10th anniversary of the apology to former students of residential schools

Warning!

This website deals with topics that may cause trauma invoked by memories of past abuse. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risk associated with triggering. A National Indian Residential School Crisis Line provides support for former residential school students. You can access emotional and crisis referral services and other health supports from the Government of Canada. Please call the Crisis Line at 1-866-925-4419 if you or someone you know is triggered while reading the content on this website.

June 11, 2018 is the 10th anniversary of the apology to former students of Federal residential schools.

Consult:

Historic milestone in journey toward reconciliation

The Government of Canada recognizes that true and lasting reconciliation cannot be achieved through any one single agreement and that the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement is not a complete answer to the wrongs of the past or the challenges of the present. We know there is more to do, including working with the Metis Nation and all other Indigenous peoples to address the legacy of federal Indian residential schools and ensure they feel part of Canada’s efforts to address past wrongs. We will continue to work together to advance reconciliation, and support the promotion of Indigenous culture, commemoration, and the healing and well-being of those affected by the harmful policies of the past.

In this spirit, the 2008 apology to former students of federal residential schools has been translated into seven Indigenous languages so that survivors can read the apology in the languages they were forbidden to use at these schools:

Find electronic copies of the 2008 apology in Indigenous languages in printable PDF format on the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation's website by clicking on the fourth item in the header called Indian Residential Schools Apology.

Initiatives

Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement

  • Nearly 80,000 former federal residential school students have received a Common Experience Payment, totaling $1.6 billion in compensation.
  • An additional $3 billion in compensation has been paid to resolve claims of sexual abuse, serious physical abuse, and other wrongful acts that have caused serious psychological harm to former students.
  • In March 2018, the Government of Canada announced it would pursue negotiated settlements with survivors whose claims of student-on-student abuse were previously dismissed or under-compensated.
  • As well, $125 million was provided to the Aboriginal Healing Foundation for community-based healing initiatives and over $20 million for 144 commemoration projects in every province or territory where an Indian residential school existed.

By acknowledging the past and educating Canadians about the experiences of Indigenous children in these schools, we can ensure that this history and its lasting impact is never forgotten.

Find out more about the Indian Residential Schools Agreement.

Responding to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission

The Government of Canada is committed to working with partners to ensure each and every one of the Calls to Action is implemented and is tracking this progress online through a new series of webpages.

Find out more at Delivering on Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action

Related links

Date modified:

10e anniversaire de la présentation des excuses relatives aux pensionnats indiens

Avertissement!

Ce site Web traite de sujets pouvant être traumatisants pour le lecteur. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît le besoin de prendre certaines mesures de sécurité afin de réduire le risque de déclencher une réaction à l'évocation de violences passées. Une ligne d'écoute téléphonique des pensionnats indiens au niveau national offre un soutien aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens. Vous pouvez avoir accès aux services de référence en cas de crise émotionnelle et obtenir de l'information sur la façon d'obtenir d'autres services d'appui à la santé du gouvernement du Canada. Appelez la ligne d'écoute téléphonique au 1-866-925-4419 si vous ou quelqu'un que vous connaissez souffrez d'un traumatisme en lisant le contenu de ce site Web.

Le 11 juin 2018 est le 10e anniversaire de la présentation des excuses relatives aux pensionnats indiens fédéraux.

Visiter:

Un jalon historique de notre cheminement vers la réconciliation

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que la réconciliation véritable et durable ne peut être réalisée par une seule entente et que la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens n'est pas une réponse complète aux torts du passé ou aux défis du présent. Nous savons qu'il reste du travail à faire, y compris un travail de collaboration avec la Nation métisse et tous les autres peuples autochtones pour redresser les torts causés dans les pensionnats indiens fédéraux et s'assurer qu'ils sentent qu'ils font partie des efforts du Canada pour corriger les erreurs du passé. Nous continuerons de travailler ensemble pour faire progresser la réconciliation et soutenir la promotion de la culture autochtone, la commémoration, ainsi que la guérison et le bien-être des personnes touchées par les politiques néfastes du passé.

Dans cet esprit, la présentation d'excuses 2008 aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens fédéraux a été traduite dans sept langues autochtones de sorte que les survivants puissent en prendre connaissance dans les langues qu'on leur interdisait d'utiliser dans les pensionnats.

Trouver les copies électroniques des excuses 2008 dans les langues autochtones en format PDF imprimable sur le site Web du Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation en cliquant sur le quatrième point de l’entête intitulé « Indian Residential Schools Apology Apology ».

Initiatives

Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens

En reconnaissant le passé et en sensibilisant les Canadiens aux expériences vécues par les enfants autochtones dans ces écoles, nous pouvons faire en sorte que ce chapitre de notre histoire et ses répercussions durables ne soient jamais oubliés.

Trouver d'autres renseignements sur la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens

Commission de vérité et de réconciliation

Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à travailler avec ses partenaires pour veiller à ce que chacun des appels à l'action soit mis en œuvre et de suivre ses progrès en ligne au moyen d'une série de nouvelles pages Web.

Pour d'autres renseignements, lisez Donner suite aux appels à l'action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation

Liens connexes

  • Réconciliation
  • Pensionnats indiens
  • Fondation autochtone de guérison
  • Projets de commémoration
  • Centre national pour la vérité et la réconciliation
  • Date de modification :