September 2018: What's Happening at Giant?

Table of contents

Engagement activity update

Yellowknives Dene First Nation site tour

A group of people in personal protective equipment are seen in front of old, dilapidated houses with boarded up windows and a lake.
Yellowknives Dene First Nation members tour the Giant Mine townsite.

The Giant Mine Remediation Project team recognizes the importance of engaging key partners in the remediation of the site. As part of ongoing engagement efforts, 20 members of the Yellowknives Dene First Nation toured the Giant Mine site on September 24, 2018. They were able to see the care and maintenance work that is ongoing at the site, as well as learn how the Project team plans to address different aspects of the site in the Closure and Reclamation Plan.

Quantitative Risk Assessment

In early September, the Project team held a risk identification session with the Yellowknives Dene First Nation. This took place over two days in Dettah. Next, the Project team will screen the risk scenarios collected at all of the risk identification sessions from members of the Working Group and key Yellowknives Dene First Nation participants. This will help to narrow the list to medium to high risks that will be analyzed more closely. The Project team will work with key partners and stakeholders to rank the risks. Once the screening is complete, the Project team will share the results of the analysis more broadly. The Project team anticipates this will occur in November at the earliest.

Stress Study

The Project team is getting ready to kick off its stress study. This study was recommended in measure 10 of the Report of Environmental Assessment. Dr. Ketan Shankardass from Wilfrid Laurier University, who will be conducting the study, met with the Giant Mine Working Group in August and the Giant Mine Advisory Committee in September to discuss the study. He will be using their input to develop and finalize the survey that will be used to measure stress related to the Giant Mine. Dr. Shankardass will be in the Yellowknife area to work with affected parties to further refine the survey component of the study from October 15-19, 2018.

Draft Water Licence Package

The Giant Mine Remediation Project team is working toward applying for its water licence in January 2019. As committed to in the overview given at a public meeting in June, the Project team held three days of technical workshops with affected parties. These workshops focused on the technical aspects of the water licence submission, including the Closure and Reclamation Plan, and were planned and developed based on feedback from stakeholders. Input from these sessions will help the team make adjustments to the water licence package before submitting it to the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board.

Science YouTube personality features the Giant Mine

This picture shows a screen capture of a YouTube video. A man in Personal Protective Equipment is seen on the screen, with rock and a pit visible in the landscape behind him. The YouTube title, "Freezing 200,000 Tons of Lethal Arsenic Dust" is visible below the video.
Screen capture of YouTuber Tom Scott’s video about the Giant Mine

In June, YouTube personality Tom Scott, visited the Giant Mine site. As the host of a science-focused web channel, he wanted to learn and share with his worldwide audience how the Project team plans to freeze the arsenic trioxide dust in place. The video he produced can be found on YouTube.

The Pilot Plant is up and running!

The picture shows a worker in PPE inspecting columns of adsorptive media that form a portion of the pilot water treatment plant at Giant Mine.
A worker completes regular operational checks of the pilot water treatment plant.

The pilot Water Treatment Plant has been built and is now operating. This pilot plant will determine if using adsorbents to remove arsenic is viable to treat water at the site. It will support the design of the new Water Treatment Plant required for remediation. The new Plant will need to be able to treat the minewater to meet the Project’s treatment goals for arsenic. It will also treat to other criteria protective of the environment and human health that the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board will set as part of the coming regulatory process related to the water licence application. The Pilot Plant began operating in August. It will operate into the Fall.

Update on the socio-economic approach to site remediation

The Giant Mine Remediation Project strives to deliver social and economic benefits to Indigenous and Northern communities while protecting the environment and people’s health. Parsons Inc., the Main Construction Manager, uses a number of tools to help the Project team achieve their goal to foster employment, training, and apprenticeships for Indigenous workers, and encourage subcontracting to Indigenous and Northern businesses.

You can learn more about the Project’s commitment to the North on our Socio-Economic approach webpage.

Those interested in upcoming contract opportunities can visit the Merx website, where Parsons posts all opportunities for potential bidders and other interested parties. Parsons also maintains a website specific to the work for the Giant Mine Remediation Project.

Contract award update

This picture shows the silhouette of a worker in a rock tunnel in the underground of a mine.
A Project team member stands in one of the underground drifts.

As the Main Construction Manager and Prime Contractor at Giant Mine, Parsons Inc., has many responsibilities including overall site safety, scheduling, and subcontracting to Indigenous or northern firms where practicable. Results of its recent tenders include the following entities working on the Giant Mine Remediation Project:

Underground Care and Maintenance

Parsons Inc. subcontracted Procon/Det’on Cho Joint Venture to conduct the care and maintenance work required to keep the underground in a stable condition until remediation can move forward. This contract was valued at $12,560,396.00. As part of its successful bid, Procon/Det’on Cho committed to 1920 hours of training, that 33% of the labour required will be conducted by Indigenous staff, and that 98% of the subcontracting dollar value will be to Indigenous companies.

Laboratory Testing Services (for the Effluent Treatment Plant (ETP) and Pilot Plant)

Parsons Inc. subcontracted Yellowknife-based, territorial Taiga Environmental Laboratory to provide testing services for water samples for the ETP and Pilot Plant. This contract was valued at $154,988.00. As part of its successful bid, the Taiga lab committed to 60 hours of training, that 11.1% of the labour required will be conducted by Indigenous staff, and that 2.5% of the subcontracting dollar value will be to Indigenous companies.

C-Shaft Power Feeders Installation

Parsons Inc. subcontracted Denesoline Ryfan Limited to install power feeders to the C-Shaft area. This contract was valued at $377,985.00. As part of its successful bid, Denesoline Ryfan committed that 100% subcontracting dollar value will be to Northern Indigenous companies.

Akaitcho Pump Installation

Parsons Inc. subcontracted to Yellowknife’s Nahanni Construction Limited to install power feeders to the C-Shaft area. This contract was valued at $1,642,418.85.

Contacting the Main Construction Manager team

Parsons Inc., the Main Construction Manager, now has a webpage specific to the work of the Giant Mine Remediation Project. You can visit their site for updates on the project as well as employment and contracting opportunities. For more information you can contact their economic development staff.

Economic Development Manager

Louie Azzolini
Louie.azzolini@parsons.ca
(867)688-0655

Community Liaison Officer

Lisa Colas
Lisa.colas@parsons.ca

Visit Parsons MCM website for more ways to get in touch.

Update on the Backfilling of Stope Complex C5-09

The backfilling of stope complex C5-09 is ongoing. Work is on track to finish in November. To date, more than 23,000 cubic metres of backfill material has been delivered. The backfill material consists mainly of paste made from a mixture of tailings, water and binder (cement and slag) and inert rock material. There is also a section of backfill that is a self-leveling concrete. This is to increase strength and stability in the central core of the stope complex.

The C5-09 complex is very large in size. It stretches the length of several blocks and is several stories deep in height. This requires a significant amount of material to fill in order to ensure it remains stable. Once complete, the Project team does not anticipate that any other voids in the underground will need to be filled before the remediation begins.

Image shows a woman in personal protective equipment measuring a concrete sample at Giant Mine, while three workers in personal protective equipment observing the testing can partially be seen.
A worker performs quality control testing on a concrete sample at Giant Mine.
The picture shows cement trucks at the concrete batch plant at Giant Mine.
Cement trucks at the batch plant receiving concrete ready for delivery to the C509 complex.
Date modified:

Septembre 2018 : Que se passe-t-il à la mine Giant?

Table des matières

Le point sur les activités de mobilisation

Visite sur place de la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives

Un groupe de personnes vêtues d’un équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) se tient devant un lac et de vieilles maisons délabrées dont les fenêtres sont barricadées.
Des membres de la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives visitent le lotissement urbain de la mine Giant.

L’équipe du projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant reconnaît l’importance de faire participer les principaux partenaires à l’assainissement du site. Dans le cadre des efforts de mobilisation continus, 20 membres de la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives ont visité le site de la mine Giant le 24 septembre 2018. Ils ont pu voir les travaux d’entretien et de maintenance en cours sur le site et apprendre comment l’équipe du projet compte aborder différents aspects dans le plan de fermeture et de remise en état du site.

Évaluation quantitative des risques

Au début de septembre, l’équipe du projet a tenu une séance d’identification des risques auprès de la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives. Cette séance de deux jours s’est déroulée à Dettah. L’équipe du projet examinera les scénarios de risque recueillis lors de toutes les séances d’identification des risques auprès des membres du Groupe de travail et des principaux participants de la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives. Cela permettra de restreindre la liste aux risques moyens à élevés, lesquels seront analysés de plus près. L’équipe du projet travaillera avec les principaux partenaires et intervenants pour classer les risques. Une fois l’examen préalable terminé, l’équipe du projet communiquera les résultats de l’analyse à grande échelle. Elle prévoit procéder, au plus tôt, en novembre.

Étude sur le stress

L’équipe du projet se prépare à lancer son étude sur le stress. Cette étude a été recommandée dans la mesure 10 du Rapport d’évaluation environnementale. M. Ketan Shankardass, de l’Université Wilfrid Laurier, qui mènera l’étude, a rencontré le Groupe de travail sur la mine Giant en août et le Comité consultatif de la mine Giant en septembre pour en discuter. Il s’appuiera sur leurs commentaires pour mener et parachever l’étude qui servira à mesurer le stress lié à la mine Giant. M. Shankardass sera dans la région de Yellowknife du 15 au 19 octobre 2018 afin de peaufiner, en collaboration avec les parties concernées, le volet de l’étude qui porte sur le sondage.

Ébauche de la trousse du permis d’utilisation des eaux

L’équipe du projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant entend faire une demande de permis d’utilisation des eaux en janvier 2019. Comme elle s’y est engagée dans l’aperçu présenté lors d’une réunion publique en juin, l’équipe du projet a tenu trois jours d’ateliers techniques avec les parties concernées. Ces ateliers portaient sur les aspects techniques de la demande de permis d’utilisation des eaux, y compris le plan de fermeture et de remise en état, et ont été planifiés et conçus en fonction des commentaires des intervenants. Les commentaires recueillis au cours de ces séances aideront l’équipe à apporter des modifications au permis d’utilisation des eaux avant de le soumettre à l’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie.

Une personnalité de Science YouTube met en vedette la mine Giant

Cette image montre une capture d’écran d’une vidéo de YouTube. On y voit un homme vêtu d’un EPI se tenant devant un rocher et une fosse. Le titre « Freezing 200,000 Tonnes of Lethal Arsenic Dust » de YouTube est affiché sous la vidéo.
Capture d’écran de la vidéo du YouTubeur Tom Scott sur la mine Giant.

En juin, Tom Scott, personnalité de YouTube, a visité le site de la mine Giant. En tant qu’animateur d’une chaîne Web à vocation scientifique, il voulait apprendre et communiquer à son auditoire mondial comment l’équipe du projet prévoit congeler la poussière de trioxyde de diarsenic en place. Sa vidéo se trouve sur YouTube (site Web non disponible en français).

La station pilote est opérationnelle!

La photo montre un travailleur portant un EPI en train d’inspecter des colonnes de supports absorbants qui forment une partie de la station pilote de traitement des eaux à la mine Giant.
Un travailleur effectue des vérifications opérationnelles régulières de la station pilote de traitement des eaux.

La station pilote de traitement des eaux a été construite et est désormais fonctionnelle. Elle permettra de déterminer si l’utilisation d’adsorbants pour éliminer l’arsenic est viable pour traiter l’eau sur le site. Elle appuiera la conception de la nouvelle station de traitement des eaux nécessaire à l’assainissement. La nouvelle station devra être en mesure de traiter l’eau de mine pour atteindre les objectifs du projet en matière de traitement de l’arsenic. Elle traitera également d’autres critères de protection de l’environnement et de la santé humaine que l’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie établira dans le cadre du prochain processus réglementaire lié à la demande de permis d’utilisation des eaux. La station pilote a commencé à fonctionner en août. Elle fonctionnera jusqu’à l’automne.

Le point sur l’approche socioéconomique de l’assainissement du site

Le projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant vise à procurer des avantages sociaux et économiques aux collectivités autochtones et nordiques tout en protégeant l’environnement et la santé des gens.

Parsons Inc., le maître d’œuvre principal, utilise un certain nombre d’outils pour aider l’équipe du projet à atteindre son objectif de favoriser l’emploi, la formation et l’apprentissage des travailleurs autochtones et d’encourager la sous-traitance aux entreprises autochtones et du Nord.

Vous pouvez en apprendre davantage sur l’engagement du projet à l’égard du Nord en consultant notre page Web sur l’approche socioéconomique relative à l’assainissement de la mine Giant.

Les personnes qui s’intéressent aux marchés à venir peuvent visiter le site Web Merx, sur lequel Parsons affiche tous les appels d’offres pour les soumissionnaires potentiels et autres parties intéressées. Parsons tient également à jour un site Web consacré aux travaux du projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant (site Web non disponible en français).

Le point sur l’attribution du contrat

Cette photo montre la silhouette d’un ouvrier dans un tunnel rocheux du sous-sol d’une mine.
Un membre de l’équipe du projet se tient debout dans l’une des galeries souterraines.

En tant que maître d’œuvre principal et entrepreneur principal à la mine Giant, Parsons Inc. a de nombreuses responsabilités, y compris la sécurité générale du site, l’établissement du calendrier et la sous-traitance à des entreprises autochtones ou nordiques lorsque cela est possible. Parmi les résultats de ses récents appels d’offres, mentionnons les entités suivantes qui œuvrent dans le cadre du projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant :

Entretien et maintenance du sous-sol

Parsons Inc. a confié en sous-traitance à Procon/Det’on Cho Joint Venture les travaux d’entretien nécessaires pour maintenir le sous-sol dans un état stable jusqu’à ce que les travaux d’assainissement puissent progresser. Ce contrat a été évalué à 12 560 396 $. Dans le cadre de sa soumission retenue, Procon/Det’on Cho s’est engagée à offrir 1 920 heures de formation et à veiller à ce que 33 % des travaux de main-d’œuvre requis soit effectués par un personnel autochtone et à ce que 98 % de la valeur monétaire de la sous-traitance soit versée à des entreprises autochtones.

Services d’essais en laboratoire (pour la station de traitement des effluents et la station pilote)

Parsons Inc. a confié en sous-traitance au Laboratoire environnemental territorial sur la taïga de Yellowknife des services d’analyse d’échantillons d’eau pour la station de traitement des effluents et la station pilote. Ce contrat a été évalué à 154 988 $. Dans le cadre de sa soumission retenue, le Laboratoire sur la taïga s’est engagé à offrir 60 heures de formation, à ce que 11,1 % de la main-d’œuvre requise soit effectuée par un personnel autochtone et à ce que 2,5 % de la valeur monétaire de la sous-traitance soit versée à des entreprises autochtones.

Installation des lignes d’alimentation électrique du puits C

Parsons Inc. a confié en sous-traitance à Denesoline Ryfan Limited l’installation de lignes d’alimentation électrique dans la zone du puits C. Ce contrat a été évalué à 377 985 $. Dans le cadre de sa soumission retenue, Denesoline Ryfan s’est engagée à ce que 100 % de la valeur de la sous-traitance soit attribuée à des entreprises autochtones du Nord.

Installation d’une pompe de l’Akaitcho

Parsons Inc. a confié en sous-traitance à Nahanni Construction Limited de Yellowknife l’installation de lignes d’alimentation électrique dans la zone du puits C. Ce contrat a été évalué à 1 642 418,85 $

Joindre l’équipe du maître d’œuvre principal

Parsons Inc, le maître d’œuvre principal, a désormais une page Web consacrée aux travaux du projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant. Vous pouvez consulter son site pour obtenir des mises à jour sur le projet ainsi que sur les possibilités d’emploi et les appels d’offres. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, vous pouvez communiquer avec son personnel de développement économique.

Gestionnaire du développement économique

Louie Azzolini
Louie.azzolini@parsons.ca
867-688-0655

Agente de liaison communautaire

Lisa Colas
Lisa.colas@parsons.ca

Consultez le site Web du maître d’œuvre principal Parsons (site Web non disponible en français) pour connaître d’autres moyens de communiquer avec l’entreprise.

Le point sur le remblayage du complexe de gradins C5-09

Le remblayage du complexe de gradins C5-09 est en cours. Les travaux devraient s’achever en novembre. À ce jour, plus de 23 000 mètres cubes de matériaux de remblayage ont été livrés. Le matériau de remblayage consiste principalement en une pâte faite d’un mélange de résidus, d’eau et de liant (ciment et scories) et de roche inerte. Il y a aussi une section de remblai qui est un béton autonivelant. Il s’agit d’augmenter la résistance et la stabilité du noyau central du complexe de gradins.

Le complexe C5-09 est de très grande taille. Il s’étend sur plusieurs pâtés de maisons et s’élève sur plusieurs étages. Cela nécessite une quantité importante de matériau à remplir afin d’assurer sa stabilité. Une fois qu’il sera terminé, l’équipe du projet ne prévoit pas que d’autres vides dans le sous-sol devront être comblés avant le début des travaux d’assainissement.

L’image montre une femme portant un EPI, qui mesure un échantillon de béton à la mine Giant, tandis que trois travailleurs portant un EPI observent l’essai.
Un travailleur effectue des essais de contrôle de la qualité sur un échantillon de béton à la mine Giant.
La photo montre des camions à ciment à la centrale à béton de la mine Giant.
Camions à ciment à la centrale à béton recevant le béton prêt à être livré au complexe C5­09.
Date de modification :