Giant Mine Remediation Project Team

The Giant Mine Remediation Project is co-managed by the governments of Canada and the Northwest Territories.

Who is involved in the Giant Mine Remediation Project?

The governments of Canada and the Northwest Territories are co-proponents of the Project. The Project's focus is managing the arsenic trioxide waste and remediating the entire site. Canada is responsible for the overall site cleanup and the underground, but the territory still owns the surface. Both governments work together to prepare for the remediation.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) is Canada's lead on the Project. Environment and Natural Resources (ENR) represent the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT). Public Service and Procurement Canada also plays an important role, providing contract and project management support services to the team.

In 2005, INAC and the GNWT signed a 10-year Cooperation Agreement. INAC and the GNWT renewed the Agreement  in 2015. It will last for another 10 years. This Agreement outlines how both governments will share the costs of remediation at Giant Mine, and guides how they will co-manage the Project.

Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)

INAC became the caretaker for the site in 1999. At that time, the site's last owner, Royal Oaks Mine, went into receivership. This meant Canada became responsible for the arsenic trioxide stored underground and for cleaning up the site.

INAC is responsible for other sites in addition to Giant Mine. INAC also manages contaminated sites on reserve lands all over Canada, as well as on other federal lands for which it has custodial responsibility. Along with Giant Mine, INAC has a large portfolio of federal contaminated sites throughout Canada's North. This includes several sites with major environmental concerns like the former Faro and Giant Mines. It also includes hundreds of smaller sites. You can find out more about other INAC-managed sites in the Northwest Territories here.

The Giant Mine Remediation Project Team focuses on:

The Project team consists of staff with a broad base of relevant technical expertise. This includes specialists in:

Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT)

The Giant Mine site is on land held by the Commissioner of the Northwest Territories. The GNWT, Department of Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA), administers Commissioner's Land. Even after devolution, the Giant Mine Remediation Project stayed INAC's responsibility. Once cleaned up, INAC will remain responsible for areas of the site used to maintain the and the water treatment plant.

Environment and Natural Resources (ENR) is the lead GNWT department on the Project team, and will continue to be as the remediation plan goes forward. It coordinates the involvement of other GNWT departments in the Project. ENR participated in developing the Giant Mine's remediation plan.

Other GNWT departments play a role in specific aspects of the Project. They have supplied specialized knowledge and expertise on the regulatory aspects of the Project, as well as the Project engagement. This includes the departments of:

Public Service and Procurement Canada (PSPC)

PSPC provides services to help other federal agencies, including the Giant Mine Remediation Project. PSPC provides:

Teams in Yellowknife and Edmonton provide these services, with additional resources available from other areas. Although not a Project proponent, PSPC plays an active role. Specific examples of PSCP's contributions to the project include:

Other federal government departments' participation

The Project team worked with other federal departments to develop the remediation plan. INAC sought expert advice on assessing the site and risk, evaluating remedial options, and managing risks at site from:

How do I contact the Project team?

You can reach the Giant Mine Remediation Project team by:

A staff member will be happy to direct your inquiry to the appropriate member of the Project team. You can also reach individual members of the Project team by using the GCDirectory.

For all media requests, please contact our communications officer.

Date modified:

Équipe du Projet d’assainissement de la mine Giant

Le Projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant est géré conjointement par les gouvernements du Canada et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Qui participe au Projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant?

Les gouvernements du Canada et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest sont les co­promoteurs du projet, lequel vise à gérer les déchets de trioxyde de diarsenic et à assainir l'intégralité du site. Le Canada est responsable de l'ensemble du nettoyage du site et du sous-sol, mais le territoire demeure propriétaire des zones en surface. Les deux gouvernements collaborent à la préparation des travaux d'assainissement.

Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC, anciennement AADNC) est le ministère responsable du projet pour le Canada. Environnement et Ressources naturelles (ERN) représente le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (GTNO). Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (anciennement TPSGC) joue également un rôle important, en attribuant les contrats et en offrant à l'équipe des services de soutien pour la gestion du projet.

En 2005, AADNC et le GTNO ont signé une entente de coopération décennale, qu'ils ont renouvelée en  2015 pour une autre période de dix ans. Cette entente décrit la façon dont les deux gouvernements partageront les coûts d'assainissement de la mine Giant, et dont ils cogéreront le projet.

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC)

On a chargé AADNC de s'occuper du site en 1999. À ce moment-là, l'ancien propriétaire de la mine, à savoir la société Royal Oaks Mine, a été mise sous séquestre. Cela signifiait que le Canada devenait responsable du trioxyde de diarsenic stocké en sous-sol et du nettoyage du site.

AANC est responsable d'autres sites en plus de la mine Giant. Le Ministère gère aussi des sites contaminés sur les terres de réserves partout au Canada, mais aussi sur d'autres terres fédérales dont il a la responsabilité. Parallèlement à la mine Giant, AANC gère un vaste portefeuille de sites fédéraux contaminés dans tout le Nord canadien. Cela inclut plusieurs sites suscitant de graves préoccupations environnementales, comme les anciennes mines Faro et Giant, ainsi que des centaines de sites plus petits. Pour en savoir plus sur les autres sites gérés par AANC dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, cliquez ici.

Le Projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant porte sur :

L'équipe du projet est composée d'employés qui possèdent l'expertise technique nécessaire dans divers domaines, à savoir :

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (GTNO)

Le site de la mine Giant se trouve sur des terres appartenant au commissaire des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. C'est le ministère des Affaires municipales et communautaires du GTNO qui administre ces terres. Même après la cession, le Projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant est demeuré sous la responsabilité d'AADNC. Au terme du nettoyage, AANC demeurera responsable des secteurs du site où l'on utilise la   et de l'usine de traitement des eaux.

Environnement et Ressources naturelles (ERN), qui est le ministère responsable du GTNO représenté au sein de l'équipe du projet, conservera ce rôle à mesure que le plan d'assainissement sera mis en œuvre. Il coordonne la participation au projet des autres ministères du GTNO. ERN a participé à l'élaboration du plan d'assainissement.

Les ministères suivants du GTNO, qui jouent un rôle précis dans le cadre du projet, ont partagé leurs connaissances et leur expertise pour répondre aux besoins du projet en matière de réglementation et de mobilisation :

Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC)

SPAC (anciennement TPSGC) offre les services suivants destinés à aider les autres organismes fédéraux, notamment dans le cadre du Projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant :

Les équipes de Yellowknife et d'Edmonton offrent ces services, et disposent de ressources supplémentaires fournies par d'autres secteurs. Même si TPSGC n'était pas le promoteur du projet, le Ministère joue un rôle actif. Voici quelques exemples concrets de sa contribution :

Participation d'autres ministères fédéraux

L'équipe du projet a travaillé avec d'autres ministères fédéraux pour élaborer le plan d'assainissement. AANC a sollicité les conseils d'experts des ministères suivants pour évaluer le site et les risques, ainsi que les options d'assainissement, et gérer les risques sur place :

Comment contacter l'équipe du projet?

Vous pouvez joindre l'équipe du Projet d'assainissement de la mine Giant :

Un membre du personnel se fera un plaisir de transmettre votre demande de renseignements au membre approprié de l'équipe du projet. Vous pouvez aussi joindre les membres de l'équipe individuellement, en consultant l'annuaire du gouvernement du Canada.

Veuillez adresser toutes les demandes des médias à notre agent des communications.

Date de modification :