Indigenous Community-Based Climate Monitoring Program: Funding Guidelines 2018-2019

The Funding Guidelines 2018-2019 page is designed to support Indigenous communities and organizations when applying to the Indigenous Community-Based Climate Monitoring Program at Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC).

On this page

Want to discuss a project idea?

If you have a project idea but are not sure where to begin, the program staff would be pleased to discuss the eligibility of your group and project, to answer your questions about the application process or to provide general guidance. Please contact us by phone at 1-800-567-9604 or by email at aadnc.surveillanceclimat-climatemonitoring.aandc@canada.ca.

Program overview

The program is a new climate change funding opportunity offered by INAC. Through the development of the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change, the National Indigenous Organizations (NIOs) identified the need to support Indigenous peoples in monitoring the effects of climate change in their communities. NIOs also identified the need to connect Indigenous Knowledge with science-based climate information to better inform adaptation actions. As a result, INAC received $31.4 million over 5 years in Budget 2017 to implement the program. The program is a national program that builds capacity within First Nation, Métis and Inuit communities to monitor climate change effects.

The impacts of climate change are already being felt across Canada and include social, cultural, ecological and economic implications. Indigenous communities are among the most vulnerable to climate change due to their relationship with the natural world, traditional lifestyles, and in some instances, geographic location.

The goal of the program is to support Indigenous peoples in monitoring climate indicators, which will provide the data required to inform community adaptation actions. In addition, the data can help address climate data gaps within Canada and improve climate models and weather predictions.

Who can apply?

The following organizations and individuals are eligible to receive funding through the program:

The program recognizes that not all Indigenous communities and organizations have experience with monitoring climate and environmental change. In an effort to build capacity in this area, eligible applicants can partner with other Indigenous communities in order to share knowledge and experience. In addition, Indigenous communities and organizations can work with other external partners, as long as their roles and responsibilities are clearly outlined in the project proposal.

Examples of external partners include:

For all project proposals, regardless of partnerships, a community support letter is required.

Program requirements

Projects must consider the following key components:

Projects under the program will need to consider key climate indicators, such as:

The climate indicators listed above were identified by Indigenous community representatives through the National Indigenous Community-Based Climate Monitoring Symposium hosted in Winnipeg, Manitoba from November 7 to 9, 2017. However, climate change is having impacts that are unique to individual regions, communities, and groups. Therefore, the program encourages eligible applicants to submit project proposals even if their climate indicators of interest are not listed above.

Available funding

The amount of available contribution funding for the 2018-2019 fiscal year is ­­­$5.5 million. The deadline to apply for this funding is Friday, February 16, 2018 at midnight Eastern Standard Time. It is expected that the average yearly cost of a project will be approximately $150,000. However, this estimated cost can be increased or decreased depending on the nature, scope and timeline of the project. The program will consider multi-year (2 to 3 years) contribution arrangements.

Eligible expenses

  • salaries and wages
    • community staff (environmental technicians, youth positions, etc.)
  • travel, transportation, and accommodation for community staff, Elders, youth, external partners, event participants, etc.
  • training and workshops
  • professional services (contractors or sub-contractors)
  • audit and evaluation
  • office supplies and equipment dedicated to the project
    • purchase of climate monitoring stations (weather, hydrometric, permafrost, etc.)
    • purchase of technical monitoring equipment (water quality meters, drones, handheld GPS, etc.)
    • rental of vehicles (trucks, ATVs, snowmobiles, boats, helicopters, etc.) Note: the purchase of vehicles is not eligible for funding.
  • printing and communication products
  • data purchase from commercial provider
  • administrative costs, to a maximum of 15%

Co-funding opportunities

The program collaborates with two other climate change programs at INAC that support climate change adaptation initiatives and strategies within their respective regions of Canada:

  • Climate Change Preparedness in the North, which supports vulnerability and risk assessments of climate change impacts, the development of adaptation plans and adaptation options, and the implementation of structural and non-structural adaptation measures.
  • First Nation Adapt program, which provides support to First Nation communities located below the 60th parallel to assess and respond to climate change impacts on community infrastructure and emergency management.

If your project incorporates climate change adaptation measures, along with climate or environmental change monitoring, you may be eligible to receive funding from both the Indigenous Community-Based Climate Monitoring Program and one of the applicable adaptation programs.

The Indigenous Community-Based Climate Monitoring Program has also partnered with the Northern Contaminants Program at INAC to support community-based contaminants research in the Yukon, Northwest Territories, and Inuit Nunangat. If your project relates to short or long range contaminants (mercury, persistent organic pollutants, etc.) and the effects of climate change on country food sources, traditional plants or natural environments, you may be eligible for funding through the Northern Contaminants Program's Community-Based Monitoring & Research Blueprint.

How to apply

To apply for program funding, please follow the application process outlined below:

  1. Review Funding Guidelines 2018-2019 and the work plan and budget spreadsheets. Contact program staff with any questions or concerns:
    Phone: 1-800-567-9604
    Email: aadnc.surveillanceclimat-climatemonitoring.aandc@canada.ca
  2. Seek and confirm community support for your proposed project with a community support letter.
  3. Complete a 2 to 5 page project proposal as described in the Funding Guidelines 2018-2019, as well as the work plan and budget spreadsheets.
  4. Submit the project proposal, work plan and budget spreadsheets, and community support letter to aadnc.surveillanceclimat-climatemonitoring.aandc@canada.ca.

Submit your project proposal in MS Word or PDF. Your project proposal should be 2 to 5 pages long and must contain all of the following requirements.

Sample proposal formats are available. Contact the program if you would like one.

Proposal requirements

Requirement Description
Title page Provide a descriptive title that outlines the main idea of your project.
Executive summary Provide a brief summary of the proposal (1 to 2 paragraphs) covering the various elements of the project, including total budget request and timeline.
Key climate indicators Describe which key climate indicators will be monitored.
Project lead/ funding recipient contact information Provide contact information for the project leader who will be in charge of the contribution arrangement.
Project team and external partners Provide the names, titles, and contact information of those who will be working on the project.
Project objectives Describe what your community is hoping to accomplish through this project.
Project description Include the proposed methodology, sampling areas, measurement parameters, reference maps, and participating communities.
Indigenous youth engagement Explain how this project will engage Indigenous youth in the community (participation in meetings, education, training, employment opportunities, etc.).
Indigenous Knowledge component Explain how the project will use and protect Indigenous Knowledge, including intergenerational knowledge transfer.
Data management system Describe the proposed data collection method, data management platform, storage location and management of intellectual property.
Contact program staff for more information on existing data platforms. Intellectual property rests with the recipient.

Work plan and budget

Applicants must complete the work plan (XLS Format) and budget (XLS Format) spreadsheets. In the budget spreadsheet, applicants should include cash and in-kind contributions from partners, but funding from external partners it is not a requirement to receive funding from the program.

If you require a different format for the work plan or budget sheet, contact aadnc.surveillanceclimat-climatemonitoring.aandc@canada.ca.

What will happen next?

The call for proposals application process closes on February 16, 2018 at midnight Eastern Standard Time. The program is in the process of establishing a management committee which will review the proposals, based on the program requirements, by mid-April 2018.

Contribution arrangements outlining the terms and conditions of funding are expected to begin in late spring 2018. All applicants will be notified in writing. If your project is approved, you will be contacted to provide information towards the contribution arrangement.

Date modified:

Programme de surveillance du climat dans les collectivités autochtones : lignes directrices sur le financement pour 2018-2019

La page Lignes directrices sur le financement pour 2018-2019 vise à aider les collectivités et les organisations autochtones qui présentent une demande dans le cadre du Programme de surveillance du climat dans les collectivités autochtonespar l'entremise de l'appel de propositions 2018-2019.

Tous les fonds pour l'exercice 2018-2019 ont déjà été alloués. La page des Lignes directrices de financement 2018-2019 est fournie à titre d'information seulement.

Sur cette page

Aperçu du programme

Cette possibilité de financement liée aux changements climatiques est offerte par AANC. Au cours de l'élaboration du Cadre pancanadien sur la croissance propre et les changements climatiques, les organisations autochtones nationales ont signalé la nécessité d'aider les Autochtones à surveiller les effets des changements climatiques dans leurs collectivités. Elles ont également mentionné la nécessité de combiner le savoir autochtone avec l'information scientifique sur le climat afin de mieux orienter les mesures d'adaptation. Par conséquent, AANC a reçu 31,4 millions de dollars sur cinq ans dans le Budget de 2017 pour la mise en œuvre du programme. Il s'agit d'un programme national qui vise à renforcer la capacité des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuit à surveiller les effets des changements climatiques.

Les répercussions des changements climatiques se font déjà sentir partout au Canada, notamment sur les plans social, culturel, écologique et économique. Les collectivités autochtones comptent parmi les plus vulnérables aux changements climatiques en raison de leur relation avec la nature, de leur mode de vie traditionnel et, dans certains cas, de leur emplacement géographique.

Le programme a pour but d'aider les Autochtones à surveiller les indicateurs climatiques, qui fourniront les données nécessaires pour orienter les mesures d'adaptation communautaires. Ces données pourraient également aider à combler les lacunes dans les données climatiques au Canada et à améliorer les modèles climatiques et les prévisions météorologiques.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

Les organisations et les personnes suivantes sont admissibles à une aide financière dans le cadre du programme :

Le programme reconnaît que les collectivités et les organisations autochtones n'ont pas toutes de l'expérience dans la surveillance des changements climatiques et environnementaux. Afin de renforcer leurs capacités dans ce domaine, les demandeurs admissibles peuvent s'associer à d'autres collectivités autochtones afin de mettre en commun leurs connaissances et leur expérience. Les collectivités et les organisations autochtones peuvent également collaborer avec d'autres partenaires externes, à condition que leur rôle et leurs responsabilités soient clairement définis dans la proposition de projet.

Les partenaires externes peuvent être :

Quels que soient les partenariats établis, une lettre d'appui de la collectivité est requise pour toutes les propositions de projet.

Exigences du programme

Les projets doivent :

Les projets menés dans le cadre du programme devront porter sur des indicateurs climatiques clés, par exemple :

Les indicateurs climatiques ci-dessus ont été relevés par les représentants des collectivités autochtones lors du Colloque autochtone national sur la surveillance communautaire du climat qui s'est tenu à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, du 7 au 9 novembre 2017. Cependant, les changements climatiques ont des répercussions propres à chaque région, collectivité et groupe. Par conséquent, le programme encourage les demandeurs admissibles à présenter leurs propositions de projet même si les indicateurs climatiques qui les intéressent ne figurent pas dans la liste ci-dessus.

Financement disponible

Le montant du financement disponible sous forme de contribution pour l'exercice 2018-2019 s'élève à 5,5 millions de dollars. La date limite pour présenter une demande de financement est le vendredi 16 février 2018 à minuit heure normale de l'Est. Le coût d'un projet est estimé à 150 000 $ par année en moyenne. Toutefois, il peut être supérieur ou inférieur à ce montant selon la nature, la portée et l'échéancier du projet. Le programme prévoit des ententes de contribution pluriannuelles (portant sur une période de deux ou trois ans).

Dépenses admissibles

  • salaires et traitements
    • personnel communautaire (techniciens en environnement, jeunes, etc.)
  • déplacements, transport et hébergement
    • personnel communautaire, aînés, jeunes, partenaires communautaires, participants aux activités, etc.
  • formation et ateliers
  • services professionnels (entrepreneurs ou sous-traitants)
  • vérification et évaluation
  • fournitures de bureau et matériel réservés au projet
    • achat de stations de surveillance du climat (température, paramètres hydrométriques, pergélisol, etc.)
    • achat d'équipement technique de surveillance (appareils de mesure de la qualité de l'eau, drones, appareils GPS portatifs, etc.)
    • location de véhicules (camions, véhicules tout-terrain, motoneiges, bateaux, hélicoptères, etc.). Remarque : l'achat de véhicules n'est pas admissible au financement
  • produits d'impression et de communication
  • achat de données auprès de fournisseurs commerciaux
  • frais administratifs, jusqu'à concurrence de 15 %

Possibilités de cofinancement

Le programme est associé à deux autres programmes sur les changements climatiques mis en œuvre par AANC qui appuient les initiatives et les stratégies d'adaptation aux changements climatiques dans leurs régions respectives du Canada :

  • Le programme Se préparer aux changements climatiques dans le Nord, qui appuie la conduite d'évaluations des vulnérabilités et des risques associés aux répercussions des changements climatiques, l'élaboration de plans et d'options d'adaptation et la mise en place de mesures d'adaptation structurelles et non structurelles.
  • Le Programme d'adaptation aux changements climatiques des Premières Nations, qui offre du soutien aux collectivités des Premières Nations situés au sud du 60e parallèle en vue d'évaluer les répercussions des changements climatiques sur les infrastructures communautaires et la gestion des urgences.

Si votre projet comprend des mesures d'adaptation aux changements climatiques et vise à surveiller les changements climatiques ou environnementaux, vous pourriez être admissible à une aide financière dans le cadre du Programme de surveillance du climat dans les collectivités autochtones et de l'un des programmes d'adaptation applicables.

Les responsables du Programme de surveillance du climat dans les collectivités autochtones se sont également associés à ceux du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord d'AANC afin d'appuyer les recherches communautaires sur les contaminants au Yukon, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et dans l'Inuit Nunangat. Si votre projet se rapporte à des contaminants transportés sur de courtes ou de longues distances (mercure, polluants organiques persistants, etc.) et aux effets des changements climatiques sur les sources d'aliments prélevés dans la nature, les plantes traditionnelles ou les milieux naturels, vous pourriez être admissible à une aide financière dans le cadre du plan directeur du sous-programme Surveillance et recherche communautaires du Programme de lutte contre les contaminants dans le Nord.

Comment présenter une demande?

Pour présenter une demande de financement dans le cadre du programme, veuillez suivre le processus décrit ci-dessous :

  1. Prenez connaissance des Lignes directrices sur le financement pour 2018-2019 et des feuilles de calcul relatives au plan de travail et au budget. Si vous avez des questions ou des préoccupations, communiquez avec le personnel du programme :
    Téléphone : 1-800-567-9604
    Courriel : aadnc.surveillanceclimat-climatemonitoring.aandc@canada.ca
  2. Obtenez une lettre d'appui de la collectivité à l'égard de votre projet proposé.
  3. Rédigez une proposition de projet de deux à cinq pages conformément aux Lignes directrices sur le financement pour 2018-2019, et remplissez les feuilles de calcul relatives au plan de travail et au budget.
  4. Faites parvenir la proposition de projet, les feuilles de calcul relatives au plan de travail et au budget ainsi que la lettre d'appui de la collectivité à aadnc.surveillanceclimat-climatemonitoring.aandc@canada.ca.

Soumettez votre proposition de projet en format MS Word ou PDF. Votre proposition doit compter de deux à cinq pages et doit répondre à toutes les exigences suivantes.

Des modèles de proposition sont disponibles. Pour en obtenir un exemplaire, veuillez communiquer avec les responsables du programme.

Exigences des propositions

Exigence Description
Page titre Donnez à votre proposition un titre descriptif qui décrit l'idée principale de votre projet.
Résumé Fournissez un résumé de la proposition (en un ou deux paragraphes) dans lequel vous énumérez les divers éléments du projet, notamment le budget total demandé et l'échéancier.
Indicateurs climatiques clés Décrivez les indicateurs climatiques clés qui feront l'objet d'une surveillance.
Coordonnées du chef de projet/bénéficiaire du financement Fournissez les coordonnées du chef de projet qui sera responsable de l'entente de contribution.
Équipe de projet et partenaires externes Fournissez le nom, le titre et les coordonnées des participants au projet.
Objectifs du projet Décrivez ce que votre collectivité espère accomplir grâce au projet.
Description du projet Décrivez la méthodologie proposée, les zones d'échantillonnage et les paramètres de mesure, fournissez les cartes de référence et précisez quelles sont les collectivités participantes.
Mobilisation des jeunes autochtones Expliquez en quoi le projet mobilisera les jeunes autochtones de la collectivité (participation aux réunions, possibilités d'apprentissage, de formation, d'emploi, etc.).
Savoir autochtone Expliquez comment le projet fera appel au savoir autochtone et permettra de le protéger, notamment grâce au transfert intergénérationnel.
Système de gestion des données Décrivez la méthode proposée de collecte de données, la plateforme de gestion des données, le lieu de stockage et le processus de gestion de la propriété intellectuelle.
Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les plateformes existantes de gestion de données, veuillez communiquer avec le personnel du programme. La propriété intellectuelle demeure celle du bénéficiaire.

Plan de travail et budget

Les demandeurs doivent remplir les feuilles de calcul relatives au plan de travail (Document Excel, 15 Ko) et au budget (Document Excel, 14 Ko). Dans la feuille de calcul du budget, les demandeurs doivent inclure les contributions en argent et en nature des partenaires, mais il n'est pas nécessaire d'obtenir un financement auprès de partenaires externes pour être admissible à une aide financière dans le cadre du programme.

Si vous avez besoin d'un format différent pour le plan de travail ou la fiche budgétaire, veuillez écrire à aadnc.surveillanceclimat-climatemonitoring.aandc@canada.ca.

Quelles sont les prochaines étapes?

Le processus de demande lié à l'appel de propositions prend fin le 16 février 2018 à minuit heure normale de l'Est. Les responsables du programme sont en train de mettre sur pied un comité de gestion qui examinera les propositions, en fonction des exigences du programme, d'ici la mi avril 2018.

L'élaboration des ententes de contribution énonçant les modalités de financement devrait débuter à la fin du printemps 2018. Tous les demandeurs recevront un avis écrit. Si votre projet est approuvé, un représentant du programme communiquera avec vous afin d'obtenir les renseignements nécessaires à l'élaboration de l'entente de contribution.

Date de modification :