August 2018: What's Happening at Giant?

Table of contents

Update: The Closure and Reclamation Plan

The Giant Mine Remediation Project has prepared an updated draft of the Closure and Reclamation Plan. This will be submitted as part of the application for a Type A Water Licence in January 2019 to the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board. The Project team requests public feedback on this plan.

The Closure and Reclamation Plan is the culmination of the engagement and design work the team has been undertaking since the Report of Environmental Assessment. It identifies the activities proposed to remediate the site and provides details for the on-going monitoring, management, and reduction of environmental effects. It also describes how the Project team will meet these objectives.

The project team is sharing the Closure and Reclamation Plan and the supporting documents, including the management and monitoring plans, with members of the public so that they may provide feedback before the formal regulatory process.

You can access these documents through a SharePoint site. The user name is giant.mine@agresearch.ca. The password is *cleanup100.

Public engagement sessions on technical aspects of the Plan will take place September 18-20, 2018. The sessions be determined based on public feedback received by August 1, 2018. The sessions will be held in the Katimavik B room of the Explorer Hotel.

The Giant Mine site welcomes its new Main Construction Manager

As of July 1, Parsons Inc. has officially taken over as the Main Construction Manager. See the January/February newsletter for more information. You can also visit the Parsons Inc.'s remediation project website to learn more about their mandate.

Working Group Site Visit

A group of fourteen people dressed in personal protective equipment on the Giant Mine site stand in front of the thermosyphons, which are long vertical pipes sticking out of the ground.
Members of the Working Group in front of the thermosyphons.

On July 12, the Giant Mine Working Group's monthly meeting took place in Yellowknife, followed by a tour at the Giant Mine site. The Working Group had a tour and received updates on the recent site activities.

During the meeting, they further discussed technical and operational aspects of the remediation plan and were given the opportunity to make recommendations to the Project team. Topics of discussion included the upcoming stress study, a project to determine whether stress related to the possibility of arsenic exposure has caused indirect health effects on members of affected communities. Further consultations will take place soon, and will be available on the Giant Mine Remediation Project website.

The Working Group tours the site on an annual basis, so members can get a firsthand understanding of the Project's progress.

C5-09 backfilling

This picture shows a grey, cement-like substance flowing down from a truck into a trough so it can be delivered into the underground.
Paste used for backfilling exhibits good flowability and consistency during delivery.

The final stage of the Site Stabilization Plan (SSP) began construction in May 2018. One key element is the backfilling of stope complex C5-09. As of July 8, approximately 2,000m3 of backfill material has been delivered to the underground void.

Work will continue throughout the summer and we expect it to be complete in the Fall. Approximately 54,000m3 of backfill material will be delivered to this stope complex.

Contracts Awards for the Giant Mine site

The Project team continues to work toward applying for the Type A Water Licence to implement remediation. In the meantime, the team is committed to keeping the site stable and managing risks so the public and the environment remain safe. To help accomplish this, a number of subcontracts have been awarded by the Main Construction Manager, Parsons Inc. These include:

Surface Care and Maintenance

Using the Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business, Parsons Inc. hired Indigenous-owned Det'on Cho Nuna Joint Venture to conduct the care and maintenance work required to keep the surface in a stable condition until remediation can move forward. This current contract is valued at approximately $7.4 million. As part of its successful bid, the company committed to Aboriginal Opportunities Considerations that included 500 training hours to be provided, 39 % of the labour required will be conducted by Indigenous staff, and 90% of subcontracting dollar value will be to Indigenous companies.

Effluent Treatment Plant operations

Parsons Inc. hired Pure Elements Environmental Solutions to operate the Effluent Treatment Plant. The contract for this specialized service is valued at $1,001,101. As part of its successful bid, the company made a significant commitment to Aboriginal Opportunities Considerations that included 8234 training hours to be provided, 83% of the labour required to be conducted by Indigenous staff, and 72% of subcontracting dollar value will be to Indigenous companies.

Emergency Medical Services Medical

Parsons Inc. awarded a competitive contract to Northern Indigenous-owned Det'on Cho Medical Solutions (a joint venture with Det'on Cho and Advanced Medical Solutions) to provide Emergency Medical Services to the site. This contract is valued at $662,184 and includes 400 hours of training in industrial site emergency medical response.

Site Security

Using the Procurement Strategy for Aboriginal Business, Parsons Inc. hired Northern Indigenous-owned Det'on Cho Scarlet Security Services to perform the site security work. This contract is valued at $1,830,255.00. As part of its successful bid, the company committed to Aboriginal Opportunities Considerations that included 1,500 training hours to be provided, 51 % of the labour required to be conducted by Indigenous staff and 51% of subcontracting dollar value will be to Indigenous companies.

Pilot Water Treatment Plant

Parsons hired Calgary-based Pure Elements Environmental Solutions to build and operate a pilot water treatment plant. This will determine if using adsorbents to remove arsenic is viable, and to support the design of the new Effluent Treatment Plant required for remediation. This contract was valued at $132,578.95. As part of its successful bid, they committed to ensuring 808 hours of training, 91% of the labour will be conducted by Indigenous staff, and 99.5% of the subcontracting dollar value will be to Indigenous companies.

Website development

Parsons Inc. awarded a contract for website development. The Yellowknife-based Outcrop Communications to develop a website that will include project updates, as well as contracting and training opportunities for Northerners and Indigenous peoples. This contract is valued at $20,535.00. Outcrop is a Northern-owned communications agency with roots in each of Canada's three territories. This contract is being handled by Outcrop's Yellowknife office, which employs a team of 25 marketing and communications experts.

This photo shows an aerial view of the Giant Mine site.
Aerial view of the Giant Mine site.

As Main Construction Manager, Parsons Inc. incorporates Aboriginal Opportunities Considerations (AOCs) evaluation criteria into all tenders that encourage employment, training, and apprenticeships for Indigenous workers and subcontracts to Indigenous businesses. Successful bidders are required to meet or exceed their commitments or face financial penalties.

The Project team is encouraged by commitments made by the successful bidders for training, labour hours and subcontractors under the Aboriginal Opportunities Considerations component of the contracts. However, the team will continue efforts to improve how local and regional benefits are maximized. Work to consider how feedback from stakeholders and the community can be incorporated into the procurement approach is ongoing. The Project team is also working with our Indigenous partners, and those from all levels of government, to receive regular feedback through ongoing engagement activities.

Date modified:

Août 2018 : que se passe-t-il à la mine Giant?

Table des matières

Le point sur le plan de fermeture et de remise en état

L'équipe du projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant a préparé une version provisoire mise à jour du plan de fermeture et de remise en état, qui sera présentée à l'Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie dans le cadre de la demande de permis d'utilisation des eaux de type A en janvier 2019. L'équipe du projet sollicite les commentaires du public relativement à ce plan.

Le plan de fermeture et de remise en état est le point culminant des travaux de mobilisation et de conception que l'équipe entreprend depuis la publication du rapport d'évaluation environnementale (en anglais seulement). Il précise les activités proposées pour l'assainissement du site et présente des renseignements sur la surveillance, la gestion et la réduction continues des effets environnementaux. Il décrit également la façon dont l'équipe du projet atteindra ces objectifs.

L'équipe du projet fait part du plan de fermeture et de remise en état et des documents à l'appui, y compris les plans de gestion et de surveillance, aux membres du public afin qu'ils puissent fournir une rétroaction avant le processus réglementaire officiel.

Ces documents peuvent être consultés sur un site SharePoint. Le nom d'utilisateur est giant.mine@agresearch.ca. Le mot de passe est *cleanup100.

Des séances de mobilisation du public relatives aux aspects techniques du plan auront lieu du 18 au 20 septembre 2018. Le déroulement des séances sera déterminé en fonction de la rétroaction du public reçue d'ici le 1er août 2018. Les séances auront lieu dans la salle Katimavik B de l'hôtel Explorer.

Le site de la mine Giant accueille son nouveau directeur principal des travaux

Depuis le 1er juillet, Parsons Inc. a officiellement pris la relève à titre de directeur principal des travaux. Consultez le bulletin de janvier/février pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Vous pouvez également visiter le site Web du projet d'assainissement de Parsons Inc. (site Web non disponible en français) pour en savoir plus sur son mandat.

Visite sur place du groupe de travail

Un groupe de quatorze personnes vêtues d’équipement de protection individuelle sur le site de la mine Giant se tiennent debout devant les thermosiphons, soit de longs tuyaux verticaux qui sortent du sol.
Membres du groupe de travail devant les thermosiphons.

Le 12 juillet, la réunion mensuelle du groupe de travail de la mine Giant a eu lieu à Yellowknife, suivie d'une visite du site de la mine Giant. Le groupe de travail a effectué une visite et l'on a présenté aux membres un compte rendu des activités récentes se déroulant sur le site.

Au cours de la réunion, les membres ont discuté de façon plus approfondie des aspects techniques et opérationnels du plan d'assainissement et ont eu l'occasion de formuler des recommandations à l'intention de l'équipe du projet. Au nombre des sujets de discussion figuraient l'étude à venir sur le stress, un projet visant à déterminer si le stress lié à la possibilité d'exposition à l'arsenic a entraîné des effets indirects sur la santé des membres des collectivités touchées. D'autres consultations auront lieu bientôt et figureront sur le site Web du projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant.

Le groupe de travail effectue une visite du site chaque année, afin que les membres puissent comprendre de première main l'état d'avancement du projet.

Remblayage du complexe de chambres C5-09

Cette photo montre une substance grise, semblable au ciment, qui s’écoule d’un camion dans une auge afin qu’elle puisse être livrée dans la cavité souterraine.
La pâte utilisée pour le remblayage présente une bonne fluidité et une bonne consistance lors de la livraison.

La dernière étape du plan de stabilisation du site a été amorcée en mai 2018. L'un des éléments clés est le remblayage du complexe de chambres C5-09. En date du 8 juillet, environ 2 000 m3 de matériaux de remblayage ont été livrés dans la cavité souterraine.

Les travaux se poursuivront tout au long de l'été et nous nous attendons à ce qu'ils soient terminés à l'automne. Environ 54 000 m3 de matériaux de remblayage seront livrés dans ce complexe de chambres.

Attribution de contrats pour le site de la mine Giant

L'équipe de projet continue de travailler à la demande de permis d'utilisation des eaux du type A en vue des travaux d'assainissement. Elle s'engage entre-temps à assurer la stabilité du site et à gérer les risques afin que le public et l'environnement demeurent en sécurité. À cette fin, le gestionnaire principal de la construction, Parsons Inc., a attribué un certain nombre de contrats en sous-traitance, dont les suivants :

Services d'entretien à la surface

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones, Parsons Inc. a retenu les services de la coentreprise Det'on Cho/Nuna appartenant à des Autochtones pour effectuer les travaux d'entretien nécessaires à la stabilité de la surface jusqu'à ce que les travaux d'assainissement puissent aller de l'avant. Ce contrat est actuellement évalué à environ 7,4 millions de dollars. Dans sa soumission qui a été retenue, l'entreprise s'est engagée à tenir compte des « considérations autochtones en matière d'occasions » en prévoyant 500 heures de formation et 39 % de la main d'œuvre requise pour le personnel autochtone et 90 % de la valeur du budget de la sous-traitance pour les entreprises autochtones.

Exploitation d'une station d'épurement des effluents

Parsons Inc. a retenu les services de Pure Elements Environmental Solutions pour exploiter l'usine de traitement des effluents. Le contrat pour ce service spécialisé est évalué à 1 001 101$. Dans sa soumission qui a été retenue, cette entreprise a pris un engagement important sur le plan des possibilités pour les Autochtones, prévoyant 8 234 heures de formation et 83 % de la main-d'œuvre requise pour le personnel autochtone et 72 % de la valeur du budget de la sous-traitance pour les entreprises autochtones.

Services médicaux d'urgence

Parsons Inc. a attribué un contrat concurrentiel à la coentreprise Det'on Cho Logistics, qui appartient à des Autochtones du Nord, en vue de la prestation de services médicaux d'urgence sur place. Ce contrat évalué à 662 184 $ prévoit 400 heures de formation aux interventions médicales d'urgence en zone industrielle.

Sécurité du site

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie d'approvisionnement auprès des entreprises autochtones, Parsons Inc. a retenu les services de Det'on Cho Scarlet Security Ltd. appartenant à des Autochtones du Nord pour effectuer les travaux de sécurité sur le site. Ce contrat est évalué à 1 830 255 $. Dans sa soumission qui a été retenue, l'entreprise s'est engagée à tenir compte des « considérations autochtones en matière d'occasions » et à prévoir 1 500 heures de formation, 51 % de la main-d'œuvre requise pour le personnel autochtone et 51 % de la valeur du budget de la sous-traitance pour les entreprises autochtones.

Usine pilote de traitement de l'eau

Parsons a embauché Pure Elements Environmental Solutions de Calgary pour construire et exploiter une usine pilote de traitement de l'eau. Cela permettra de déterminer si l'utilisation d'adsorbants pour éliminer l'arsenic est viable, ainsi que d'appuyer la conception de la nouvelle usine de traitement des effluents nécessaire à l'assainissement. Ce marché était évalué à 132 578,95 $. Dans le cadre de sa soumission retenue, l'entreprise s'est engagée à assurer 808 heures de formation, à garantir une main-d'œuvre composée à 91 % de personnel autochtone et à donner en sous-traitance 99,5 % de la valeur du marché à des entreprises autochtones.

Création d'un site Web

Parsons Inc. a attribué un contrat d'élaboration d'un site Web. L'entreprise Outcrop Communications, qui se situe à Yellowknife, doit créer un site Web qui fera le point sur les projets et annoncera les possibilités de passation de marchés et de formation pour les peuples autochtones et les résidents du Nord. Ce contrat pourrait s'élever à 20 535,00 $. Outcrop est un service de communications appartenant à des intérêts nordiques et ayant des racines dans chacun des trois territoires du Canada. Le contrat en question est géré par le bureau de Yellowknife d'Outcrop avec une équipe de 25 experts en marketing et en communications.

Cette photo offre une vue aérienne du site de la mine Giant.
Vue aérienne du site de la mine Giant.

À titre de gestionnaire principal de la construction, Parsons Inc. intègre les « considérations autochtones en matière d'occasions » à tous les appels d'offres visant à encourager l'emploi, la formation et l'apprentissage pour les travailleurs autochtones et les sous-traitants d'entreprises autochtones. Les soumissionnaires retenus doivent respecter ou dépasser leurs engagements, sinon ils encourent des sanctions financières.

 

L'équipe de projet est stimulée par les engagements pris par les soumissionnaires retenus pour la formation, les heures de travail et les sous-traitants dans le cadre du volet « Considérations autochtones en matière d'occasions » des contrats. Elle poursuivra néanmoins ses efforts en vue d'améliorer la façon dont les retombées locales et régionales seront maximisées. On s'efforce constamment de tenir compte de la façon dont les commentaires des intervenants et de la collectivité peuvent être intégrés à l'approche en matière d'approvisionnement. L'équipe de projet travaille également avec nos partenaires autochtones, ainsi qu'avec les partenaires correspondants de tous les paliers de gouvernement, de manière à recevoir régulièrement des commentaires dans le cadre des activités continues de consultation.

Date de modification :