Fiscal arrangements with self-governing Indigenous groups

Learn more about the Government of Canada’s fiscal approach for self-government agreements with Indigenous groups.

Choose a topic:

Fiscal approach for self-government arrangements

In July 2015, the Government of Canada released a policy framework for implementing fiscal arrangements with self-governing Indigenous groups. Learn more about Canada's Fiscal Approach for Self-Government Arrangements.

The Government of Canada is committed to ensuring that modern treaties and self-government agreements continue to contribute to strengthened and renewed relationships with Indigenous groups across Canada. The effective implementation of reasonably stable, predictable, and flexible fiscal arrangements is an essential component of success for self-government.

As of March 2016, the government has concluded individual fiscal arrangements with more than 25 Aboriginal governments as part of the self-government negotiation process. These arrangements are renewed on a periodic basis.

Based on many years of experience, the government has identified the need to improve its approach to these self-government fiscal arrangements, and will work collaboratively with self-governing Indigenous groups to develop an improved fiscal policy framework that will strengthen self-governing Indigenous groups and their relationship with the Government of Canada.

In May 2016, representatives from the Government of Canada and self-governing Indigenous groups from across Canada met to initiate a collaborative fiscal policy development process. This process ensures that the fiscal policy framework supports  renewed relationships with Indigenous peoples.

The Government of Canada will continue to honour all existing commitments in modern treaties and self-government agreements, including commitments to negotiate fiscal matters with individual signatory groups.

Own-source revenue

Find out how the Government of Canada's Own-Source Revenue policy takes into account the ability of self-governing Indigenous groups to contribute to the costs of their own government activities when determining the level of federal transfers, and what is included and excluded in the calculation.

To find out more

Date modified:

Accords financiers avec des groupes autochtones autonomes

Apprenez-en davantage sur l’approche financière du gouvernement du Canada pour ce qui est des accords d’autonomie gouvernementale avec les Autochtones.

Choisir un sujet :

Approche financière pour les accords d’autonomie gouvernementale

En juillet 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a publié un cadre stratégique pour la mise en œuvre des accords financiers conclus avec les gouvernements autochtones autonomes. Apprenez-en davantage sur l'approche financière du gouvernement du Canada pour ce qui est des accords d'autonomie gouvernementale.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à faire en sorte que les traités modernes et les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale continuent de contribuer au renforcement et au renouvellement des relations avec les groupes autochtones du Canada. La mise en œuvre efficace d'accords financiers raisonnablement stables, prévisibles et souples est un élément essentiel de la réussite de l'autonomie gouvernementale.

En date de mars 2016, le Canada avait conclu des accords financiers individuels avec plus de 25 gouvernements autochtones dans le cadre du processus de négociation de l'autonomie gouvernementale. Ces accords sont renouvelés périodiquement.

Se fondant sur de nombreuses années d'expérience, le gouvernement a jugé qu'il devait améliorer son approche en matière d'accords financiers avec les gouvernements autochtones autonomes. Il collaborera avec les groupes autochtones autonomes afin d'établir un cadre stratégique financier qui renforcera les gouvernements autochtones autonomes et la relation qu'ils entretiennent avec le gouvernement du Canada.

En mai 2016, des représentants du gouvernement du Canada et de groupes autochtones autonomes de tout le pays se sont rencontrés afin de lancer un processus concerté d'élaboration de politiques financières. On s'assure ainsi que le cadre stratégique financier appuie le renouvellement de la relation avec les Autochtones.

Le Canada continuera de respecter tous les engagements pris dans les traités modernes et les ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale, y compris les engagements à négocier les questions financières avec chacun des groupes de signataires. 

Revenus autonomes

Voyez comment la politique du gouvernement du Canada sur les revenus autonomes tient compte de la capacité des groupes autochtones autonomes de contribuer aux coûts des activités de leur gouvernement dans le calcul du montant des transferts fédéraux. Informez-vous sur les éléments inclus ou non dans le calcul.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Date de modification :