Engagement activities for Giant Mine

Information on engagement activities for the Giant Mine Remediation Project.

Notice

Yellowknife Public Forum for the Giant Mine Remediation Project

Date: Monday, March 9, 2020
Time: 7:00 to 9:00 p.m.
Location: Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre’s Museum Café, Yellowknife

The project team will update attendees about the project, including the quantitative risk assessment and the outcomes of the borrow engagement. Refreshments will also be served.

Commitment to engagement

Managing a contaminated site goes beyond removing harmful substances. It often involves citizens with concerns about the health and safety of their families and communities. Meaningful public involvement fosters trust and support for decisions. It also helps improve decision-making by incorporating local advice and knowledge into plans and designs.

Engagement is an important and valued part of the Giant Mine remediation process. The Project team recognizes the importance of understanding and considering Indigenous and local concerns, for the remediation of the site to be successful.

The Project team works diligently to inform the people of Ndilo, Dettah, and Yellowknife and listens to their concerns and seek their advice. This includes regular meetings with the Giant Mine Advisory Committee, which represents the interests of the Yellowknives Dene First Nation in the remediation process, as well as monthly meetings with the Giant Mine Working Group, which makes recommendations to the Project team about technical and operational aspects of the remediation plan.

The Working Group includes representatives from:

The team carefully considers input from engagement activities as it works to finalize the closure and reclamation plan.

More information on specific engagement processes:

Information on ongoing and upcoming work:

Date modified:

Activités de mobilisation à la mine Giant

Information sur les activités de mobilisation dans le cadre du Projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant.

Engagement en matière de mobilisation

La gestion d'un site contaminé va au-delà de l'élimination des substances dangereuses. Il faut y faire participer les citoyens qui s'inquiètent pour la santé et la sécurité de leur famille et de leur collectivité. Quand on fait participer le public de façon constructive, on lui donne confiance et il soutient les décisions prises. Cela permet aussi de prendre des décisions plus éclairées, en intégrant les conseils et les connaissances de la population locale aux plans et aux projets.

La mobilisation est un élément à la fois important et précieux du processus d'assainissement de la mine Giant. L'équipe du projet reconnaît qu'il est important de comprendre et de prendre en compte les préoccupations des Autochtones et de la population locale si l'on veut que l'assainissement du site soit un succès.

L'équipe du projet fait preuve de diligence pour informer les habitants de Ndilo, Dettah et Yellowknife; elle est à l'écoute de leurs préoccupations et elle sollicite leurs conseils. Pour ce faire, elle organise régulièrement des réunions avec le comité consultatif de la mine Giant (qui représente les intérêts de la Première nation des Dénés Couteaux­Jaunes dans le cadre du processus d'assainissement) et des réunions mensuelles avec le groupe de travail de la mine Giant (qui fait des recommandations à l'équipe du projet à propos des aspects techniques et opérationnels du plan d'assainissement).

Le groupe de travail est composé de représentants des entités suivantes :

L'équipe étudie de près les commentaires issus des activités de mobilisation afin de finaliser le plan de fermeture et de restauration.

Pour en savoir plus sur les activités de mobilisation :

Information relative aux travaux en cours et à venir :

Date de modification :