Socio-economic strategy for the Giant Mine: plain language summary

The Giant Mine Remediation Project is more than a major construction undertaking. Its main goal is to protect the environment and human health and safety. It is also important that local Northern and Indigenous peoples and businesses benefit from it. To achieve this, the project team has a strategy that guides how it will deliver social and economic benefits.

Having a socio-economic strategy for the project is important

The project has the potential to provide socio-economic benefits within the Northwest Territories (NWT), a region which has current economic and labour resource challenges. These include:

The project team is working to support the NWT through employment and capacity-building in the territory. The socio-economic strategy guides how the project identifies and delivers socio-economic benefits by:

The project team will continue to review and adjust the strategy to ensure it is working.

The strategy will help northerners and Indigenous peoples benefit from the project

The strategy's overall aim is to benefit northern and Indigenous peoples as much as possible within the federal policies and rules the project has to comply with. To do this, the strategy outlines 3 different types of activities it needs to do:

Most of the project benefits will come when remediation work starts. In this phase, there will be more opportunities for capacity-building, training, jobs, and business growth. Both direct and indirect benefits may result from the project. Direct benefits include:

The project could also create indirect benefits. These are benefits that are not necessarily from people working on the project or buying things for it. Instead, the people doing the work earn money and generate taxes. They also spend locally while working on the project.

Access to employment and procurement opportunities

An important part of the strategy is making sure a wide range of local businesses have opportunities to bid on work. Procurement is an important tool for Indigenous and Northern businesses to gain experience, develop capacity, and form partnerships to compete for opportunities. The project is working with the main construction manager, Parsons Inc., to package the work in ways that reflect local capacity and resources. This will help ensure Northern and Indigenous businesses can participate in procurement processes. The project is also including specific requirements, tools, and approaches for the main construction manager to use as part of the procurement process.

Support for capacity and skills-development

A high proportion of workers in the NWT are out-of-territory commuters. Supporting local capacity and skills-development is a project priority. Part of the strategy is to look at how the project can help build a skilled NWT workforce. The project will need to work closely with different government departments, agencies, and organizations with existing capacity-building programs. As the team identifies the types of skills and experience needed for the project, it will work with these partners who deliver programs for capacity-building. This way, people will know about the programs to help them build skills and capacity and how to access them. The project will also make sure Northern and Indigenous peoples and businesses have enough time to develop the needed skills and resources before the work starts.

Anticipating, monitoring and reducing negative impacts

Socio-economic impacts on communities from large projects depend on the nature of the project and on community resilience. Many communities have faced long-term challenges made worse from activities and income from new projects. The team knows negative social impacts might result from changes the project brings to the region. The strategy looks at the negative aspects of mining projects to get an idea of the kinds of impacts this project might cause, such as:

When the project plan is farther along and more detailed, the team will know more about what kinds of impacts might come from the project. The strategy includes identifying potential negative impacts during this planning stage. That way, plans will include ways to reduce these impacts.

How the project will deal with barriers to carrying out the strategy

The team has identified barriers that could limit the project's ability to achieve socio-economic outcomes. These include:

The strategy identifies different actions the project can take to address these barriers. Some of the things the project team is looking at doing are to:

The project also receives advice from different groups, to help it achieve its socio-economic goals. These groups include the:

The project may also create an Indigenous Benefits Plan monitoring and advisory committee to monitor how the main construction manager's Indigenous Benefits Plan is being carried out and provide advice on how to address barriers and improve performance. This work might also be done by the socio-economic advisory body instead of a separate committee.

Measuring the strategy's success

To help measure how successful the strategy is, the project team has developed Key Performance Indicators. The project will measure these in 4 different categories.

Employment

  • Total project employment broken down by full-time and part-time (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Total employment by northerners, Indigenous, and women (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Northern Indigenous women (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Northern Indigenous men (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Northern non-Indigenous women (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Northern non-Indigenous men (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Employment by skill level (number of entry-level,Footnote 1 semi-skilled,Footnote 2 skilled Footnote 3 and professionalFootnote 4
  • Employee's residential status in the NWT (resident or non-resident) (number, percentage)

Training

  • Total training by Northerners, Indigenous and women (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Northern Indigenous women (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Northern Indigenous men (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Northern non-Indigenous women (number of persons, person hours, percentage)
  • Northern non-Indigenous men (number of persons, person hours, percentage)

Procurement

  • Total suppliers and amount spent (number, dollar amount)
  • Total Indigenous suppliers and amount spent (number, dollar amount, percentage)
  • Total Northern suppliers and amount spent (number, dollar amount, percentage)
  • Northern Indigenous suppliers and amount spent (number, dollar amount, percentage)
  • Northern non-Indigenous suppliers and amount spent (number, dollar amount, percentage)
  • Awarding of largest contract(s) (company and dollar amount)

Other

  • Local job fairs, networking sessions, procurement awareness event, and training events attended by project team or Main Construction Manager staff (number of events, location, number of participants)
  • Changes in the process to support Indigenous traditionsFootnote 5 (frequency, description)
  • Modifications to procurement to increase Indigenous participation (description, number)
  • New joint ventures and partnerships (number)
  • New Northern Indigenous and Northern non-Indigenous contractors bidding on work (number)
  • Professional development scholarships (number of scholarships, dollar amount of each, and number filled by priority groups)
  • Northern Indigenous and Northern non-Indigenous apprentices supported (number, percentage out of total apprentices)

The project will:

  • monitor performance against the strategy
  • report on these key performance indicators quarterly and in the project's annual report
  • share results at meetings with partners and stakeholders, where possible

Next steps for the project will also include developing targets based on the key performance indicators and looking at how it can reach or do better than these targets.

Date modified:

Stratégie socioéconomique pour la mine Giant : Rapport sommaire en langage clair

Le projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant est plus qu'un grand projet de construction. Son objectif principal est de protéger l'environnement ainsi que la santé et la sécurité des personnes. Il est également important que les populations et les entreprises locales autochtones et du Nord en profitent. Pour ce faire, l'équipe du projet dispose d'une stratégie qui oriente la façon dont il produira des avantages sociaux et économiques.

L'importance d'avoir une stratégie socioéconomique pour le projet

Le projet pourrait générer des avantages socioéconomiques dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (T.N.‑O.), une région qui connaît actuellement des difficultés au niveau de l'économie et de la main d'œuvre. Cela comprend les défis suivants :

L'équipe du projet s'emploie à appuyer les T.N.-O. en créant des emplois et en renforçant les capacités dans le territoire. La stratégie socioéconomique oriente la façon dont le projet détermine et procure des avantages socioéconomiques des façons suivantes :

L'équipe du projet continuera d'examiner et d'ajuster la stratégie pour s'assurer qu'elle fonctionne.

La stratégie aidera les résidants du Nord et les peuples autochtones à tirer profit du projet

La stratégie a pour objectif global de profiter le plus possible aux résidants du Nord et aux peuples autochtones tout en respectant les politiques et les règles fédérales auxquelles le projet doit se conformer. Pour ce faire, la stratégie décrit 3 différents types d'activités :

La plupart des avantages du projet se manifesteront au moment où les travaux d'assainissement débuteront. Au cours de cette phase, il y aura davantage de possibilités de renforcement des capacités, de formation, d'emplois et de croissance commerciale. Des avantages directs et indirects peuvent découler du projet. Les avantages directs comprennent :

Le projet pourrait également créer des avantages indirects. Ceux-ci ne proviennent pas nécessairement des personnes qui travaillent sur le projet ou qui effectuent des achats pour lui. Les personnes qui font le travail gagnent de l'argent et paient des impôts. Elles dépensent dans la région pendant qu'elles travaillent sur le projet.

Accès à des possibilités d'emploi et d'approvisionnement

Une partie importante de la stratégie consiste à s'assurer qu'un large éventail d'entreprises locales ont la possibilité de soumissionner pour des travaux. L'approvisionnement est un outil important pour les entreprises autochtones et du Nord qui leur permet d'acquérir de l'expérience, de développer leurs capacités et de former des partenariats pour avoir la possibilité de prendre part au processus concurrentiel. L'équipe du projet collabore avec le directeur principal des travaux, Parsons Inc., afin d'organiser les travaux de manière à tenir compte de la capacité et des ressources locales. Cela fera en sorte que les entreprises autochtones et du Nord pourront participer aux processus d'approvisionnement. Le projet comprend également des exigences, des approches et des outils particuliers que le directeur principal des travaux devra utiliser dans le cadre du processus d'approvisionnement.

Appui pour le renforcement des capacités et le perfectionnement des compétences

Une forte proportion des travailleurs des T.N.-O. proviennent de l'extérieur du territoire. Soutenir le renforcement des capacités et le perfectionnement des compétences à l'échelle locale est une priorité du projet. Une partie de la stratégie consiste à examiner comment le projet peut aider à former une main-d'œuvre qualifiée dans les T.N.-O. L'équipe du projet devra travailler en étroite collaboration avec les différents ministères, organismes et organisations du gouvernement qui possèdent déjà des programmes de renforcement des capacités. Au fur et à mesure que l'équipe déterminera les types de compétences et d'expérience nécessaires au projet, elle travaillera avec les partenaires qui offrent des programmes de renforcement des capacités. De cette façon, les gens seront informés des programmes qui les aideront à développer leurs compétences et leurs capacités et des façons d'y avoir accès. Le projet fera également en sorte que les peuples et les entreprises autochtones et du Nord auront suffisamment de temps pour acquérir les compétences et les ressources nécessaires avant le début des travaux.

Anticiper, surveiller et réduire les incidences négatives

Les répercussions socioéconomiques des grands projets sur les communautés dépendent de la nature du projet et de la résilience de la communauté. De nombreuses communautés ont été confrontées à des difficultés à long terme qui avaient été aggravées par les activités et les revenus de nouveaux projets. L'équipe sait que des incidences sociales négatives pourraient résulter des changements que le projet apporte à la région. La stratégie examine les aspects négatifs des projets miniers pour évaluer les types d'impacts que ce projet pourrait avoir, notamment :

Lorsque le plan du projet sera plus avancé et détaillé, l'équipe en saura davantage sur les types de répercussions qui pourraient découler du projet. La stratégie comprend la définition des incidences négatives potentielles au cours de cette étape de planification. De cette façon, les plans comprendront des moyens de réduire ces incidences.

Le projet permettra de surmonter les obstacles à la mise en œuvre de la stratégie

L'équipe a cerné les obstacles qui pourraient limiter la capacité du projet à produire des retombées socioéconomiques, notamment :

La stratégie cible différentes mesures que le projet peut adopter pour surmonter ces obstacles. L'équipe du projet envisage notamment de faire ce qui suit :

Le projet reçoit également des conseils de différents groupes pour l'aider à atteindre ses objectifs socioéconomiques, dont :

Le projet peut également donner lieu à la création d'un comité consultatif et de surveillance du plan des retombées pour les Autochtones afin de surveiller la façon dont le plan des retombées pour les Autochtones du directeur principal des travaux est mis en œuvre et pour fournir des conseils sur la façon de surmonter les obstacles et d'améliorer le rendement. Ce travail pourrait également être effectué par le Conseil consultatif socioéconomique plutôt qu'un comité distinct.

Mesurer le succès de la stratégie

Pour l'aider à mesurer le succès de la stratégie, l'équipe du projet a élaboré des indicateurs de rendement clés qui seront mesurés dans 4 catégories différentes.

Emploi

  • Nombre d'emplois liés au projet, ventilé pour indiquer les emplois à temps plein et à temps partiel (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Nombre d'emplois occupés par les résidants du Nord, les Autochtones et les femmes (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Femmes autochtones du Nord (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Hommes autochtones du Nord (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Femmes non autochtones du Nord (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Hommes non autochtones du Nord (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Emplois selon le niveau de compétence (nombre de postes de premier échelon,Note de bas de page 1 de postes semi-spécialisés, Note de bas de page 2 de postes spécialisésNote de bas de page 3 et de postes professionnelsNote de bas de page 4
  • Statut de résidence de l'employé dans les T.N.-O. (résident ou non résident) (nombre, pourcentage)

Formation

  • Nombre de formations données aux résidants du Nord, aux Autochtones et aux femmes (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Femmes autochtones du Nord (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Hommes autochtones du Nord (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Femmes non autochtones du Nord (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)
  • Hommes non autochtones du Nord (nombre de personnes, heures-personnes, pourcentage)

Approvisionnement

  • Nombre de fournisseurs et montant dépensé (nombre, montant en dollar)
  • Nombre de fournisseurs autochtones et montant dépensé (nombre, montant en dollar, pourcentage)
  • Nombre de fournisseurs du Nord et montant dépensé (nombre, montant en dollar, pourcentage)
  • Fournisseurs autochtones du Nord et montant dépensé (nombre, montant en dollar, pourcentage)
  • Fournisseurs non autochtones du Nord et montant dépensé (nombre, montant en dollar, pourcentage)
  • Attribution des contrats les plus importants (entreprise et montant en dollar)

Autre

  • Séances de réseautage, activité de sensibilisation à l'approvisionnement, activités de formation et salons de l'emploi locaux auxquels ont participé l'équipe du projet ou le directeur principal des travaux (nombre d'activités, lieu, nombre de participants)
  • Changements apportés au processus visant à appuyer les traditions autochtonesNote de bas de page 5 (fréquence, description)
  • Modifications apportées à l'approvisionnement en vue d'accroître la participation autochtone (description, nombre)
  • Nouvelles coentreprises et nouveaux partenariats (nombre)
  • Nouveaux entrepreneurs autochtones et non autochtones du Nord qui soumissionnent pour des travaux (nombre)
  • Bourses de perfectionnement professionnel (nombre de bourses, montant en dollar de chacune, et nombre attribué à des groupes prioritaires)
  • Appui aux apprentis autochtones et non autochtones du Nord (nombre, pourcentage de l'ensemble des apprentis)

L'équipe du projet :

  • surveillera le rendement en fonction de la stratégie;
  • fera rapport sur ces indicateurs de rendement clés tous les trimestres et en fera état dans le rapport annuel concernant le projet.
  • communiquera les résultats lors de réunions avec les partenaires et les intervenants, dans la mesure du possible.

Les prochaines étapes du projet comprendront également l'élaboration d'objectifs fondés sur les indicateurs de rendement clés et l'examen de la façon d'atteindre ces objectifs ou de les dépasser.

Date de modification :