First Nations education transformation: Engagement 2016-2018

From Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Current status: Open

The engagement started on November 2, 2016 and will continue through 2018.

Why

The Government of Canada recognizes that enhancing First Nations education is a fundamental part of renewing the relationship with Indigenous peoples. First Nations children and youth deserve culturally appropriate, high-quality education that meets their needs, while respecting the principle of First Nations control over First Nations education.

Previous reports and recommendations have called for:

The Government of Canada is committed to working collaboratively with First Nations to develop and implement these positive changes; and to establish a new partnership on First Nations elementary and secondary education.

Through the funding announced in Budget 2016, the government made significant investments to ensure that First Nation children on reserve receive a quality education and that education outcomes are improved. This includes:

These investments are only a first step.

The Government of Canada is seeking input on further improvements through this engagement.

Who

At the regional and local level, the Government of Canada will engage with:

The Government of Canada will work with education stakeholders in the territories to plan an engagement process that ensures that the voices of Indigenous individuals in the North are heard. While this process is being developed, Northwest Territories Indigenous groups and Yukon First Nations can expect ongoing program delivery to continue under existing frameworks. In the territories, the territorial governments currently deliver elementary and secondary education programs.

What

The Government of Canada acknowledges that a one-size-fits-all approach will not work, and further discussion and dialogue must build upon existing knowledge and previous discussions with First Nations. That is why we have launched this engagement.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) has been working closely with various First Nation partners to design and implement an inclusive and comprehensive engagement process aimed at developing recommendations for strengthening First Nation student success. This is in response to Assembly of First Nations (AFN) Resolution No. 16/2016, which calls upon the Government of Canada to engage in an honourable process with First Nations to support education reform.

A Joint Working Committee has been established with representatives from INAC, the AFN, the Chiefs Committee on Education and the National Indian Education Council to work together to address various issues of importance to First Nations education.

This engagement has five parts:

1. Community-level discussions

In 2016-2017, the Government of Canada provided up to $3.6 million to support community-level discussions led by First Nations organizations. These meetings provided parents and community members with the opportunity to share their views on what needs to be done to ensure that all First Nations students receive a quality education that improves student success.

These discussions were funded through a specific call for proposals under INAC's New Paths for Education program, designed to support First Nations education transformation community-level discussions in all provinces in Canada.

These discussions are now complete. Find out What we heard from the community-level discussions.

2. Online survey

In order to hear from as many voices as possible, and provide a forum for those who may not be able to attend community-level discussions in person, INAC launched an online survey in February 2017. This survey collected input from those with experience and interest in First Nations education on the way forward. It was shared through Facebook and Twitter. The information from the survey will also help inform the technical task teams and the leadership dialogue parts of the engagement.

Consult the survey report called Let’s talk on-reserve education.

3. Task teams

In January 2017, technical task teams were launched to examine key issues.

The teams are joint technical discussion tables established by regional First Nation organizations, the AFN and INAC. They are jointly led by subject matter experts from First Nations organizations and INAC, and may include participants from other Government of Canada departments. Discussions are ongoing and include:

  • The Funding Mechanisms Task Team examines options and makes recommendations for improving the way INAC funds First Nations K-12 education. The objectives are to:
    • share research and regional frameworks on funding mechanisms
    • discuss options for transferring existing proposal-based funding into core funding structures and agreements
    • develop options to modernize current education funding methodologies
  • The Education Statutory Funding Task Team examines how to establish statutory funding for First Nation education. The objectives are to:
    • share research and analysis related to statutory education funding
    • develop options for achieving a statutory or legal guarantee of funding
  • The Post-Secondary Education Task Team will make recommendations related to post-secondary education funding for both First Nation students and Indigenous institutes of higher learning. The objectives are to:
    • identify gaps in current First Nation post-secondary education funding, as well as costs associated with closing the gap between Indigenous and non-Indigenous post-secondary achievement
    • review the Government of Canada's post-secondary education programs, and suggest options that will meet the needs of First Nation post-secondary students
  • The Early Childhood Education Task Team examines and shares technical expertise and knowledge to best support high-quality First Nation early childhood education.The objectives are to:
    • examine regional differences and best practices regarding the implementation of early childhood education in First Nation schools
    • identify the necessary supports and propose recommendations for early childhood education programming for First Nation schools and students
    • identify ways to improve access to quality early childhood education for First Nation students
  • The Measurement and Mutual Accountability Task Team worked towards the development of a results framework for First Nations K-12 education from January to June 2017.
  • The Northern and Remote Task Team had its first meeting in September 2017.

More task teams will be established to support other key issues as they emerge.

The Joint Working Committee has endorsed operational terms and outlined the following roles and responsibilities to support the task teams:

  • members are recommended by the National Indian Education Council, AFN, and INAC, and approved by the Joint Working Committee
  • members are expected to have the knowledge and expertise to support task team work 
  • external presenters and experts may be asked to participate from time to time

4. Leadership dialogues

The Government of Canada is formally engaging with First Nations leaders in the regions through a series of leadership dialogues. These dialogues are organized by participating First Nation organizations across Canada, and are intended to bring together chiefs and other community leaders on First Nation education. INAC is funding these organizations to hold leadership dialogues:

  • Chiefs Of Ontario
  • Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak
  • Southern Chiefs' Organization
  • Mi'kmaq Confederacy of PEI

5. Regional technical discussions

Regional technical discussions are also funded by INAC so that First Nation organizations can convene regional experts to further advance the national task team objectives at a regional level and support the identification of regional priorities at the leadership dialogues. INAC is currently welcoming proposals to support these discussion within regions. These organizations are being funded to hold regional technical discussions :

Building on the work of the task teams and informed by other engagement activities, the leadership dialogues and regional technical discussions aim to validate regional priorities for transforming First Nations education and improving student outcomes, as well as options for reforming the way INAC funds First Nations elementary and secondary education.

How to participate

There are 7 ways to participate:

  1. Attend a community meeting (now closed, consult What we heard from the discussions)
  2. Fill out the online survey before April 30, 2017 (now closed, consult the survey report called Let’s talk on-reserve education).
  3. Participate in a task team (by invitation only)
  4. Participate in a leadership dialogue (by invitation only)
  5. Participate in a regional technical discussion (by invitation only)
  6. Send an email to engagement-fn-education@aandc.gc.ca
  7. Send a letter to the address in Contact us

Related links

Contact us

First Nations Education Transformation: Engagement 2016-2018
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
10 Rue Wellington, 23rd floor
Gatineau, QC K1A 0H4
Email: engagement-fn-education@aandc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Transformation de l’éducation des Premières Nations : Mobilisation 2016-2018

D'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

État actuel : en cours

La mobilisation a commencé le 2 novembre 2016 et se poursuivra en 2018.

Pourquoi

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que l'amélioration de l'éducation des Premières Nations est un élément fondamental du renouvellement des liens qui nous unissent aux peuples autochtones. Les enfants et les jeunes des Premières Nations méritent une éducation adaptée sur le plan culturel et de grande qualité, qui répond à leurs besoins et respecte le principe du contrôle par les Premières Nations de leurs systèmes d'éducation.

Des rapports et des recommandations antérieurs ont préconisé :

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à travailler en collaboration avec les Premières Nations pour élaborer et mettre en place ces changements positifs, et établir avec les Premières Nations un nouveau partenariat axé sur l'éducation primaire et secondaire.

Grâce au financement annoncé dans le Budget de 2016, le gouvernement procédera à des investissements importants en vue de fournir une éducation de qualité aux enfants des Premières Nations dans les réserves et pour améliorer les résultats scolaires. Cela comprend :

Ces investissements ne sont qu'une première étape.

Dans le cadre de ce processus de mobilisation, le gouvernement du Canada souhaite recueillir des commentaires sur les autres améliorations à apporter.

Qui

À l'échelle régionale et locale, le gouvernement du Canada mobilisera :

Le gouvernement du Canada collaborera avec les intervenants des territoires dans le domaine de l'éducation pour planifier un processus de mobilisation qui fera en sorte que les voix des Autochtones dans le Nord seront entendues. Pendant l'élaboration de ce processus, les groupes autochtones des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et les Premières Nations du Yukon peuvent s'attendre à ce que la prestation des programmes se poursuive en fonction des cadres existants. Dans les territoires, les gouvernements territoriaux s'occupent actuellement de la prestation des programmes d'éducation primaire et secondaire.

Quoi

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu'une approche universelle ne fonctionnera pas, et que le dialogue doit s'appuyer dorénavant sur les connaissances existantes et les discussions antérieures avec les Premières Nations. C'est pourquoi nous avons lancé le présent processus de mobilisation.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) travaille en étroite collaboration avec divers partenaires des Premières Nations à concevoir et à mettre en place un processus de mobilisation inclusif et approfondi afin d’élaborer des recommandations visant à renforcer la réussite des élèves des Premières Nations. Ce processus fait suite à la résolution no 16/2016 de l'Assemblée des Premières nations (APN), qui invite le gouvernement du Canada à participer à un processus honorable avec les Premières Nations visant l'appui d'une réforme de l'éducation.

Un Comité de travail mixte a été mis sur pied. Il réunit des représentants d'AANC, de l'APN, du Comité des chefs sur l'éducation et du Conseil national indien de l'éducation afin qu'ils règlent conjointement diverses questions d'intérêt en matière d'éducation des Premières Nations.

La mobilisation se divise en cinq parties :

1. Discussions communautaires

En 2016-2017, le gouvernement du Canada a octroyé jusqu'à 3,6 millions de dollars pour appuyer le déroulement de discussions communautaires qui seront tenues par les organisations des Premières Nations. Ces échanges ont fourni aux parents et aux membres des collectivités l'occasion de faire valoir leurs opinions sur les mesures à prendre pour que les élèves des Premières Nations reçoivent une éducation de qualité et garante de succès.

Ces discussions ont été financées par un appel de propositions ciblé dans le cadre du programme Nouveaux sentiers pour l'éducation d'AANC, qui vise à soutenir les discussions communautaires sur la transformation de l'éducation des Premières Nations, dans toutes les provinces du Canada. Les discussions communautaires sont maintenant complétées.

Découvrez Ce que nous avons entendu dans le cadre de ces discussions.

2. Sondage en ligne

Pour recueillir les points de vue du plus grand nombre de personnes possible et pour offrir une tribune à ceux qui pourraient ne pas être en mesure d'assister aux discussions communautaires, AANC a lancé un sondage en ligne en février 2017. Ce sondage a permis de recueillir les commentaires de personnes ayant de l'expérience et nourrissant un intérêt en matière d'éducation des Premières Nations sur des questions importantes en vue d'établir la voie à suivre. On a eu recours à Facebook et Twitter. Les renseignements recueillis contribueront à orienter les équipes de travail techniques ainsi que le dialogue avec les dirigeants dans le cadre de ce processus de mobilisation. Consultez le rapport du sondage en ligne intitulé « Parlons d’éducation dans les communautés des Premières Nations ».

3. Équipes de travail

En janvier 2017, des équipes de travail ont été mises sur pied afin qu'elles examinent les principales questions.

Ces équipes sont en fait des tables de discussion communes établies par des organisations régionales des Premières Nations, l’APN et AANC. Elles seront codirigées par des experts techniques d'organisations des Premières Nations et d'AANC, et pourraient inclure des participants d'autres ministères du gouvernement du Canada.

Des discussions sont en cours et comprennent :

  • L'équipe de travail sur les mécanismes de financement examine les options et apporte des recommandations pour améliorer la façon dont AANC finance l'éducation de la maternelle à la 12e année des Premières Nations. Les objectifs sont les suivants :
    • partager la recherche et les cadres régionaux liés aux mécanismes de financement
    • discuter des options pour le transfert du financement existant fondé sur des propositions dans les structures de financement de base et ententes
    • élaborer des options afin de moderniser les méthodes courantes de financement de l'éducation
  • L'équipe de travail sur le financement de l'éducation prévu par la loi examine la façon d'établir un financement prévu par la loi pour l'éducation des Premières Nations. Les objectifs sont les suivants :
    • communiquer les études et les analyses ayant trait au financement de l'éducation prévu par la loi
    • élaborer des options pour parvenir à un financement légal ou garanti par la loi
  • L'équipe de travail sur l'éducation postsecondaire apportera des recommandations liées au financement de l'éducation postsecondaire aussi bien pour les étudiants des Premières Nations que pour les établissements autochtones d'enseignement supérieur. Les objectifs sont les suivants :
    • cerner les écarts dans le financement actuel de l'éducation postsecondaire des Premières Nations ainsi que les coûts associés à l'élimination de l'écart entre les diplômes d'études postsecondaires autochtones et non autochtones
    • examiner les programmes d'éducation postsecondaire du Canada et proposer des options qui répondront aux besoins des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire des Premières Nations
  • L'équipe de travail sur l'éducation de la petite enfance examine et communique l'expertise technique et les connaissances pour mieux appuyer une éducation de la petite enfance des Premières Nations de haute qualité. Les objectifs sont les suivants :
    • examiner les différences régionales et les pratiques exemplaires concernant la mise en œuvre de l'éducation de la petite enfance dans les écoles des Premières Nations
    • cerner les mesures de soutien requises et proposer des recommandations pour les programmes d'éducation des premières années destinés aux écoles et aux élèves des Premières Nations
    • cerner des façons d'améliorer l'accès à une éducation de la petite enfance de qualité pour les élèves des Premières Nations
  • L'équipe de travail sur la mesure et la responsabilité mutuelle a travaillé, de janvier à juin 2017, à l'élaboration d'un cadre de travail axé sur les résultats pour l'éducation des élèves des Premières Nations, de la maternelle à la 12e année
  • L'équipe de travail sur le Nord et les régions éloignées a tenu sa première réunion en septembre 2017.

D'autres équipes de travail seront mises sur pied pour appuyer ces enjeux clés au fur et à mesure qu'ils surviennent.

Le Comité de travail mixte a approuvé les conditions d’exploitation et a énoncé ses rôles et responsabilités pour appuyer les équipes :

  • Les membres seront recommandés par le Conseil national indien de l'éducation, l’APN et AANC, et approuvés par le Comité de travail mixte.
  • Les membres doivent posséder les connaissances et l'expertise nécessaires pour appuyer les efforts de l'équipe de travail.
  • Des intervenants et des experts de l'externe pourraient être invités à participer, de temps en temps.
  •  

4. Dialogue avec les dirigeants

Le gouvernement du Canada mobilise officiellement les dirigeants des Premières Nations dans les régions au moyen d'une série de dialogues avec les dirigeants. Ces dialogues sont organisés par des organisations participantes des Premières Nations du Canada, et visent à réunir les chefs et d’autres dirigeants des collectivités concernant la transformation de l'éducation des Premières Nations. AANC finance ces organisations pour la tenue de dialogues avec les dirigeants :

  • Chefs de l’Ontario
  • Manitoba Keewatinowi Okimakanak
  • Organisation des chefs du Sud du Manitoba
  • Confédération des Mi’kmaq de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard

5. Discussions techniques régionales

Les discussions techniques régionales sont également financées par AANC de sorte que les organisations des Premières Nations puissent réunir des experts régionaux pour faire progresser davantage les objectifs au niveau régional et appuyer la détermination des priorités régionales lors du dialogue avec les dirigeants. AANC accepte présentement des propositions qui appuient ces discussions dans les régions. Les organisations suivantes sont financées pour tenir des dialogues avec des dirigeants régionaux :

Ces dialogues avec des dirigeants régionaux et ces discussions techniques régionales, qui tireront profit des efforts des équipes de travail et qui seront orientés par d'autres activités de mobilisation, visent à valider les priorités régionales en matière de transformation de l'éducation des Premières Nations et d'amélioration des résultats scolaires, en plus de valider les options pour réformer la manière dont AANC finance l'éducation primaire et secondaire des Premières Nations.

Comment participer

Vous pouvez participer de sept façons :

  1. Assister à une rencontre communautaire (maintenant fermé, consultez Ce que nous avons entendu dans le cadre des discussions)
  2. Remplir le sondage en ligne avant le 30 avril 2017 (maintenant fermé, consultez le rapport du sondage intitulé Parlons d’éducation dans les communautés des Premières Nations)
  3. Participer à une équipe de travail (sur invitation seulement)
  4. Participer à un dialogue avec les dirigeants (sur invitation seulement)
  5. Participer à une discussion technique régionale (sur invitation seulement)
  6. Envoyer un courriel à l'adresse mobilisation-pn-education@aadnc.gc.ca
  7. Envoyer une lettre à l'adresse indiquée à la rubrique Contactez-nous

Liens connexes

Contactez-nous

Transformation de l'éducation des Premières Nations : Mobilisation 2016-2018
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
10 rue Wellington, 23e étage
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4
Courriel : mobilisation-pn-education@aadnc.gc.ca

Date de modification :