Exhibition schedule

The Indigenous Art Gallery at Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) is open Monday to Friday from 9:30 am to 4 pm at 10 rue Wellington in Gatineau, Quebec. Admission is free.

For more information contact: aadnc.art.aandc@canada.ca

Current

Kayley Mackay
Bumpy Ride (2008)
Photography on paper

 

July 9 to August 31, 2018

Sharing the Collection Part 2: Our Land

Guest Curator: Lee-Ann Martin

Artists

  • Robert Houle
  • Joseph "Joe" Jacobs
  • Richard Glazer-Danay
  • Maria Hupfield
  • Bruno Canadien
  • Jerry A. Evans
  • Frank Shebageget
  • Kayley Mackay
  • Elisapee Ishulutaq

The works in "Sharing the Collection Part 2: Our Land" reflect Indigenous perspectives on the history of this land now known as Canada. The artists celebrate time-honoured history and traditions that existed long before the arrival of Europeans. At the same time, they comment upon contemporary realities and compromises facing Indigenous peoples today.

The works selected for this exhibition are included in CIRNAC’s recent publication, "The Indigenous Art Collection: Selected Works 1967-2017".

Past

William Noah
Mother and Daughter (2008)
stonecut and stencil on paper

 

April 9 to June 22, 2018

Sharing the Collection Part 1: Picturing Ourselves

Guest Curator: Lee-Ann Martin

Artists

  • Carl Beam
  • Patricia Deadman
  • Rosalie Favell
  • George Littlechild
  • Martin "Akwiranoron" Loft
  • Glenna Matoush
  • David Neel
  • Jeneen Frei Njootli
  • William Noah
  • Annie Pootoogook
  • Arthur Renwick
  • Skawennati
  • Simon Tookoome

"Picturing Ourselves" includes portraits of self, family and community from each artist's perspective. The images often confront the troubled history of Indigenous peoples and representation associated with the colonial lens. For example, at the turn of the 20th century, numerous documentary photographs by Caucasian anthropologists, government officials, artists and others contributed to the romantic falsehood of a "vanishing race." Since that time, and continuing today, outdated misunderstandings often contradict contemporary Indigenous realities.

Indigenous artists choose portraiture not only to confront stereotypical misrepresentations of Indigenous people but also to celebrate their community and their culture. This exhibition invites viewers to consider the artists' reflections and reworking of many continuing misrepresentations, in images that "picture ourselves."

The works selected for this exhibition are included in CIRNAC’s recent publication, "The Indigenous Art Collection: Selected Works 1967-2017".

Jim Logan
Sisters (1990)
serigraph on paper

 

January 15 to March 23, 2018

Celebrating Women

Curatorial: Rosalie Favell

Artists

  • Shirley Bear
  • Rosalie Favell
  • Maria Hupfield
  • Jim Logan
  • Shelley Niro
  • Tim Pitsiulak
  • Ryan Rice
  • Greg Staats

This exhibition celebrates women. Be she driving the ATV with seven children aboard for the ride, or paddling her own course in a canoe, woman is a solid force. She is depicted laughing, sharing and perhaps kissing. She is seen as mother, grandmother, sister, and lover. The artists in this exhibition focus on women's resilience and spirit. She is an inspiration and source of strength. She has survived many hard times, prejudice, inequality, poverty and violence. She is the mythical source of creation and the keeper of knowledge, traditions, and stories. The contemporary Aboriginal woman is a force to contend with. As artist Shelly Niro says, "People have a stereotypical idea of what Native women are all about. We're portrayed in the movies as cardboard cut outs and when you try to present a different image, people are disappointed. I want to blow that out."

Photographs of the artists in this exhibition are taken from my series "Facing the Camera". I started this project during a Banff residency in 2008 when I was inspired by the many Aboriginal artists who had gathered there, and realized that a document had not been made of individuals who make up this community. I have continued to photograph artists in different cities in an attempt to give as much representation to my community as possible. To date over 400 artists and cultural figures have participated. This exhibition provides the opportunity to show some of these artists with their artwork.

Arthur Shilling
Glenna (1967)
oil on masonite

 

June 21 to December 08, 2017

Traces: Indigenous Artists Moving through Memory

Curatorial Advisors: Hannah Claus and Danielle Printup

Artists

  • Christi Belcourt
  • Bob Boyer
  • Christian Chapman
  • Jerry A. Evans
  • Tom Hill
  • Meelia Kelly
  • Teresa Marshall
  • Glenna Matoush
  • Arthur Shilling

"Traces: Indigenous Artists Moving through Memory" explores the various forms in which vision and experience can be revealed by the Indigenous voice. Memory serves as a vehicle to consider the complex sets of relations that are negotiated within individual and collective histories. Within this fluidity, the acts of making and marking can become places of connection. These artists speak to the profound awareness that can be located by being "in relation" to place, to self, and to each other.

Daphne Odjig
Blending of Cultures at K'San (1983)
acrylic on canvas

 

April 25 to June 09, 2017

Collecting: Daphne Odjig

Artist

  • Daphne Odjig

"[Odjig] was an inspiration and role model for generations of Indigenous artists past, and for generations of Indigenous artists to come; an exemplar of tenacity, guts and grace for those of us who continue the work of defining and securing the place of Indigenous visual culture in the art world of Canada."

Bonnie Devine, 2016

Daphne Odjig (1919-2016) was raised on the Wikwemikong Unceded Reserve on Manitoulin Island, Ontario and was of Odawa and Potawatomi heritage. Her career spanned over six decades and can easily be described as profound, prolific and groundbreaking. Her work has been exhibited nationally and internationally since 1964 and her work can be found in major public and private collections across the globe. In 1971, she founded Odjig Indian Prints of Cananda, a small press shop, to provide more opportunities for Indigenous artists to participate in the art market. She was also a co founder of the Professional Native Indian Artists Association, an influential artist collective, with Alex Janvier, Jackson Beardy, Eddy Cobbiness, Carl Ray, Joseph Sanchez and Norval Morrisseau. Odjig career is decorated with numerous honours and awards including the Order of Canada (1986), Governor General’s Award in Visual and Media Arts (2007), National Aboriginal Achievement Award (1998), multiple honourary degrees, and was honoured with an Eagle Feather on behalf of the Wikwemikong Reserve in recognition of her artistic accomplishments (1978), an honour previously reserved for men.

"We are a living people and a living culture. I believe we are bound to move forward, to experiment with new things and develop new modes of expression as all peoples do. I don’t intend to stay in the past. I don’t feel like no museum piece."

– Daphne Odjig, (n.d.)

 

June 21 to October 28, 2016

"My Spirit is Strong"

Curator: Rosalie Favell

Artists

  • Rosalie Favell
  • Tanya Harnett
  • Mattiusi Iyaituk
  • Alex Janvier
  • Claude Latour
  • Rita Letendre
  • George Littlechild
  • Meryl McMaster
  • Irene Avaalaaqiaq Tiktaalaaq

"My Spirit is Strong" is about taking care, of ourselves and nature. The artists in this exhibition look out to the land and its creatures and reflect on the continuity of existence. They also look inward to explore connections between the human and natural world, and how the health of one affects the other. The violence committed against nature and the self is seen. The artists acknowledge that their contemporary situation is sometimes dire. But all believe in the power of their art to reveal the world as infused with memories, myths, and stories. Their images are cautionary; there is need for vigilance, healing, and redress. Nature is nurturing, but must also be cherished and cared for. The spirit is also fragile, but resilient.

Photographs of the artists in this exhibition are taken from my series "Facing the Camera". I started this project during a Banff residency in 2008 when I was inspired by the many Aboriginal artists who had gathered there, and realized that a document had not been made of individuals who make up this community. I have continued to photograph artists in different cities in an attempt to give as much representation to my community as possible. To date 283 artists and cultural figures have participated. This exhibition provides the opportunity to show some of these artists with their artwork.

© Lee Claremont, Skywoman's Heart Belongs to Turtle, 2004

Lee Claremont
Skywoman's Heart Belongs to Turtle 2004
acrylic on canvas
86.5 x 76 cm

 

January 18 to May 27, 2016

Mamawo Payiwak: They Gather Together in One Place

Christian Chapman
Don’t Whistle at the Northern Lights, 2010
mixed media on canvas
182 x 156.2 x 10.1 cm

 

September 28 to December 31, 2015

New Voices: An Exhibition of Recent Acquisitions, Part 2

Artists

  • Christian Chapman
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Christian Morrisseau
  • Barry Pottle
  • France Trépanier

Daphne Odjig
Back to the Earth, 1973
acrylic and ink on paper
65 x 52.5 cm

 

April 22 to August 28, 2015

Representations of Time and Place, Part 1: 1966-1990

Artists

  • Carl Beam
  • Benjamin Chee Chee
  • Don Ense
  • David General
  • Clifford Maracle
  • R. Gary Miller
  • Norval Morrisseau
  • Daphne Odjig
  • Arthur Shilling
  • Elda Smith
  • Margaret Terrance
  • Angus Trudeau
  • Leo Yerxa

Presented in collaboration with:

David Kanietakeron Fadden
The Three Shouts, 2012
acrylic on canvas
124 x 129 cm

 

September 2, 2014 to January 16, 2015

New Voices: An Exhibition of Recent Acquisitions, Part 1

Artists

  • David Kanietakeron Fadden
  • Tanya Harnett
  • Claude Latour
  • Caroline Monnet
  • Jeneen Frei Njootli
  • Skawennati

Nicotye Samayaulie
Polished Buttons, 2013
Stonecut on paper (11/50)
30 x 61 cm

 

May 8 to August 22, 2014

Cape Dorset Annual Print Collection 2013

Artists

  • Saimaiyu Akesuk
  • Siassie Kenneally
  • Ohotaq Mikkigak
  • Kavavaow Mannomee
  • Tim Pitsiulak
  • Malaija Pootoogook
  • Pitaloosie Saila
  • Nicotye Samayualie
  • Ningeokuluk Teevee
  • Papiara Tukiki

Katia Kak'wa Kurtness
Sweet Poetry, 2006
acrylic on canvas
33 x 63 cm

 

January 31 to April 25, 2014

Beyond Recognition: Aboriginal Abstractions

Curator: Michelle McGeough

Artists

  • Bob Boyer
  • Benjamin Chee Chee
  • Robert Houle
  • Alex Janvier
  • Katia KaK'wa Kurtness
  • Ann McLean
  • Kimowan Metchewais
  • Susan Point
  • Rick Rivet
  • Helen Wassegijig
  • Linus Woods

Arthur Shilling
Future, 1981
oil on masonite
63 x 77 cm

 

May 29 to September 13, 2013

Aboriginal Expressions: National Capital Commission Confederation Boulevard Banners 2013

Artists

  • Jason Baerg
  • Joane Cardinal-Schubert
  • George Clutesi
  • Willie Ermine
  • Walter Harris
  • Teresa Marshall
  • Johnny Pootoogook
  • Arthur Shilling
  • Roger Simon
  • Simon Tookoome

An exhibition of the 11 artworks from the Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada's Aboriginal Art Collection that are featured on the National Capital Commission's 2013 Confederation Boulevard banners.

The Honourable Bernard Valcourt opened the exhibition on May 29, 2013 in the Lobby of 10 Wellington Street.

 

Presented in collaboration with:

Kayley Mackay
Bumpy Ride, 2008
digital photgraph on paper
61 x 81 cm

 

March 6 to May 3, 2013

Re-Visioning the North

Curator: Jennifer Cartwright

Contemporary Photographs by

  • Kayley MacKay
  • Jimmy Manning
  • Matthew Nuqingaq
  • Barry Pottle
  • Chris Sampson

Archival Photographs by

  • Aggeok Pitseolak
  • Peter Pitseolak

Re-Visioning the North presents the work of five photographers who focus on a variety of subject matter ranging from sweeping arctic landscapes to closely cropped still-lifes. Supplemented with reproductions of early work by Peter and Aggeok Pitseolak, the exhibition explores historic and contemporary forms of Inuit photography.

 

Date modified:

Calendrier des expositions

La galerie d'art de Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAANC) est ouverte du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h 30 à 16 h, et est située au 10, rue Wellington, à Gatineau (Québec). L'admission est gratuite. Pour plus de renseignements, communiquez avec nous à l'adresse suivante : aadnc.art.aandc@canada.ca.

En cours

Kayley Mackay
Bumpy Ride (2008)
Photographie sur papier

 

Du 9 juillet au 31 août 2018

Faire connaître la collection, partie 2 : Notre terre

Conservatrice : Lee-Ann Martin

Artistes

  • Robert Houle
  • Joseph "Joe" Jacobs
  • Richard Glazer-Danay
  • Maria Hupfield
  • Bruno Canadien
  • Jerry A. Evans
  • Frank Shebageget
  • Kayley Mackay
  • Elisapee Ishulutaq

Les œuvres contenues dans « Faire connaître la collection, partie 2 : Notre terre » reflètent les perspectives autochtones sur l’histoire de cette terre maintenant connue sous le nom de Canada. Les artistes célèbrent une histoire et des traditions de longue date qui existaient bien avant l’arrivée des Européens. De plus, ils commentent les réalités contemporaines et les compromis que doivent faire les peuples autochtones de nos jours.

Les œuvres sélectionnées pour cette exposition figurent dans la publication récente de RCAANC intitulée « La collection d’art autochtone : Œuvres choisies 1967-2017 ».

Expositions passées

William Noah
Mother and Daughter (2008)
Gravure sur pierre et pochoir sur papier

 

Du 9 avril au 22 juin 2018

Faire connaître la collection, partie 1 : Des images de Notre terre

Conservatrice : Lee-Ann Martin

Artistes

  • Carl Beam
  • Patricia Deadman
  • Rosalie Favell
  • George Littlechild
  • Martin "Akwiranoron" Loft
  • Glenna Matoush
  • David Neel
  • Jeneen Frei Njootli
  • William Noah
  • Annie Pootoogook
  • Arthur Renwick
  • Skawennati
  • Simon Tookoome

« Des images de nous » comprend des autoportraits, ainsi que des portraits de familles et de communautés, qui montrent le point de vue de chaque artiste. Les images mettent souvent de l’avant le passé mouvementé des peuples autochtones et des représentations de ces peuples selon une perspective coloniale. Par exemple, au tournant du 20e siècle, de nombreuses photographies documentaires réalisées par des anthropologues, des représentants du gouvernement, des artistes et d’autres personnes de race blanche ont contribué au mensonge romanesque d’une « race en voie de disparition ». Depuis, et encore aujourd’hui, des malentendus dépassés contredisent souvent les réalités autochtones contemporaines.

Les artistes autochtones ont choisi le portrait non seulement pour corriger les représentations stéréotypées des peuples autochtones, mais aussi pour célébrer leur communauté et leur culture. Cette exposition invite les visiteurs à considérer les réflexions des artistes et leurs tentatives de rectifier de nombreuses fausses représentations qui perdurent, avec des images qui « nous représentent bien ».

Les œuvres sélectionnées pour cette exposition figurent dans la publication récente de RCAANC intitulée « La collection d’art autochtone : Œuvres choisies 1967-2017 ».

Jim Logan
Sisters (1990)
Sérigraphie sur papier

 

Du 15 janvier au 23 mars 2018

Célébrons la femme

Conservatrice : Rosalie Favell

Artistes

  • Shirley Bear
  • Rosalie Favell
  • Maria Hupfield
  • Jim Logan
  • Shelley Niro
  • Tim Pitsiulak
  • Ryan Rice
  • Greg Staats

L’exposition célèbre la femme. Qu’elle soit au volant d’un VTT avec sept enfants à bord, ou qu’elle suive son propre chemin en pagayant à bord d’un canot, la femme est une force solide. On la dépeint riante, partageant et peut être embrassant. On la voit mère, grand mère, sœur et amoureuse. Dans cette exposition, les artistes se concentrent sur la résilience et l’esprit de la femme. Elle inspire et prodigue de la force. Elle survit aux rigueurs du temps, aux préjudices, aux inégalités, à la pauvreté et à la violence. Elle est la source mythique de la création et la gardienne de la connaissance, des traditions et des récits. La femme autochtone contemporaine est une force avec laquelle il faut compter. Comme l’affirme l’artiste Shelley Niro : « Les gens se font une idée stéréotypée des femmes autochtones. Les films les représentent comme des mannequins en carton et, lorsqu’on tente de changer cette image, les gens sont déçus. Je veux faire éclater tout ça. »

Dans l’exposition, les photographies des artistes sont tirées de ma série "Facing the Camera" (« Portraits de face »). J’ai commencé ce projet pendant que je séjournais à Banff en 2008. Inspirée par les nombreux artistes autochtones qui s’étaient rassemblés dans cette ville, je me suis rendu compte qu’aucun témoignage n’existait de ceux qui formaient cette communauté. J’ai continué à photographier des artistes de villes différentes afin de représenter le plus possible ma communauté. Jusqu’à ce jour, plus de 400 artistes et personnalités culturelles ont participé. Cette exposition me permet de faire connaître ces artistes et leurs œuvres.

Arthur Shilling
Glenna (1967)
Huile sur panneau Masonite

 

Du 21 juin au 8 décembre 2017

Empreintes autochtones : Évoluer par l’art et la mémoire

Conseillères en conservation : Hannah Claus and Danielle Printup

Artistes

  • Christi Belcourt
  • Bob Boyer
  • Christian Chapman
  • Jerry A. Evans
  • Tom Hill
  • Meelia Kelly
  • Teresa Marshall
  • Glenna Matoush
  • Arthur Shilling

« Empreintes autochtones : Évoluer par l’art et la mémoire » explore les différentes façons dont la vision et l’expérience peuvent se révéler par la voix autochtone. On se sert de la mémoire pour examiner les ensembles complexes de relations qui sont négociées dans les histoires individuelles et collectives. Grâce à cette fluidité, les actes de réalisation et de marquage peuvent devenir des moments propices à l’établissement de liens. Ces artistes dépeignent la conscience profonde que l’on peut ressentir face à un lieu, à nous mêmes et aux autres.

Daphne Odjig
Blending of Cultures at K'San (1983)
Acrylique sur toile

 

Du 25 avril au 9 juin 2017

Collecte : Daphne Odjig

Artist

  • Daphne Odjig

« [Odjig] a été une source d’inspiration et un modèle pour des générations d’artistes autochtones passées et pour des générations d’artistes autochtones à venir; un exemple de ténacité, de courage et de grâce pour ceux d’entre nous qui poursuivent le travail de définir et d’assurer la place de la culture visuelle autochtone dans le monde de l’art au Canada. »

Bonnie Devine, 2016

Daphne Odjig (1919 2016) a grandi dans la réserve indienne Wikwemikong Unceded sur l’île Manitoulin, en Ontario, et elle était d’ascendance Odawa et Potawatomi. Sa carrière s’est étendue sur six décennies et peut facilement être décrite comme profonde, prolifique et innovante. Ses œuvres ont été exposées au Canada et on peut les trouver dans de grandes collections publiques et privées un peu partout dans le monde. En 1971, elle a fondé Odjig Indian Prints of Canada, une petite imprimerie, pour offrir aux artistes autochtones plus de possibilités de participer au marché de l’art. Elle a aussi cofondé la Professional Native Indian Artists Association, un collectif d’artistes influents, avec Alex Janvier, Jackson Beardy, Eddy Cobbiness, Carl Ray, Joseph Sanchez et Norval Morrisseau. Au cours de sa carrière, Daphne Odjig a reçu plusieurs honneurs et prix, dont l’Ordre du Canada (1986), le Prix du gouverneur général en arts visuels et en arts médiatiques (2007), le Prix national d’excellence décerné aux Autochtones (1998), plusieurs diplômes honorifiques, et elle a été honorée d’une plume d’aigle au nom de la réserve de Wikwemikong en reconnaissance de ses réalisations artistiques (1978), un honneur jusque là réservé à des hommes.

« Nous sommes un peuple vivant et une culture vivante. Je crois que nous n’avons d’autre choix que d’avancer, de vivre des choses nouvelles et de créer de nouveaux modes d’expression comme tous les peuples le font. Je n’ai pas l’intention de rester dans le passé. Je n’ai pas l’impression d’être une pièce de musée. »

– Daphne Odjig, (n.d.)

 

Du 21 juin au 28 octobre 2016

« La force de l’esprit »

Conservatrice : Rosalie Favell

Artistes

  • Rosalie Favell
  • Tanya Harnett
  • Mattiusi Iyaituk
  • Alex Janvier
  • Claude Latour
  • Rita Letendre
  • George Littlechild
  • Meryl McMaster
  • Irene Avaalaaqiaq Tiktaalaaq

L’exposition "My Spirit is Strong" (« La force de l’esprit ») est une exposition sur la façon dont nous devons prendre soin de nous et de la nature. Les artistes de cette exposition observent le paysage et ses créatures et se penchent sur la continuité de l’existence. Ils font aussi une introspection d’eux mêmes pour explorer les connexions entre les êtres humains et le monde naturel et pour expliquer comment la santé d’une personne affecte celle d’une autre. Ils constatent la violence à l’égard de la nature et de l’être humain. Les artistes reconnaissent que leur situation contemporaine est parfois terrible. Mais tous croient que leur art a le pouvoir de révéler le monde tel qu’il est imprégné dans les souvenirs, les mythes et les récits. Leurs images doivent être observées avec prudence et vigilance, dans le but de guérir et de réparer. La nature nous nourrit, mais elle doit aussi être chérie et traitée avec soin. L’esprit est aussi fragile, mais il est résilient.

Les photographies des artistes de cette exposition proviennent de la série "Facing the Camera" (« Portraits de face »). J’ai commencé ce projet pendant que je séjournais à Banff en 2008. Inspirée par les nombreux artistes autochtones qui s’étaient rassemblés dans cette ville, je me suis rendu compte qu’aucun témoignage n’existait de ceux qui formaient cette communauté. J’ai continué à photographier des artistes de villes différentes afin de représenter le plus possible ma communauté. Jusqu’à ce jour, 283 artistes et personnalités culturelles ont participé. Cette exposition me permet de faire connaître ces artistes et leurs œuvres.

© Lee Claremont, Skywoman's Heart Belongs to Turtle, 2004

Lee Claremont
Le cœur de la Femme du Ciel appartient à la tortue 2004
Acrylique sur toile
86.5 x 76 cm

 

Du 18 janvier au 27 mai 2016

Mamawo Payiwak : Elles se réunissent au même endroit

Christian Chapman
Ne siffle pas l’aurore boréale, 2010
Techniques mixtes sur toile
182 x 156.2 x 10.1 cm

 

Du 28 septembre au 31 décembre 2015

Voix nouvelles : une exposition d’acquisitions récentes, partie 2

Artistes

  • Christian Chapman
  • Vanessa Dion Fletcher
  • Christian Morrisseau
  • Barry Pottle
  • France Trépanier

Daphne Odjig
Back to the Earth, 1973
Acrylique et encre sur papier
65 x 52.5 cm

 

Du 22 avril au 28 août 2015

Du 22 avril au 28 août 2015

Artistes

  • Carl Beam
  • Benjamin Chee Chee
  • Don Ense
  • David General
  • Clifford Maracle
  • R. Gary Miller
  • Norval Morrisseau
  • Daphne Odjig
  • Arthur Shilling
  • Elda Smith
  • Margaret Terrance
  • Angus Trudeau
  • Leo Yerxa

Présentée en collaboration avec :

David Kanietakeron Fadden
Les trois cris, 2012
Acrylique sur toile
124 x 129 cm

 

Du 2 septembre 2014 au 2 janvier 2015

Voix nouvelles : une exposition d'acquisitions récentes, partie 1

Artistes

  • David Kanietakeron Fadden
  • Tanya Harnett
  • Claude Latour
  • Caroline Monnet
  • Jeneen Frei Njootli
  • Skawennati

Nicotye Samayaulie
Boutons polis, 2013
Gravure sur pierre sur papier (11/50)
30 x 61 cm

 

Du 8 mai au 22 août 2014

CCollection annuelle d'estampes de Cape Dorset 2013

Artistes

  • Saimaiyu Akesuk
  • Siassie Kenneally
  • Ohotaq Mikkigak
  • Kavavaow Mannomee
  • Tim Pitsiulak
  • Malaija Pootoogook
  • Pitaloosie Saila
  • Nicotye Samayualie
  • Ningeokuluk Teevee
  • Papiara Tukiki

Katia Kak'wa Kurtness
Douce poésie, 2006
Acrylique sur toile
33 x 63 cm

 

Du 31 janvier au 25 avril 2014

Au-delà de la reconnaissance : Œuvres autochtones abstraites

Conservatrice : Michelle McGeough

Artistes

  • Bob Boyer
  • Benjamin Chee Chee
  • Robert Houle
  • Alex Janvier
  • Katia KaK'wa Kurtness
  • Ann McLean
  • Kimowan Metchewais
  • Susan Point
  • Rick Rivet
  • Helen Wassegijig
  • Linus Woods

Arthur Shilling
Future, 1981
Huile sur panneau masonite
63 x 77 cm

 

Du 29 mai au 13 septembre 2013

Expressions autochtones : Bannières du boulevard de la Confédération, édition 2013, de la Commission de la capitale nationale

Artistes

  • Jason Baerg
  • Joane Cardinal-Schubert
  • George Clutesi
  • Willie Ermine
  • Walter Harris
  • Teresa Marshall
  • Johnny Pootoogook
  • Arthur Shilling
  • Roger Simon
  • Simon Tookoome

Une exposition des 11 œuvres d'art de la collection du Centre d'art autochtone d'AADNC était présentée sur les bannières du boulevard de la Confédération, édition 2013, de la Commission de la capitale nationale.

L'honorable Bernard Valcourt a inauguré l'exposition le 29 mai 2013 dans le foyer de l'immeuble situé au 10, rue Wellington.

 

Présentée en collaboration avec :

logo du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Sakahàn. Art indigène international

La Commission de la capitale nationale

Kayley Mackay
Trajet cahotique, 2008
Photographie numérique sur papier
61 x 81 cm

 

March 6 to May 3, 2013

Re-Visioning the North

Conservatrice : Jennifer Cartwright

Photos contemporaines de

  • Kayley MacKay
  • Jimmy Manning
  • Matthew Nuqingaq
  • Barry Pottle
  • Chris Sampson

Photos d'archive de

  • Aggeok Pitseolak
  • Peter Pitseolak

L'exposition Nouvelle vision du Nord présentait des œuvres de cinq photographes qui s'intéressent à une variété de sujets – des vastes paysages arctiques à des natures mortes cadrées de près. Présentant également des reproductions des premiers travaux de Peter et Aggeok Pitseolak, cette exposition explorait les expressions traditionnelles et contemporaines de la photographie inuite.

 

Logo de Scène du Nord
Date de modification :