Cabinet Directive on the Federal Approach to Modern Treaty Implementation

This Directive lays out an operational framework for the management of the Crown's modern treaty obligations. It guides federal departments and agencies to fulfill their responsibilities.

1 – Roles and Responsibilities

All Federal Departments and Agencies:

Assessment of Modern Treaty Implications

In developing policy, plan and program proposals to Cabinet, departments and agencies are expected to consider the implications of modern treaties on the proposals, and to attest to the compliance of the proposals with the legal obligations contained in modern treaties.

More specifically, departments and agencies will complete an assessment of modern treaty implications of a legislative, policy, plan or program proposal, when:

  1. the proposal is submitted to Cabinet for approval; and
  2. implementation of the proposal may have implications on modern treaties in effect and the rights enshrined therein.

Cabinet

  • Ministers, through meetings of Cabinet committees, will have the shared responsibility of determining if assessments of modern treaty implications have been undertaken on proposals to Cabinet.

Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

  • AANDC is responsible for federal representation on implementation committees.
  • AANDC will coordinate the interdepartmental committee structures put in place to manage the Crown's approach to modern treaties.
  • AANDC will administer the Treaty Obligation Monitoring System (TOMS); will be accountable for regularly updating the system to reflect new or revised obligations, and will provide direction to departments and agencies reporting into the system.
  • AANDC will provide guidance for other departments and agencies in interpreting modern treaty provisions and their implications for departmental activities; in determining potential implications of modern treaties on departmental policy, programs and legislation; in completing Assessments of Modern Treaty Implications, and in undertaking intergovernmental relationships with Aboriginal signatories.

Central Agencies

  • Central agencies, including the Privy Council Office, the Department of Finance and the Treasury Board Secretariat will confirm that the assessment of modern treaty implications has been completed prior to referral of proposals to Cabinet.

Department of Justice

  • The Department of Justice will provide advice and guidance to departments and agencies with respect to their legal responsibilities pursuant to modern treaties; potential legal repercussions/risk of contemplated departmental activities; relationship of laws and interpretation of key legal concepts related to modern treaties, such as honour of the Crown.

2 – Deputy Ministers' Oversight Committee

A Deputy Minister-level Oversight Committee will be created and chaired by the Deputy Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. The Oversight Committee's mandate will be to provide executive oversight of the implementation of the Directive, and by extension, of Canada's roles and responsibilities under modern treaties. This mandate will encompass:

3 – Modern Treaty Implementation Office

A Modern Treaty Implementation Office will be established in AANDC to provide ongoing coordination and oversight of Canada's modern treaty obligations, and to support the mandate of the Deputy Ministers' Oversight Committee. The Office's mandate will be two-fold:

4 – Evaluation of the Directive

Within five years of the implementation of the Directive, AANDC will conduct an evaluation to assess the effectiveness of the Directive in meeting its stated objectives; to assess the ongoing need for the Directive, and to determine if changes to the Directive and its component tools and structures should be pursued.

Date modified:

Directive du cabinet sur l'approche fédérale pour la mise en oeuvre des traités modernes

Cette directive énonce un cadre opérationnel pour la gestion des obligations découlant des traités modernes pour la Couronne. Elle oriente les ministères et organismes fédéraux dans leurs responsabilités.

1 – Roles et responsibilités

Tous les ministères et organismes fédéraux :

Évaluation des répercussions des traités modernes

Lors de la préparation de propositions de politique, de plan et de programme présentées au Cabinet, les ministères et les organismes devront prendre en considération les répercussions des traités modernes sur les propositions, et devront attester de la conformité des propositions aux obligations juridiques contenues dans les traités modernes.

Plus précisément, les ministères et les organismes devront compléter une évaluation des répercussions des traités modernes d'une proposition législative, d'une politique, d'un plan ou d'un programme, lorsque :

  1. la proposition est soumise au Cabinet pour approbation;
  2. la mise en œuvre de la proposition pourrait avoir des répercussions sur les traités modernes en vigueur et sur les droits qui y sont garantis.

Cabinet

  • Les ministres, par le truchement des réunions des comités du Cabinet, auront la responsabilité partagée de déterminer si des évaluations des répercussions des traités modernes ont été effectées dans le cadre des propositions présentées au Cabinet.

Le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Développement du Nord canadien

  • AADNC est chargé de la représentation fédérale aux comités de mise en œuvre;
  • AADNC coordonnera les structures de comité interministérielles mises en place pour gérer l'approche de la Couronne à l'égard des traités modernes.
  • AADNC administrera le Système de surveillance des obligations découlant des traités (SSODT); sera tenu responsable de la mise à jour régulière du système pour refléter les obligations (nouvelles ou revues), et orientera les ministères et les organismes en ce qui a trait à la reddition de comptes dans le système.
  • AADNC conseillera les autres ministères et organismes pour l'interprétation des dispositions des traités modernes et sur leurs répercussions sur les activités ministérielles; pour déterminer les répercussions possibles des traités modernes sur les politiques et les programmes ministériels ou les lois; pour mener l'évaluation des répercussions sur les traités modernes; et pour entretenir les relations intergouvernementales avec les signataires autochtones.

Organismes centraux

  • Les organismes centraux, y compris le Bureau du Conseil privé, le ministère des Finances et le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, confirmeront que l'évaluation des répercussions sur les traités modernes a été effectuée avant de transmettre les propositions au Cabinet.

Ministère de la Justice

  • Le ministère de la Justice offrira des conseils et de l'orientation aux ministères et aux organismes quant à leurs responsabilités légales en vertu des traités modernes; aux répercussions et aux risques juridiques éventuels des activités envisagées; et aux liens entre les lois et l'interprétation des concepts juridiques clés associés aux traités modernes, par exemple l'honneur de la Couronne.

2 – Comité de surveillance des sous-ministres

On créera un Comité de surveillance des sous-ministres qui sera présidé par le sous-ministre d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. Le mandat de ce Comité consistera à assurer la surveillance aux échelons supérieurs de l'application de la Directive et, par conséquent, le respect des rôles et des responsabilités du Canada en vertu des traités modernes. Il englobera les éléments suivants :

3 – Bureau de mise en œuvre des traités modernes

Le Bureau de mise en œuvre des traités modernes sera créé à AADNC afin d'assurer la coordination et la surveillance permanentes des obligations du Canada en vertu des traités modernes, et aussi d'appuyer le Comité de surveillance des sous-ministres dans l'exécution de son mandat. Le mandat du Bureau comportera deux volets.

4 – Évaluation de la directive

Dans les cinq ans suivant l'instauration de la Directive, AADNC réalisera une évaluation afin de déterminer si elle satisfait aux objectifs énoncés, d'établir si elle est toujours pertinente et de voir s'il serait nécessaire de modifier ses modalités ainsi que les outils et les structures connexes.

Date de modification :