Summary Report for the Recipient Audit Performed on the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples

Name: Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Default status at time of audit: Not in default
Current default status: Not in default
Current Chief Executive Officer: Jim Devoe
Time period covered by audit: April 1st, 2014 to March 31st, 2016
Amount of AANDC funding audited: $3,471,408

Background

Crown Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs (CIRNA), formally Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), selected the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples for a recipient audit based on their 2015-2016 risk assessment score and other risk factors.

The objective of the recipient audit was to provide assurance that funding provided to the recipient by CIRNA was spent for its intended purposes and is in compliance with the terms and conditions of the 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 Funding Agreements. The objective was achieved through:

Samson & Associates, an independent audit firm, was commissioned by CIRNA to undertake the recipient audit. The audit procedures were performed from February 15th, 2017 to March 2nd, 2017. The audited amounts of this report present fairly, in all material respects, the costs eligible and the audit adjustments of the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples for the provision of programs, services and activities to its members for the  period audited.

Findings

The procedures performed identified that internal financial control processes are mostly in place, and well managed. There are, however, a few procedures that identified control weaknesses within governance, program administration, and financial management. Addressing these internal controls will strengthen how the Recipient manages and allocates its funds in accordance to the agreement. The following are some key findings and key recommendations identified in the audit report.

Organization's Governance

The procedures performed identified the following opportunity to improve governance and administration in support of programs funded by CIRNA. It is recommended that the organization develop Terms of References for the Human Resources Committee to provide guidance for committee members of their roles and responsibilities.

Organization's Financial Management

The procedures performed identified the following observations and areas of improvement with respect to the organization's financial management procedures. It is recommended that all journal entries have supporting documentation; in addition, a short justification should be stated describing what the expense was for. It is recommended that the recipient use timesheets to record how many hours are being spent on a specific project.

Current Status

A copy of the final report has been sent to the recipient. CIRNA and the recipient are working together to address the findings.

Disclaimer: This audit summary was prepared based on information contained in a Recipient Audit Report on The Congress of Aboriginal Peoples. The report produced for CIRNA is intended solely for the information and use of the Recipient and CIRNA Management. The audit summary only presents limited information on the general findings based on the audit procedures performed and does not provide information on the detailed procedures of findings. Consequently, this summary may not be appropriate for the purpose and use of the reader.

Date modified:

Rapport sommaire sur la vérification de bénéficiaires visant Congress of Aboriginal Peoples

Nom: Congress of Aboriginal Peoples
Lieu: Ottawa, Ontario
Situation de manquement au moment de la vérification : Aucun
Situation actuelle de manquement : Aucun
Directeur général actuel : Jim Devoe
Période visée par la vérification : Du 1er avril 2014 au 31 mars 2016
Montant du financement d'AANC vérifié : 3 471 408 $

Contexte

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAANC), anciennement Affaires autochtones et  du Nord Canada (AANC), a choisi Congress of Aboriginal Peoples d'Ottawa pour faire l'objet d'une vérification de bénéficiaires en raison de son résultat à l'évaluation des risques 2015-2016 et d'autres facteurs de risques.

L'objectif de la vérification du bénéficiaire consistait à fournir l'assurance que le financement fourni au bénéficiaire par RCAANC a été dépensé aux fins prévues et en conformité avec les modalités des ententes de financement de 2014-2015 et de 2015-2016. Cet objectif a été atteint par deux moyens :

RCAANC a mandaté Samson & Associés, un cabinet de vérification indépendant, de procéder à la vérification du bénéficiaire. La vérification s'est déroulée du 15 février au 2 mars 2017. Les montants vérifiés dans le rapport présentent une image fidèle, dans tous leurs aspects significatifs, des coûts admissibles et les ajustements de vérification de Congress of Aboriginal Peoples pour la prestation de programmes, de services et d'activités à ses membres pour la période vérifiée.

Constatations

La vérification a permis de constater que les processus internes de contrôle financier ont, en général, été instaurés et sont bien gérés. Toutefois, quelques procédures mettent en lumière des faiblesses sur le plan de la gouvernance, de l'administration des programmes et de la gestion financière. Le redressement de ces contrôles internes permettra de consolider la façon dont le bénéficiaire gère et affecte ses fonds conformément à l'entente. Les principales constatations et recommandations énoncées dans le rapport de vérification sont résumées ci-dessous.

Gouvernance  de l'organisation

Les vérificateurs ont cerné la possibilité suivante d'améliorer la gouvernance et l'administration à l'appui des programmes financés par RCAANC. Il est recommandé que l'organisation établisse un mandat pour le comité des ressources humaines, afin de préciser les rôles et les responsabilités des membres.

Gestion financière de l'organisation

Les vérificateurs ont formulé des observations et cerné des points à améliorer quant aux procédures de gestion financière de l'organisation. Il est recommandé que toutes les écritures de journal soient accompagnées de pièces justificatives. De plus, une brève justification devrait préciser l'objet de la dépense. Il est recommandé que le bénéficiaire utilise des feuilles de temps pour consigner le nombre d'heures consacrées à un projet en particulier.

Situation actuelle

Une copie du rapport final a été envoyée au bénéficiaire. RCAANC et le bénéficiaire travaillent conjointement pour donner suite à ces constatations.

Avertissement : Le présent rapport sommaire a été préparé en fonction des renseignements contenus dans le rapport de vérification du bénéficiaire visant Congress of Aboriginal Peoples. Le rapport produit pour les RCAANC est réservé à l'utilisation du bénéficiaire et de la direction des RCAANC. Le rapport sommaire ne présente qu'un portrait limité des constatations générales tirées de la vérification et ne fournit pas de détail sur le processus de vérification ou les constatations. Par conséquent, il pourrait ne pas convenir au but et à l'utilisation visés par le lecteur.

Date de modification :