Totems: The stories they tell

Learn about the history and culture around totem poles in this short video.

Download: MP4 format

Transcript

Totems: The stories they tell

Totem poles are a traditional way of telling the stories of First Nation families and clans, and of keeping records of important historical events.

Many people think of the totem pole as belonging to Indigenous cultures all across Canada, but did you know that only six West Coast First Nations are responsible for the creation of totem poles? They are: the Haida, the Nuxalk, the Kwakwaka'wakw, the Tlingit, the Tsimshian and the Coast Salish.

It's easy to tell where a totem pole comes from based on how it's carved because the style and design of each pole are specific to each family, clan or region.

Most totem poles were carved from mature cedar trees using sharpened stones and cedar carving tools. Cedar resists rot better than other trees and was therefore a natural choice to ensure that the stories are preserved for many future generations.

The stories that totem poles tell may be a myth, a legend, or honour Indigenous peoples through symbols. The crests on a totem pole belong to a family and tell its story.

Once the stories of each crest are known, the totem poles really come alive. The most common crests of the Indigenous peoples of the Pacific Northwest include… the eagle, the raven, the thunderbird, the bear, the beaver, the wolf, the killer whale and the frog.

The poles are usually raised in the presence of hundreds or even thousands of people, in locations of honour in First Nations villages and throughout the world.

In the last century, traditional pole carving nearly died-out. Fortunately, today's Indigenous carvers are bringing back the crests and stories of the poles for families and clans to pass along to their future generations.

What would your totem pole look like?

Date modified:

Les totems : Les histoires qu'ils racontent

Découvrez l'histoire et la culture des totems dans cette courte vidéo.

Téléchargement : MP4 format

Transcription

Les totems : Les histoires qu'ils racontent

Les totems constituent un moyen traditionnel de raconter l'histoire des familles et des clans des Premières Nations et de préserver le récit des événements historiques importants.

Bien des gens croient que les totems font partie intégrante des cultures autochtones à l'échelle du pays, mais saviez-vous que seulement six Premières Nations de la côte Ouest s'adonnent à cet art? Il s'agit en fait des Haïdas, des Nuxalk, des Kwakwaka'wakw, des Tlingit, des Tsimshian et des Salish.

Il est facile de savoir d'où provient un totem selon la façon dont il est sculpté, puisque le style et la conception de chacun sont propres à chaque famille, clan ou région.

La plupart des totems étaient sculptés dans des cèdres rouges matures au moyen de pierres aiguisées et d'outils pour travailler le cèdre. Sa résistance supérieure à la moisissure faisait de cette essence d'arbre la solution toute désignée pour préserver les récits pour les générations à venir.

Les totems peuvent raconter un mythe ou une légende ou rendre hommage à des Autochtones par des symboles. Les emblèmes sculptés sur un totem appartiennent à la famille et racontent son histoire.

C'est lorsqu'on connaît l'histoire de chaque emblème qu'un totem prend réellement vie. Les emblèmes les plus répandus chez les Autochtones du nord-ouest du Pacifique sont : l'aigle, le corbeau, l'oiseau-tonnerre, l'ours, le castor, le loup, l'épaulard et la grenouille.

Les totems sont généralement érigés en présence de centaines, voire de milliers de personnes, et occupent la place d'honneur dans les villages des Premières Nations et partout dans le monde.

Au cours du siècle dernier, la sculpture traditionnelle de totems a pratiquement disparu. Heureusement, les sculpteurs autochtones contemporains font revivre cet art pour que les familles et les clans puissent continuer de transmettre leurs emblèmes et leurs histoires aux prochaines générations.

À quoi ressemblerait-on totem?

Date de modification :