Giant Mine Surface Design Decisions

Early in 2015, the Giant Mine Remediation Project Team initiated an engagement process related to plans for the surface of Giant Mine. More than 100 people from Yellowknife, Dettah, and Ndilo participated in the surface design engagement (SDE) process. This process allowed local people to have input to the remediation plan and to ensure the Project Team understands the perspectives and preferences of everyone. The SDE focused on the major problem areas on the Giant Mine surface: especially Baker Creek and the tailings ponds, open pits, and contaminated soils. The Project Team has made many of the big decisions about the surface of Giant Mine.

Baker Creek

Baker Creek will remain on site. It will be put into a wider channel that can handle floods safely. The channel will be designed for the Probable Maximum Flood. Contaminated sediment will be removed from the bottom of the creek and will be replaced with clean fill. Baker Pond will be made into a large channel. Reaches of the creek that go over the underground will be designed to prevent water from going into the underground mine. The breakwater will remain in place, and contaminated material around the edge of the breakwater will be removed. The shoreline areas will be revegetated. Fish access to Baker Creek will not be restricted, but the type and size of fish habitat that will be constructed in Baker Creek will be decided later after the Project Team consults with the Yellowknives Dene, the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and other stakeholders.

Open Pits

The underground under the pits will be stabilized so they can be backfilled safely. Pits will be filled with either new quarried rock or waste rock (also called granular fill) from the mine. A2, the pit that is the farthest south, will be filled with new quarried rock. Moving north, A1 will be filled with waste rock. C1 and B2, the next pits to the north, will be filled with new quarried rock. B1 will be filled with new quarried rock and/or waste rock. Some waste rock that is contaminated with arsenic will be placed in the portion of B1 that is frozen.

Tailings

Some of the tailings will be used to backfill the underground mine. South Pond tailings will be moved to the North and Central Ponds, which will reduce the total footprint of tailings on the surface. The South Pond dams will be removed. All of the remaining tailings on the surface will be covered with a geosynthetic liner and clean quarried rock. This cover will reduce the amount of water that will contact the tailings. The stability of all of the remaining dams on the site will be reviewed and will comply with Canadian Dam Association (CDA) guidelines.

Contaminated Soils

Contaminated soils will be cleaned up from areas of the site that had already been disturbed by mining activities. These areas will meet the Government of Northwest Territories industrial guideline for arsenic. The Townsite and Marina and land along the shoreline will also be cleaned up, but will meet the lower residential guideline for arsenic. Areas that have been cleaned up will be contoured and covered with quarried rock or soil. Areas that had been forested or covered by wetlands will be covered with soil so vegetation will come back. The contaminated soil will be disposed of in the tailings areas or in A1 and B1 pits. The Core Industrial Area will be fenced off to prevent public access to ground freezing and water treatment facilities, and areas where soils remain contaminated.

Date modified:

Mine Giant décisions en matière de conception en surface

Au début de 2015, l’équipe du projet d’assainissement du site de la mine Giant a amorcé un processus de mobilisation concernant les plans de la surface de la mine Giant. Plus de 100 personnes de Yellowknife, de Dettah et de Ndilo ont participé au processus de consultation sur la conception en surface. Ce processus a permis à la population locale de participer au plan d’assainissement et de s’assurer que l’équipe de projet comprend les perspectives et les préférences de chacun. La mobilisation sur la conception en surface s’est concentrée sur les principaux problèmes à la surface de la mine Giant, en particulier le ruisseau Baker et les bassins de décantation et de stockage des stériles et boues, les fosses à ciel ouvert et les sols contaminés. L’équipe de projet a pris bon nombre d’importantes décisions concernant les problèmes de surface liés à la mine Giant.

Ruisseau Baker

Le ruisseau Baker restera sur le site. Il sera placé dans un canal plus large qui permettra de gérer les crues en toute sécurité. Le chenal sera conçu en fonction de la crue maximale probable. Les sédiments contaminés seront retirés du fond du ruisseau et seront remplacés par un remblai propre. Le ruisseau Baker sera transformé en un grand canal. Les tronçons du ruisseau qui enjambent le sous-sol seront conçus pour empêcher l’eau de pénétrer dans la mine souterraine. Le brise-lames restera en place et les matériaux contaminés autour du bord du brise-lames seront enlevés. Les zones riveraines seront revégétalisées. L’accès des poissons au ruisseau Baker ne sera pas restreint, mais le type et la taille de l’habitat du poisson qui sera construit dans le ruisseau Baker seront décidés plus tard après que l’équipe du projet aura consulté les Dénés Yellowknives, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans et d’autres intervenants.

Fosses à ciel ouvert

Le sous-sol sous les fosses sera stabilisé afin qu’elles puissent être remblayées en toute sécurité. Les fosses seront remplies soit de nouvelles roches d’extraction, soit de stériles (aussi appelés remblai granulaire) provenant de la mine. La fosse A2, la fosse la plus au sud, sera remplie de nouvelles pierres de carrière. Plus au nord, la fosse A1 sera remplie de stériles. Les fosses C1 et B2, les prochaines fosses au nord, seront remplies de nouvelles pierres de carrière. La fosse B1 sera remplie de nouvelles pierres de carrière ou de stériles. Certains stériles contaminés par l’arsenic seront placés dans la partie gelée de la fosse B1.

Résidus miniers

Une partie des résidus miniers sera utilisée pour remblayer la mine souterraine. Les résidus miniers des étangs sud seront déplacés vers les étangs nord et central, ce qui réduira l’empreinte totale des résidus miniers en surface. Les barrages de l’étang sud seront enlevés. Tous les résidus miniers restants en surface seront recouverts d’un revêtement géosynthétique et de roches de carrière propres. Cette couverture réduira la quantité d’eau qui entrera en contact avec les résidus miniers. La stabilité de tous les barrages restants sur le site sera examinée et sera conforme aux lignes directrices de l’Association canadienne des barrages (ACB).

Sols contaminés

Les sols contaminés seront nettoyés des zones du site qui avaient déjà été perturbées par les activités minières. Ces zones seront conformes à la recommandation industrielle pour l’arsenic du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le lotissement urbain et la marina ainsi que les terrains le long de la rive seront également nettoyés, mais respecteront la recommandation résidentielle inférieure pour l’arsenic. Les zones qui ont été nettoyées seront entourées et recouvertes de pierres de carrière ou de terre. Les zones qui ont été boisées ou recouvertes de terres humides seront recouvertes de sol, de sorte que la végétation reviendra. Le sol contaminé sera éliminé dans les aires de résidus miniers ou dans les fosses A1 et B1. La zone industrielle centrale sera clôturée afin d’empêcher l’accès du public aux installations de congélation situées à la surface et de traitement de l’eau, ainsi qu’aux zones où les sols demeurent contaminés.

Date de modification :