The Five Year Review of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act

Choose a Topic

Background

October 16, 2013 marked the fifth anniversary of the coming into force of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act. This federal legislation established the Specific Claims Tribunal - an independent body with the power to make binding decisions on First Nation specific claims when other options fail.

In accordance with Section 41 of the Act a review of the mandate, efficiency and effectiveness of the Specific Claims Tribunal has been completed. The Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs tabled her report in respect of the review in Parliament on November 25, 2016.

About the Tribunal

Engagement process

The Government of Canada sought input from First Nations and other interested parties to help inform the five year review of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act.

Canada released an engagement paper, entitled Seeking Comment on the Five Year Review of the Specific Claims Tribunal Act. Mr. Benoît Pelletier was appointed as Ministerial Special Representative to oversee this review process and lead engagement with First Nations and other interested parties. Over the winter and early spring of 2015, engagement took place through various means, including in-person meetings with key groups led by Mr. Pelletier and opportunities for input through online tools. The comment period ran from January to mid-May 2015.

Report on engagement

Mr. Pelletier prepared a report summarizing what was heard during this engagement and outlining recommendations. This independent report does not call for any immediate changes to the Specific Claims Tribunal Act, but contains many recommendations for future consideration and discussion with First Nations, including with respect to the broader specific claims process.

The executive summary and recommendations of Mr. Pelletier's report were made available online on September 16, 2016. A copy of Mr. Pelletier's full report was provided to all those who participated in the review and it is also available to interested parties upon request by contacting: InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs' Report

Mr. Pelletier’s report and the submissions of the First Nations, the Assembly of First Nations, and other interested parties, including the Chair of the Specific Claims Tribunal, have informed the Minister of Indigenous and Northern Affairs’ Report. The Minister’s Report, in respect of the review, was tabled in both Houses of Parliament on November 25, 2016.

Canada has begun a dialogue with the Assembly of First Nations and other interested parties on how best to move forward to address concerns raised during the review of the Act in a spirit of collaboration and renewal for the benefit of all Canadians.

Date modified:

Examen quinquennal de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières

Choisissez un sujet :

Contexte

Le 16 octobre 2013 marquait le cinquième anniversaire de l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières. Cette loi fédérale créait le Tribunal des revendications particulières, un organe indépendant avec le pouvoir de rendre des décisions exécutoires relativement aux revendications particulières des Premières Nations lorsque les autres processus échouent.

Conformément à l'article 41 de la Loi, un examen portant sur le mandat, l’efficience et l’efficacité du Tribunal a été mené. Le 25 novembre 2016, suite à l’examen, la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord a déposé, au Parlement, son rapport.

Le Tribunal en bref

Processus de mobilisation

Le gouvernement du Canada a sollicité les commentaires des Premières Nations et des autres parties intéressées afin de contribuer à documenter l'examen quinquennal de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières.

Le Canada a publié un document de mobilisation, intitulé Commentaires sur l'examen quinquennal de la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières. Benoît Pelletier a été nommé représentant spécial de la ministre pour superviser le processus d'examen et diriger la mobilisation avec les Premières Nations ainsi qu'avec les autres parties concernées. Au cours de l'hiver et au début du printemps de 2015, les intéressés ont participé de diverses façons au processus, notamment en assistant à des réunions en personne avec des groupes clés dirigées par M. Pelletier et en formulant des commentaires au moyen d'outils en ligne. Les commentaires ont été recueillis de janvier à la mi-mai 2015.

Rapport sur la mobilisation

M. Pelletier a préparé un rapport dans lequel il résume les commentaires recueillis au cours du processus de mobilisation et présente ses recommandations. Ce rapport indépendant ne préconise aucun changement immédiat à la Loi sur le Tribunal des revendications particulières, mais contient de nombreuses recommandations qui seront ultérieurement soumises à un examen et à des discussions avec les Premières Nations. Il est notamment question du processus général de règlement des revendications particulières.

Le résumé et les recommandations contenus dans le rapport de M. Pelletier ont été publiés en ligne le 16 septembre 2016. Tous les participants à l’examen ont reçu une copie du rapport intégral de M. Pelletier. De plus, les parties intéressées pourront demander une copie du rapport à l’adresse suivante : InfoPubs@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca.

Rapport de la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord

Le rapport de M. Pelletier et les commentaires des Premières Nations, de l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et des autres parties concernées, incluant le président du Tribunal des revendications particulières, ont étayés le rapport de la ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Nord. Suite à l'examen, le rapport de la ministre a été déposé aux deux Chambres du Parlement le 25 novembre 2016.

Le gouvernement du Canada a amorcé un dialogue avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations et les autres parties concernées sur la meilleure façon de procéder pour répondre aux préoccupations soulevées lors de l'examen de la Loi, dans un esprit de collaboration et de renouvellement, et ce, au profit de tous les Canadiens.

Date de modification :