Aboriginal Economic Development Strategic Partnerships Initiative

General information

Lead department: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Federal partner organizations: Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada; Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada; Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency; Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec; Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario; Health Canada; Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Employment and Social Development Canada; Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada, including FedNor; Natural Resources Canada; Parks Canada; Status of Women Canada; Western Economic Diversification Canada; Environment and Climate Change Canada; Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency.

Non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Start date: June 17, 2010

End date: Ongoing

Total federal funding allocated (start to end date):

Total federal planned spending to date: $175,500,000

Total federal actual spending to date: $155,601,595

Funding contributed by non-federal and non-governmental partners: Nil

Governance structures: Central to the governance structure of the Strategic Partnership Initiative is the Director General Investment Committee, which includes all core voting member departments. The committee validates and prioritizes opportunities, taking a whole-of-Government approach to investments under the program. It also identifies relevant federal government departments that have a role to play in supporting any given initiative, and ensures that they work with Indigenous groups to advance these opportunities. The committee completes a review of detailed proposals from federal departments on opportunities for consideration under the program, and makes final decisions on initiatives seeking funding.

Description:

Strategic Partnership Initiative (SPI)

With a focus on economic readiness, SPI supports Indigenous participation in the economy, with a particular emphasis on emerging opportunities in the resource development sectors, including forestry, fisheries, mining, energy and agriculture. The program also supports other key economic development opportunities in areas such as shipbuilding, tourism and potash.

SPI provides a coordinated federal response to existing and emerging Indigenous economic development opportunities. The process-oriented program builds partnerships among participating federal departments and agencies, Indigenous communities, provincial and territorial governments and the private sector to help Indigenous peoples take advantage of complex market-driven opportunities in key and emerging economic sectors. The Initiative's funding is designed to fill gaps that cannot be addressed by existing programs.

SPI also helps to build closer partnerships with non-federal cohorts, including provincial and territorial governments, the private sector and Indigenous individuals, organizations, businesses and communities. These partnerships help bring together the people and resources required for Indigenous communities to take advantage of key economic development opportunities across all regions of the country.

West Coast Energy

In June 2014, a coordinated government response was launched with the objective of building Indigenous support for energy projects. Part of the response included the expansion of the Strategic Partnerships Initiative, which will provide the Government of Canada with the resources needed to enhance Indigenous participation in West Coast Energy infrastructure development.

Funding is being used in four priority areas to help build Indigenous support for energy projects. These include:

Fiscal year of planned completion of next evaluation: An evaluation of SPI – West Coast Energy Initiative activities and funding covering the period 2014–2015 to 2017–2018 commenced in early 2017. The final evaluation report, together with the Management Response and Action Plan, will be presented to INAC's Performance Measurement and Review Committee in March 2018. This evaluation work will contribute to a Natural Resource Canada-led horizontal evaluation of the West Coast Energy Initiative in 2018–2019.

Shared outcome of federal partners: SPI supports a horizontal approach to federal investments that ensures these investments align with and target market-driven opportunities. It also ensures that the Government of Canada is able to anticipate, plan for and engage in opportunities; is able to maximize the results of federal investments; and is better positioned to lever funds from non-federal sources. SPI uses a single-window approach (shared application, monitoring and reporting) to federal investments in identified priorities and addresses program gaps that might preclude Indigenous participation in economic opportunities. This process also allows funds to flow from multiple programs and departments through one federal lead department in support of the initiative.

Expected outcome or result of non-federal and non-governmental partners: Not applicable

Performance highlights: SPI's horizontal approach to federal investment targets funding to large-scale market-driven opportunities like the Labrador Trough, Voisey's Bay, and British Columbia Aboriginal Clean Energy. This approach helps the Government of Canada anticipate, plan for and profit from these opportunities so its investments are better positioned to leverage funds from non-federal sources. In 2016–2017, SPI supported 19 initiatives across Canada and generated more than $38 million in further funding from federal and non-federal sources, surpassing its goal by more than $23 million and creating or maintaining more than 40 partnerships. Key partners like Health Canada are also using SPI's horizontal authority and flexibility to test a place-based management and single-window funding approach in Northern Ontario's Ring of Fire.

Performance information

Federal organizations Link to the Department's PAA Contributing programs and activities Total allocation (from start to end date) 2016–2017 Planned spending (dollars) 2016–2017 Actual spending (dollars)
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada Program 3.3: Strategic Partnerships Not applicable $114,500,000
(General SPI)
$14,450,000 $16,790,000
$61,000,000
(West Coast Energy Infrastructure)
$17,250,000 $18,811,595
Other federal partners Not applicable Not applicable Not applicable Not applicable $4,262,576
Total for all federal organizations $175,500,000 $31,700,000 $39,864,171
Note: Total actual spending includes Grants and Contribution monies that were sourced by INAC's partners, and flowed using the umbrella Terms and Conditions for the Strategic Partnership Initiative to achieve single-window delivery.
2016–2017 Expected results 2016–2017 Performance indicators 2016–2017 Targets 2016–2017 Actual resultsa Data source and frequency of monitoring and reporting
Regional economic opportunities and large resource development projects impacting Indigenous communities are pursued in partnership with public and private sectors (PAA 3.3) Value of federal and non-federal investments leveraged under the community readiness phase of the Strategic Partnership Initiative 1:1.5 leveraging over three years (for every $1 Strategic Partnership Initiative investment an additional $1.50 is leveraged from other sources including private and other public sectors) by March 31, 2017 1:≈2.3 Source: Internal administrative database
Frequency: Quarterly
a Performance indicators are defined in the Performance Measurement Strategies and/or Performance Measurement Frameworks of each federal partner.

Note: In 2016–2017, this program supported 19 initiatives and leveraged over $38 million in additional funding from other sources, exceeding the performance target by over $23 million. Of the initiatives supported, thirteen were delivered by INAC regional offices, and six by other federal partners. In 2016–2017, over 40 partnerships were created or maintained, while over 213 communities participated — directly or indirectly — in funded projects.

Comments on variances: The difference between 2016–2017 planned spending and actual spending reflects additional resources reallocated to support this program, funds leveraged from other INAC programs that were flowed through SPI to achieve single-window delivery, and funds re-profiled from 2015–2016 for the West Coast Energy Initiative.

Contact information

Date modified:

Archivée - Initiative de partenariats stratégiques pour le développement économique des Autochtones

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Renseignements généraux

Ministères responsables : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

Organisations fédérales partenaires : Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada; Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada; Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord; Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec; Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario; Santé Canada; Pêches et Océans Canada; Emploi et Développement social Canada; Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada, incluant FedNor; Ressources naturelles Canada; Parcs Canada; Condition féminine Canada; Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada; Environnement et Changement climatique Canada; Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale.

Partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Date de mise en œuvre : 17 juin 2010

Date d'achèvement : En cours

Montant total des fonds fédéraux alloués (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) :

Dépenses fédérales totales prévues à ce jour : 175 500 000 $

Dépenses fédérales totales réelles à ce jour : 155 601 595 $

Fonds provenant de partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Structures de gouvernance : Le Comité d'investissement formé de directeurs généraux constitue un élément essentiel de la structure de gouvernance de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) et réunit tous les ministères membres votants. Le Comité valide et classe en ordre de priorité les possibilités; pour ce faire, il adopte une démarche pangouvernementale en matière d'investissement dans le cadre du programme. Il répertorie également les ministères fédéraux appropriés qui jouent un rôle essentiel dans la promotion d'une initiative, et il veille à ce qu'ils travaillent de concert avec les groupes autochtones en vue de faire progresser ces possibilités. Le Comité examine les propositions détaillées de possibilités que soumettent les ministères fédéraux en vue de les faire évaluer dans le cadre du programme, et rend des décisions finales sur les initiatives qui recevront des fonds.

Description :

Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS)

L'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques (IPS) est axée sur l'état de préparation sur le plan économique et vise à soutenir la participation des Autochtones à l'économie; pour ce faire, l'IPS accorde une place importante aux nouvelles possibilités dans les secteurs de l'exploitation des ressources, notamment la foresterie, les pêches, l'exploitation minière, l'énergie et l'agriculture. Le programme soutient également d'autres possibilités clés en matière de développement économique dans des domaines comme la construction navale, le tourisme et la potasse.

L'IPS offre une réponse fédérale coordonnée aux possibilités déjà existantes et émergentes de développement économique autochtone. Ce programme axé sur le processus permet aux ministères et organismes fédéraux, aux collectivités autochtones, aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et au secteur privé qui y participent de nouer des partenariats entre eux afin d'aider les peuples autochtones à tirer parti de débouchés complexes axés sur le marché dans des secteurs essentiels et émergents de l'économie. Le financement de l'initiative a pour objet de combler les lacunes auxquelles les programmes existants ne pourraient répondre.

L'IPS contribue aussi à resserrer les liens avec les partenaires non fédéraux, notamment les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, le secteur privé, ainsi que les particuliers, les organisations, les entreprises et les collectivités autochtones. Ces partenariats contribuent à regrouper les personnes et les ressources nécessaires pour permettre aux collectivités autochtones de profiter des possibilités économiques importantes offertes dans toutes les régions du pays.

Énergie de la côte Ouest

En juin 2014, le gouvernement a lancé une réponse coordonnée dans le but de renforcer le soutien des Autochtones relatif aux projets énergétiques. La réponse comprenait notamment l'expansion de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques, qui fournira au gouvernement du Canada les ressources nécessaires pour améliorer la participation des Autochtones au développement de l'infrastructure énergétique de la côte Ouest.

Le financement est utilisé dans quatre secteurs prioritaires afin de renforcer le soutien des Autochtones aux projets énergétiques. Ceux-ci comprennent :

Exercice de l'achèvement prévu de la prochaine évaluation : Une évaluation des activités de l'IPS - Développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest et du financement couvrant la période de 2014-2015 à 2017-2018 amorcée au début de 2017. Le rapport d'évaluation final et la réponse de la direction et le plan d'action seront présentés au Comité de l'évaluation, de la mesure du rendement et de l'examen d'AANC en mars 2018. Ces travaux d'évaluation contribueront à l'évaluation horizontale dirigée par Ressources naturelles Canada portant sur l'Initiative de développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest en 2018-2019.

Résultats partagés des partenaires fédéraux : L'IPS favorise une approche horizontale en matière d'investissements fédéraux, ce qui permet de s'assurer que ces investissements fédéraux cadrent avec les débouchés axés sur le marché et qu'ils sont ciblés sur ceux-ci. Elle permet également de veiller à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de prévoir, de planifier et de saisir les occasions qui se présentent, qu'il soit en mesure d'optimiser les résultats des investissements fédéraux et qu'il soit mieux placé pour tirer profit des fonds provenant de sources non fédérales. En outre, l'IPS fait appel à une approche fondée sur un guichet unique (partage en matière de demande, de surveillance et de production de rapports) en ce qui a trait aux investissements fédéraux dans les priorités définies, et elle comble les lacunes des programmes qui pourraient empêcher la participation des Autochtones aux possibilités économiques. Ce processus permet également de procéder à des mouvements de fonds en provenance de plusieurs programmes et ministères par l'entremise d'un ministère responsable, en vue d'appuyer une initiative.

Résultats attendus ou résultats des partenaires non fédéraux et non gouvernementaux : Sans objet

Renseignements sur le rendement : L'approche horizontale de l'IPS à l'égard de l'investissement fédéral cible le financement de projets d'envergure axés sur le marché, comme la fosse du Labrador, le projet Voisey's Bay et l'initiative British Columbia Aboriginal Clean Energy. Cette approche aide le gouvernement du Canada à anticiper et planifier ces débouchés, et à en tirer parti, de manière à ce que ses investissements puissent plus facilement générer du financement provenant de sources non fédérales. En 2016-2017, l'IPS a appuyé 19 initiatives au Canada et généré plus de 38 millions de dollars provenant de sources fédérales et non fédérales, dépassant son objectif de plus de 23 millions de dollars et permettant de créer ou de maintenir plus de 40 partenariats. Les partenaires clés comme Santé Canada bénéficient également de la flexibilité et du pouvoir horizontal de l'IPS pour mettre à l'essai une méthode de financement à guichet unique et de gestion localisée dans le Cercle de feu du Nord de l'Ontario.

Sommaire du rendement

Organisations fédérales Lien à l'AAP du ministère Lien aux résultats stratégiques du ministère Affectations totales (de la date de mise en œuvre à la date d'achèvement) Dépenses prévues en 2016-2017 (en dollars) Dépenses réelles en 2016-2017 (en dollars)
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada Programme 3.3 : Partenariats stratégiques Sans objet 114 500 000 $
(IPS générale)
14 450 000 $ 16 790 000 $
61 000 000 $
(Infrastructure énergétique sur la côte Ouest)
17 250 000 $ 18 811 595 $
Autres partenaires fédéraux Sans objet Sans objet Sans objet Sans objet 4 262 576 $
Total de l'ensemble des organisations fédérales 175 500 000 $ 31 700 000 $ 39 864 171 $
Note : Les dépenses réelles totales incluent les fonds pour les subventions et contributions qui ont été fournis par des partenaires d'AANC et distribués en utilisant un seul ensemble de conditions pour l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques afin d'assurer une prestation à guichet unique.
Résultats attendus en 2016-2017 Indicateurs de rendement en 2016-2017 Cibles pour 2016-2017 Résultats réels en 2016-2017a Source de données et fréquence de la surveillance et de la production de rapports
Des possibilités économiques régionales et les grands projets de ressources touchant les collectivités autochtones sont développés en partenariat avec le secteur privé et le secteur public (AAP 3.3) Valeur des investissements provenant du gouvernement fédéral et d'autres sources obtenus à l'étape de la préparation des collectivités en vertu de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques Rendement de 1:1,5 sur trois ans (pour chaque dollar investi par l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques, un montant de 1,50 $ est obtenu d'autres sources, y compris le secteur privé et les autres sources du secteur public) d'ici le 31 mars 2017 1:≈2,3 Source : base de données administratives interne
Fréquence : trimestrielle
a Les indicateurs de rendement sont définis dans les stratégies de mesure du rendement ou les cadres de mesure du rendement de chaque partenaire fédéral.

Note : En 2016-2017, ce programme a appuyé 19 initiatives et permis d'obtenir plus de 38 millions de dollars de financement additionnel provenant d'autres sources, dépassant la cible de rendement de plus de 23 millions de dollars. Parmi les initiatives soutenues, 13 ont été mises en œuvre par les bureaux régionaux d'AANC et six par d'autres partenaires fédéraux. En 2016-2017, plus de 40 partenariats ont été créés ou maintenus et plus de 213 collectivités ont participé — directement ou indirectement — aux projets financés.

Commentaires sur les écarts : La différence entre les dépenses réelles et les dépenses prévues en 2016-2017 reflète les ressources additionnelles réaffectées pour soutenir ce programme, les fonds obtenus à partir d'autres programmes d'AANC qui ont été distribués dans le cadre de l'IPS pour assurer une prestation à guichet unique et les fonds qui ont été reportés de 2015-2016 pour l'Initiative de développement des infrastructures énergétiques de la côte Ouest.

Coordonnées de la personne-ressource

Date de modification :