Toward a new Arctic Policy Framework

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

From Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ

Current status: Open

The process started in April 2017 and input from the public will be accepted until the end of January 2018.

Why

On December 20, 2016, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced that a new Arctic Policy Framework will be co-developed in collaboration with Indigenous, territorial and provincial partners to replace Canada's Northern Strategy (2009) and the Statement on Canada's Arctic Foreign Policy (2010).

This process builds on the commitments made in the US-Canada Joint Arctic Leaders' Statement and will be informed by Mary Simon's reports from the Shared Arctic Leadership Model Engagement. The Government of Canada recognizes the extensive work that has already been undertaken by our key partners in developing the priorities for their respective regions. This process will build upon rather than replace this important work.

Who

The Government of Canada will work collaboratively with territories, provinces and Indigenous groups to identify and build a long-term vision to 2030 for the Canadian and circumpolar Arctic.

A whole-of-government approach involving many departments and agencies from across the Government of Canada will contribute to this process. This will involve working within established timelines to undertake joint planning, drafting and analysis in setting priorities and strategies for Canada in the Arctic.

The Government of Canada will reach out to national Indigenous organizations and will organize regional roundtables to seek the input of local Indigenous groups. Other opportunities for input will also be provided.

Input from all interested parties will also be welcomed.

What

Canada is an Arctic nation and it recognizes that the Arctic region requires shared leadership. As the federal government determines its priorities for the coming years, it will work closely with Arctic residents and governments to ensure their views and priorities are at the forefront of policy decisions affecting the future of the Canadian Arctic and Canada’s role in the circumpolar Arctic. The new federal policy framework will be developed to reorganize and reprioritize federal activities in the Arctic. The framework is intended to increase partnerships and collaboration between the federal government, Indigenous peoples and territorial and provincial governments.

The framework will apply to:

A number of themes have been identified, which may be refined through discussions with our partners:

This process will be informed by the reports by Mary Simon from the Shared Arctic Leadership Model Engagement as well as the following Arctic Leadership Model objectives:

Other priorities fundamental to Arctic residents, as well as matters raised in written and oral submissions received during regional roundtables and online, will be considered in the development of Canada’s new Arctic Policy Framework.

Through this process, the Government of Canada is seeking to identify:

While the new Arctic Policy Framework will inform decisions in the Canadian and circumpolar Arctic, the Government of Canada retains the decision-making authority for matters related to Canadian defence, foreign policy and other issues of national interest.

When and where

The regional round table meetings are by invitation only but you can still participate in other ways.

Date Location
October 4, 2017 Churchill, Manitoba
October 11, 2017 Nain, Newfoundland and Labrador
October 12, 2017 Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador
October 30 to 31, 2017 Kuujjuaq, Quebec
November 2, 2017 Iqaluit, Nunavut
November 8 to 9, 2017 Inuvik, Northwest Territories
December 13 to 14, 2017 Whitehorse, Yukon
January 17, 2018 Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
(TBD) Ottawa, Ontario

How to participate

Tell us what Canada can do to support a strong, prosperous and sustainable Arctic. There are several ways to participate:

  1. attend a regional roundtable discussion (by invitation only)
  2. read the discussion guide and send a letter to the address in Contact us
  3. read the discussion guide and send your answer in an email to ArctiqueEnsemble-ArcticTogether@canada.ca
  4. send a tweet using the hashtag #ArcticTogether

Videos

Related links

Contact us

Arctic Policy Framework
15 rue Eddy, 14th floor
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4

ArctiqueEnsemble-ArcticTogether@canada.ca

Date modified:

Vers un Cadre stratégique pour l'Arctique

D'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

ᐃᓄᒃᑎᑐᑦ

État actuel : fermé

Le processus a commencé en avril 2017 et les commentaires du public seront acceptés jusqu'à la fin du mois de février 2018.

Pourquoi

Le 20 décembre 2016, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a annoncé qu'un nouveau cadre stratégique pour l'Arctique sera élaboré en collaboration avec des partenaires autochtones, territoriaux et provinciaux afin de remplacer la Stratégie pour le Nord (2009) et l'Énoncé de la politique étrangère du Canada pour l'Arctique (2010).

Le processus se fonde sur les engagements pris dans la Déclaration conjointe du Canada et des États-Unis sur le rôle de leadership dans l'Arctique et sur les rapports de Mary Simon sur la mobilisation concernant le Modèle de leadership partagé dans l'Arctique. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnait que des travaux approfondis ont été entrepris par nos partenaires clés pour ce qui est d'établir les priorités pour leurs régions respectives. Ce processus misera sur ces travaux importants plutôt que de les remplacer.

Qui

Le gouvernement du Canada travaillera en collaboration avec les territoires, les provinces et des groupes autochtones afin d'identifier et de bâtir une vision à long terme jusqu'en 2030 pour le Nord canadien et la région circumpolaire de l'Arctique.

Le processus consistera en une approche pangouvernementale à laquelle participeront de nombreux ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Canada. Ils devront ainsi travailler selon un échéancier précis pour la planification, la rédaction et l'analyse conjointes visant à établir des priorités et des stratégies pour le Canada dans l'Arctique.

Le gouvernement du Canada mobilisera des organisations autochtones nationales, comme l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et l'Inuit Tapiirit Kanatami, et il organisera des tables rondes régionales pour obtenir les commentaires des groupes autochtones locaux. D'autres occasions de participation seront également offertes.

La participation des parties intéressées sera aussi la bienvenue.

Quoi

Le Canada est un pays de l'Arctique et il reconnaît que la région de l'Arctique nécessite un leadership partagé. Alors que le gouvernement fédéral détermine ses priorités pour les années à venir, il travaillera en étroite collaboration avec les résidants et les gouvernements de l'Arctique à s'assurer que leurs opinions et leurs priorités soient au cœur des décisions stratégiques touchant le futur de l'Arctique canadien et le rôle du Canada dans l'Arctique circumpolaire. Le nouveau cadre stratégique fédéral sera développé pour réorganiser et donner de nouvelles priorités aux activités fédérales dans l'Arctique. Il a pour but de renforcer les partenariats et la collaboration entre le gouvernement fédéral, les Autochtones et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux.

Le cadre s'appliquera :

Les thèmes suivants avaient été relevés; ceux-ci pourraient être précisés dans le cadre de discussions avec nos partenaires :

Ce processus sera fondé sur les rapports de Mary Simon concernant le modèle de leadership partagé dans l'Arctique ainsi que sur les objectifs suivants de ce modèle :

D'autres priorités essentielles pour les résidants de l'Arctique, ainsi que les enjeux soulevés par nos partenaires et les observations écrites et orales présentées par d'autres intervenants en ligne et à l'occasion des tables rondes régionales, seront pris en considération lors de l'élaboration du nouveau cadre stratégique pour l'Arctique du Canada.

À travers ce processus, le gouvernement du Canada cherche à déterminer :

Bien que le nouveau cadre stratégique pour l'Arctique permette d'orienter les décisions dans l'Arctique canadien et circumpolaire, le gouvernement du Canada conservera son pouvoir décisionnel en ce qui a trait à la défense du Canada, à la politique étrangère et à d'autres enjeux d'intérêt national.

Quand et où

La participation aux tables rondes régionales se fait sur invitation seulement, mais vous pouvez tout de même participer d'autres façons.

Date Endroit
4 octobre 2017 Churchill, Manitoba
11 octobre 2017 Nain, Terre-Neuve et Labrador
12 octobre 2017 Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Terre-Neuve et Labrador
30 et 31 octobre 2017 Kuujjuaq, Québec
2 novembre 2017 Iqaluit, Nunavut
8 et 9 novembre 2017 Inuvik, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
13 et 14 decembre 2017 Whitehorse, Yukon
17 janvier 2018 Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
5 février 2018 Ottawa, Ontario, Industries extractives
6 février 2018 Ottawa, Ontario, Innovateurs et autres secteurs de l’industrie
7 février 2018 Ottawa, Ontario, Organisations non gouvernementales
8 février 2018 Ottawa, Ontario, Sciences naturelles, théoriques et appliquées
9 février 2018 Ottawa, Ontario, Sciences sociales et humaines
13 février 2018 Toronto, Ontario
14 au 21 février 2018 En ligne (Tables rondes virtuelles pour les jeunes)
15 mars 2018 Thompson, Manitoba

Comment participer

Dites-nous ce que le Canada peut faire pour favoriser le développement de collectivités saines, viables et prospères dans le Nord. Il existe plusieurs façons de participer :

  1. assister à une table de discussion ronde régionale (sur invitation seulement)
  2. lire le guide de discussion et envoyer une lettre à l'adresse indiquée sous « Contactez-nous »
  3. lire le guide de discussion et envoyer un courriel à ArctiqueEnsemble-ArcticTogether@canada.ca
  4. Envoyer un gazouillis au moyen du mot-clic #ArctiqueEnsemble

Vidéo

Liens connexes

Contactez-nous

Secrétariat du Cadre stratégique pour l'Arctique
15, rue Eddy, 14e étage
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4

ArctiqueEnsemble-ArcticTogether@canada.ca

Date de modification :