Emergency preparedness and non-structural mitigation project funding guidelines 2019-2020

The Emergency Management Assistance Program’s non-structural mitigation and preparedness funding stream provides funding support for First Nation-led emergency management preparedness and non-structural mitigation initiatives on reserve.

The objective of the non-structural mitigation and preparedness funding stream is to prioritize the support of local efforts with small-scale projects that will enhance community preparedness for and/or mitigation against all hazard disaster risks such as wildland fires, flooding, landslides, tsunamis, severe weather, etc. The funding will also support building community capacity, knowledge, skills, and ability of First Nations to respond to and recovery from emergency events.

Community benefits

Communities can benefit from this program in the following ways:

Activities

Examples of activities supported through this program include:

Emergency management programming (training and plan development)

First Nation communities can build and enhance their emergency management capabilities on reserve through activities such as emergency management training, all hazard risk assessments, emergency management response and evacuation plan reviews and updates, table top exercises that test and revise emergency response plans, community awareness of emergency management risks and response plans, collaboration with neighbouring communities, and authorities.

Non-structural mitigation measures

First Nation communities can consider mitigating against disasters through non-structural efforts such as flood plain mapping, wildfire assessments, environmental studies, landslide studies, etc. For fiscal year 2019-2020, wildfire mitigation such as FireSmart will be assessed separately from non-structural mitigation (as a separate funding source).

FireSmart

FireSmart or wildfire mitigation can assist First Nation communities in their efforts to mitigate against wildfires through education, planning, vegetation/fuel management, and training.

Emergency management forums

First Nation organizations can plan and host regional forums on emergency management. Forums can focus on a specific aspect of emergency management, as prioritized by the regional First Nations, such as flood or wildfire preparation and information sharing or be more general to include all-hazard emergency management.

Application process

This funding source and process is managed jointly through ISC regional offices and headquarters. A national call for applications is posted by ISC Headquarters and regional offices then solicit for applications to First Nation communities within their region through a call out letter or email.

Applications for funding need to be submitted to the regional office by the deadline posted.

Regional offices will review applications and contact the applicants if necessary to support the process of completing the application for review.

Applications are reviewed based on the following:

Applicants will be notified by the regional office on the status of their application and eligibility results by April 1, 2019. Where applications are submitted after the 2019-2020 deadline, projects will be reviewed when received and applicants will be notified within six weeks of the date of submission. (Timelines are averages and may change.)

Eligible expenditures

As each community’s emergency management needs, abilities, resources, and priorities differ across communities, regions and nationally, providing an exhaustive list of eligible expenditures is not feasible. The following is a list of eligible expenditures to be used as an example of the types of expenditures that are eligible and frequently requested within community applications. Applicants may also refer to Emergency Management Assistance Program’s Terms and Conditions for additional information on eligible expenses.

Eligible expenditures may include, but are not limited to:

Ineligible expenses include, but are not limited to:

Funding

Transfer payments to funding recipients will be made in the form of a set or flexible contribution, depending on the eligibility of the recipient and the duration of the project. The funding approach used to transfer funds will be identified in the recipient’s signed funding agreement. Your regional office can inform you about eligibility for these different funding approaches.

Under set contribution funding all unexpended funds remaining at the end of each fiscal year will be reimbursed to ISC.

Under flexible contribution funding, during the period of the funding agreement or the program, service, project or activity, the recipient may retain unexpended funding remaining at the end of each fiscal year for use in the next fiscal year to further achieve results toward the program, service, project or activity objectives funded. Any unexpended funding remaining at the expiry of the funding agreement or the completion of the program, service project or activity will be reimbursed to ISC.

Monitoring and accountability

Projects must be completed in accordance with the provisions of the funding agreement and the program delivery requirements outlined in these national program guidelines. Funding recipients are required to ensure that project expenditures are within the eligible expenditures set out in these National Program Guidelines and the Emergency Management Assistance Terms and Conditions.

Reporting requirements

The reporting requirements are listed in the recipient’s funding agreement. Details on these requirements are available in the Reporting Guide. Recipients are responsible for ensuring that their reporting requirements are met and reports are accurate and submitted on or before the due dates.

Contact information

For more information on non-structural mitigation and preparedness funding, please contact your regional office.
Date modified:

Lignes directrices sur le financement des projets de préparation aux urgences et d’atténuation non structurelle 2019-2020

Le volet de financement pour les projets d'atténuation non structurelle et de préparation aux urgences du Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences (PAGU) vise à soutenir financièrement les initiatives dirigées par des Premières Nations dans les réserves relativement à la préparation aux urgences et à l'atténuation non structurelle.

L'objectif du volet de financement pour les projets de préparation aux urgences et d'atténuation non structurelle est d'accorder la priorité au soutien des efforts locaux au moyen de projets à petite échelle qui amélioreront l'état de préparation des communautés ou les mesures d'atténuation prises pour faire face à l'ensemble des risques de catastrophes, tels que les feux de forêt, les inondations, les glissements de terrain, les tsunamis, le temps violent, etc. Le financement appuiera également le renforcement des capacités communautaires, des connaissances et des compétences des Premières Nations en ce qui concerne les interventions et le rétablissement à la suite de situations d'urgence.

Avantages pour la communauté

Les communautés peuvent retirer les avantages suivants du programme :

Activités

Voici des exemples d'activités financées par l'intermédiaire de ce programme :

Programmes de gestion des urgences (formation et élaboration de plans)

Les communautés des Premières Nations peuvent renforcer et améliorer leurs capacités en gestion des urgences dans les réserves grâce à des activités, telles que : la formation en gestion des urgences; les évaluations tous risques; les examens et les mises à jour des plans d'intervention en cas d'urgence et d'évacuation; les exercices de simulation qui permettent de mettre à l'essai et de réviser les plans d'intervention d'urgence; la sensibilisation des communautés aux risques en matière de gestion des urgences et aux plans d'intervention; et la collaboration avec les communautés voisines et les autorités.

Mesures d'atténuation non structurelle

Les communautés des Premières Nations peuvent envisager d'atténuer les effets des catastrophes par des mesures non structurelles, telles que la cartographie des plaines inondables, l'évaluation des feux de forêt, les études environnementales, les études sur les glissements de terrain, etc. Pour l'exercice 2019-2020, les mesures d'atténuation des feux de forêt, notamment IntelliFeu, seront évaluées séparément des mesures d'atténuation non structurelle (source de financement distincte).

Intelli-feu

Intelli-feu ou l'atténuation des feux de forêt peut aider les communautés des Premières Nations dans leurs efforts d'atténuation des feux de forêt grâce à l'éducation, à la planification, à la gestion de la végétation et des combustibles et à la formation.

Forums sur la gestion des urgences

Les organisations des Premières Nations peuvent planifier et organiser des forums régionaux sur la gestion des urgences. Les forums peuvent porter sur un aspect particulier de la gestion des urgences, selon l'ordre de priorité établi par les Premières Nations de la région, notamment la préparation aux inondations ou aux feux de forêt et l'échange d'information à cet égard, ou ils peuvent être de nature plus générale afin d'englober la gestion des urgences tous risques.

Processus de demande

La source et le processus de financement sont gérés conjointement par les bureaux régionaux et l'administration centrale de Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC). Un appel national de propositions est affiché par l'administration centrale de SAC, puis les bureaux régionaux invitent les communautés des Premières Nations de leur région à présenter une demande au moyen d'une lettre de convocation ou d'un courriel.

Les demandes de financement doivent parvenir au bureau régional selon les délais affichés.

Les bureaux régionaux examineront les demandes et communiqueront avec les demandeurs au besoin pour les aider à remplir la demande.

Les demandes seront examinées selon les critères suivants :

Les demandeurs seront informés, par le bureau régional, de l'état de leur demande et des résultats de leur admissibilité au plus tard le 1er avril 2018. Lorsque les demandes sont présentées après la date limite de 2019-2020, les projets seront examinés dès leur réception et on communiquera avec les demandeurs dans les six semaines suivant la date de présentation (les délais constituent des moyennes et peuvent changer).

Dépenses admissibles

Étant donné que les besoins, les capacités, les ressources et les priorités de chaque communauté en matière de gestion des urgences diffèrent à l'échelle des communautés, des régions et du pays, il n'est pas possible de fournir une liste exhaustive des dépenses admissibles. Voici, à titre indicatif, une liste des dépenses admissibles souvent demandées par les communautés. Les demandeurs peuvent également consulter le document suivant intitulé Modalités de l'aide à la gestion des urgences pour obtenir un complément d'information sur les dépenses admissibles.

Les dépenses admissibles comprennent notamment :

Les dépenses non admissibles comprennent notamment :

Financement

Les paiements de transfert aux bénéficiaires du financement seront effectués sous forme d'une contribution fixe ou souple, selon l'admissibilité du bénéficiaire et la durée du projet. La méthode de financement utilisée pour transférer les fonds sera précisée dans l'accord de financement signé par le bénéficiaire. Votre bureau régional peut vous renseigner sur l'admissibilité à ces différentes méthodes de financement.

Dans le cadre du financement à contribution fixe, tous les fonds non dépensés à la fin de chaque exercice doivent être remboursés à SAC.

Dans le cadre d'un financement par contribution souple, pendant la période de l'accord de financement ou du programme, du service, du projet ou de l'activité, le bénéficiaire peut conserver les fonds non dépensés à la fin de chaque exercice financier pour les utiliser au cours de l'exercice suivant afin d'atteindre les objectifs du programme, du service, du projet ou de l'activité financés. Tous les fonds non dépensés à l'expiration de l'accord de financement ou à l'achèvement du programme, du service, du projet ou de l'activité doivent être remboursés à SAC.

Surveillance et responsabilisation

Les projets doivent être réalisés conformément aux dispositions de l'accord de financement et aux exigences d'exécution du programme énoncées dans les présentes lignes directrices nationales sur le programme. Les bénéficiaires du financement doivent s'assurer que les dépenses dans le cadre de leur projet sont conformes aux dépenses admissibles établies dans les présentes Lignes directrices nationales et dans les Modalités de l'aide à la gestion des urgences.

Les représentants des bureaux régionaux peuvent répondre aux questions et fournir, au besoin, des conseils concernant ce programme et le financement.

Exigences en matière de rapports

Les exigences en matière de rapports sont énoncées dans l'accord de financement du bénéficiaire. Des précisions sur ces exigences sont fournies dans le Guide de présentation des rapports. Il revient aux bénéficiaires d'assurer le respect des exigences en matière de rapports et des dates limites de présentation des rapports ainsi que l'exactitude des rapports.

Coordonnées

Pour un complément d'information sur le financement des mesures d'atténuation non structurelle et de la préparation aux urgences, communiquez avec votre bureau régional.

Date de modification :