First Nation Adapt Program: Funding Guidelines 2018-2019

The First Nation Adapt funding guidelines are also available in Plains Cree, Denesuline and Ojibwa. To request a copy, please contact aadnc.adaptation.aandc@canada.ca.

Purpose

The following text outlines the First Nation Adapt program's project guidelines for 2018-2019. Please submit project descriptions directly to First Nation Adapt at the contact information below.

Want to discuss a project idea?
If you have a project idea but are not sure where to begin, the program staff would be pleased to discuss the eligibility of your group and project, to answer your questions about the application process or to provide general guidance. Please contact us by email at: aadnc.adaptation.aandc@canada.ca.

Program overview

The First Nation Adapt program supports community projects that build the capacity of First Nations on reserve to address climate change impacts on their communities. We know that climate change is already having and will continue to have impacts on communities across Canada, with significant implications for infrastructure, emergency management, and community well-being. First Nation communities are particularly at risk due to their location, aging infrastructure, and close ties to the land. In particular, flooding has been identified as a key priority by communities and the program. The central goal of the program is to improve community resiliency to climate change by improving knowledge of the issues facing communities so that they can better plan for the future.

Program objectives

First Nation Adapt aims to support the gathering of Indigenous knowledge, community involvement in planning processes and building capacity within communities to conduct work and monitor the changing climate. The program focuses on key priority areas due to the current and future changing climate impacts on First Nation infrastructure and emergency management.

These priority areas include:

New floodplain mapping funding

Given the severity of impacts related to flooding, additional community funding is available through 2021-2022 to better understand the extent of potential flooding and plan adaptive measures. The floodplain mapping portion of the program provides support for communities to:

Climate change adaptation process

First Nation Adapt supports many different types of activities or studies depending on specific community needs. Generally, the first step is to improve understanding of how climate change may be impacting community infrastructure or emergency management by conducting a risk assessment. This assessment is the most common type of study and involves identifying and quantifying community risk to climate change related impacts. Subsequent to addressing community risk, adaptation planning can be undertaken to prioritize options and to develop adaptation recommendations in order to reduce current or potential climate impacts. What can follow is a cost-benefit analysis of the various adaptation options under consideration. Each community has unique needs. We can support those communities that are just beginning to explore the impacts of climate change as well as those communities looking at adaptation options to respond to a well understood need.

Figure 1: First Nation Adapt – Project Process

Description of Figure 1: First Nation Adapt – Project Process

This figure describes the collaborative and cyclic process of climate change adaptation planning in First Nation communities. Four key stages represent the planning cycle:

Getting started

  • Obtain community support (for example, a Band Council Resolution)
  • Set up community planning team
  • Submit project description

Risk assessment

  • Identify and quantify climate change impacts
  • Evaluate risk
  • Evaluate adaptive capacity

Adaptation planning

  • Prioritize impacts (based on risk)
  • Develop adaptation strategies and options

Cost-benefit analysis

  • Recommendations of adaptation options based on their costs and benefits.

Available funding

Communities experiencing these impacts are encouraged to submit a project description for funding consideration as early as possible to take full advantage of funding opportunities. Priority will be given to communities experiencing repeated and severe climate impacts related to coastal erosion and sea level rise, flooding and drought, wildfires, winter road failure and impacts on fisheries. The total amount of funding available for new projects in 2018-2019 is $6.0 million.

There is no deadline to apply. Applications will be reviewed on an ongoing basis until all available funding is allocated. The average yearly cost of a project is $160,000 depending on the scope and nature of the project. Multi-year projects will be supported where appropriate. If you anticipate your activities covering more than one year, please identify them in your project description with a proposed budget and workplan for all of the years.

Who can apply?

Community participation is essential for successful climate change adaptation planning. Communities benefit from leading the research agenda and priorities, as well as project design and implementation because this helps to build the community's capacity to respond to climate change impacts. Therefore, projects displaying a strong level of support and capacity building are more likely to be funded. Communities can work with external partners, such as academic institutions, non-governmental organizations and professional service providers that communities have identified as bringing value to their project and list them as partners in the project description.

Project examples

These are some examples of activities that can be incorporated into a project. This is not a complete list, and communities are encouraged to identify project activities that respond to their needs.

Project description guidelines

Please ensure your project description (3-5 pages) contains the following content areas.

  1. Title page
    Include project title, community(s) involved in the project with contact information (name, email address, telephone number).
  2. Description of community concerns
    Tell the story of your community's climate change concerns and issues. In your description, be sure to include how your community's public buildings, services, facilities, and roads appear to be at risk to climate impacts, e.g., flooding, wildfires, etc. and how this affects the community. It is most important to specifically indicate what your project will accomplish in terms of improving community resiliency to climate impacts.
  3. Proponent eligibility
    Describe how you are eligible for funding (First Nation community, band or tribal council, Indigenous organization, etc.).
  4. Adaptation project type
    Outline what type of adaptation project is being undertaken. Valid project types include risk assessment, floodplain mapping, adaptation planning, and cost-benefit analysis. Projects need not include all project types.
  5. Climate impact priority area
    Clearly state how your project will address impacts to community infrastructure or emergency management from one or more of the following climate impact areas: inland flooding, drought, wildfires, sea level rise and coastal erosion, winter road failures, or impacts on fisheries.
  6. Proposed methodology and outcome of the project
    The methodology demonstrates how the proponent will address the goals of the project by outlining clear steps in achieving the project results. This is the most important section of the project proposal, be sure to include a detailed description of all the activities that you are planning to undertake. This section should identify how the community will be involved in the project and who will be working on it. Many projects include the hiring of a climate change coordinator to lead the work. The First Nation Adapt team can provide assistance on the development of a methodology if needed. Please contact us to discuss tools, best practices, and potential partners.
  7. Community agreement
    Community support for the project must be demonstrated, through a signed Band Council Resolution or other proof of community support.
  8. Budget and work plan
    First Nation Adapt will provide assistance by supplying the required budget template.

How to apply

Please submit a project description to: aadnc.adaptation.aandc@canada.ca First Nation Adapt will be pleased to support communities in developing their project descriptions and identifying potential partners.

Definitions

Term Definition
Adaptation planning Projects that identify and prioritize a number of possible adaptation measures that a community can consider implementing to reduce climate related risks.
Coastal erosion The process by which coastlines are degraded through the actions of currents and waves.
Coastal flooding Seawater inundation on coastal land where sea height exceeds the maximum high tide or breaches flood protection works. This can be due to storm surge, sea level rise or tsunamis and can be exacerbated by local river flooding and heavy rainfall.
Cost-benefit analysis A comparisonof the costs of the adaptation options under consideration as compared to inaction. For example a cost-benefit analysis can allow for the comparison between structural and non-structural adaptation options or maintaining the status quo.
Drought A prolonged period of abnormally low rainfall in a given region, resulting in prolonged shortages in the water supply.
Emergency management The process through which communities reduce the impacts of extreme weather events and cope with emergency situations in all stages of emergency management: mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery.
Infrastructure A physical structure needed for the operation of a community. Types of community physical infrastructure include: community buildings (schools, community centers, band offices, etc.), bridges, roads, housing, sewage systems, waste water facilities, water treatment plants, or community-based natural resources (e.g., forests and fisheries).
Inland Flooding Overflow of river channels, lake shorelines or dams. Flooding can also result from accumulation of surface water due to a heavy precipitation, snow melt in spring, and ice jams.
Sea-level rise An increase of the ocean's water levels with respect to the land due to climate change.
Risk assessment Projects that identify the hazards and risks of climate change to community infrastructure and emergency management.
Wildfire An uncontrolled fire in an area of combustible vegetation (forest or grassland) that occurs in the country side or rural areas.
Winter roads Temporary transportation routes that are built over land on compacted snow, frozen ground, or on floating ice that facilitate the movement to and from communities without permanent roads.
Date modified:

Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations : Lignes directrices sur le financement pour 2018-2019

Les lignes directrices en matière de financement pour le Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations sont également disponibles en cri des Plaines, en denesuline et en ojibwa. Pour en obtenir une copie, écrivez à aadnc.adaptation.aandc@canada.ca.

Objet

Ce document présente des lignes directrices concernant les projets du Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations pour 2018-2019. Veuillez soumettre vos descriptions de projets directement aux responsables du programme, aux coordonnées indiquées plus bas.

Vous voulez discuter d'une idée de projet?
Si vous avez une idée de projet, mais que vous ne savez pas par où commencer, c'est avec plaisir que le personnel du programme discutera de l'admissibilité de votre groupe et de votre projet, répondra à vos questions sur le processus de demande ou vous offrira des conseils généraux. Veuillez nous contacter par courriel à l'adresse suivante : aadnc.adaptation.aandc@canada.ca

Aperçu du programme

Le Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations appuie des projets communautaires qui renforcent les capacités des Premières Nations dans les réserves à composer avec les effets des changements climatiques dans leur collectivité. Nous savons que les changements climatiques ont et continueront d'avoir des répercussions sur les collectivités de partout au Canada et qu'ils auront des effets considérables sur les infrastructures, la gestion des urgences et le bien-être des collectivités. Les collectivités des Premières Nations sont particulièrement vulnérables en raison de leur emplacement, de leurs infrastructures vieillissantes et des liens étroits qu'elles entretiennent avec la nature. Les inondations, en particulier, ont été désignées comme étant une priorité clé par les collectivités et les responsables du programme. L'objectif principal du programme est d'accroître la résilience des collectivités aux changements climatiques en améliorant la connaissance des problèmes auxquels elles font face afin qu'elles puissent mieux planifier pour l'avenir.

Objectifs du programme

Le Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations vise à soutenir la mise en commun des connaissances autochtones, la participation des collectivités aux processus de planification et le renforcement des capacités au sein des collectivités pour réaliser les travaux et surveiller l'évolution du climat. Le programme met l'accent sur les domaines qui sont prioritaires à la lumière des répercussions actuelles et futures des changements climatiques sur les infrastructures et la gestion des urgences dans les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Ces priorités comprennent notamment :

Nouveau financement pour la cartographie des plaines inondables

Compte tenu de la gravité des impacts liés aux inondations, de nouveaux fonds communautaires sont disponibles jusqu'en 2021-2022 pour mieux comprendre l'étendue des inondations potentielles et planifier des mesures d'adaptation. La partie du programme portant sur la cartographie des plaines inondables offre un soutien aux collectivités pour :

Processus d'adaptation aux changements climatiques

Le Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations appuie différents types d'activités ou d'études qui varient selon les besoins précis des collectivités. En général, la première étape consiste à mieux connaître la façon dont les changements climatiques peuvent nuire aux infrastructures ou à la gestion des urgences au sein de la collectivité et, pour ce faire, on procède à une évaluation des risques. Cette évaluation est le type d'étude le plus courant et consiste à cerner et à quantifier les risques qui menacent la collectivité en raison des répercussions des changements climatiques. Après avoir examiné les risques pour la collectivité, on peut procéder à la planification des mesures d'adaptation pour établir l'ordre de priorité des options et recommander des mesures d'adaptation visant à réduire les effets actuels ou potentiels des changements climatiques. On peut ensuite réaliser une analyse coûts-avantages des diverses mesures d'adaptation à l'étude. Chaque collectivité a ses besoins particuliers. Nous pouvons appuyer les collectivités qui commencent tout juste à explorer les répercussions des changements climatiques aussi bien que celles qui sont rendues à examiner les options d'adaptation pour répondre à un besoin bien compris.

Figure 1 : Adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations – Étapes d'un projet

Description de la Figure 1 : Adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations – Étapes d'un projet

L'image illustre le processus collaboratif et cyclique de la planification de l'adaptation aux changements climatiques dans les collectivités des Premières Nations. Quatre éléments fondamentaux représentent les différentes étapes du processus de planification :

Démarrage

  • obtenir le soutien de la collectivité (par exemple, par voie de résolution du conseil de bande);
  • former l'équipe de planification communautaire;
  • soumettre la description de projet.

évaluation des risques

  • cerner et quantifier les effets des changements climatiques;
  • évaluer les risques;
  • évaluer la capacité d'adaptation.

Planification de l'adaptation

  • établir l'ordre de priorité des répercussions (en fonction du risque);
  • élaborer des options et des stratégies d'adaptation.

Analyse coûts-avantages

  • recommander des mesures d'adaptation en fonction des coûts et des avantages.

Financement disponible

Les collectivités qui subissent ces impacts sont encouragées à soumettre le plus tôt possible une description de projet, qui sera examinée en vue d'un éventuel financement, afin de profiter pleinement des possibilités offertes. La priorité sera accordée aux collectivités qui subissent, en raison des changements climatiques, des répercussions graves et récurrentes liées à l'érosion des côtes, à l'élévation du niveau de la mer, aux inondations, aux sécheresses, aux feux de forêt ou de friches, la rupture des routes d'hiver ou aux pêches. Le montant total du financement disponible pour de nouveaux projets en 2018-2019 est de 6 millions de dollars.

Il n'y a pas de date limite pour la présentation d'une demande. Les demandes seront examinées de façon continue jusqu'à ce que tout le financement disponible ait été attribué. Le coût annuel moyen des projets est de 160 000 $, montant qui peut varier en fonction de sa portée et de sa nature. Les projets pluriannuels seront financés lorsqu'il sera pertinent de le faire. Si vous prévoyez que vos activités s'étaleront sur plus d'une année, veuillez l'indiquer dans votre description de projet en proposant un budget et un plan de travail pour toutes les années visées.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

La participation des collectivités est essentielle à la réussite de la planification des mesures d'adaptation aux changements climatiques. En plus de diriger le programme de recherche, l'établissement des priorités, la conception des projets et leur mise en œuvre, les collectivités contribuent à renforcer leur capacité de réagir aux répercussions des changements climatiques. Par conséquent, les projets qui mettent l'accent sur le soutien et le renforcement des capacités sont plus susceptibles de recevoir un appui financier. Les collectivités peuvent travailler avec des partenaires externes, comme des établissements universitaires, des organisations non gouvernementales ou des fournisseurs de services professionnels, si elles jugent qu'ils apporteront une valeur ajoutée au projet et si ces derniers ont été inscrits comme partenaires dans la description du projet.

Exemples de projets

Voici quelques exemples d'activités qui peuvent être intégrées à un projet. Cette liste n'est pas exhaustive; les collectivités sont invitées à cerner les activités qui répondent à leurs besoins.

Lignes directrices pour la description du projet

Veuillez vous assurer que votre description de projet (de 3 à 5 pages) contient les éléments suivants :

  1. Page titre
    Inscrivez le titre du projet, le nom de la ou des collectivités participantes et les coordonnées des personnes-ressources (nom, courriel, numéro de téléphone).
  2. Description des préoccupations de la collectivité
    Expliquez les problèmes et les préoccupations de votre collectivité relativement aux changements climatiques. Assurez-vous de décrire en quoi les édifices publics, les services, les installations et les routes de votre collectivité semblent être à risque de subir les effets des changements climatiques (inondations, feux de forêt ou de friches, etc.), et d'expliquer quelles en sont les conséquences pour la collectivité. Il est primordial de préciser ce que votre projet permettra d'accomplir pour améliorer la résilience de la collectivité aux effets des changements climatiques.
  3. Admissibilité du bénéficiaire
    Décrivez pourquoi vous êtes admissible au financement (collectivité des Premières Nations, conseil tribal ou conseil de bande, organisation autochtone, etc.).
  4. Type de projet d'adaptation
    Expliquez le type de projet d'adaptation que vous réaliserez. Les types de projets valides comprennent l'évaluation des risques, la cartographie des plaines inondables, la planification de l'adaptation et l'analyse coûts-avantages. Les projets n'ont pas besoin d'inclure tous ces types d'activités.
  5. Domaines prioritaires en matière d'effets des changements climatiques
    Énoncez clairement comment votre projet permettra d'atténuer, au sein de votre collectivité, les répercussions sur les infrastructures ou la gestion des urgences attribuables à au moins un des effets des changements climatiques prioritaires suivants : inondation fluviale, sécheresse, feu de forêt ou de friches, élévation du niveau de la mer et érosion des côtes, fermeture de route d'hiver ou incidence sur les pêches.
  6. Méthodologie proposée et résultat du projet
    La méthodologie démontre comment le bénéficiaire atteindra les objectifs du projet, notamment en expliquant clairement les étapes qui permettront d'atteindre les résultats souhaités. Cette section est la plus importante de la proposition de projet; assurez-vous d'inclure une description détaillée de toutes les activités que vous prévoyez entreprendre. Cette section devrait préciser comment la collectivité participera au projet et qui y travaillera. De nombreux projets prévoient l'embauche d'un coordonnateur des changements climatiques pour diriger le travail. L'équipe du Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations peut vous aider dans l'élaboration de la méthodologie, au besoin. Veuillez nous contacter pour discuter des outils, des pratiques exemplaires et des partenaires potentiels.
  7. Entente communautaire
    Le soutien de la collectivité pour le projet doit être démontré par une résolution du conseil de bande signée ou une autre preuve du soutien de la collectivité.
  8. Budget et plan de travail
    Le Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations fournira le modèle de budget requis pour vous aider.

Comment présenter une demande

Veuillez envoyer votre description de projet à l'adresse suivante : aadnc.adaptation.aandc@canada.ca. Les responsables du Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations seront heureux d'aider les collectivités à rédiger leur description de projet et à trouver des partenaires potentiels.

Définitions

Terme Définition
Planification de l'adaptation Projets qui cernent et mettent en ordre de priorités un certain nombre de mesures d'adaptation qu'une collectivité peut envisager de prendre pour réduire les risques liés aux changements climatiques.
Érosion des côtes Processus de dégradation des côtes causé par l'action des courants et des vagues.
Inondation côtière Inondation des terres côtières par les eaux marines lorsque celles-ci s'élèvent au-delà de la ligne de marée haute maximale ou percent les ouvrages de protection contre les inondations. Cela peut être dû à des ondes de tempête, à une élévation du niveau de la mer ou à un tsunami, et peut être exacerbé par des inondations fluviales locales et de fortes pluies.
Analyse coûts-avantages Comparaison des coûts des options d'adaptation à l'étude par rapport à l'inaction. Par exemple, une analyse coûts-avantages peut permettre de comparer les options d'adaptation structurelles, celles qui sont non structurelles et le maintien du statu quo.
Sécheresse Période prolongée de précipitations anormalement faibles dans une région donnée, entraînant des pénuries prolongées en approvisionnement d'eau.
Gestion des urgences Processus selon lequel les collectivités atténuent les effets des conditions météorologiques extrêmes et composent avec les situations d'urgence à chacune des étapes de la gestion des urgences : atténuation, préparation, intervention et rétablissement.
Infrastructure Élément structural physique requis pour assurer le fonctionnement de la collectivité. Les types d'infrastructures physiques communautaires comprennent les bâtiments communautaires (écoles, centres communautaires, bureaux de bande, etc.), les ponts, les routes, les habitations, les réseaux d'égouts, les installations de traitement des eaux usées, les usines de traitement des eaux et les ressources naturelles communautaires (forêts, pêches, etc.).
Inondations terrestres Débordement d'une rivière, des rives de lacs ou de barrages. L'inondation peut également être causée par l'accumulation d'eau de surface en raison de fortes précipitations, de fonte des neiges au printemps et des embâcles.
Élévation du niveau de la mer Augmentation du niveau des océans par rapport aux côtes en raison des changements climatiques.
Évaluation des risques Projets qui permettent de relever les dangers et les risques liés aux changements climatiques pour les infrastructures communautaires et la gestion des urgences.
Feu de forêt ou de friches Incendie non maîtrisé dans une zone de végétation combustible (forêt ou prairie) qui se déclare en campagne ou dans une région rurale.
Routes d'hiver Routes de transport temporaires qui sont érigées dans les terres sur de la neige compactée, sur le gélisol ou sur de la glace flottante et qui facilitent les déplacements jusque dans les collectivités n'ayant pas de route permanente.
Date de modification :