Giant Mine Closure and Reclamation Plan

Information about the Closure and Reclamation Plan is being prepared for the Giant Mine Remediation Project.

Closure and Reclamation Planning

The Giant Mine Remediation Project has resubmitted its application for a Type A Water Licence on April 1, 2019. This includes submitting an updated Closure and Reclamation Plan and other supporting documents, such as management and monitoring plans, to the Mackenzie Valley Land and Water Board.

These documents were made available to the public in June 2018 in order to provide an update in advance of the formal regulatory process. You can access these documents on the Board’s Public Registry.

Please contact the Project team by emailing aadnc.giantmine.aandc@canada.ca for more information. The public will also have opportunities to provide input directly to the Land and Water Board.

What is in the Closure and Reclamation Plan?

The Closure and Reclamation Plan identifies the activities the Project team is proposing to remediate the site. It provides details for the on-going monitoring, management, and reduction of environmental effects. It also describes how the Project team will meet the Plan’s objectives. Components of the Plan are summarized below.

Site Infrastructure

Currently, the site has approximately 85 buildings, 25 debris stockpiles, and up to 30 kilometres of road network, utilities, and fencing. As part of remediation, the Project team plans to decommission, demolish, and remove the majority of existing infrastructure. The Project team will construct some new infrastructure that will stay on the site after remediation is complete. This includes:

  • A fence around the central area of the site (the area that will contain the freeze infrastructure, new water treatment plant, and non-hazardous landfill)
  • Thermosyphons for the freeze program
  • A transport network of the roads, culverts and bridge(s) to access the remaining infrastructure
  • Power and communications services
  • An overland treated water pipeline and near shore outfall
  • An office space and vehicle garage
  • A non-hazardous waste landfill
  • A closed portal for future underground mine access (if required)
  • Space to be managed by the Yellowknife Historical Society
  • A memorial

Underground

The remediation will include filling some underground areas with tailings and other materials based on stability assessments. All openings to the underground will be covered, capped or plugged to prevent public access.

Freezing of Arsenic Chambers and B1 Pit

The remediation includes freezing the chambers and stopes that contain the arsenic trioxide dust. The Project team will also freeze part of the B1 Pit, as it will contain some arsenic-impacted materials. The frozen zone established around these areas will be maintained at -5°C or colder. Temperatures will be monitored to ensure the areas remain frozen.

Open Pits

The remaining pits will be filled with a combination of new quarried rock and coarse waste rock from the mine site. Pits will be filled and covered to protect the underground from flooding and prevent unauthorized access.

Tailings and Dams

The plan for the tailings areas and dams is to:

  • Use some tailings to fill underground areas
  • Cover the Tailings Containment Areas with a rock cover and a liner
  • Relocate the South Pond tailings into the North and Central tailings ponds
  • Drain and cover the Settling and Polishing Ponds with a cover similar to the Tailings Containment Areas
  • Cover the foreshore tailings area with rock
  • Long-term monitoring and maintenance of dams in accordance with Canadian Dam Association guidelines

Contaminated Materials

The areas previously developed for mining (except the town site and marina lands) will be remediated to the GNWT industrial soil quality guidelines.

Contaminated soils in the former mine townsite, boat launch, and shoreline will be cleaned up to meet the GNWT residential guidelines for arsenic and fuel in soils. Contaminated soils around the former mill and roaster building with the highest concentrations of arsenic will be disposed of in the freeze area. Contaminated soils located in other areas developed by the mine will be disposed of in the pits or the Tailings Containment Areas.

Landfill and Other Waste

A non-hazardous waste landfill will be constructed within the site’s central area of the site. This landfill will contain non-hazardous waste, such as demolition debris and double-bagged asbestos waste. Water treatment plant residuals, sludge, and filter media will be disposed of in a separate cell of the landfill. This section of the landfill will remain open to support the ongoing operation of the water treatment plant. Hazardous waste will be removed from site and disposed of in an approved facility.

Borrow and Quarry Areas

Rock quarry and fine-grained borrow areas will provide the material needed to fill the pits and construct covers on Tailings Containment Areas. Wherever possible, rock generated by other site activities will be used. For example, material will be produced by constructing a tailings spillway.

After remediation is complete, the borrow areas surface will be graded to match surrounding topography. This is to prevent erosion and impacts to surface water flows.

Water Management

A new water treatment plant will remove arsenic and other contaminants from the mine water before it is discharged into the environment. The existing Effluent Treatment Plant will be removed after the new Water Treatment Plant is in operation.

The new Water Treatment Plant will be built in the central area of the site. It will be designed to produce a minewater discharge that:

  • meets drinking water quality guidelines for arsenic
  • meets water quality criteria to be set during the regulatory process
  • is protective of human health and the environment

The plant will run year round. Treated mine water will be transported by overland pipe before being released into Yellowknife Bay, near the outlet of Baker Creek.

Baker Creek Surface Water

Baker Creek will stay in its current location, although some small sections will be realigned. The alignment will allow the passage of large amounts of water in case of a flooding event. As well, all contaminated sediment will be removed from Baker Creek. Fish access to Baker Creek will not be restricted. However, any fish habitat the Project team may construct in Baker Creek will be determined based on future consultation with Fisheries and Oceans Canada, the Yellowknives Dene First Nation, and other stakeholders.

Site-Wide Surface Water

Runoff that contacts the tailings covers and other engineered covers will be collected in sumps. It will then be conveyed to the mine water pool and treated prior to discharge. This will continue until monitoring confirms surface runoff from remediated areas is suitable for discharge to the environment.

Date modified:

Plan de fermeture et de remise en état de la mine Giant

Les renseignements sur le plan de fermeture et de remise en état sont en cours de préparation pour le Projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant.

Planification des travaux de fermeture et de remise en état du site

L’équipe du Projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant a soumis une nouvelle demande pour un permis d’utilisation des eaux de type A le 1 avril, 2019. Cela comprend la présentation de la version mise à jour du plan de fermeture et de remise en état et d’autres documents à l’appui, comme les plans de gestion et de surveillance, à l’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie.

Ces documents ont été rendus publics en juin 2018 dans le but de donner une mise à jour en prévision du processus réglementaire officiel. Vous pouvez consulter ces documents sur le registre public (site Web non disponible en français) de l’Office des terres et des eaux de la vallée du Mackenzie.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec l’équipe de projet par courriel à l’adresse aadnc.giantmine.aandc@canada.ca. Le public aura également l’occasion de fournir ses commentaires directement à l’Office des terres et des eaux.

Que contient le plan de fermeture et de remise en état?

Le plan de fermeture et de remise en état comprend les activités que l’équipe du projet propose afin d’assainir le site. Il fournit les détails de la surveillance continue, la gestion et la réduction des effets environnementaux. Il décrit également la façon dont l’équipe du projet respectera les objectifs du plan. Vous trouverez ci-dessous un résumé des composantes du plan.

Infrastructures du site

Le site se compose actuellement d’environ 85 bâtiments, 25 stocks de débris et d’au plus 30 kilomètres de réseau routier, de services publics et de clôtures. Dans le cadre de l’assainissement, l’équipe du projet envisage de mettre hors service, démolir et retirer la majorité des infrastructures existantes. L’équipe du projet construira de nouvelles infrastructures qui demeureront sur le site lorsque l’assainissement sera terminé. Cela comprend ce qui suit : 

  • Une clôture autour de l’aire centrale du site (l’aire comprendra les infrastructures de gel, la nouvelle usine de traitement des eaux et un site d’enfouissement non dangereux)
  • Des thermosiphons pour le programme de gel
  • Un réseau de transport, lequel comprendra des routes, des ponceaux et des ponts pour accéder aux infrastructures restantes
  • Des services d’alimentation et de communication
  • Une canalisation d’eau traitée terrestre et un exutoire près du littoral
  • Un espace de bureau et un garage pour les véhicules
  • Un site d’enfouissement non dangereux
  • Un portail fermé pour un futur accès à la mine souterraine (le cas échéant)
  • Un espace qui sera géré par la Société d’histoire de Yellowknife
  • Un monument commémoratif

Souterrain

L’assainissement comprendra le remplissage de certaines zones souterraines avec des résidus et d’autres matériaux en fonction des évaluations de stabilité. Toutes les ouvertures du souterrain seront recouvertes, fermées ou cimentées pour empêcher l’accès du public.

Gel des chambres d’arsenic et fosse B1

L’assainissement comprend le gel des chambres et des chantiers remblayés qui contiennent de la poussière de trioxyde d’arsenic. L’équipe du projet gèlera également une partie de la fosse B1 puisqu’elle contiendra certains matériaux pollués par l’arsenic. On maintiendra la température de la zone gelée qui sera établie autour de ce secteur à un maximum de -5 °C. Les températures seront surveillées pour s’assurer que les zones restent gelées.

Puits à ciel ouvert

Les fosses restantes seront remplies avec une combinaison de nouvel extrait de roche et déblais grossiers provenant de la mine. Les fosses seront remplies et recouvertes afin de protéger le souterrain contre les inondations et de prévenir les accès non autorisés.

Résidus et barrage

Pour les aires de résidus et les barrages, on prévoit : 

  • Utiliser des résidus pour remplir les zones souterraines
  • Recouvrir les zones de confinement des résidus avec une couverture de pierre et un revêtement
  • Relocaliser les résidus de l’étang du sud dans les bassins de résidus du nord et central
  • Drainer et recouvrir les bassins de décantation et de polissage avec une couverture similaire à celle des zones de confinement de résidus
  • Couvrir les aires de résidus d’estran avec des roches
  • La surveillance et le maintien à long terme des barrages conformément aux lignes directrices de l’Association canadienne des barrages

Contaminants

Les zones d’exploitation minière (à l’exception du site de la ville et des terrains de la marina) seront assainies conformément aux directives de qualité des sols industriels du GTNO.

Les sols contaminés dans l’ancienne ville de la mine, les rampes de mise à l’eau et les rives seront nettoyés pour répondre aux lignes directrices locales du gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest pour l’arsenic et les combustibles dans les sols. Les sols contaminés autour de l’ancien moulin et de l’ancien bâtiment de grillage ayant les plus grandes concentrations d’arsenic seront enfouis dans la zone de gel. Les sols contaminés dans les autres zones de la mine seront enfouis dans les fosses ou les aires de confinement des stériles.

Sites d’enfouissement et autres déchets

On construira un site d’enfouissement non dangereux au sein de l’aire centrale du site. Le site d’enfouissement comprendra des déchets non dangereux, comme les débris de démolition et les déchets d’amiante dans des sacs doublés. Les résidus de l’usine de traitement des eaux, de la boue et les éléments filtrants seront éliminés dans une cellule séparée du site d’enfouissement. Cette section du site d’enfouissement restera ouverte pour appuyer l’exploitation de l’usine de traitement d’eau. Les déchets dangereux seront retirés du site et éliminés dans une installation approuvée.

Zones d’emprunt et de carrières

Les zones de carrières de pierres et de granules fines empruntées fourniront le matériel requis pour remplir les fosses ainsi que pour la construction de la couverture sur les zones de confinement des résidus. Lorsque possible, les roches générées par les autres activités du site seront utilisées. Par exemple, on générera du matériel lors de la construction d’un déversoir de résidus.

Gestion de l’eau

Une nouvelle usine de traitement des eaux permettra d’éliminer l’arsenic et les autres contaminants de l’eau d’exhaure avant de la déverser dans l’environnement. L’usine de traitement des effluents existante sera détruite lorsque la nouvelle usine de traitement des eaux sera en activité.

La nouvelle usine de traitement des eaux sera construite dans l’aire centrale du site. Elle sera conçue pour produire un écoulement des eaux d’exhaure qui : 

  • respectera les lignes directrices sur la qualité de l’eau potable relatives à l’arsenic
  • respectera les critères de qualité de l’eau qui seront établis dans le cadre du processus réglementaire
  • protègera la santé humaine et environnementale

L’usine fonctionnera toute l’année. Les eaux de mine traitées seront transportées par des tuyaux terrestres avant d’être rejetées dans la baie de Yellowknife, près de l’embouchure du ruisseau Baker.

Eau de surface du ruisseau Baker

Le ruisseau Baker demeurera à son emplacement actuel même si de petites sections seront modifiées. L’alignement permettra le passage de grandes quantités d’eau en cas d’inondation. De plus, tous les sédiments contaminés seront retirés du ruisseau Baker.

L’accès des poissons au ruisseau Baker ne sera pas limité. Cependant, tout habitat du poisson que l’équipe du projet pourrait construire dans le ruisseau Baker sera déterminé en fonction des consultations qui seront organisées avec Pêches et Océans Canada, la Première Nation des Dénés Yellowknives et d’autres intervenants.

Eau de surface dans l’ensemble du site

L’eau de ruissellement qui entrera en contact avec les couvertures des résidus et les autres techniques sera recueillie dans des bassins. Elle sera ensuite transportée au bassin d’eau de la mine et traitée avant d’être rejetée. Cela se poursuivra jusqu’à ce que la surveillance confirme que le ruissellement de surface des zones assainies peut être rejeté dans l’environnement.

Date de modification :