ARCHIVED - Engagement Process on First Nation Elementary and Secondary Education 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview

On June 21, 2011, the Government of Canada, in collaboration with the Assembly of First Nations, launched an engagement process on First Nation Elementary and Secondary Education. A National Panel was appointed to engage with First Nation leaders, parents, students, elders, teachers, provinces and all those with an interest in providing input on how to enhance the education system and outcomes of First Nation students. The Panel will be submitting a report, with recommendations, to the Minister and National Chief by the end of the 2011 calendar year.

This engagement process is central to the Government's commitment to long-term reform of First Nation education, centred on three pillars: results-based accountability; partnerships; and, provincial comparability.

Process

The National Panel has been tasked with leading an engagement process on the development of options, including legislation, to improve elementary and secondary education outcomes for First Nation children who live on reserve. The National Panel will be engaging with:

The engagement process is designed to allow for wide coverage and to ensure that anyone with an interest and a view is able to have their say.

Status

Closed.

What information is available?

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Processus de mobilisation sur l'éducation primaire et secondaire des Premières Nations 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu

Le 21 juin 2011, le gouvernement du Canada, en collaboration avec l'Assemblée des Premières Nations, a lancé un processus de mobilisation sur l'éducation primaire et secondaire des Premières Nations. On a formé un Panel national chargé de discuter avec les dirigeants des Premières Nations, les parents, les élèves, les aînés, les enseignants, les représentants provinciaux ainsi que tous les autres intervenants qui souhaitent apporter une contribution de qualité aux discussions entourant l'amélioration du système scolaire et des résultats des élèves des Premières Nations. Le Panel présentera un rapport contenant des recommandations au ministre et au chef national d'ici la fin de l'année civile 2011.

Ce processus de mobilisation est au cœur de l'engagement du gouvernement qui vise à entreprendre une réforme de l'éducation des Premières Nations à long terme en fonction de trois piliers : la reddition de comptes axée sur les résultats; les partenariats; et la comparabilité avec les provinces.

Processus

Le Panel national a été mandaté pour diriger un processus de mobilisation visant à trouver des options, y compris l'élaboration de textes législatifs, afin d'améliorer les résultats scolaires des enfants des Premières Nations qui fréquentent des écoles primaires et secondaires dans les réserves. Le Panel national fera participer :

Le processus de mobilisation a été conçu pour avoir une portée vaste et permettre à tous ceux qui démontrent de l'intérêt et qui ont une opinion de s'exprimer.

État

Terminé.

Renseignements

Date de modification :