Consultation and Accommodation Advice for Proponents

DRAFT

Introduction

This document is a draft of advice for proponents that could be included in the third edition of the Guidelines for Federal Officials to Fulfill the Duty to Consult. This document is an expansion on the ideas that were introduced in 2011’s Updated Guidelines for Federal Officials to Fulfill the Duty to Consult in terms of the roles and responsibilities of third parties. This draft guidance is based on many of the principles and best practices for consultation highlighted in the Guidelines and is intended to provide proponents with high level guidance on how to meaningfully work with Aboriginal groups. This document will be discussed with Aboriginal groups, provinces, territories and industry proponents as part of Canada’s engagement process on the development of the third edition of the Guidelines for Federal Officials, the development of a public statement on Canada’s approach to Aboriginal consultation and accommodation and the development of additional guidance for proponents.

While the duty to consult is an obligation that rests with the Crown, the Government of Canada will, where appropriate, expect industry proponents to carry out significant procedural aspects of consultation on a proposed project. The Government of Canada will also rely on the impact avoidance, mitigation, offset and compensation measures carried out by industry, where appropriate, for accommodation purposes. (Guiding Principle no. 8 of the upcoming Third Edition of the Federal Guidelines for Federal Officials to Fulfill the Duty to Consult).

The Government of Canada expects industry to establish positive working relationships with Aboriginal groups and to maintain these relationships throughout the life cycle of their projects. As our understanding of the duty to consult evolves, these relationships have become increasingly important in how proponents do business. Communication between Aboriginal groups and industry proponents often begins long before the project is submitted for federal review or decision. As such, industry proponents may be in a position to adjust the scope of their projects to address the needs and concerns of Aboriginal groups well in advance of seeking federal approvals. Should the Government of Canada rely on the activities of industry proponents in meeting its obligations, it will clearly communicate this reliance to both the proponent and the potentially affected Aboriginal groups.

The information below provides an overview of some of the considerations that industry proponents should include in the planning and implementation of their consultations with Aboriginal groups. Tools and resources have been identified to support proponents in carrying out consultations that the Government of Canada can then rely upon in discharging its duty to consult.

Prior to carrying out any work on a proposed project, proponents, as the experts in their lines of business, are expected to know the potential impacts of their activities on the environment and the concerns that Aboriginal groups may have with those impacts.

STEP ONE – Preparation and consultation

A. Clearly describe the proposed project

Proponents are expected to develop clear and easy to understand information on their proposed projects. The nature and extent of information required by each Aboriginal group may vary, as groups have differing levels of technical capacity. Proponents are expected to determine these information needs by working in concert with potentially affected groups as much as possible. Proponents should plan to develop materials to speak to as broad an audience as possible and may need to consider enhancing information sharing by translating materials into Aboriginal languages. Providing clear information to Aboriginal groups at the outset can support a more efficient identification of adverse impacts and the identification of potential avoidance, mitigation and offset measures.

Proponents are encouraged to be collaborative and responsive to Aboriginal groups in the proposed project area, in ways that will promote relationship-building.

B. Identify the potential impacts of the proposed project

Describe the potential impacts of the proposed project (e.g. on the environment). Identifying impacts in this manner will assist in describing the potential adverse impacts of the proposed project on potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights.

C. Identify potentially affected Aboriginal groups

During the design and development phases, proponents are expected to identify Aboriginal groups in the proximity of its proposed project.

Tip: The Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System (ATRIS) is a Web-based system intended to provide up-to-date, site-specific information on the potential or established Aboriginal or Treaty rights of Aboriginal peoples across Canada. This system can also provide contact information for communities and leadership of Aboriginal groups in a proposed project area.

Industry will also benefit from using consultation protocol agreements entered into between Canada, Aboriginal groups and provinces/territories. By using these agreements, industry can access a number of communities through a single window. This facilitates the identification of interested communities and more timely and predictable processes. These agreements, including contact information, are also accessible through ATRIS.

D. Develop the relationship

Prior to beginning consultation activities, proponents are advised to have initial discussions with the potentially affected Aboriginal groups to better understand their concerns, issues and opportunities. Ask the potentially affected Aboriginal groups how they wish to collaborate with your company.

Tip: Learning more about the Aboriginal groups that you will be engaging with can support more meaningful conversations and allow each party to better understand the other. Seek out opportunities for Aboriginal and cultural awareness training to build the capacity of staff in advance of engagement.

E. Carry out consultation activities

Tip: Consultation processes may vary from group to group. Work with each Aboriginal group that may be affected by the proposed project to jointly determine to most effective type of consultation process for both parties.

Consultation activities can range from letters to groups, face to face meetings, community forums, site visits, information sessions and workshops. The types of activities required will vary depending on the nature of the proposed project, the nature of the adverse impacts, the capacity of the Aboriginal group and other requirements. The process required for a project will be informed by discussions with the group. In general, the greater the degree of potential for adverse impacts on an Aboriginal group, the more intensive the consultation should be.

To fully understand the nature of the potential adverse impacts on potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights, information gathering exercises such as traditional use studies may need to be explored with the Aboriginal group(s). It may also be possible to make use of previous traditional use studies carried out by the Aboriginal group(s). Proponents can determine, in consultation with the groups, whether this previous work is relevant for use on their project. Information in addition to that found in tools such as Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System on the potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights may also be provided during discussions with the Aboriginal group.

To maximize the degree to which industry activities can be used by the Government of Canada to fulfill its obligations, industry proponents should ensure that:

  • Consultation with Aboriginal groups occurs early and throughout the lifecycle of the project
  • Consultation with Aboriginal groups is well documented, including the nature of concerns and the nature of potential or established rights and related interests as described by the groups that may be adversely affected by a proposed activity
  • Where concerns have been raised by Aboriginal groups, industry must clearly demonstrate and document how concerns have been addressed and which concerns have not been addressed.

Tip: Modern treaty signatory communities may have specific consultation requirements and specific roles and responsibilities for proponents described in their treaties. Information on these treaties can be found in the Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System.

The proponent is responsible for reasonable costs incurred by its consultation activities (e.g. proponent led community meetings, information sessions, etc.), including costs related to any relevant adjustments to its proposed project that seek to avoid, mitigate or offset potential adverse impacts on Aboriginal or treaty rights. Proponents should maintain a record of the capacity assistance (e.g. expert reports, traditional use studies, in-kind assistance, etc.) provided to Aboriginal groups as this information supports the assessment of adequacy of a consultation process.

F. Maintain the relationship with Aboriginal groups and address concerns

Proponents are expected to maintain productive working relationships with Aboriginal groups throughout the project and work with those groups to identify ways to respond to adverse impacts and concerns. Consultation rarely consists of a single conversation with a potentially affected group. Proponents should bear in mind that consultation is a process and there are feedback loops between different phases of consultation. For example, if new information becomes available throughout discussions with a group, new adjustments to the project design may need to be made.

Proponents should bear in mind that:

  • Any impact avoidance, mitigation or offset measures (examples in Table 1.) must address adverse impacts on potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights in order to be relied upon by the Government of Canada in discharging its legal duty to consult.
  • Corporate social responsibility measures, such as employment and social benefits, may not address adverse impacts on potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights.
  • If an agreement (e.g. an impact and benefits agreement) is negotiated between an Aboriginal group and the proponent in respect of a particular project that contains elements that may help to avoid, mitigate, or offset adverse impacts, relevant, non-confidential clauses of this agreement should be communicated to the Government of Canada.
  • Robust consultation and accommodation activities carried out by proponents do not guarantee project approval.
Table 1. Examples of Potential Accommodation Measures
Type of MeasureAvoidanceMitigationOther Measures
Nature of Measure Postpone key project activities to limit impact on sensitive seasons (e.g. harvest, hunting, spawning seasons)

Divert pipeline course to avoid sensitive areas

Divert access roads to avoid wildlife corridors
Finance transportation to other similar sites where traditional practices can resume.

Conduct archaeological excavations with community to retain and preserve artifacts
Finance the creation of a training and education program for youth on traditional ecological knowledge

Restore habitat to pre-project levels or better, post-project

Create or enhance wildlife corridors

Tip: It is important to validate what has been stated during a consultation process with the Aboriginal group. In order to be relied upon by the Crown, the information collected during a consultation process and any related avoidance or mitigation measures should be validated with the relevant Aboriginal group.

STEP TWO – Working with federal departments and agencies

Proponents, in preparing their project submission to the Government of Canada, will be required to provide detailed information to federal officials on their consultation activities with Aboriginal groups. This information includes:

  • A listing of the Aboriginal groups with whom the proponent conducted consultation activities
  • The identified potential adverse impacts on potential or established Aboriginal or treaty rights and concerns
  • The avoidance, mitigation or offset activities carried out or promised, including changes to the proposed project
  • Any outstanding issues, including a summary of discussions on and status of those issues

For a variety of reasons, it is possible that the Government of Canada might consult with a different list of Aboriginal groups compared to those groups with whom a proponent has already met. Proponents may be asked to carry out additional consultation activities with these additional groups, if applicable. A quick response to identified additional consultation activities supports faster federal decision making. Early communication with the Government of Canada helps ensure that proponents are aware of requirements and that expectations of each party are clear.

Tip: Federal, provincial or territorial requirements for consultation may vary. In many cases, the consultations that proponents carry out can support both federal and provincial or territorial decision making. Proponents should contact the relevant provincial or territorial departments or agencies to learn more about specific requirements.

STEP THREE – Responding to the Government of Canada

Federal officials may require additional information of proponents related to the information that was submitted on the proponent’s consultation activities. Proponents are expected to work with federal officials in responding to these questions and addressing concerns raised.

Example: After the submission of a project description, proponents may be required to provide the Government of Canada with additional information on the proposed project’s potential impacts on the section 35 rights of Aboriginal groups which could result in additional consultation activities.

STEP FOUR – Environmental Assessment (EA) Phase (if required)

Projects that require an environmental assessment go through a defined process. A proponent is expected to support the Government of Canada in discharging its duty to consult by continuing its relationship with Aboriginal groups. Additional changes to the project may occur during this phase based on the outcome of additional consultations. The Government of Canada may also carry out its own consultation process in addition to the proponent’s activities.

In some cases a federal environmental assessment may not be required for a project, but a provincial one may be. In these cases, proponents are encouraged to work with the relevant province to determine their requirements.

STEP FIVE – Regulatory Decision making

Each type of project has varying requirements for submission for government review. Some projects will require an environmental assessment, where others will not have this requirement but may have other regulatory decisions that need to be carried out. Proponents should make themselves aware of the submission requirements for the particular government authorization (e.g. permit or license) their project requires. Additional changes to the project may occur during this phase based on additional consultations and other federal requirements.

STEP SIX – Ongoing Relationship and commitments to Aboriginal groups

As part of the range of consultation activities with Aboriginal groups, project proponents may be required to carry out follow-up and monitoring activities related to their proposed projects and their impacts. These activities may be in addition to any terms and conditions that Canada may place on its approvals. If an agreement is struck between a proponent and an Aboriginal group that addresses adverse impacts, this information needs to be communicated to Canada.

Further resources for industry proponents

Please consult the Resource Library tab of the Aboriginal and Treaty Rights Information System (ATRIS) for additional resources for proponents.

Date modified:

Conseils pour les promoteurs en matière de consultation et d’accommodement

ÉBAUCHE

Introduction

Ce document est une ébauche des conseils pour les promoteurs qui pourrait être incluse dans la troisième version des Lignes directrices à l’intention des fonctionnaires fédéraux pour respecter l’obligation de consulter. Ce document est une expansion des idées qui ont été présentées sur les rôles et les responsabilités des tierces parties dans les Lignes directrices actualisées à l’intention des fonctionnaires fédéraux pour respecter l’obligation de consulter de 2011. L’ébauche des conseils est basée sur plusieurs des principes et des meilleures pratiques en matière de consultation qui sont mise en évidence dans les Lignes directrices et a comme but de fournir aux promoteurs des conseils de haut niveau sur comment travailler de façon véritable avec les groupes autochtones. Ce document sera discuté avec les groupes autochtones, les provinces, les territoires et les promoteurs de l’industrie dans le cadre du processus de participation sur l’élaboration de la troisième version des Lignes directrices à l’intention des fonctionnaires fédéraux, l’élaboration de l’énoncé public sur l’approche du Canada en matière de consultation et d’accommodement et l’élaboration des conseils additionnels pour les promoteurs.

Bien que l’obligation de consulter repose sur la Couronne, le gouvernement du Canada comptera, s’il y a lieu, sur les promoteurs de l’industrie pour mener à bien les principaux éléments procéduraux de la consultation dans le cadre d’un projet proposé. Le gouvernement du Canada s’appuiera également sur les mesures d’évitement, d’atténuation, de compensation et d’indemnisation appliquées par l’industrie, s’il y a lieu, pour les fins d’accommodement. (Principe directeur 8 du futur Troisième Édition des Lignes directrices fédérales à l’intention des fonctionnaires fédéraux pour respecter l’obligation de consulter).

Le gouvernement du Canada attend de l’industrie qu’elle développe des relations de travail positives avec les groupes autochtones et qu’elle entretienne ces relations pendant tout le cycle de vie de ses projets. Comme notre compréhension de l’obligation de consulter évolue, ces relations prennent une place de plus en plus importante dans la façon dont les promoteurs mènent leurs affaires. Les communications entre les groupes autochtones et les promoteurs de l’industrie commencent souvent bien avant que le projet ne soit présenté au gouvernement fédéral aux fins d’examen ou de décision. Les promoteurs peuvent donc être en mesure d’ajuster la portée de leurs projets de manière à tenir compte des besoins et des préoccupations des groupes autochtones bien avant de demander l’approbation du gouvernement fédéral. Si le gouvernement du Canada s’appuie sur les activités des promoteurs pour respecter ses obligations, il avisera clairement le promoteur ainsi les groupes autochtones potentiellement affectés par l’activité de cet appui.

L’information ci-dessous offre un aperçu des éléments que les promoteurs de l’industrie devraient prendre en considération dans la planification et la mise en œuvre de leurs consultations avec les groupes autochtones. Des outils et des ressources sont proposés aux promoteurs pour les aider à réaliser des consultations sur lesquelles le gouvernement du Canada pourrait ensuite s’appuyer pour s’acquitter de son obligation de consulter.

Avant de commencer quelque travail que ce soit en lien avec le projet proposé, les promoteurs, qui sont des experts dans leurs secteurs d’activité, doivent connaître les répercussions que pourraient avoir leurs activités sur l’environnement et les préoccupations que pourraient avoir les groupes autochtones par rapport à ces répercussions.

ÉTAPE UN – Préparation et consultation

A. Décrire clairement le projet proposé

Les promoteurs doivent offrir de l’information claire et facile à comprendre sur leurs projets proposés. La nature et la portée de l’information requise pour chaque groupe autochtone peuvent varier, car les groupes n’ont pas tous la même capacité technique. Dans la mesure du possible, les promoteurs doivent déterminer les besoins en information de chaque groupe qui pourrait être touché par le projet en collaborant avec lui. Les promoteurs devraient prévoir du matériel qui vise un public aussi grand que possible, et ils devraient songer à maximiser l’échange d’information en faisant traduire leurs documents en langues autochtones. Le fait de fournir dès le départ de l’information claire aux groupes autochtones peut permettre de cerner plus efficacement les effets préjudiciables du projet et de mieux cibler les mesures potentielles d’évitement, d’atténuation et de compensation.

On encourage les promoteurs à collaborer autant que possible avec les groupes autochtones dans la zone visée par le projet proposé et à être attentifs à leurs besoins de façon à favoriser le développement de la relation.

B. Déterminer les effets potentiels du projet proposé

Décrivez les effets potentiels que pourrait avoir le projet proposé (ex. sur l’environnement). Cet exercice facilitera la description des effets préjudiciables possibles du projet proposé sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, établis ou potentiels.

C. Déterminer les groupes autochtones qui pourraient être touchés par le projet

Pendant les étapes de la conception et du développement, les promoteurs doivent cibler les groupes autochtones qui habitent près de l’endroit où sera réalisé le projet proposé.

Conseil : Le Système d’information sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités (SIDAIT) est un système sur le Web qui fournit de l’information à jour axée sur l’emplacement des droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, établis ou potentiels, des Autochtones du Canada. Ce système peut aussi fournir les coordonnées de collectivités et de dirigeants des groupes autochtones qui se trouvent à l’intérieur de la zone visée par un projet proposé.

Les promoteurs auront aussi avantage à utiliser les protocoles de consultation entre le Canada, les groupes autochtones et les provinces/territoires. En utilisant ces ententes, les promoteurs auront accès à plusieurs collectivités par l’entremise d’un guichet unique. Ceci favorise la détermination des collectivités intéressées et met en œuvre des processus plus prévisibles et rapides. Ces ententes, y compris les coordonnées, sont également disponibles dans le SIDAIT.

D. Développer la relation

Avant d’entreprendre les activités de consultation, on conseille aux promoteurs de tenir des discussions initiales avec les groupes autochtones qui pourraient être touchés pour mieux comprendre leurs préoccupations, de même que les difficultés et les possibilités liées au projet. Demandez aux groupes autochtones affectés de quelle façon ils souhaitent collaborer avec votre entreprise.

Conseil : Vous renseigner sur les groupes autochtones avec lesquels vous allez interagir peut vous aider à tenir des discussions plus constructives et permettre à chaque partie de mieux comprendre l’autre. Cherchez des occasions de formation sur la sensibilisation aux Autochtones et aux cultures pour renforcer la capacité du personnel avant le début des consultations.

E. Réaliser les activités de consultation

Conseil : Les processus de consultation peuvent varier d’un groupe à l’autre. Collaborez avec chaque groupe autochtone qui pourrait être touché par le projet proposé afin de déterminer avec lui le processus de consultation qui sera le plus efficace pour les deux parties.

Les activités de consultation peuvent prendre plusieurs formes : lettres aux groupes, réunions en personne, forums communautaires, visites sur place, séances d’information et ateliers. Les types d’activités requis dépendront entre autres de la nature du projet proposé, la nature des effets préjudiciables, de la capacité du groupe autochtone et d’autres critères. On se basera sur les discussions avec le groupe pour déterminer quel processus utiliser. En général, plus le risque de conséquences négatives pour un groupe autochtone est élevé, plus les consultations devront être intensives.

Pour bien comprendre la nature des effets préjudiciables que pourrait avoir le projet sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, établis ou potentiels, il pourrait être nécessaire de proposer aux groupes autochtones des exercices de collecte d’information, comme des études sur l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres. Il se peut aussi que vous puissiez utiliser des études sur l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres auparavant menées par les groupes autochtones. Les promoteurs peuvent déterminer, en consultation avec les groupes, si le travail déjà effectué peut servir au projet. De l’information sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, potentiels ou établis, autre que les informations contenues dans le Système d’information sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités, peut aussi être communiquées au cours des discussions avec les groupes autochtones.

Afin d’optimiser la capacité du gouvernement du Canada à s’appuyer sur les activités de l’industrie pour s’acquitter de ses obligations, les promoteurs doivent veiller au respect des critères suivants :

  • les consultations auprès des groupes autochtones commencent tôt et se poursuivent tout au long du cycle de vie du projet;
  • les consultations auprès des groupes autochtones sont bien documentées, y compris la nature des préoccupations et des droits potentiels ou établis et intérêts connexes tels que décrit par les groupes susceptibles d’être compromis de façon négative par une activité proposée;
  • lorsque des préoccupations sont exprimées par des groupes autochtones, l’industrie doit démontrer clairement et documenter la façon dont les préoccupations ont été traitées en indiquant celles qui n’ont pas été traitées.

Conseil : Des exigences de consultation spéciales et des rôles et responsabilités particuliers pour les promoteurs peuvent être décrits dans les ententes conclues par les collectivités signataires d’un traité moderne. De l’information sur ces traités se trouve dans le Système d’information sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités.

Le promoteur est responsable des coûts raisonnables associés à ses activités de consultation (réunions communautaires menées par le promoteur, séances d’information, etc.), y compris les coûts reliés à tout rajustement pertinent au projet proposé pour éviter, atténuer ou compenser les effets préjudiciables potentiels sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités. Les promoteurs devraient tenir un dossier sur le soutien en matière de capacité (ex. rapports d’expert, études sur l’utilisation traditionnelle des terres et contribution en nature) offert aux groupes autochtones, car cette information appuie l’évaluation du caractère adéquat du processus de consultation.

F. Entretenir la relation avec les groupes autochtones et répondre aux préoccupations

Les promoteurs doivent entretenir des relations de travail productives avec les groupes autochtones tout au long du projet et travailler avec ces groupes pour trouver des moyens de répondre à leurs préoccupations et aux effets préjudiciables du projet. Il est rare que les consultations consistent en une seule conversation avec un groupe pouvant être affecté. Les promoteurs devraient garder à l’esprit que les consultations sont un processus et qu’il y a des rondes de rétroaction entre différentes phases de consultation. Par exemple, si les discussions avec un groupe mettent en lumière de l’information jusque-là inconnue, de nouveaux rajustements à la conception du projet pourraient être nécessaires.

Les promoteurs ne devraient pas oublier ce qui suit :

  • toute mesure d’évitement, d’atténuation ou de compensation (voir les exemples du tableau 1) doit tenir compte des effets préjudiciables sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, établis ou potentiels, afin que le gouvernement du Canada puisse s’appuyer pour s’acquitter de ses obligations légales;
  • les mesures de responsabilité sociale des entreprises, comme les contrats de travail et les ententes sociales, peuvent ne pas tenir compte des effets préjudiciables sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, potentiels ou établis;
  • s’il existe une entente négociée par rapport à un projet particulier (ex. une entente sur répercussions et les avantages) entre un groupe autochtone et un promoteur qui comporte des éléments pouvant aider à éviter, à atténuer ou à compenser des effets préjudiciables, les clauses pertinentes et non-confidentielles devraient être communiquées au gouvernement du Canada.
  • le fait que le promoteur a réalisé des activités de consultation et d’accommodement fiables ne garantit pas l’approbation du projet.
Tableau 1. Exemples de mesures d’accommodement possibles
Type de mesureÉvitementAtténuationAutres mesures
Nature de la mesure Reporter des activités clés du projet pour limiter les effets sur les saisons vulnérables (ex. périodes de la récolte, de la chasse ou de la fraie)

Dévier le parcours d’un pipeline pour éviter les zones vulnérables

Dévier les routes d’accès pour éviter les corridors fauniques
Financer le transport vers d’autres sites similaires où les pratiques traditionnelles peuvent reprendre

Réaliser des fouilles archéologiques avec la collectivité pour conserver et préserver des artéfacts
Financer la création d’un programme de formation et d’éducation sur le savoir écologique traditionnel à l’intention des jeunes

Après le projet, remettre un habitat dans l’état dans lequel il était avant le projet, ou dans un meilleur état

Créer ou améliorer des corridors fauniques

Conseil : Il est important de valider ce qui a été dit pendant le processus de consultation avec le groupe autochtone. Pour que la Couronne puisse s’appuyer sur l’information recueillie dans le cadre du processus de consultation ou de toute mesure d’évitement ou d’atténuation, cette information doit être validée auprès du groupe autochtone pertinent.

ÉTAPE DEUX – Travailler avec les ministères et organismes fédéraux

Conseil : Les exigences en matière de consultation peuvent varier d’une administration à l’autre au sud et au nord du 60e parallèle. En communiquant tôt, vous vous assurerez de recevoir en temps opportun l’information sur ces exigences.

Quand ils préparent leur présentation au gouvernement du Canada, les promoteurs devront fournir aux fonctionnaires fédéraux de l’information détaillée sur leurs activités de consultation avec les groupes autochtones. Sont compris dans cette information les éléments suivants :

  • une liste des groupes autochtones avec lesquels le promoteur a mené des activités de consultation;
  • la détermination des effets préjudiciables potentiels sur les droits ancestraux ou issus de traités, potentiels ou établis, et des préoccupations;
  • les activités d’évitement, d’atténuation et de compensation qui ont été réalisées ou promises, y compris les changements au projet proposé;
  • tout problème en suspens, y compris un sommaire des discussions sur ce dernier et l’état des enjeux.

Pour nombres raisons, il se peut que le gouvernement du Canada consulte d’autres groupes autochtones que ceux déjà consultés par le promoteur. On pourrait demander aux promoteurs de réaliser des activités de consultation additionnelles auprès de ces autres groupes s’il y a lieu. Une exécution rapide des demandes de consultations additionnelles accélèrera la prise de décisions du gouvernement fédéral. Les communications avec le gouvernement du Canada tôt dans le processus aident à s’assurer que le promoteur est au fait des exigences et que les attentes de chaque partie sont claires.

Conseil : Les exigences fédérales, provinciales et territoriales en matière de consultations peuvent varier. Dans bien des cas, les activités de consultation réalisées par les promoteurs peuvent appuyer la prise de décisions des gouvernements fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux. Les promoteurs devraient communiquer avec les ministères et organismes provinciaux et territoriaux pertinents pour se renseigner sur leurs exigences.

ÉTAPE TROIS – Répondre au gouvernement du Canada

Les fonctionnaires fédéraux peuvent demander aux promoteurs plus de détails sur l’information fournie au sujet de leurs activités de consultation. Les promoteurs doivent travailler avec les fonctionnaires fédéraux pour répondre aux questions et aux préoccupations qui sont soulevées.

Exemple : Après qu’il a soumis sa description de projet, on peut demander au promoteur qu’il fournisse au gouvernement du Canada des détails additionnels sur les répercussions potentielles du projet proposé sur les droits des groupes autochtones prévus à l’article 35, ce qui pourrait exiger la réalisation d’autres activités de consultation.

ÉTAPE QUATRE – L’Évaluation environnementale (au besoin)

Les projets qui exigent une évaluation environnementale ont un processus défini. Les promoteurs doivent aider le gouvernement du Canada à s’acquitter de son obligation de consulter en poursuivant leur relation avec les groupes autochtones. Des changements additionnels peuvent être apportés au projet pendant cette étape à la suite de consultations additionnelles. Le gouvernement du Canada peut aussi mettre en œuvre son propre processus de consultation en plus des activités du promoteur.

Dans certains cas, il se peut qu’aucune évaluation environnementale fédérale ne soit requise pour un projet, mais qu’une évaluation provinciale le soit. Dans ce cas, on encourage les promoteurs à travailler avec la province pertinente pour déterminer quelles sont leurs exigences additionnelles.

ÉTAPE CINQ – Prise de décisions réglementaires

Chaque type de projet a ses propres exigences pour ce qui est de la présentation au gouvernement aux fins d’examen. Certains projets exigeront une évaluation environnementale, tandis que d’autres projets ne l’exigeront pas, cependant certaines décisions réglementaires seront requises. Les promoteurs doivent se renseigner sur les exigences en matière de présentation pour l’autorisation gouvernementale qu’ils doivent obtenir (ex. permis ou licence) pour leur projet. Des changements additionnels peuvent être apportés au projet pendant cette étape à la suite de consultations additionnelles ou en raison d’autres exigences fédérales.

ÉTAPE SIX – Relation continue avec les groupes autochtones et engagements

Il se peut qu’il soit exigé des promoteurs de projet de réaliser des activités de suivi et de surveillance pour leurs projets proposés et les effets de ces projets dans le cadre de leurs activités de consultation auprès des groupes autochtones. Ces activités peuvent s’ajouter aux conditions que le Canada peut inclure dans ses approbations. Si une entente est conclue entre un promoteur et un groupe autochtone concernant les effets préjudiciables, ces renseignements doivent être communiqués au Canada.

Autres ressources pour les promoteurs de l’industrie

Veuillez consulter le répertoire des ressources du Système d’information sur les droits ancestraux et issus de traités pour voir d’autres ressources à l’intention des promoteurs.

Date de modification :