Frequently Asked Questions - Release of Recipient Audit Policy, Plan, and Summary Reports

Date: December 2014

Q.1 Why does AANDC post audits?

A.1. Canadians, including members of First Nation communities, want to know that their tax dollars are being used to improve community living conditions, and to create jobs and economic opportunities for First Nation communities.

Q.2 What is a recipient audit?

A.2. A recipient audit is an independent assessment, conducted by an independent auditor, to ensure that a recipient of federal funding is complying with the terms and conditions of their funding agreement with the federal government.

Audits ensure that funding is being used for its intended purposes, and that communities/organizations have in place the appropriate management and financial oversight mechanisms.

Audit findings and recommendations can be beneficial to funding recipients, as they may assist the organization in identifying areas for improvement in their current management practices and financial controls.

Q.3 Why do AANDC and Health Canada occasionally perform joint recipient audits?

A.3. Health Canada plays a significant role in providing services and funding to Aboriginal communities. With AANDC, these two departments provide about 90% of Government of Canada funding to First Nations.

Joint recipient audits are more cost-effective for both departments and reduce the administrative burden on First Nations as site visits and information collection by the independent auditor are conducted for both departments at the same time.

AANDC and Health Canada may work together on recipient audits to address any issues and concerns raised through joint recipient audits, where appropriate.

Q.4 How does AANDC select which recipients will undergo a recipient audit in any given year?

A.4. AANDC has a recipient audit plan where recipients are selected for an audit based on a risk evaluation, the value of the funding agreement and random selection.

Q.5 Why is the department only posting summary reports starting from the 2012-2013 fiscal year, what about previous years?

A.5. To support the Government's commitment to transparency and accountability, AANDC has recently decided to publicly post the summary reports of recipient audits. While the Department has been conducting recipient audits for the past three years, prior to the 2012-2013 fiscal year, recipients were not informed of the possibility the results would be made public.

Q.6 How were the independent audit firms selected to conduct the recipient audits?

A.6. The Department is continuing its efforts to modernize grants and contributions management for better results. To that effect, AANDC and Health Canada have entered into a joint supply arrangement to contract for recipient audit services from independent, accredited auditors. This joint process will maximize the use of taxpayer dollars and reduce the administrative burden on both departments.

The supply arrangement was put in place through Public Works and Government Services Canada's (PWGSC) Professional Audit Support Services (PASS) Stream 8 process. Stream 8 is reserved for Recipient/Contribution Agreement Audits. PASS is a mandatory supply arrangement that provides federal government departments and agencies with a list of suppliers qualified to perform recipient audits.

For more information on this type of supply arrangement please contact PWGSC at 819-956-2315.

Q.7 How many recipient audits were conducted in the 2012-2013 fiscal year?

A.7. In the 2012-2013 fiscal year, 25 recipient audits were initiated. All have been completed.

Q.8 When will all the results of the recipient audits from 2012-2013 be released?

A.8. The results of the 25 recipient audits will be released in the form of summary reports when the audits have been completed, reviewed, and the results communicated to the recipients. The recipients are also given the opportunity to submit a response which will be posted along with the summary report. Please see the Recipient Audit Policy for more information.

Q.9 When will all the results of recipient audits from 2013-14 be released?

A.9. The results of all audits completed in 2013-14 will be released in the form of summary reports when the full audit reports have been thoroughly reviewed and finalized, and the results communicated to the recipients. The recipients are also given the opportunity to submit a written response which will be posted along with the summary report. Please see the Recipient Audit Policy for more information.

Q.10 Why have some recipient audits been postponed from previous fiscal years or are still ongoing in this fiscal year?

A.10. Recipient audits require very rigorous and thorough examination phases in order to arrive at sound conclusions and comprehensive recommendations.

The speed at which audit work can be completed is dependent on the level of complexity of the work and the cooperation of those people who need to be consulted or interviewed to provide the auditors with the necessary information for the examination, as well as the availability of necessary documentation. Often, this work involves site visits to remote locations which can delay the process.

Foire aux questions – Publication de la politique sur la vérification des bénéficiaires, du plan et des rapports sommaires connexes

Date : Décembre 2014

Q.1 Pourquoi AADNC publie-t-il les résultats des vérifications?

R.1. Les Canadiens, y compris les membres des collectivités des Premières Nations, veulent savoir que les deniers publics sont bel et bien employés pour améliorer les conditions de vie de la collectivité et créer des emplois et des possibilités économiques pour les collectivités des Premières Nations.

Q.2 Qu'est-ce qu'une vérification des bénéficiaires?

R.2. La vérification des bénéficiaires est une évaluation indépendante effectuée par un vérificateur indépendant et visant à confirmer qu'un bénéficiaire d'une aide financière fédérale observe les modalités de son entente de financement conclue avec le gouvernement fédéral.

Grâce à la vérification, on peut confirmer que le financement est utilisé aux fins pour lesquelles il a été accordé et que les collectivités ou organisations bénéficiaires ont des mécanismes appropriés de gestion et de contrôle financier.

Les conclusions et les recommandations issues d'une vérification peuvent aussi être profitables aux bénéficiaires du financement, en les aidant à cerner ce qu'il est possible d'améliorer dans leurs pratiques actuelles de gestion et de contrôle financier.

Q.3 Pourquoi AADNC et Santé Canada procèdent-ils à l'occasion à des vérifications mixtes des bénéficiaires?

R.3. Santé Canada joue un rôle important dans la prestation de services aux collectivités autochtones et le financement de ces dernières. Santé Canada et AADNC fournissent à eux seuls environ 90 % du financement que le gouvernement du Canada accorde aux Premières Nations.

Les vérifications mixtes des bénéficiaires sont plus rentables pour les deux ministères. De plus, elles réduisent le fardeau administratif des Premières Nations, car le vérificateur indépendant procède aux visites sur place et à la collecte de renseignements pour les deux ministères en même temps.

AADNC et Santé Canada peuvent aussi collaborer aux vérifications des bénéficiaires pour régler toute question ou toute préoccupation soulevée dans le cadre des vérifications conjointes, le cas échéant.

Q.4 De quelle façon AADNC sélectionne-t-il les bénéficiaires qui feront l'objet d'une vérification au cours d'une année donnée?

R.4. AADNC a un plan de vérification des bénéficiaires grâce auquel il choisit les bénéficiaires en fonction d'une évaluation du risque, de la valeur de l'entente de financement et des facteurs aléatoires.

Q.5 Pourquoi le Ministère ne publie-t-il que les rapports sommaires établis à partir de l'exercice 2012-2013? Qu'en est-il des autres exercices?

R.5. Afin de respecter l'engagement que le gouvernement a pris en matière de transparence et de reddition de comptes, AADNC a récemment décidé de diffuser publiquement les rapports sommaires des vérifications des bénéficiaires. Le Ministère a commencé à exécuter de telles vérifications depuis trois ans, soit avant l'exercice 2012 2013, mais les bénéficiaires n'avaient alors pas été informés que les résultats pourraient être rendus publics.

Q.6 Comment a-t-on choisi les cabinets indépendants de vérificateurs qui ont exécuté les vérifications des bénéficiaires?

R.6. Le Ministère poursuit ses efforts pour moderniser la gestion des subventions et contributions afin d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats. Par conséquent, AADNC et Santé Canada ont conclu un arrangement commun en matière d'approvisionnement pour adjuger à des vérificateurs indépendants et accrédités des contrats sur la prestation de services de vérification des bénéficiaires. Le processus mixte permettra d'optimiser l'utilisation des deniers publics et de réduire le fardeau administratif des deux ministères.

L'arrangement en matière d'approvisionnement est établi au moyen du volet 8 des Services professionnels de soutien à la vérification (SPSV) de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada (TPSGC). Le volet 8 est réservé aux vérifications des bénéficiaires et des accords de contribution. L'arrangement relatif aux SPSV est un arrangement obligatoire en matière d'approvisionnement qui procure aux ministères et organismes fédéraux une liste de fournisseurs qualifiés pour mener des vérifications auprès des bénéficiaires.

Afin d'en savoir plus sur ce genre d'arrangement en matière d'approvisionnement, veuillez communiquer avec TPSGC, au 819-956-2315.

Q.7 Combien de vérifications des bénéficiaires a-t-on menées pendant l'exercice 2012-2013?

R.7. Pendant l'exercice 2012-2013, 25 vérifications des bénéficiaires ont été entamées. Elles ont toutes été terminées.

Q.8 Quand publiera-t-on les résultats des vérifications des bénéficiaires menées en 2012-2013?

R.8. Les résultats des 25 vérifications des bénéficiaires seront publiés sous forme de tableau récapitulatif lorsque les vérifications auront été achevées et examinées et que les résultats auront été communiqués aux bénéficiaires en question. Les bénéficiaires pourront présenter une réponse à la vérification, laquelle sera publiée avec le tableau récapitulatif. Veuillez consulter la Politique sur la vérification des bénéficiaires pour en savoir plus.

Q.9 Quand publiera-t-on les résultats des vérifications des bénéficiaires menées en 2013-2014?

R.9. Les résultats de toutes les vérifications menées en 2013-2014 seront publiés sous forme de rapports sommaires lorsque les rapports de vérification auront été examinés en profondeur et finalisés et que les résultats auront été communiqués aux bénéficiaires. Les bénéficiaires pourront présenter une réponse à la vérification, laquelle sera publiée avec le rapport sommaire. Veuillez consulter la Politique sur la vérification des bénéficiaires pour en savoir plus.

Q.10 Pourquoi certaines vérifications prévues pour un exercice antérieur ont-elles été repoussées ou sont-elles toujours en cours?

R.10. Ces vérifications comprennent des phases d'examen très rigoureux et approfondi qui mènent à des recommandations éclairées et complètes.

La rapidité d'un travail de vérification dépend de la complexité de la tâche et de la coopération manifestée par les personnes qu'il faut consulter ou interroger afin de fournir au vérificateur l'information nécessaire à sa vérification, ainsi que de la disponibilité de la documentation nécessaire. Les vérificateurs doivent souvent se rendre dans des lieux isolés, ce qui peut ralentir le processus.