Frequently Asked Questions – The Reporting Guide

Q1. What is the Reporting Guide?

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) provides tools to funding recipients to demonstrate that funds provided are expended for the purposes intended and that terms and conditions of funding agreements are met.

The Reporting Guide is the single location for recipients to get reporting instructions for the financial and program performance aspects of their funding agreement with AANDC.

Q2. Is the Reporting Guide new?

Beginning in the 2014-2015 fiscal year, AANDC has consolidated the Year-End Reporting Handbook and the Recipient Reporting Guide, formerly separate reporting requirements, into a single location called the "Reporting Guide".

In previous years, recipients had to complete the Year-End Reporting Handbook to satisfy the financial reporting requirements of their funding agreement with the Department and the Recipient Reporting Guide to satisfy the reporting requirements related to the programs they deliver on behalf of AANDC.

Streamlining these separate reporting requirements into one document is consistent with the Department's efforts to reduce the administrative burden on First Nations.

Q3. Why does AANDC require recipients to report on the funds transferred through its funding agreements?

The Department's core obligation is to account to Parliament and through it to Canadians, for the financial resources with which it is entrusted. Financial reporting from funding recipients is necessary to demonstrate that the resources transferred to recipients were used for their intended purposes.

In addition, AANDC collects program data to support statutory requirements, resource allocation, performance reporting, accountability, program planning, policy analysis and operational requirements.

Q4. Does the Reporting Guide add new reporting requirements for recipients?

No, the Reporting Guide is the consolidation of financial and program reporting requirements into a single location. Recipients of funds transferred through funding agreements with AANDC have always had to report on the financial and program performance aspects of the programs and services they deliver on behalf of the Department.

Q5. How does consolidating two formerly separate sets of reporting requirements into a single location reduce the administrative burden on the Department's funding recipients?

In addition to providing funding recipients with a single location to get information on reporting requirements, the reporting guide will, as a result of the First Nations Financial Transparency Act, also standardize the format of the annual financial reporting requirements for recipients. As a result, recipients will no longer receive a completely new set of financial reporting requirements to complete on an annual basis. Rather, the Department will issue an information bulletin in the Reporting Guide to highlight any new or different aspects on a year-to-year basis to assist recipients in completing their reporting requirements.

Date modified:

Foire aux questions - Guide de présentation des rapports

Q1. Qu'est-ce que le Guide de présentation des rapports?

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) fournit des outils aux bénéficiaires afin qu'ils montrent que le financement qui leur est versé est dépensé aux fins prévues et qu'ils respectent les modalités de leurs ententes de financement.

Le Guide de présentation des rapports contient toutes les instructions nécessaires pour que les bénéficiaires soient en mesure de présenter les rapports financiers et sur le rendement des programmes qu'exige l'entente de financement conclue avec AADNC.

Q2. Le Guide de présentation des rapports est-il une nouveauté?

À compter de l'exercice 2014-2015, AADNC réunira le Manuel des rapports de clôture d'exercice et le Guide de présentation des rapports des bénéficiaires, qui présentaient des exigences en matière rapports distinctes, en un seul document, le Guide de présentation des rapports.

Par le passé, les bénéficiaires devaient remplir le Manuel des rapports de clôture d'exercice pour répondre aux exigences en matière de rapports financiers de leurs ententes avec le Ministère ainsi que le Guide de présentation des rapports des bénéficiaires pour satisfaire aux exigences de rapports sur les programmes qu'ils offrent au nom d'AADNC.

Le regroupement de ces exigences en un seul document est cohérent avec les efforts que déploie le Ministère pour réduire le fardeau administratif des Premières Nations.

Q3. Pourquoi AADNC exige-t-il que les bénéficiaires rendent des comptes en ce qui concerne les fonds versés dans le cadre d'ententes de financement?

L'obligation de base du Ministère est de rendre des comptes au Parlement, et par le fait même aux Canadiens, au sujet des ressources financières qui lui sont confiées. Les rapports financiers sont nécessaires pour montrer que les ressources transférées aux bénéficiaires ont été utilisées aux fins prévues.

De plus, AADNC recueille des données sur les programmes pour satisfaire aux exigences légales et opérationnelles et assurer la présentation de rapports sur l'allocation des ressources et le rendement, la responsabilisation, la planification de programme et l'analyse des politiques.

Q4. Le Guide de présentation des rapports impose-t-il de nouvelles exigences en matière de rapports aux bénéficiaires?

Non. Le Guide de présentation des rapports regroupe les rapports financiers et de programme dans un seul document. Les bénéficiaires des fonds versés dans le cadre d'ententes de financement avec AADNC ont toujours eu à rendre des comptes sur les aspects financiers et le rendement des programmes et services qu'ils offrent au nom du Ministère.

Q5. En quoi regrouper deux ensembles d'exigences auparavant distincts en un seul document réduit-il le fardeau administratif des bénéficiaires qui reçoivent un financement du Ministère?

En plus de regrouper les exigences en matière de rapports en un point unique, facilement accessible aux bénéficiaires, le Guide de présentation des rapports normalisera le format des rapports financiers annuels exigés des bénéficiaires, résultat de la Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations. Les bénéficiaires ne recevront donc plus des exigences financières complètement différentes chaque année. Plutôt, le Ministère intégrera un bulletin d'information au Guide de présentation des rapports afin de souligner les aspects qui diffèrent ou qui varient d'une année à l'autre, ce qui facilitera la tâche des bénéficiaires.

Date de modification :