Summaries of Pre-1975 Treaties

Map of pre-1975 Treaties of Canada
Pre-1975 Treaties of Canada
Credit: AANDC

Since the first meetings between First Nation peoples, European explorers and colonisers in North America, a relationship was created between these two groups based on diplomatic traditions and protocols. This relationship is demonstrated by the various treaties made between Europeans and First Nation peoples.

These treaties, negotiated and concluded between the Crown and many of Canada's First Nations, are foundational documents in the history of Canada. They established peaceful relations during times of colonial war, helped stimulate prosperous economic and commercial trade relations, and allowed for the organised expansion of Canada. Without these treaties, Canada would likely not be as we know it today.

Read the History of Treaty-Making in Canada.

Treaties of Peace and Neutrality (1701-1760)

As the British and the French struggled for control of North America, they transformed their respective commercial partnerships with First Nations into vital military alliances that brought much needed support to both camps and in some cases concluded the earliest treaties such as the 1701 Albany Deed. At the end of the Seven Years’ War, the British military commanders concluded two treaties in 1760: the Treaty of Swegatchy, with the main group of Aboriginal French allies, and the Huron-British Treaty, with the Huron-Wendat of Lorette. These two treaties marked a period of neutrality for France's former Aboriginal allies in exchange for continued access to traditional territories for the Algonquins, the protection of First Nation village sites, the right to trade with the British and the protection of traditional practices for the Huron.

Read more about Treaties of Peace and Neutrality (1760).

Peace and Friendship Treaties (1725-1779)

Between 1725 and 1779, the British authorities in Nova Scotia undertook the signing of a series of treaties with the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet peoples of the Maritimes. Allies of France in Acadia for over a century, the Mi'kmaq and Maliseet were often called to arms and defended themselves against British military and colonists during the numerous conflicts between France and Great Britain.

Read more about Peace and Friendship Treaties (1725-1779).

Upper Canada Land Surrenders and the Williams Treaties (1781-1862/1923)

In the Great Lakes region, more than 30 land cessions were negotiated by agents of the Indian Department and Aboriginal peoples between 1764 and 1862. These land surrenders, mostly one time cash payments with no or few ongoing obligations, permitted the development of southern and eastern Ontario.

In 1916, a Commission of inquiry jointly created by Ontario and Canada proposed that a new treaty be negotiated in the region between Georgian Bay, the Ottawa River, Lake Simcoe and the lands west of the Bay of Quinte. The 1923 Williams Treaties, taking its name for the head of the Royal Commission, ceded all lands in the region to the Crown for a fixed one time cash payment.

Read more on the Upper Canada Land Surrenders and the Williams Treaties.

Robinson Treaties and Douglas Treaties (1850-1854)

In 1850, William Robinson negotiated two treaties with the Aboriginal inhabitants, mainly Ojibwa, of the northern Great Lakes region. One treaty covered the area of the north shore of Lake Superior (Robinson-Superior Treaty), while the other covered the Lake Huron and Georgian Bay areas (Robinson-Huron Treaty). These two treaties are quite different from those negotiated in the southern part of the province as the Robinson treaties promised the creation of reserves, annuities and the continued right to hunt and fish on unoccupied lands.

In the same year, James Douglas, Chief Factor and later governor of the Hudson Bay Company colony on Vancouver Island, undertook the negotiation of the first of fourteen treaties with certain Island First Nations. These treaties, negotiated between 1850 and 1854, surrendered lands near Hudson Bay Company posts and in Victoria in exchange for the continued right to hunt and fish, reserve lands and a one-time payment.

Read more on the Robinson Treaties and Douglas Treaties.

The Numbered Treaties (1871-1921)

With the purchase of the Rupert's Land charter from the Hudson's Bay Company in 1869 and the creation of the Province of Manitoba in 1870, the Dominion of Canada undertook the conclusion of a series of treaties between 1871 and 1921 so as to secure Aboriginal title in the Northwest. Modelled on the 1850 Robinson Treaties, eleven treaties were negotiated to encompass all of the Prairies, northern Ontario and the Peace River and Mackenzie River valleys.

The Numbered Treaties are largely responsible for the agricultural and settlement expansion across the Canadian Prairies, the construction of the transcontinental railway and the affirmation of Canadian sovereignty throughout the Northwest Territories.

Read more about The Numbered Treaties.

Sommaires des traités pré-1975

L'image d'une carte des traités pré-1975 du Canada
Traités pré-1975 au Canada
Crédit : AADNC

Depuis les premiers contacts entre les explorateurs et les colonisateurs européens et les peuple autochtone de l'Amérique du Nord, la relation entre ces groupes a été créée grâce à des protocoles et traditions diplomatiques. Cette relation se déclare par des traités et des accords entre Autochtone et Européen.

Les traités négociés et conclus entre la Couronne et plusieurs des Premières nations au Canada constituent des événements fondateurs de l'histoire du pays et de son évolution car ils ont établi des relations de paix en période de guerre coloniale, donné naissance à un commerce prospère et rendu possible l'expansion du Canada. Sans ces traités, le Canada, tel que nous le connaissons aujourd'hui, serait très différent.

Apprenez-en davantage sur l'histoire des traités au Canada

Traités de paix et de neutralité (1701-1760)

Dans la luttes entre les Britanniques et les Français pour le terres de l'Amérique du Nord, les Européens ont transformé leurs alliances commerciales en alliances militaires cruciales qui ont fourni aux deux camps un soutien vital et en certains cas on conclus des traités, tel que l'accord d'Albany de 1701. À la fin de la Guerre de Sept ans, les commandants militaires britanniques ont conclues deux traités en 1760 : un, le traité de Swegatchy, avec la grande partie des alliés autochtones des Français, et l'autre, le traité Huron-britannique avec les Hurons de Lorette. Ces deux traités ont mis fin à la participation des alliés autochtones des Français au conflit en échange de droits de chasse et de pêche, la protection du territoire traditionnel des Algonquins, le droit de commerce et le maintien des pratiques traditionnelles des Hurons.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les Traités de paix et de neutralité (1760).

Traités de paix et d'amitié (1725-1779)

De 1725 et 1779, l'autorité britannique en Nouvelle-Écosse a signé une série de traités avec les Mi'kmaq et les Maliseet dans les Maritimes. Alliés des Français en Acadie de longue date, les Mi'kmaq et les Maliseet ont souvent porté les armes pour se défendre contres les forces militaires et les colons britanniques dans la colonie durant les différents conflits entre la France et le Royaume-Uni.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les Traités de paix et d'amitié (1725-1779).

Cessions de terres du Haut-Canada et les traités Williams (1764-1862/1923)

Dans la région des Grands Lacs, plus d'une trentaine de cessions de terre ont été négociés par les agents du Département des Indiens avec les habitants amérindiens des Grands Lacs de 1764 à 1862. Ces cessions, surtout des ventes directe du titre pour une somme fixe d'argents ou de biens, ont permis le développement du sud et de l'est ontarien.

En 1916, une commission d'enquête Ontario-Canada a proposé qu'un nouveau traité soit conclue dans la région entre la baie Géorgienne et la rivière des Outaouais au nord du lac Simcoe ainsi que les terres à l'ouest de la baie de Quinte. Les traités Williams de 1923, prenant le nom du commissaire, ont cédés ce territoire pour une somme d'argent fixe à l'autorité du Canada et de la province de l'Ontario.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les Cessions de terres du Haut-Canada et les traités Williams.

Les Traités Robinson et les traités Douglas (1850-1854)

En 1850, William Robinson a négocié deux traités avec les habitants autochtones, surtout des Ojibwa, un pour ceux du lac Supérieur et l'autre pour ceux du lac Huron. Ces traités sont différent des cessions du sud de la province en vertu des clauses assurant la réserve de terres pour les signataires, la conservation des droits de chasse et pêche sur les terres inoccupées et le paiement d'annuité en perpétuité.

Dans la même année, le facteur en chef de la Compagnie de la baie d'Hudson et plus tard gouverneur de la colonie de l'île de Vancouver, James Douglas, a entrepris le premier de quatorze traités avec certaines Premières Nations de l'île. Ces traités, le dernier signé en 1854, assurait la cession de terre près des postes de la Compagnie et de Victoria en échange du maintien des droits de chasse et pêche, une réserve et une somme fixe.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les traités Robinson et les traités Douglas.

Les Traités numérotés (1871-1921)

Avec l'acquisition de la terre de Rupert de la Compagnie de la baie d'Hudson et de la création de la province du Manitoba, le Dominion du Canada a entrepris la signature d'une série de traités entre 1871 et 1921 à fin d'éliminer le titre foncier autochtone dans l'ouest. Modeler sur les traités Robinson, onze traités ont été conclus couvrant toute la zone des prairies, les vallées de la rivière de la Paix et de la rivière Mackenzie, et le nord de l'Ontario.

Les Traités numérotés ont permis à l'expansion de colonisation agricole de l'ouest Canadien, la construction du chemin de fer transcanadien, et la confirmation de l'autorité du Dominion sur les Territoires du Nord-ouest.

Apprenez-en davantage sur les traités numérotés.