Aboriginal Data as a Result of Changes to the 2011 Census of Population

Author(s): Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada
Date: 2013
QS: QS-713-000-EE-A1
Catalog: R3-196/2013E-PDF
ISBN: 978-1-100-22679-8

PDF Version (450 kb, 4 pp.)



Key Findings

  • The Census of population has undergone many changes throughout its history. The latest is the introduction of a voluntary survey called the National Household Survey (NHS) in place of a mandatory longform questionnaire.
  • The content of the voluntary 2011 NHS is virtually the same as the one for the mandatory 2006 Census long form.
  • In 2011, all households in First Nations and Inuit communities received the NHS questionnaire.
  • NHS participation in First Nations and Inuit communities was higher than in other communities in Canada.

Introduction

The mandatory long form questionnaire of Statistics Canada's Census of Population has been Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development's most reliable and comprehensive source of demographic and socioeconomic information on First Nations, Inuit and Métis people and communities. Many data users have expressed concern about the impact of the National Household Survey and asked whether it will affect the quality of the data on Aboriginal people and communities or impact their usefulness.

Before reviewing the details of this question, it is important to note that the Census has undergone changes over time. Over the years, changes were made to the methodology, questionnaire content, including definitions of the Aboriginal population, and enumeration procedures. For example in 1971, two major changes were introduced: self-enumeration replaced interviewer enumeration and part of the questions were asked only to a sample of the population (then 1/3) rather than to the entire population. The changes made in 2011, while significant, are not unique. They are the latest in a number of changes that have taken place over time.

The National Household Survey (NHS)

The content of the NHS questionnaire is virtually identical to the 2006 long-form Census, which means that the changes did not lead to any loss of previous content.

Collection Methodology

Enumeration in First Nations, Inuit and most of Canada's northern communities has long been carried out in a very different manner to the general collection methods, up to and including the 2011 NHS, in order to meet the needs of these small and often remote communities. The two different collection methods are described below.

General Collection

In 2006, private households in Canada were asked to complete either a short or a long census questionnaire, either on paper or on-line: 80% were asked to complete the short form that contained basic demographic information, and 20% the long form that contained additional questions on a variety of social and economic conditions.

In 2011, every household in Canada was asked to complete a short form Census questionnaireFootnote 1. In addition, one in three households (33%) was selected to participate in the National Household Survey. Those households that completed the Census online and were selected to participate in the NHS could complete it online at the same time. The other households that were selected for the NHS received an invitation to participate three to four weeks after Census Day.

First Nations, Inuit and Northern Communities

The Census has long used a different collection strategy in Aboriginal and most northern communitiesFootnote 2. Prior to 2011, all First Nations, Inuit and northern community households were enumerated using the long form Census questionnaire, administered in-person by a canvasserFootnote 3 rather than being left for self-completion. This approach did not change in 2011, since all such households were administered both the Census and the NHS. In these areas, the canvassers administered the mandatory Census questionnaire in-person and immediately asked the household respondent if they would participate in the NHS, completing it at the same time, if the respondent agreed.

In contrast, Aboriginal people living off-reserve or outside northern/Inuit communities were enumerated using the same sampling structure used for the rest of the general population - that is, they received the long form questionnaire only if they were selected in the 20% (2006) or 33% (2011) random sample.

Changes to the Census: An example

In 1981 Canada's Aboriginal populations were enumerated through a single question, based on ancestry. Introduced over time, four distinct concepts and questions are now used to identify Aboriginal populations:

  • Ancestry (first introduced in 1871) - What were the ethnic or cultural origins of this person's ancestors?
  • Indian Status (since 1991) - Is this person a Status Indian (Registered or Treaty Indian as defined by the Indian Act of Canada)?
  • Self-identification (since 1996) - Is this person an Aboriginal person, that is, First Nations (North American Indian), Métis or Inuk (Inuit)?
  • First Nation Membership (since 1996) - Is this person a member of a First Nation/Indian band?

Such changes resulted in improvements in the quality of information, since it allowed individuals to self-identify as First Nations, Inuit or Métis, distinguished those with legal status, and recognized the diversity with respect to Aboriginal peoples, rather than exclusively relying on ethnocultural background. Nevertheless, the adoption and use of these concepts marked a sharp break from past data, presenting challenges in terms of the data comparability between Censuses.

Participation

Participation in the Census and the NHS can be measured in a number of different ways, including community participation and response rates for different levels of geography.

As expected with a mandatory survey, the response rate for the Census long form was high in 2006, at about 94%. Nationally, an estimated 2,300,000 households returned a long form that year. For the 2011 NHS, Statistics Canada reported a collection response rate of 69% at the national level, higher than the 50% response rate that was targeted. This means that around 3,100,000 households completed NHS questionnaires (see Table 1: Differences in 2006 and 2001 Census/NHS response rates).

Although the overall number of participating households is high for both years – and actually higher for the NHS – the voluntary nature of the NHS introduces a concern that there may be 'non-random bias' in the sample. This means that certain people or households, with particular socio-economic or demographic characteristics, might be less likely than others to complete the NHS. Statistics Canada suggested previously that Aboriginal people may be one segment of the Canadian population less likely to participate in the NHS, based on their past survey experience.

Community-level data are of particular importance to AANDC, since much of the work of the Department involves working with First Nations and Inuit communities. Statistics Canada uses the term Census Sub-Division (CSD) to define municipalities, or areas equivalent to municipalities. Historically, the presence of incompletely enumerated reserves is an issue that poses challenges to the analysis of the on-reserve First Nations population. Incompletely enumerated reserves are First Nations communities that either declined to participate in the Census or for which enumeration was interrupted. Statistics Canada maintains an open dialogue with First Nations communities and has developed positive relationships with most. The number of incompletely enumerated reserves dropped significantly from 136 in 1986, to 22 in 2006, and 36 in 2011Footnote 4. As a result, the overall quality of the data has improved but such improvements result in new challenges to comparing data over time.

Table 1: Differences in 2006 and 2001 Census/NHS response rates
  2006 Census Long Form 2011 NHS
Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 & 2011. Note: Numbers are rounded.
Number of Households 12,500,000 13,300,000
Sample 1 in 5 (20%) 1 in 3 (33%)
Response Rate 94% 69%
Returned Questionnaires 2,350,000 3,050,000

Statistics Canada also measures Global Non-Response. The Global Non-Response rate is a combined measurement of the percentage of households that did not complete a survey (total non response) and the average number of missing information on questionnaires that are returned to Statistics Canada (partial non-response). In the 2006 Census, data from communities with a Global Non-Response rate of 25% or higher were not released for quality reasons. Communities with a population under 40 were suppressed for confidentiality reasons. As a result of this and the incompletely enumerated reserves, 575 of 702 reserves had full and detailed census data available in 2006, as did all 50 Inuit communities with populations of 40 persons or more.

For the 2011 NHS, Statistics Canada set the cut-off at 50% for Global Non-Response rate for communities where data would not be released for quality reasons. As in 2006, data are suppressed for any community with a population below 40 for confidentiality reasons. As a result of this and the incompletely enumerated reserves, Statistics Canada will publish data for 573 reserve communities and 46 Inuit communities in 2011.

Based on these criteria, the availability of community level data for the 2006 Census and the 2011 NHS shows distinct differences in the percentage of responses between community types. This is not unexpected, given the different sampling strategies employed in reserves and Inuit and most of Canada's northern communities, in addition to the move to the voluntary NHS. Figure 1 shows the proportion of reserve, Inuit and other Canadian communities in 2006 and 2011 for which Statistics Canada has published CSD-level data. The figures from these two years are not directly comparable in terms of data quality, as they are based on different suppression cut-offs. This figure does, however, show the proportion of communities that met the release criteria for the 2006 Census and 2011 NHS, respectively, and for which community level data are readily available.

For the 2006 Census, data for reserve communities was more often suppressed than was data for Inuit or other communities. In fact, data was available from all 50 Inuit communities (100%) and nearly all other communities (99%) in 2006. Looking at 2011, Statistics Canada published data for a much higher proportion of reserve communities. Not only did the proportion of communities rise in comparison to the 2006 figure, reserve communities in 2011 had the highest proportion of communities with CSD-level data available. The figure for Inuit was similar, though it lowered slightly to 92% (representing 46 of 50 communities). The data for other communities, in contrast, was down about a quarter from the 2006 figure.

Aboriginal peoples living off-reserve or outside most northern or Inuit communities were sampled as part of the general population. That is, they would have had a 1 in 3 chance that their household was selected to participate in the NHS. Regarding the Aboriginal population living in large urban areas (known as Census Metropolitan Areas) Statistics Canada concentrated their collection efforts in these areas to ensure good participation from Canadian cities. Nevertheless, Aboriginal populations tend to make up relatively small proportions of these areas and data from these areas must be interpreted with caution particularly when considered at the level of individual cities. Analysis of the quality of the urban and off-reserve Aboriginal data from the NHS will be an ongoing process, meaning more time is required to complete the quality assessment.

Figure 1: Community-level data published by Statistics CanadaFigure 1 note , 2006 Census and 2011 NHS

Figure 1: Community-level data published by Statistics Canada, 2006 Census and 2011 NHS

Figure Note:

Figure 1, Note 1:

Expressed as a proportion of communities with a population of 40 or more, by Community Type. Note: "Reserves" are based on the definition of Indian Reserves used by Statistics Canada in each Census year. Published data is also based on the suppression criteria set for that particular year (i.e. a 25% or greater Global Non-Response rate in 2006 and a 50% or greater Global Non-Response rate in 2001).

Return to Figure 1 note referrer

Sources: Statistics Canada, Census of Population, 2006; National Household Survey, 2011.


View text version of this chart

This bar graph compares percentage of reserve, Inuit and other Canadian communities that participated in the 2006 Census and the 2011 National Household Survey.

The percentages are as follows:

  • Around 89% of all First Nations reserve communities participated in the 2006 Census.
  • Around 93% of all First Nations reserve communities participated in the 2011 National Household Survey.
  • Around 100% of all Inuit communities participated in the 2006 Census.
  • Around 91% of all Inuit communities participated in the 2011 National Household Survey.
  • Around 99% of all other Canadian communities participated in the 2006 Census.
  • Around 72% of all other Canadian communities participated in the 2011 National Household Survey.

Conclusion

The Census has never been a static collection tool. Various factors have affected the coverage, quality and comparability of Census data from one year to the next. Despite these changes, the Census has remained the most reliable and comprehensive national source of data for Aboriginal populations and communities in Canada.

The NHS is the largest voluntary survey ever collected by Statistics Canada. Response rates were higher than anticipated but they did vary from one community to another. While the changes brought to the NHS represent a major shift from how the Census was conducted in the past, they are seen as one in a number of periodic changes and modifications that the Census Program has undergone.

About the Author

This research brief was prepared by Christopher Penney from the Strategic Research Directorate with the collaboration of Statistics Canada and the Statistics and Measurement Directorate of AANDC.

About Us

The Strategic Research Directorate is mandated to support the Federal Government's policy making regarding First Nations, Métis, Inuit and northern peoples in Canada. It does this through a program of survey development, policy research and knowledge transfer.

The Strategic Research Directorate Research Brief series is available electronically on the Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada website, as well as within the federal community on GCPedia. Print copies are available by special request only.

The views expressed in this report are solely those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada.

For more information contact: research-recherche@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Director, Strategic Research: Eric Guimond
Managing Editor, Research Brief Series: Marc Fonda
Production Manager, Research Brief Series: Daniel Jetté

Notes:

Note 1

The 2011 short form questionnaire was similar to the 2006 Census short form but with the addition of three questions on language, previously on the long form.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note 2

Yellowknife and Whitehorse were enumerated using the general collection strategy.

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Note 3

The canvasser is a Statistics Canada employee who would interview the household respondent and record their answers in-person.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Note 4

Thirteen of these were incompletely enumerated due to emergencies such as forest fires, rather than a refusal to participate. The number of reserves which declined to participate was 23.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Données sur les Autochtones à la suite des changements apportés au Recensement de la population de 2011

Auteur(s) : Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada
Date : 2013
QS : QS-7131-000-FF-A1
Catalogue : R3-196/2013F-PDF
ISBN : 978-0-660-21234-0

Version PDF (427 ko, 4 pp.)



Principaux résultats :

  • Depuis sa création, le Recensement de la population a subi de nombreux changements. Le plus récent changement est l'apparition d'une enquête à participation volontaire intitulée Enquête nationale auprès des ménages (ENM), qui vient remplacer le questionnaire complet obligatoire.
  • Le contenu du questionnaire volontaire de l'ENM de 2011 est pratiquement identique au questionnaire complet du Recensement obligatoire de 2006.
  • En 2011, tous les ménages des collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations ont reçu le questionnaire de l'ENM.
  • La participation à l'ENM dans les collectivités inuites et des Premières Nations a été plus grande que dans les autres collectivités du Canada.

Introduction

Le questionnaire complet obligatoire du Recensement de la population de Statistique Canada a été la source de données démographiques et socioéconomiques sur les collectivités et les peuples inuits, métis et des Premières Nations la plus fiable et exhaustive dont s'est sertvi Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada. De nombreux utilisateurs de données ont exprimé certaines préoccupations quant aux répercussions de l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages et ont demandé si celleci aurait des effets sur la qualité des données sur les peuples et collectivités autochtones ou sur leur pertinence.

Avant d'examiner cette question, il est important de rappeler que les changements font partie intégrante de l'histoire du Recensement. Au cours des années, des changements ont été apportés à la méthodologie, au contenu du questionnaire, dont la définition des peuples autochtones, et les procédures de dénombrement. Par exemple, en 1971, deux éléments importants ont connu des modifications : l'auto-dénombrement a remplacé le dénombrement effectué par les agents recenseurs et on a commencé à poser certaines des questions contenues dans le Recensement à seulement une portion de la population (33 % à cette époque) plutôt qu'à l'ensemble de la population. Les changements faits en 2011 sont certes importants, mais ils ne sont pas exceptionnels. Ils représentent les plus récents d'une série changements apportés au cours des années.

Enquête nationale auprès des ménages (ENM)

Le contenu du questionnaire pour l'ENM est, à peu de choses près, identique au questionnaire complet du Recensement de 2006, ce qui signifie essentiellement que les changements n'ont mené à aucune perte du contenu antérieur.

Méthode de collecte

Le dénombrement des Premières Nations, des Inuit et de la plupart des collectivités du Nord a longtemps été effectué d'une manière très différent des méthodes de collecte général, jusqu'à et incluant l'ENM de 2011, afin de réprondre aux besoins de ces communautés petites et souvent éloignées. Les deux différentes méthodes de collecte son décrites ci-dessous.

Collecte générale

En 2006, on a demandé à tous les ménages privés du Canada de remplir soit la version abrégée, soit la version complète du questionnaire de recensement, sur papier ou en ligne : 80 % des ménages devaient compléter la version abrégée contenant les données démographiques essentielles, et 20 % le questionnaire complet avec des questions supplémentaires concernant les circonstances sociales et économiques des ménages.

En 2011, on a demandé à tous les ménages canadiens de remplir le questionnaire de recensement abrégéNote de bas de page 1. De plus, un ménage sur trois (33 %) a été choisi pour répondre à l'Enquête nationale auprès des ménages. Les personnes qui ont répondu en ligne au questionnaire du Recensement et qui ont été choisies pour participer à l'ENM ont pu remplir le questionnaire de celle-ci en ligne, au même moment. Les autres ménages choisis dans le cadre de l'ENM ont reçu une invitation environ trois ou quatre semaines après le jour du recensement.

Collectivités des Premières Nations, des Inuit et du Nord

Pour le Recensement, on utilise depuis longtemps une stratégie de collecte de données différente au sein des collectivités autochtones et de la plupart des collectivités du NordNote de bas de page 2. Avant 2011, tous les ménages des Premières Nations, des Inuit et des collectivités du Nord étaient dénombrés à l'aide du questionnaire complet de recensement, rempli en personne par les agents recenseursNote de bas de page 3 plutôt que par les personnes elles-mêmes. Cette méthode n'a pas changé en 2011 puisque tous ces ménages ont reçu les deux questionnaires (le Recensement et l'ENM). Les agents recenseurs ont interviewé en personne les membres du ménage afin de remplir le questionnaire obligatoire du Recensement, et leur ont demandé immédiatement après s'ils voulaient participer à l'ENM. Si le répondant acceptait, l'agent recenseur remplissait le questionnaire de l'ENM au même moment.

En revanche, les Autochtones hors réserve ou vivant à l'extérieur des collectivités nordiques ou inuites ont été dénombrés en utilisant le même plan d'échantillonnage que celui pour la population en général. Ainsi, ils ne recevaient le questionnaire complet que s'ils faisaient partie de l'échantillon aléatoire composé de 20 % (2006) ou de 33 % (2011) de la population.

Exemple de changements apportés au Recensement :

En 1981, on dénombrait les populations autochtones du Canada à l'aide d'une seule question qui se fondait sur l'origine ethnique d'une personne. Introduites au fil du temps, quatre concepts et questions distincts sont maintenant utilisés pour identifier les populations autochtones :

  • Origine ethnique (aspect introduit en 1871) — « Quelles étaient les origines ethniques ou culturelles des ancêtres de cette personne? »
  • Auto-identification (depuis 1996) — « Cette personne est-elle un Autochtone, c'est-à-dire d'une Première Nation (Indien de l'Amérique du Nord), un Métis ou un Inuk (Inuit)? »
  • Indien avec statut (depuis 1991) — « Cette personne est-elle un Indien inscrit (Indiens des traités ou Indien inscrit aux termes de la Loi sur les Indiens du Canada?) »
  • Membre d'une Première Nation (depuis 1996) — « Cette personne est-elle membre d'une Première Nation ou d'une bande indienne? »

Ces changements ont amélioré la qualité des données recueillies puisque le questionnaire, au lieu de se baser seulement sur les origines ethnoculturelles, permet aux personnes de s'identifier comme membre d'une Première Nation, comme Inuit ou Métis, de différencier ces personnes de celles qui ont un statut juridique et de reconnaître la diversité des peuples autochtones. Néanmoins, l'intégration et l'utilisation de ces notions ont provoqué une rupture nette entre les nouvelles et les anciennes données. Ainsi, la comparaison des données recueillies lors de divers recensements présentait un certain défi.

Participation

La participation au recensement et à l'ENM peut être mesurée de nombreuses façons, notamment par la participation de la collectivité et par les taux de réponse selon divers niveaux géographiques.

Comme on peut s'attendre avec une enquête obligatoire, le taux de réponse au questionnaire détaillé du recensement de 2006 était élevé (environ 94 %). À l'échelle nationale, on estime qu'environ 2 300 000 ménages ont renvoyé un questionnaire détaillé cette année-là. Dans le cas de l'ENM de 2011, Statistique Canada dit avoir obtenu un taux de réponse de 69 % à l'échelle nationale, un taux plus élevé que celui ciblé de 50 %. Il y a donc environ 3 100 000 ménages qui ont rempli les questionnaires de l'ENM. (voir Tableau 1 : Les différences entre 2006 et 2011 Recensement/l'ENM taux des réponses).

Malgré des taux de participation des ménages élevés pour les deux années (et, en réalité, plus élevés pour l'ENM), il existe une inquiétude quant à la nature volontaire de l'ENM qui pourrait donner un échantillon « non aléatoire biaisé. » Cela signifie que certains segments de la population, avec des caractéristiques socioéconomiques ou démographiques particulières, pourraient être moins portés à compléter l'ENM. Statistique Canada a déjà avancé que les Autochtones pourraient être un segment de la population canadienne moins enclin à participer à l'ENM, selon les expériences passées.

Les données communautaires sont particulièrement importantes pour AADNC puisqu'une grande partie du mandat du Ministère consiste à travailler avec les collectivités des Premières Nations et des Inuit. Statistique Canada utilise le terme subdivision de recensement (SDR) pour parler des municipalités ou des régions équivalentes à des municipalités. Depuis toujours, la présence de réserves indiennes partiellement dénombrées est un enjeu qui entraîne des problèmes quant à l'analyse de la population des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves. Les réserves partiellement dénombrées sont des collectivités des Premières Nations qui ont refusé de participer au recensement ou pour qui le dénombrement a été interrompu. Statistique Canada conserve un dialogue ouvert avec les collectivités des Premières Nations et a développé une relation positive avec la plupart d'entre elles. Le nombre de réserves partiellement dénombrées a considérablement diminué. Il est passé de 136 en 1986, à 22 en 2006, et à 36 en 2011Note de bas de page 4. La qualité de l'ensemble des données s'est donc améliorée, mais ces améliorations constituent de nouveaux défis quand vient le temps de comparer les données dans le temps.

Tableau 1: Les différences entre 2006 et 2011 Recensement/l'ENM taux des réponses
  Questionnaire complet de 2006 L'ENM de 2011
Source : Statistique Canada, Recensement de la population, 2006; Enquête nationale auprès des ménages, 2011.
Nombre de ménages 12,500,000 13,300,000
Échantillon 1 in 5 (20%) 1 in 3 (33%)
Taux de réponse 94% 69%
Questionnaires retournés 2,350,000 3,050,000

Statistique Canada mesure également le taux global de non réponse. Le taux global de non réponse est une mesure combinée du pourcentage de ménages qui ne remplissent pas le questionnaire (non réponse totale) et du nombre moyen de réponses manquantes sur les questionnaires qui sont retournés à Statistique Canada (non réponse partielle). Dans le Recensement de 2006, les données des collectivités ayant un taux global de non réponse de 25 % ou plus n'ont pas été publiées pour des raisons de qualité. Les données sur les collectivités comptant moins de 40 personnes ont été supprimées pour des raisons de confidentialité. Compte tenu de ce traitement et des réserves partiellement dénombrées, des données de recensement complètes et détaillées sur 575 (de 609) réserves étaient disponibles en 2006, ainsi que sur les 50 collectivités inuites de 40 personnes ou plus.

Dans le cadre de l'ENM de 2011, Statistique Canada a établi le seuil du taux global de non réponse à 50 % en ce qui concerne les collectivités pour lesquelles les données ne seraient pas publiées pour des raisons de qualité. Comme en 2006, les données sur toute collectivité comptant moins de 40 personnes sont supprimées pour des raisons de confidentialité. Compte tenu de ce traitement et des réserves partiellement dénombrées, Statistique Canada publiera des données sur 573 collectivités situées dans des réserves et 46 collectivités inuites en 2011.

En fonction de ces critères, les données sur les collectivités tirées du Recensement de 2006 et de l'ENM de 2011 font ressortir des divergences bien distinctes dans les pourcentages de réponse selon le type de collectivité. C'était à prévoir, étant donné les différentes stratégies d'échantillonnage utilisées dans les réserves et dans les collectivités inuites et dans la plupart des collectivités du Nord, en plus du passage à l'ENM à participation volontaire. La figure 1 montre la proportion de la population des réserves, de collectivités inuites et d'autrescollectivités canadiennes pour laquelle, en 2006 et en 2011, Statistique Canada a publié des données au niveau des SDR. Les chiffres pour ces deux années ne sont pas directement comparables en ce qui a trait à la qualité des données, étant donné qu'ils sont fondés sur différentes limites de suppression. Ces chiffres servent cependant à illustrer la proportion des collectivités qui satisfaisaient aux critères de publication pour le Recensement de 2006 et l'ENM de 2011 respectivement, et pour lesquelles les données communautaires sont facilement accessibles.

Quant au Recensement de 2006, les données sur les collectivités dans les réserves étaient davantage supprimées que ne l'étaient les données sur les collectivités inuites ou autres. En fait, en 2006, les données sur chacune des 50 collectivités inuites (100 %) et presque toutes les autres collectivités (99 %) étaient accessibles. Pour ce qui est de 2011, Statistique Canada a publié les données d'une bien plus importante proportion de collectivités dans les réserves. Non seulement la proportion de collectivités a-t-elle augmenté par rapport aux chiffres de 2006, mais les collectivités dans les réserves, en 2011, comptaient la plus grande proportion de collectivités avec des données accessibles au niveau des SDR. Les chiffres relatifs aux Inuit étaient semblables, bien qu'ils aient un peu diminué, passant à 92 % (soit 46 des 50 collectivités). Toutefois, les chiffres sur les autres collectivités avaient diminué d'un moins un quart par rapport aux données de 2006.

Les Autochtones vivant hors réserve ou à l'extérieur de la plupart des collectivités du Nord ou des Inuit faisaient partie de l'échantillon de la population générale. Ce qui veut dire qu'il y avait une chance sur trois que leur ménage soit sélectionné pour participer à l'ENM. En ce qui a trait aux Autochtones vivant dans des grandes régions urbaines (ou des régions métropolitaines de recensement), Statistique Canada a axé ses efforts de collecte dans ces régions afin d'assurer une bonne participation de la part des villes canadiennes. Quoi qu'il en soit, les populations autochtones ont tendance à constituer une proportion relativement petite dans ces régions. Les données de ces régions doivent être interprétées avec circonspection, surtout lorsqu'on analyse les villes respectives. L'analyse de la qualité des données de l'ENM sur les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain et vivant dans des réserves sera un processus continu, ce qui signifie que plus de temps sera requis pour compléter l'évaluation de qualité.

Figure 1 : Données communautaires publiées par Statistique CanadaFigure 1 note , Recensement de 2006 et ENM de 2011

Figure 1 : Données communautaires publiées par Statistique Canada†, Recensement de 2006 et ENM de 2011

Note pour figure 1 :

Figure 1, note 1 :

Présenté comme la proportion de collectivités avec une population d'au moins 40 personnes, selon le type de collectivité. Remarque : le mot « réserves » est utilisé au sens de « réserves indiennes » selon la définition de Statistique Canada pour chaque année de recensement. Les données publiées sont aussi fondées sur les critères de suppression établis pour une année donnée (p. ex. un taux global de non-réponse d'au moins 25 % en 2006 et un taux global de non-réponse d'au moins 50 % en 2011).

Retour à la référence de la note pour figure 1

Source : Statistique Canada, Recensement de la population, 2006; Enquête nationale auprès des ménages, 2011.


Voir la version texte de ce graphique

Ce graphique à bandes compare les pourcentages de collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves, de collectivités inuites et d'autres collectivités canadiennes ayant participé au Recensement de 2006 et à l'Enquête auprès des ménages de 2011.

Voici les pourcentages obtenus :

  • Environ 89 % de toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves ont participé au Recensement de 2006.
  • Environ 93 % de toutes les collectivités des Premières Nations vivant dans les réserves ont participé à l'Enquête auprès des ménages de 2011.
  • Environ 100 % de toutes les collectivités inuites ont participé au Recensement de 2006.
  • Environ 91 % de toutes les collectivités inuites ont participé à l'Enquête auprès des ménages de 2011.
  • Environ 99 % de toutes les autres collectivités canadiennes ont participé au Recensement de 2006.
  • Environ 72 % de toutes les autres collectivités canadiennes ont participé à l'Enquête auprès des ménages de 2011.

Conclusion

Le recensement n'a jamais été un outil de collecte de données statique. Différents facteurs peuvent avoir un effet sur la couverture, la qualité et la comparabilité des données d'un recensement d'une année à l'autre. Malgré ces changements, le recensement demeure la source nationale de données la plus fiable et la plus complète pour les populations et les collectivités autochtones au Canada.

L'ENM est le sondage volontaire le plus important effectué par Statistique Canada. Les taux de réponse ont été plus élevés que prévu, mais il existait un écart d'une collectivité à une autre. Les modifications apportées à l'ENM représentent un changement majeur par rapport à la façon dont était mené un recensement auparavant, mais elles sont vues comme un des nombreux changements périodiques dont le Programme de recensement a fait l'objet.

À propos de l'auteur

La présente note de recherche a été préparée par Christopher Penney de la Direction de la recherche stratégique, avec la collaboration de la Direction de la statistique et de la mesure d'AADNC ainsi que de Statistique Canada.

À propos de nous

La Direction de la recherche stratégique a pour mandat d'appuyer le gouvernement fédéral dans l'élaboration des politiques en ce qui concerne les Premières Nations, les Métis, les Inuit et les résidants du Nord du Canada. Elle s'en acquitte dans le cadre d'un programme de développement d'enquêtes, de recherches stratégiques et de transfert du savoir.

La série des notes de recherche de la Direction de la recherche stratégique est disponible en format électronique sur le site web du Ministère des Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada, ainsi que pour la communauté fédérale sur GCPedia. Les copies imprimées sont disponibles seulement par demande spéciale.

Les points de vue exprimés dans le présent rapport sont uniquement ceux de l'auteur et ne sont pas nécessairement partagés par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada.

Pour obtenir plus d'informations, veuillez contacter : research-recherche@aadnc-aandc.gc.ca

Directeur, recherche stratégique : Eric Guimond
Rédacteur en chef, série de recherche : Marc Fonda
Gestionnaire de production, série de recherche : Daniel Jetté

Notes de bas de page :

Note de bas de page 1

Le questionnaire abrégé de 2011 était semblable au questionnaire abrégé du Recensement de 2006. On y a ajouté seulement trois questions sur la langue, qui étaient auparavant dans le questionnaire complet.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Yellowknife et Whitehorse ont été dénombrées à l'aide de la stratégie de collecte générale.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

L'agent recenseur est un employé de Statistique Canada qui effectue une entrevue en personne auprès du répondant du ménage et qui consigne les réponses.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Treize de ces réserves ont été partiellement dénombrées en raison de situations d'urgence comme des incendies de forêt et non en raison d'un refus de participer. Le nombre de réserves qui ont refusé de participer était de 23.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4