Improving child and family services in First Nations communities: Engagement 2016-2017

From Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada

Current status: Open

The engagement began on October 1, 2016 and will end on August 31, 2017.

What

Our first priority is the well-being of children. The Government of Canada is committed to taking concrete steps to completely transform the First Nations Child and Family Services program to ensure we are meeting the needs of First Nation children and families.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) wants to hear from you on what is needed to best meet the needs of First Nations children and families on reserve.

Why

Renewing relationships with Indigenous peoples and reforming the First Nations Child and Family Services program to better meet children's needs are top priorities for the Government of Canada. The over-representation of Indigenous children in care is a significant issue across Canada and the Government of Canada is working with partners to change this reality. The Truth and Reconciliation Commission's final report also made a number of calls to action (PDF) in this area.

Who

The Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs has appointed Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux as the Minister's Special Representative (MSR). The MSR is holding meetings with partners to discuss promising practices and short and long-term solutions.

INAC is reaching out to hear from:

How

Discussions with First Nations, service providers and provinces/Yukon have already started. The MSR is also traveling to regions to hear from partners and stakeholders over the next few months.

This engagement will be inclusive and will include:

There are four ways to participate:

  1. Attend a regional or national meeting (by invitation only for service providers, First Nation technical groups and First Nation communities and community members).
  2. Fill out the online survey (now closed). Survey results are currently being analyzed.
  3. Send an email to request a meeting or to share your suggestions about engagement, or on what is needed for the First Nations Child and Family Services program to best meet the needs of children.
  4. Send a letter to the address in the contact us section below.

Related links

Contact us

Child and Family Services Branch
Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
10 Wellington, 22nd floor
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0H4

Email: SEFPN-FNCFS@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Tel: 1-877-535-7259 (toll-free)
TTY: 1-800-465-7735

Minister's Special Representative

Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux

Minister's Special Representative Child and Family Services
Chippewa of Georgina Island First Nation, Lake Simcoe, Ontario

Dr. Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux is the Chair on Truth and Reconciliation at Lakehead University, Thunder Bay and Orillia, and former Vice Provost (Aboriginal Initiatives). She also serves as an Adjunct Associate Professor for the Faculty of Anthropology and as a Research Affiliate of the Centre for Health Care Ethics. A strong Aboriginal issues advocate, her research and academic writing is directed towards understanding the continuing transmission of historic and intergenerational trauma and unresolved grief primarily within the Aboriginal community.

Dr. Wesley-Esquimaux is a Board Member for Healthy Minds Canada and the newly formed Teach for Canada Non-Profit. She also sits as a member of the Governing Council of the National Research Centre at the University of Manitoba, and has been inducted as an Honorary Witness by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. Dr. Wesley-Esquimaux is a former Advisory Member of the Mental Health Commission of Canada and the Lake Simcoe Science Advisory Committee.

Dr. Wesley-Esquimaux grew up in Toronto. She has dedicated her life to building bridges of understanding between all people. Dr. Wesley-Esquimaux co-founded and chairs the Canadian Roots Exchange youth project out of the University of Toronto, the University of Saskatchewan and Lakehead University.

Date modified:

Améliorer les services à l’enfance et aux familles dans les collectivités des Premières Nations : Mobilisation 2016-2017

D'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada

État actuel : ouvert

Le processus de mobilisation a débuté le 1 octobre 2016 et se terminera le 31 août 2017.

Quoi

Notre principale priorité est le bien-être des enfants. Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à prendre des mesures concrètes pour transformer complètement le Programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations afin de s'assurer qu'il répond aux besoins des enfants et des familles des Premières Nations.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC) veut entendre votre opinion sur les changements nécessaires en vue de mieux répondre aux besoins des enfants et des familles des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves.

Pourquoi

Les grandes priorités du gouvernement du Canada consistent à renouveler les relations avec les peuples autochtones et à réformer le Programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations en vue de mieux répondre aux besoins des enfants. La surreprésentation des enfants autochtones parmi les enfants pris en charge est un problème important dans l'ensemble du Canada, et le gouvernement du Canada travaille en collaboration avec de partenaires en vue de changer cette réalité. Le rapport définitif de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation comportait également un certain nombre d'appels à l'action (PDF) à cet égard.

Qui

La ministre d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canda a nommé Mme Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux en tant que représentante spéciale de la ministre (RSM). La RSM tient des réunions avec des partenaires afin de discuter de pratiques prometteuses et de solutions à court et à long termes.

AANC communique avec vous afin d'obtenir votre opinion au sujet de ce qui suit :

Comment

Des discussions ont déjà été entamées avec les dirigeants des Premières Nations, les fournisseurs de services, les provinces et le Yukon. La RSM se rend dans chaque région afin d'entendre l'opinion des partenaires et des intervenants et continuera ses visites au cours des prochains mois.

Ce processus de mobilisation sera inclusif et comportera :

Il y a quatre façons de participer :

  1. Assister à une réunion nationale ou régionale (sur invitation seulement pour les fournisseurs de services, les groupes techniques des Premières Nations et les membres des collectivités des Premières Nations).
  2. Remplir un sondage en ligne.
  3. Envoyer un courriel afin de demander la tenue d'une réunion ou de faire part de suggestions au sujet du processus de mobilisation, ou de ce dont le Programme des Services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières nations a besoin pour répondre aux besoins des enfants.
  4. Envoyer une lettre à l'adresse indiquée dans les coordonnées ci-dessous.

Liens connexes

Contactez-nous

Services d'aide à l'enfance et à la famille
Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada
10, rue Wellington, 22e étage
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0H4

Courriel : SEFPN-FNCFS@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca
Téléphone : 1-877-535-7259 (sans frais)
TTY : 1-800-465-7735

Représentante spéciale de la ministre

Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux

Représentante spéciale de la ministre – Programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille
Chippewas de Georgina Island, au lac Simcoe (Ontario).

Cynthia Wesley-Esquimaux occupe la chaire sur la vérité et la réconciliation, et remplissait les fonctions de vice-rectrice (Initiatives autochtones) de l'Université Lakehead, aux campus de Thunder Bay et d'Orillia. Elle est aussi professeure adjointe auxiliaire à la faculté d'anthropologie et attachée de recherche au Centre for Health Care Ethics. Ardente défenseure des questions autochtones, sa recherche et ses publications universitaires visent à comprendre la transmission intergénérationnelle des traumatismes historiques et des deuils non résolus, principalement au sein de la communauté autochtone.

Mme Wesley-Esquimaux est membre du Conseil d'administration de Healthy Minds Canada et de Teach for Canada Non-Profit nouvellement constitué. Elle siège également au sein du Conseil d'administration du Centre de recherche national de l'Université du Manitoba, et elle a été nommée témoin honoraire par la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation. Mme Wesley-Esquimaux a été membre consultative de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada et du Comité consultatif des sciences du lac Simcoe.

Mme Wesley-Esquimaux a grandi à Toronto. Elle a consacré sa vie à créer des ponts entre les gens. Elle est cofondatrice et préside le projet Échange Racines canadiennes pour les jeunes autochtones et non autochtones, qui est établi à l'Université de Toronto, à l'Université de la Saskatchewan et à l'Université Lakehead.

Date de modification :