERTG. Il a été suggéré que les organisations autochtones fournissent des évaluations systématiques de leur capacité de répondre aux nouvelles demandes de contrats fédéraux. On indique que le gouvernement doit tenir compte de la capacité financière des entreprises lorsqu’il crée les conditions pour accroître la participation des Autochtones à la chaîne d’approvisionnement fédérale.

Les répondants appuient l’évaluation systématique et régulière de la participation des entreprises autochtones à l’approvisionnement, et la tentative d’augmenter le nombre d’entreprises inscrites dans le répertoire des entreprises autochtones. On indique que les données actuelles ne tiennent pas compte de tous les approvisionnements autochtones effectués par le gouvernement fédéral. Il semble également y avoir un manque de volonté de s’inscrire au répertoire, ce qui a une incidence sur le nombre d’entreprises disponibles et visibles dans le répertoire. On a suggéré qu’une organisation autochtone gère le répertoire des entreprises, ce qui motiverait les entreprises à s’inscrire et les rendrait plus visibles.

Les répondants ont convenu que le renforcement des capacités est nécessaire pour accroître la participation des Autochtones à la chaîne d’approvisionnement fédérale. Cela comprend le financement de la formation, de l’éducation et de l’apprentissage pour les employés et les employeurs autochtones. On suggère que SAC prenne les devants pour accroître la sensibilisation à l’échelle du gouvernement fédéral.

Thème 7 : aspects à prendre en considération pour transformer le processus d’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral

En général, les répondants étaient mitigés quant à l’utilisation des marchés réservés. Ceux qui ne sont pas d’accord croient que les marchés réservés peuvent avoir des répercussions négatives puisqu’ils pourraient désavantager certaines collectivités et perpétuer l’idée que les entreprises autochtones ne peuvent respecter que les contrats qui leur sont destinés. Un répondant était d’accord avec l’élargissement des marchés réservés obligatoires et a suggéré que les pénalités soient plus sévères pour les entrepreneurs qui ne créent pas de possibilités d’affaires, d’emplois et d’occasions de formation pour les collectivités autochtones.

Les répondants étaient généralement d’accord pour exiger des régimes d’avantages sociaux pour les Autochtones dans le cadre de contrats plus importants. Il a été suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral mette un accent particulier sur les avantages plutôt que sur le nombre ou la valeur des contrats, ainsi que sur la façon dont les avantages sont mesurés et examinés. Un autre répondant a indiqué que, bien que les régimes d’avantages sociaux pour les Autochtones soient une bonne idée, le problème réside dans la surveillance et l’évaluation après l’attribution du contrat, et que les partenariats d’affaires doivent également être examinés.

Dans l’ensemble, les répondants n’ont pas indiqué clairement s’ils appuyaient les approches régionales et fondées sur les distinctions. Toutefois, les répondants ont affirmé qu’il fallait faire preuve de prudence lors de la mise en œuvre d’une telle approche et ont fait des suggestions pour la rendre plus efficace. Certains répondants ont également souligné qu’une approche régionale et fondée sur les distinctions entraînerait des conséquences inattendues lorsqu’on cherche à maximiser les avantages pour les collectivités, surtout si un contrat a été attribué à une entreprise autochtone de l’extérieur de la zone du contrat.

De plus, un répondant a indiqué qu’une politique d’approvisionnement efficace pour les Autochtones reconnaît les obligations contenues dans les ERTG liées à l’approvisionnement au moyen de dispositions stratégiques. Les autres suggestions des répondants pour ce type d’approche comprennent l’intégration d’incitatifs pour les grandes entreprises afin qu’elles aient des partenaires régionaux dans leur demande de propositions, la création d’une liste d’entreprises autochtones régionales préqualifiées et l’établissement de cibles régionales.

Les répondants conviennent tous que le gouvernement fédéral doit appliquer les exigences en matière d’approvisionnement autochtone à des entités à l’extérieur du noyau du gouvernement fédéral. Les répondants ont suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral exige que les grands entrepreneurs et fournisseurs fassent appel à divers sous traitants et élaborent une approche fédérale-provinciale/territoriale en consultation avec les collectivités autochtones pour offrir aux entreprises davantage de possibilités d’approvisionnement. Cela pourrait se faire par l’établissement d’un comité dans leur province ou territoire respectif.

Date de modification :