Management Letter: Liard First Nation

Chief Morgan and Council
Liard First Nation
PO Box 328
Watson Lake YK (Yukon) YOA 1C0

Fax: 1-867-536-7264

Ref:  2014-15 Recipient Audit Results and Follow-Up

Dear Chief Morgan and Council:

Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs (CIRNA), formally known as Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), conducted a number of recipient audits in fiscal year 2014-15, including an audit of Liard First Nation. Please find attached a copy of the full audit report and a summary of the report. The summary will be published on the department's website in the coming weeks, along with this management letter. Should you wish, you may provide a written response to me, pertaining to this audit within 30 days. Your response will also be posted.

As a result of this recipient audit, a recoverable amount has been identified.  A representative of CIRNA will contact you shortly to discuss the next steps related to an appropriate repayment schedule.

The audit report also included a number of recommendations to assist in improving management practices. We look forward to working together to develop a plan to address the management recommendations.

Please contact your regional CIRNA representative to discuss any questions or concerns you may have about this audit.

Sincerely,

Paul Thoppil, CPA, CA
Chief Finances, Results and Delivery Officer

c.c.:  Dionne Savill, Regional Director General, Yukon Region
David Peckham, Chief Audit & Evaluation Executive
Stephen Van Dine, Assistant Deputy Minister, Northern Affairs Organization
Hallux Consulting Inc.

Date modified:

Lettre de recommandation : Liard First Nation

Chef Morgan et membres du Conseil
Liard First Nation
C.P. 328
Watson Lake YK, (Yukon)  Y0A 1C0

Télécopieur : 1-867-5367264

Objet : Résultats et suivi de la vérification du bénéficiaire de 2014-2015

Chers Chef Morgan et membres du Conseil,

Relations Couronne-Autochtones et des Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAANC), anciennement connu sous le nom d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), a réalisé des vérifications des bénéficiaires pendant l'exercice 2014-2015, notamment une vérification de Liard First Nation. Vous trouverez ci-joint le rapport de vérification complet de même qu'un résumé. Ce dernier, ainsi que la présente lettre de recommandations, sera affiché sur le site Web du Ministère au cours des prochaines semaines. Vous disposez de 30 jours pour me faire parvenir une réponse à la vérification, si vous le désirez. Votre réponse sera également publiée.

Dans le cadre de cette vérification du bénéficiaire, nous avons établi qu'un montant était à recouvrer. Un représentant de RCAANC communiquera avec vous sous peu pour discuter des prochaines étapes et d'un calendrier de remboursement approprié.

Le rapport de vérification contient aussi un certain nombre de recommandations visant à améliorer les pratiques de gestion. Nous serons heureux de travailler avec vous à l'élaboration d'un plan qui permettra de donner suite à ces recommandations.

Veuillez communiquer avec votre représentant régional de RCAANC pour discuter de toutes questions ou toutes préoccupations que vous pourriez avoir au sujet de cette vérification.

Veuillez agréer l'expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs,

Paul Thoppil, CPA, CA
Dirigeant principal des finances, des résultats et de l'exécution

Cc :  Dionne Savill, Directrice générale régionale, Territoire du Yukon
David Peckham, Dirigeant principal de la vérification et de l'évaluation
Stephen van Dine, Sous-ministre adjoint, Organisation des affaires du Nord
Hallux Consulting Inc.

Date de modification :