Emergency Management Assistance Program: Funded projects 2016-2017

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) supports local efforts in emergency protection and prevention through projects that reflect the strengths of First Nations and the talents and knowledge found in their communities. These projects are coordinated by the First Nation recipient communities that applied for funding from INAC.

To learn more about any of the communities mentioned, visit First Nation profiles.

Region:

National projects

Canadian Risk and Hazards Network (CRHNET)

The CRHNET was contracted to produce two reports. The first was on the Indigenous presentations during the Indigenous stream of the 2016 CRHNet symposium, which highlighted the lessons learned from various emergency events. The second covered INAC's Building Resilience Through Reconciliation workshop at Canada's Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) Roundtable. Both the symposium and the Roundtable were held in November 2016.

Amount provided by INAC: $19,550

Wilfrid Laurier University

  • Guide for Evacuated Indigenous Communities
    The University organized talking circles with First Nation members who are currently displaced or have experienced a long-term evacuation due to flooding. Their stories will be used to draft a guide for use by other First Nations who may experience a similar situation. Participating First Nation members were from Namgis and Lytton, British Columbia; Long Plain, Manitoba; and Eskasoni, Nova Scotia.

    Amount provided by INAC: $129,028
 
  • Indigenous Disaster Evacuee Audio-visual Stories
    The University produced audio-visual presentations and written text on the experiences of disaster evacuees from First Nations. The presentations, which include the participants' recommendations on how to address the challenges faced during disasters and evacuations, can be used as an educational tool. Interviewees came from the First Nation communities of Namgis and Lytton, British Columbia; Long Plain, Manitoba; and Eskasoni, Nova Scotia.

    Amount provided by INAC: $54,978
 
  • Indigenous Resilience Working Group participation
    The University coordinated the attendance of First Nation representatives in an Indigenous Resilience Working Group meeting with INAC and Public Safety Canada representatives in Gatineau, Quebec from October 25 to 26, 2016.

    Amount provided by INAC: $50,000
 
  • Mutual Aid Wise Practices Guide
    The University researched provincial and municipal emergency management approaches in order to create a guide for First Nation communities to develop mutual aid agreements where local authorities share emergency management resources or services.

    Amount provided by INAC: $134,926

Youth Engagement Project

Ursus Resilient Strategies Inc. is developing an outreach project to reach Indigenous youth and engage them in strengthening community resilience in the face of natural disasters. The project would provide youth with information and tools for personal and household preparedness, while also promoting awareness of emergency management activities in Indigenous and non-Indigenous communities in Canada.

Amount provided by INAC: $87,900

Atlantic Canada projects

All-hazards Risk Assessment

All-hazards risk assessment was done for Miawpukek First Nation in Newfoundland.

Amount provided by INAC: $30,000

Quebec projects

Twenty (20) First Nation communities took part in one or more of the following emergency preparedness training projects:

An incident command system is a standardized on-site management system that integrates facilities, equipment, personnel, procedures, and communications within a common organizational structure.

A symposium for First Nations was also held on disaster risk reduction and best practices.

Amount provided by INAC: $781,974

Ontario projects

James Bay Emergency Management Coordinator

The Mushkegowuk Council have a dedicated coordinator working directly with the James Bay Coast First Nations of Kashechewan, Moose Cree, Attawapiskat and Albany to ensure the communities are safe and well-prepared in case of spring flooding.

Amount provided by INAC: $69,065

Mattagami First Nation: Dealing with Community Emergencies

A comprehensive program to ensure community safety in case of emergencies, including:

  • ensuring band council members know their roles and responsibilities if a state of local emergency is declared
  • ensuring community members are prepared for emergencies and know the evacuation process
  • helping youth learn about emergency management and planning through table-top exercises
  • developing a business continuity plan, including safety emergency response training for front-line staff

Amount provided by INAC: $22,378

Mishkeegogamang First Nation: Wildfire Fighting Training

Four First Nation members will receive fire ranger training on wildfire fighting, protecting infrastructure and recognizing land clearance options to reduce the risk and effect of wildfires.

Amount provided by INAC: $25,000

Mohawks of the Akwesasne First Nation: Emergency Training and Risk Assessment

Emergency management training was provided to ensure that the First Nation has an effective emergency operations centre. Also, a hazard vulnerability risk assessment was done to identify disaster threats that may exist in the community.

Amount provided by INAC: $67,536

Ontario First Nations: Emergency Preparation, Mitigation and Recovery

The Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation (OFNTSC) provides Emergency preparedness and response courses available to all First Nations in the Ontario region. OFNTSC's program is designed to meet the emergency preparedness needs of First Nations. In 2016-2017 the OFNTSC offered six emergency management review training sessions and four emergency recovery training sessions. The OFNTSC also organized training sessions in the following five First Nation communities:

  • Curve Lake First Nation: Hazard Assessment and Risk Identification and Roles and Responsibility Training with Chief and Council. (1 Day)
  • M'Chigeeng First Nation: Hazard Assessment and Risk Identification and Introduction to Phase 3: Exercising with Community Control Group. (1 Day)
  • Chippewas of Kettle and Stony Point First Nation: Hazard Assessment and Risk Identification and Introduction to Phase 3: Exercising with Community Control Group. (1 Day)
  • Walpole Island First Nation: Roles and Responsibilities Training with Chief and Council. (1 Day) and Introduction to Phase 3: Exercising with Community Control Group. (1 Day)
  • Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation: Introduction to Phase 3: Exercising with Community Control Group. (1.5 Days)

Amount provided by INAC: $1,410,000

Pikangikum First Nation: Wildfire Fighting Training

Eight community members were hired to complete a 10-week course in wildfire fighting. Four of the group will be chosen for further more advanced training.

Amount provided by INAC: $25,000

Wabaseemoong Independent Nations: Reducing Wildfire Risk

In collaboration with Ontario's Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry Kenora Fire Management headquarters, heavy grass fuels were burned off in order to reduce wildfire risk to the Independent Nations.

Amount provided by INAC: $38,350

Manitoba projects

Canadian Red Cross Emergency Resiliency Project

This project focuses on building the Canadian Red Cross in Manitoba's capacity to support disaster recovery in First Nations. Goals include:

  • developing community connections and trust
  • improving disaster recovery support abilities
  • collaborating with other health and service organizations

Amount provided by INAC: $8,072

Emergency Operations Centre

The Interlake Reserves Tribal Council is working with its six First Nation member communities to develop an emergency operations centre that will provide emergency support, training and professional guidance to the communities.

The six First Nation member communities are:

  • Dauphin River
  • Kinonjeoshtegon
  • Lake Manitoba
  • Little Saskatchewan
  • Peguis
  • Pinaymootang

Amount provided by INAC: $382,995

Lake Manitoba Drainage Study

A five-phase drainage study was done for O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi First Nation to find solutions to possible future flooding from Lake Manitoba. The First Nation has faced flooding in past years and still has residents evacuated from 2014 flooding.

Amount provided by INAC: $162,151

Saskatchewan projects

Emergency Planning and Mitigation Training

The Prince Albert Grand Council provided training to social assistance directors and staff in its 12 First Nation member communities in key areas of emergency management planning and mitigation, including:

  • setting up emergency operation centres
  • providing key emergency information to communities
  • evacuation planning

Amount provided by INAC: $722,700

Wildfire Prevention and Mitigation

Through a partnership between the Prince Albert Grand Council and FireSmart Canada, First Nation members continued to receive training on thinning high-hazard forest areas and grassland vegetation. These activities reduce the intensity and spread of wildfires and help keep them from threatening First Nation communities.This training is a continuation of training that began in the 2015-2016 fiscal year.

Amount provided by INAC: $2,332,130

8th Annual Emergency Management Forum

First Nation and tribal council emergency planning officials came together from February 15 to 17, 2017, to improve their emergency management skills in order to protect their communities. Topics covered included:

  • all-hazard community planning
  • responding to emergency events
  • recovering from emergency events
  • preventing emergencies
  • reducing the effects of emergencies on a community

Representatives of the federal and provincial governments, as well as non-government organizations such as the Canadian Red Cross, also attended.

Amount provided by INAC: $137,889

Alberta projects

The Alberta Bow River Basin Flood Hazard Assessment Project

The second year of the Alberta Bow River Basin Flood Hazard Assessment Project assesses flood hazards for the parts of the Bow River Basin flowing through Siksika, Tsuut'ina, and Stoney Tribe Nations to help the First Nations develop mitigation options.

Amount provided by INAC: $533,284

British Columbia projects

Addressing Flooding Dangers

Eight First Nation communities located near British Columbia’s coast or near waterways (Gwa’Sala-Nakwaxda’xw, Kwantlen, Lower Kootenay, Musqueam, Namgis, Skwah, Squamish, Stz’uminus) received funding to cover activities, including:

  • flood plain mapping
  • water level monitoring
  • tsunami hazard area and safe zone mapping
  • seismic structural assessments
  • installation of Ultra high frequency (UHF) communications systems.

Amount provided by INAC: $428,708

Canadian Red Cross and St'at'imc Government Services

Building on their collaboration in 2015-2016, the Canadian Red Cross and St'at'imc Government Services (SGS) worked together to improve disaster preparedness in the 11 BC First Nations the SGS serves, including::

  • emergency preparedness workshops
  • community network development and planning
  • applying lessons learned in 2015-2016 to local emergency planning
  • improving preparedness kits

Amount provided by INAC: $215,581

Emergency Management Preparedness Proposals

A total of 47 First Nation communities were given funding for activities including, but not limited to:

  • emergency preparedness training
  • telecommunications training
  • setting up emergency operation and incident command centres
  • updating or developing emergency management plans
  • developing hazard identification risk assessments
  • coordinating wildfire fuel reduction programs
  • performing evacuation drills

Amount provided by INAC: $2,916,084

Regional Support Network Formation

Holistic Emergency Preparedness & Response brought together the BC First Nations of Dzawada'enuxw, Gwawaenuk Tribe and Kwikwasut'inuxw Haxwa'mis for joint emergency preparedness and response training and exercises and community emergency plan development. The three First Nations will then develop a regional protocol agreement/memorandum of understanding for joint emergency management support.

Amount provided by INAC: $87,156

Yukon projects

INAC’s Yukon Region supports three Yukon and three northern BC First Nation communities.

Flood Evacuation Drill

The Daylu Dena Council in Northern BC held a partial evacuation drill for residents whose homes are at risk of flooding. The council coordinated the drill with the help of Holistic Emergency Preparedness & Response, Emergency Management BC, Yukon Emergency Measures Organization and the Town of Watson Lake. Lessons learned from the drill were presented to the council members and adapted into emergency planning.

Amount provided by INAC: $45,829

Wildfire Evacuation Drill

Evacuation drill held for members of Taku River Tlingit First Nation in BC whose homes are at risk during wildfires. The First Nation coordinated the drill with the help of Holistic Emergency Preparedness & Response and in collaboration with Emergency Management BC, Yukon Emergency Measures Organization and the community of Atlin, BC. Lessons learned from the drill were presented to First Nation members and adapted into the First Nation's emergency plan.

Amount provided by INAC: $51,537

Date modified:

Programme d’aide à la gestion des urgences : projets financés en 2016-2017

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) appuie les efforts locaux en matière de prévention et de protection en situation d’urgence dans le cadre de projets qui mettent en valeur les forces des Premières Nations, ainsi que les talents et les connaissances que l’on retrouve dans leurs collectivités. Ces projets sont coordonnés par les collectivités des Premières Nations dont les demandes de financement à AANC ont été acceptées.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements concernant les Premières Nations mentionnées, visitez les Profils des Premières Nations.

Région :

Projets nationaux

Réseau canadien d'étude des risques et dangers

Le RCERD(site Web non disponible en français) a été engagé à forfait pour produire deux rapports. Le premier portait sur les présentations des Autochtones lors du volet autochtone du symposium du Réseau de 2016, qui mettait en valeur les leçons retenues de diverses situations d'urgence. Le deuxième portait sur l'atelier d'AANC intitulé « Renforcer la résilience grâce à la réconciliation », dans le cadre de la table ronde de la Plate-forme du Canada pour la réduction des risques de catastrophe. Le symposium et la table ronde ont eu lieu en novembre en 2016.

Montant versé par AANC : 19 550 $

Université Wilfrid Laurier

  • Guide à l'intention des collectivités autochtones ayant été évacuées
    L'Université a organisé des cercles de parole avec des membres des Premières Nations qui sont actuellement déplacés ou qui ont connu une évacuation à long terme en raison d'inondations. Leurs histoires serviront à élaborer un guide à l'usage d'autres Premières Nations qui pourraient se trouver dans des situations similaires. Les membres des Premières Nations participantes provenaient de Namagis et Lytton en Colombie-Britannique, de Long Plain au Manitoba et d'Eskasoni en Nouvelle-Écosse.

    Montant versé par AANC : 129 028 $
 
  • Documents audiovisuels présentant les récits d'Autochtones évacués(site Web non disponible en français)
    L'Université a produit des documents audiovisuels et écrits sur l'expérience vécue par des membres de Premières Nations qui ont été évacués en raison d'une catastrophe. Les présentations, dans lesquelles des participants font des recommandations pour régler les défis soulevés par les catastrophes et les évacuations, peuvent servir d'outil éducatif. Les personnes interviewées provenaient des collectivités des Premières Nations de Namagis et Lytton en Colombie-Britannique, de Long Plain au Manitoba et d'Eskasoni en Nouvelle-Écosse.

    Montant versé par AANC : 54 978 $
 
  • Participation au Groupe de travail sur la résilience autochtone
    L'Université a coordonné la participation des représentants des Premières Nations à une réunion du Groupe de travail sur la résilience autochtone avec des représentants d'AANC et de Sécurité publique Canada qui a eu lieu à Gatineau, au Québec, les 25 et 26 octobre 2016.

    Montant versé par AANC : 50 000 $
 
  • Guide de pratiques d'aide mutuelle judicieuse
    L'Université a fait des recherches sur les approches provinciales et municipales en matière de gestion des urgences dans le but de rédiger un guide destiné aux collectivités des Premières Nations et visant l'élaboration d'ententes d'aide mutuelle qui permettent aux autorités locales de partager des ressources et des services pour gérer les urgences.

    Montant versé par AANC : 134 926 $

Projet de mobilisation des jeunes

Ursus Resilient Strategies Inc. élabore un projet de sensibilisation visant à rejoindre les jeunes Autochtones et à les mobiliser afin de renforcer la résilience de leur collectivité si celle-ci devait se trouver confrontée à des catastrophes naturelles. Le projet a pour but de fournir aux jeunes de l'information et des outils sur la préparation des personnes et des ménages, tout en faisant la promotion d'activités de gestion des urgences dans les collectivités autochtones et non autochtones au Canada.

Montant versé par AANC : 87 900 $

Projets dans le Canada atlantique

Évaluation tous risques

Une évaluation tous risques a été effectuée pour la Première Nation de Miawpukek à Terre-Neuve.

Montant versé par AANC : 30 000 $

Projets au Québec

Vingt (20) collectivités des Premières Nations ont participé à un ou plusieurs projets de formation aux préparatifs d'urgence énumérés ci-dessous :

Un système de commandement en cas d'incident est un système standardisé de gestion sur place qui prévoit des locaux, de l'équipement, du personnel, des procédures et des communications au sein d'une structure organisationnelle commune.

Un symposium sur la réduction des risques associés aux catastrophes et les pratiques exemplaires pour les Premières Nations a également été tenu.

Montant versé par AANC : 781 974 $

Projets en Ontario

Coordonnateur des mesures d’urgence à la baie James

Les membres du Conseil de Mushkegowuk ont nommé un coordonnateur qui travaille directement avec les Premières Nations de Kashechewan, d'Attawapiskat, de Fort Albany et la Première Nation crie de Moose qui résident sur les côtes de la baie James pour s'assurer que leurs membres seront en sécurité et bien préparés en cas d'inondations printanières.

Montant versé par AANC : 69 065 $

Première Nation de Mattagami : gestion des situations d'urgence communautaires

Un programme complet pour assurer la sécurité des collectivités en cas de situation d'urgence, comprenant ce qui suit :

  • veiller à ce que les membres du conseil de bande connaissent leurs rôles et leurs responsabilités dans l'éventualité où l'état d'urgence à l'échelle locale serait déclaré
  • veiller à ce que les membres des collectivités soient prêts aux situations d'urgence et connaissent le processus d'évacuation
  • sensibiliser les jeunes à la gestion des urgences et à la préparation aux urgences dans le cadre d'exercices sur table
  • élaborer un plan de continuité des activités comprenant notamment une formation sur la sécurité et l'intervention en cas de situation d'urgence pour le personnel de première ligne

Montant versé par AANC : 22 378 $

Première Nation de Mishkeegogamang : formation sur la lutte contre les incendies de forêt

Quatre membres de la Première Nation recevront une formation de garde-feu sur la lutte contre les incendies de forêt, la protection des infrastructures et la connaissance des options en matière de dégagement au sol pour réduire les risques et les répercussions.

Montant versé par AANC : 25 000 $

Première Nation des Mohawks d'Akwesasne : formation sur les situations d'urgence et l'évaluation des risques

Une formation sur la gestion des urgences a été fournie pour veiller à ce que la Première Nation ait un centre des opérations d'urgence efficace. De plus, une évaluation de la vulnérabilité aux dangers et aux risques a été réalisée pour cerner les menaces qui pourraient exister dans la collectivité.

Montant versé par AANC : 67 536 $

Premières Nations de l'Ontario : préparation aux situations d'urgence, atténuation et rétablissement

La Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corporation (OFNTSC) a offert des cours de préparation et d'intervention en situation d'urgence à toutes les Premières Nations de l'Ontario. Le programme de la OFNTSC est conçu pour répondre aux besoins des Premières Nations en matière de préparation aux urgences. En 2016-2017, la OFNTSC a offert six séances de formation sur l'examen de la gestion des urgences et quatre séances de formation sur le rétablissement. La OFNTSC a également organisé des séances de formation dans les cinq collectivités de Premières Nations suivantes :

  • Première Nation de Curve Lake : évaluation des dangers et formation sur la détermination des risques et les rôles et responsabilités avec le chef et les conseillers (une journée).
  • Première Nation M'Chigeeng : évaluation des dangers, détermination des risques et introduction à la phase 3 : exercices avec le groupe de contrôle de la collectivité (une journée).
  • Première Nation des Chippewas de Kettle et de Stony Point : évaluation des dangers, détermination des risques et introduction à la phase 3 : exercices avec le groupe de contrôle (une journée).
  • Première Nation de l'île Walpole : formation avec les chefs et les conseillers sur les rôles et responsabilités (une journée) et introduction à la phase 3 : exercices avec le groupe de contrôle de la collectivité (une journée).
  • Première Nation des Mississaugas de New Credit : introduction à la phase 3 : exercices avec le groupe de contrôle de la collectivité (une journée et demie).

Montant versé par AANC : 1 410 000 $

Première Nation de Pikangikum : formation sur la lutte contre les incendies de forêt

Huit membres de la collectivité ont été embauchés pour suivre un cours de 10 semaines sur la lutte contre les incendies de forêt. Parmi ce groupe, quatre personnes ont été choisies pour suivre une formation plus avancée.

Montant versé par AANC : 25 000 $

Nations indépendantes de Wabaseemoong : réduire le risque d'incendies de forêt

En collaboration avec le bureau principal des incendies de Kenora du ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts de l'Ontario, des combustibles herbacés lourds ont été brûlés pour réduire le risque d'incendies de forêt dans les Nations indépendantes.

Montant versé par AANC : 38 350 $

Projets au Manitoba

Projet de la Croix-Rouge canadienne sur la résilience dans les situations d'urgence

Ce projet vise à renforcer la capacité de la Croix-Rouge canadienne au Manitoba de soutenir les mesures de reprise après sinistre chez les Premières Nations. Les objectifs sont notamment les suivants :

  • développer les contacts et la confiance dans les collectivités
  • améliorer les capacités en matière de rétablissement à la suite d'une catastrophe
  • collaborer avec d'autres organismes de santé et de services

Montant versé par AANC : 8 072 $

Centre des opérations d'urgence

Le Conseil tribal des réserves de la région des lacs travaille avec ses six Nations membres pour établir un centre des opérations d'urgence qui fournira un soutien, de la formation et une orientation professionnelle aux collectivités.

Les six collectivités membres sont les suivantes :

  • Dauphin River
  • Kinonjeoshtegon
  • Lake Manitoba
  • Little Saskatchewan
  • Peguis
  • Pinaymootang

Montant versé par AANC : 382 995 $

Étude sur le drainage du lac Manitoba

Une étude sur le drainage en cinq étapes a été réalisée pour la Première Nation O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi afin de trouver des solutions à de possibles inondations au lac Manitoba. La Première Nation a été confrontée à des inondations au cours des dernières années et certains résidants sont encore évacués depuis les inondations de 2014.

Montant versé par AANC : 162 151 $

Projets en Saskatchewan

Formation sur la planification et l'atténuation des situations d'urgence

Le Prince Albert Grand Council(site Web non disponible en français) a fourni de la formation à des directeurs et du personnel de l'aide sociale dans ses 12 collectivités membres dans des domaines clés comme la planification de la gestion des situations d'urgence et les mesures d'atténuation. Les activités ont notamment porté sur :

  • la mise sur pied de centres des opérations d'urgence
  • la prestation d'informations clés sur les situations d'urgence aux collectivités
  • la planification de l'évacuation

Montant versé par AANC : 722 700 $

Prévention et atténuation des incendies de forêt

Dans le cadre d'un partenariat conclu entre le Prince Albert Grand Council (site Web non disponible en français) et FireSmart Canada (site Web non disponible en français), les Premières Nations membres ont continué de recevoir de la formation sur l'éclaircissage des zones forestières et de la végétation de prairie présentant un danger élevé. Ces activités permettent de réduire l'intensité et la portée des incendies de forêt et contribuent à les empêcher de s'étendre aux collectivités des Premières Nations. Cette formation est une suite à la formation entreprise en 2015-2016.

Montant versé par AANC : 2 332 130 $

8e forum annuel sur la gestion des mesures d'urgence

Les représentants de la planification des urgences au sein de Premières Nations et de conseils tribaux se sont réunis du 15 au 17 février 2017, afin d'améliorer leurs compétences en matière de gestion des urgences et ainsi mieux protéger leurs collectivités. Voici quelques exemples de sujets couverts :

  • la planification des urgences tous risques
  • les interventions lors de situations d'urgence
  • le rétablissement à la suite de situations d'urgence
  • la prévention des situations d'urgence
  • l'atténuation des conséquences des situations d'urgence dans une collectivité

Des représentants des gouvernements fédéral et provincial, de même que d'organisations non gouvernementales comme la Croix-Rouge canadienne, y participaient également.

Montant versé par AANC : 137 889 $

Projets en Alberta

Projet d'évaluation des risques d'inondation dans le bassin versant de la rivière Bow en Alberta

Pendant la deuxième année du projet d'évaluation des risques d'inondation dans le bassin versant de la rivière Bow, une évaluation a été faite des risques d'inondation dans les sections de la rivière Bow qui coulent sur les territoires de la Nation des Siksika, de la Nation Tsuut'ina et de la Nation des Stoney afin d'aider les Premières Nations à élaborer des mesures d'atténuation.

Montant versé par AANC : 533 284 $

Projets en Colombie-Britannique

Prendre en compte les dangers liés aux inondations

Huit collectivités de Premières Nations sur la côte de la Colombie-Britannique ou près de voies d’eau (Gwa’Sala-Nakwaxda’xw, Kwantlen, Lower Kootenay, Musqueam, Namgis, Skwah, Squamish, Stz’uminus) ont reçu du financement pour diverses activités, notamment les suivantes :

  • cartographie des plaines inondables
  • surveillance du niveau d'eau
  • cartographie des régions comportant des risques de tsunami et des zones sécuritaires
  • évaluations des structures sismiques
  • installation de systèmes de communication à ultra-haute fréquence (UHF)

Montant versé par AANC : 428 708 $

Croix-Rouge canadienne et services gouvernementaux st'at'imc

Mettant à profit leur collaboration en 2015-2016, la Croix-Rouge canadienne et les St'at'imc Government Services (SGS) (site Web non disponible en français) ont travaillé ensemble pour améliorer la préparation aux catastrophes dans les onze collectivités de Premières Nations que les SGS servent, notamment en réalisant ce qui suit :

  • ateliers sur la préparation aux situations d'urgence
  • développement et planification du réseau communautaire
  • mise en application des leçons retenues de la planification des situations d'urgence locales en 2015-2016
  • amélioration des trousses de préparation

Montant versé par AANC : 215 581 $

Propositions pour la préparation en gestion des urgences

Un total de 47 collectivités des Premières Nations ont reçu des fonds pour des activités incluant, sans s'y limiter :

  • formation sur la préparation aux situations d'urgence
  • formation sur les télécommunications
  • établissement de centres des opérations d'urgence et de commandement en cas d'incident
  • mise à jour ou élaboration de plans de mesures d'urgence
  • préparation des évaluations des risques associés à la détermination des dangers
  • coordination des programmes de réduction des combustibles forestiers
  • réalisation d'exercices d'évacuation

Montant versé par AANC : 2 916 084 $

Formation sur le réseau de soutien régional

Holistic Emergency Preparedness & Response (site Web non disponible en français) a réuni les Premières Nations Dzawada'enuxw, Tribu de Gwawaenuk et Kwikwasut'inuxw Haxwa'mis pour leur permettre de suivre ensemble une formation sur la préparation et l'intervention en situation d'urgence, de faire des exercices et d'élaborer un plan d'urgence communautaire. Les trois Premières Nations élaboreront un protocole d'entente régional pour se soutenir mutuellement dans la gestion des urgences.

Montant versé par AANC : 87 156 $

Projets au Yukon

Le bureau de la région du Yukon d'AANC appuie trois collectivités de Premières Nations au Yukon et trois collectivités de Premières Nations du nord de la Colombie-Britannique.

Exercice d'évacuation en cas d'inondation

Le conseil déné Daylu dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique a effectué un exercice d'évacuation partiel visant les maisons des résidents vivant dans des zones à risque. Le Conseil a coordonné l'évacuation avec l'aide de Holistic Emergency Preparedness & Response, de Gestion des urgences (Colombie-Britannique), (site Web non disponible en français) de l'Organisation des mesures d'urgence au Yukon et de la municipalité de Watson Lake. Les leçons retenues de cet exercice ont été présentées aux membres du conseil et intégrées à son plan d'urgence.

Montant versé par AANC : 45 829 $

Exercice d'évacuation en cas d'incendie de forêt

Un exercice d'évacuation a eu lieu pour les membres de la Première Nation des Tlingit de Taku River (Colombie-Britannique) dont les maisons pourraient être menacées par des incendies de forêt. La Première Nation a coordonné l'exercice avec l'aide de Holistic Emergency Preparedness & Response et en collaboration avec la Gestion des urgences de la C.-B., l'Organisation des mesures d'urgence du Yukon et la collectivité d'Atlin, en C.-B. Les leçons retenues de cet exercice ont été présentées aux membres de la Première Nation et intégrées au plan d'urgence de la Première Nation.

Montant versé par AANC : 51 537 $

Date de modification :