Frequently Asked Questions - Forensic Audits

Q.1 What is a forensic audit?

A.1. Forensic audits are examinations conducted by a qualified independent auditor using specific auditing procedures designed to identify and gather evidence to support or deny an assessment of possible irregularities, including the misappropriation of funds or assets, reported fraud or specific allegations on the part of a recipient or an individual.

Q.2 Why does the AANDC conduct forensic audits?

A.2. The Department takes allegations of misuse of public funds very seriously and conducts forensic audits to ensure that there has been no misappropriation of public funds, and that funds transferred to recipients are used in the manner for which they were intended.

Q.3 What is the process to conduct a forensic audit?

A.3. In the event that AANDC receives allegations regarding the misuse of funds transferred to a recipient, an independent audit firm or contractor will be contracted to perform a scoping exercise. The purpose of the scoping exercise is to determine if the allegations have merit and if a forensic audit is required.

In situations where the allegations are found to not have merit through the scoping exercise, the case is closed and no forensic audit work is conducted. If however, the allegations are deemed to have merit and require a forensic audit to determine if they are founded, the Department contracts an independent audit firm or contractor to perform a forensic audit.

Q.4 What does the AANDC do with the recommendations resulting from a forensic audit?

A.4. As part of the findings, forensic auditors often provide recommendations to the recipient on how to improve their management practices. The Department suggests that the recipient follow these recommendations in order to improve their management practices. Of course, regions and programs will assist, whenever possible and appropriate. However, there is no requirement or mechanism for the Department to compel recipients to adopt the recommendations.

It should be noted that the results of forensic audits may affect a recipient's overall General Assessment score in the future.

Q.5 Does AANDC seek to recover funds deemed spent inappropriately?

A.5. The main purpose of conducting a forensic audit is to prevent wrongdoing and ensure the funds transferred to recipients are being used for purposes they are intended. In cases where the findings of a forensic audit indicate the misuse of funds, the Department will seek to recover funds.

Q.6 How does the process to recover funds work?

A.6. Based on AANDC's Receivables Management Policy, the process for setting up and managing an Accounts Receivable arising as a result of a recipient audit is as follows:

The Department sends a management letter to the recipient outlining the results of the audit, identifying the repayment amount, the time-frame required for the repayment and suggestions for management improvements and/or financial controls, etc. The letter is copied to the appropriate AANDC regional office for their information and in order to support the recipient in the follow-up required.

Discussions between the Department and the recipient normally take place soon after the management letter is sent to the recipient. The discussions include determining the repayment amount (dollar amount may have changed as a result of discussions or the recipient providing additional information, etc.) and the schedule for the repayment plan. The Department will confirm the repayment amount and the schedule for the repayment plan with the recipient; the repayment amount and the schedule will be approved by Chief Financial Officer.

The recovery of funds will be monitored on a regular basis through the regional offices, and reported at an aggregate level to the AANDC Audit Committee.

Q.7 What does the Department do if the audit finds evidence of criminal activity?

A.7. Should AANDC find indications of criminal wrongdoing, the information would be turned over to the appropriate policing authority. This information is not publicly disclosed.

Q.8 Are the findings of a forensic audit made public?

A.8. Following normal procedures for the release of forensic audit reports, a summary of findings is posted to AANDC's website, unless information has been turned over to a policing authority.

Q.9 Why are the findings disclosed in the form of a summary report?

A.9. Forensic audit findings are disclosed in the form of a summary report as it provides a summary of the findings in the audit without divulging sensitive or personal information about the recipient or individuals involved. Under the Access to Information Act, AANDC is prohibited from disclosing, without consent, some information contained in forensic audits as it may contain proprietary third-party financial information of a recipient.

Q.10 How does an audit firm qualify to conduct forensic audits on behalf of the Department?

A.10. Audit firms are selected from AANDC's standing offer list. Firms who are on the standing offer list have successfully demonstrated they have the required expertise to conduct forensic audits on behalf of the Department through a rigorous competitive process managed by PWGSC.

Q.11 How long does it take to complete a forensic audit?

A.11. Forensic audits require very rigorous and thorough examination phases in order to arrive at sound conclusions and comprehensive recommendations.

The speed at which audit work can be completed is dependent on the level of complexity of the work and the cooperation of those people who need to be consulted or interviewed to provide the auditors with the necessary information for the examination, as well as the availability of necessary documentation.

 
 
Date modified:

Foire aux questions – Vérification judiciaire

Q.1 Qu'est-ce qu'une vérification judiciaire?

R.1. Il s'agit d'un examen réalisé par un vérificateur indépendant qualifié, selon des procédures de vérification conçues pour cerner et recueillir des preuves confirmant ou infirmant l'évaluation de la présence d'irrégularités possibles, comme les détournements de fonds ou d'autres biens, le signalement de fraudes, ou des allégations particulières avancées par un bénéficiaire ou un particulier.

Q.2 Pourquoi AADNC mène-t-il des vérifications judiciaires?

R.2. Le Ministère prend très au sérieux les allégations d'usage abusif de fonds publics. Il mène des vérifications judiciaires pour s'assurer qu'il n'y a pas eu de détournement de fonds publics, et aussi que les fonds transférés aux bénéficiaires sont utilisés aux fins prévues.

Q.3 Quel est le processus à suivre pour une vérification judiciaire?

R.3. Si AADNC reçoit des allégations d'usage abusif de fonds transférés à un bénéficiaire, un contrat d'établissement de la portée est adjugé à un cabinet de vérificateurs ou un entrepreneur indépendant. L'établissement de la portée permet de déterminer le bien-fondé des allégations et la nécessité d'une vérification judiciaire.

S'il est conclu, lors de l'établissement de la portée, que les allégations sont infondées, le dossier est clos et on ne procède à aucune vérification judiciaire. Si par contre il est conclu au bien-fondé des allégations, et à la nécessité d'une vérification judiciaire, le Ministère confie la tenue de la vérification à un cabinet de vérificateurs ou un entrepreneur indépendant.

Q.4 Quelle suite AADNC donne-t-il aux recommandations issues d'une vérification judiciaire?

R.4. Les vérificateurs judiciaires offrent souvent, dans le cadre de leurs constatations, des recommandations au bénéficiaire sur les moyens d'améliorer leurs méthodes de gestion. Le Ministère conseille au bénéficiaire d'appliquer ces recommandations en vue d'améliorer ses méthodes de gestion. Bien entendu, les gens des régions et des programmes apportent une aide, pour autant que cela soit possible et pertinent. Toutefois, il n'existe aucun mécanisme ni aucune obligation qui permettrait au Ministère de contraindre les bénéficiaires à adopter les recommandations.

Il est à noter que les résultats des vérifications judiciaires peuvent influer sur la cote globale future de l'évaluation générale du bénéficiaire.

Q.5 AADNC cherche-t-il à recouvrer les fonds qu'on juge avoir été dépensés de façon inappropriée?

R.5. La tenue d'une vérification judiciaire a pour but principal d'éviter les actes répréhensibles et de veiller à ce que les fonds transférés à des bénéficiaires soient utilisés aux fins prévues. Si une vérification judiciaire révèle un usage abusif des fonds, le Ministère cherchera à les recouvrer.

Q.6 Comment se déroule un recouvrement de fonds?

R.6. Voici, en fonction de la politique sur la gestion des comptes débiteurs d'AADNC, le processus de configuration et de gestion d'un compte débiteur créé en conséquence de la vérification d'un bénéficiaire :

Le Ministère envoie au bénéficiaire une lettre de gestion indiquant les résultats de la vérification, le montant à rembourser, l'échéancier fixé pour le remboursement, les conseils pour améliorer la gestion ou les contrôles financiers, etc. Une copie conforme de la lettre est envoyée au bureau régional d'AADNC compétent, pour information et pour aider le bénéficiaire à exécuter le suivi exigé.

Les discussions entre le Ministère et le bénéficiaire se tiennent normalement peu après l'envoi de la lettre de gestion au bénéficiaire. Les discussions portent sur l'établissement du montant à rembourser (les montants peuvent avoir changé en conséquence des discussions, de renseignements supplémentaires fournis par le bénéficiaire, etc.) et le calendrier du plan de remboursement. Le Ministère confirme auprès du bénéficiaire le montant du remboursement et le calendrier du plan de remboursement; le montant du remboursement et le calendrier recevront l'approbation du dirigeant principal des finances.

Le recouvrement des fonds fait l'objet d'une surveillance régulière par les bureaux régionaux, et est signalé sous forme regroupée au Comité de la vérification.

Q.7 Que fait le Ministère si la vérification détecte des preuves d'activité criminelle?

R.7. Si AADNC détecte des preuves d'activité criminelle, l'information est transmise aux autorités de police compétentes. Cette information n'est pas divulguée au public.

Q.8 Les constatations d'une vérification judiciaire sont-elles rendues publiques?

R.8. Conformément à la procédure normale de diffusion d'un rapport de vérification judiciaire, un tableau récapitulatif des résultats des vérifications est affiché sur le site Web d'AADNC, à moins que l'information ait été transmise à des autorités de police.

Q.9 Pourquoi les constatations sont-elles divulguées sous forme récapitulative?

R.9. Les constatations issues d'une vérification judiciaire sont divulguées sous forme de tableau récapitulatif, parce que celui-ci résume les constatations de la vérification sans divulguer des renseignements délicats ou personnels au sujet du bénéficiaire ou des personnes en cause. La Loi sur l'accès à l'information interdit à AADNC de divulguer sans consentement certains renseignements figurant dans les vérifications judiciaires, car ils peuvent contenir des renseignements financiers exclusifs d'un tiers qui concernent un bénéficiaire.

Q.10 Comment un cabinet de vérificateurs se qualifie-t-il pour mener des vérifications judiciaires au nom du Ministère?

R.10. Les cabinets de vérificateurs sont choisis sur la liste d'offres permanentes d'AADNC. Les cabinets inscrits sur cette liste ont réussi à démontrer, selon un processus concurrentiel rigoureux géré par TPSGC, qu'ils possèdent l'expertise voulue pour mener des vérifications judiciaires au nom du Ministère.

Q.11 Combien de temps faut-il pour exécuter une vérification judiciaire?

R.11. Ces vérifications comprennent des étapes d'examen très rigoureuses et approfondies qui mènent à de solides conclusions et à des recommandations complètes.

La rapidité d'un travail de vérification dépend de la complexité de la tâche et de la coopération manifestée par les personnes qu'il faut consulter ou interroger afin de fournir au vérificateur l'information nécessaire à sa vérification, ainsi que de la disponibilité de la documentation nécessaire.

 
 
Date de modification :