Robinson Treaties and Douglas Treaties (1850-1854)

The Robinson-Superior and Robinson-Huron Treaties (1850)

Prior to the 1850s, the majority of treaty making in what is now Ontario focused exclusively on the lands of the Southern Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River as the primary driver was opening new lands for agricultural settlement. As the colony developed, new interest and industries began to develop requiring new resources. The lands of the Upper Great Lakes began drawing the attention of those seeking those resources. Beginning in the 1840s, mining companies sent prospectors and surveyors into the unceded Aboriginal lands bordering on Lake Huron and Lake Superior to identify possible deposits. They applied and acquired licenses from the colonial government to mine in the region regardless of the lack of treaty surrendering the lands.

The Abishnawbe of the Upper Great Lakes had grave concerns with this practice as they firmly believed the colony had no rights to the lands. In 1847, they petitioned the Governor General requesting compensation for the lands they had lost to mining. An 1848 investigation into their complaints resulted in a recommendation to undertake treaty negotiations for the lands of the Lakes Superior and Huron watershed. Colonial officials moved quickly to address the claim after a violent clash erupted between the First Nations warriors and miners at Batchawana Bay in 1849. After an expedition by Indian agents Vidal and Anderson throughout the area to inform the Abishnawbe of the upcoming treaty negotiations over the summer of 1849, a treaty meeting was scheduled for late summer 1850.

The Executive Council instructed William Benjamin Robinson, former fur trader in the Muskokas and member of the colonial legislature, to negotiate a treaty. Robinson was issued a budget of £7,500 to buy as much land as possible. The Council expected Robinson to obtain the rights to a considerable amount of land in the upper lakes watershed and to settle for no less than "the north shore of Lake Huron and the mining sites along the eastern shore of Lake Superior." During the spring of 1850, Robinson made an exploratory trip through the proposed surrender lands around Lakes Huron and Superior. Robinson returned to the upper lakes in late August 1850 to negotiate a treaty. He visited the various Aboriginal communities in the Sault Ste. Marie area where representatives of nations living along the north shores of Lakes Superior and Huron had gathered. Treaty discussions began on September 4th at the Hudson's Bay Company's warehouse in Sault Ste. Marie. Robinson told the gathered Aboriginal leaders that he was prepared to offer a onetime payment of £4,000 and a £1,000 per annum thereafter for the territory around the lakes. The leaders of Aboriginal nations living north of Lake Superior agreed to these terms. However, those living around Lake Huron requested a £10 per person annuity and also a large reserve tract. Robinson said that he could not agree to those terms.

Since the Lake Huron nations could not be persuaded to change their position, Robinson negotiated a separate treaty with the Lake Superior nations. The surrender included land along the north shore of Lake Superior, from Batchawana Bay west to Pigeon River and north to the height of the land, in consideration of a one-time payment of £2 000 and a £500 annum. The region's Aboriginal inhabitants retained hunting and fishing rights in the territory until the lands were taken up for development or settlement and the lands would be set aside for each group as a reserve. The Lake Superior chiefs agreed to the terms and the Robinson-Superior Treaty was signed on September 7th.

Robinson leveraged the fact that he had negotiated a treaty with the Lake Superior nations reopen negotiations with the Lake Huron nations. Robinson told the Lake Huron leaders that he would give the money he offered, a one-time payment of £2,000 and a £600 annum, to those nations that signed a treaty while he would leave the other nations empty-handed. On September 9th, the Lake Huron Aboriginal leaders acquiesced and a second treaty, now referred to as the Robinson-Huron Treaty, was signed at Sault Ste. Marie by the Ojibwa Chiefs inhabiting the shore of Batchawan Bay on Lake Superior and the Canadian shores of Lake Huron. The surrender covered land along the shore of Lake Superior between Batchawana Bay and Sault Ste. Marie and the Lake Huron shore between Sault Ste. Marie and Penetanguishene, back from the lakeshore to the height of the land. Like the Superior treaty, the Aboriginal peoples involved in the Huron treaty retained hunting and fishing rights in the territory until lands were taken up for development or settlement, and lands would be set aside for each group as a reserve.

While Robinson stated in his report that the Superior and Huron treaties were "based on the same conditions as all preceding ones", in reality they are rather different. The Robinson treaties differ in content from preceding land cessions in Upper Canada. Instead of negotiating for relatively small and compact parcels of land, the 1850 agreements surrender huge tracks of land with different and disparate groups. Also, the Robinson Treaties changed the way annuity monies, obligatory yearly payments, were issued with payments in cash going to individual band members instead of yearly lump sums paid to the band in either goods or cash payments. As had become the practice in the land cessions in Upper Canada since the 1820s, these two treaties formalised the setting aside of reserve lands for each individual signing group, although it does not clearly indicate the size of the reserve lands. Finally, the Robinson Superior and Huron Treaties maintain an ongoing right to hunt and fish throughout the treaty territory so long as those lands are not "taken up" – set aside for mining and resource development, or for settlement. While some earlier Upper Canada Land Surrender treaties did include some of these elements, the Robinson treaties were the first to bundle them all together. This model was deemed to be so effective that the Robinson treaties became the model for subsequent treaties conducted in the post-Confederation period.

Douglas Treaties (1850-1854)

In 1821, the Hudson Bay Company (HBC) received an exclusive licence to trade with Aboriginal peoples living in all unsettled parts of British North America. This licence was in addition to the ancient charter that granted the Company the exclusive trade monopoly throughout Rupert's Land, the Hudson's Bay watershed. The license was renewed for another 21 years in 1838, at which time the British government chose to be more specific about the territory in which the HBC was allowed to trade: the renewed licence granted the HBC a monopoly on trade in all lands west of Rupert's Land, including in the Columbia Department, which included much of present-day British Columbia, and the states of Washington, Oregon, and Idaho. The specificity of the licence was intended to strengthen British claims to the disputed region vis-à-vis the United States. As a result of the 1846 Oregon Treaty, which granted all lands south of the 49th parallel to the United States, the HBC was issued a new licence. The 1849 licence offered a description of HBC territory based on the new boundary arrangements between Britain and the United States. The licence required the Company to establish a Crown colony on Vancouver Island as a condition to maintaining its monopoly over the fur trade.

Fort Victoria, established in 1843, became the new capital of the Colony of Vancouver Island. In 1851, Chief Factor of the HBC at Fort Victoria James Douglas was appointed second governor of the colony. During the time of his governorship no matter concerned Douglas more than Indian policy. From 1850-1854, Douglas negotiated a series of fourteen land purchases from the Aboriginal people at Fort Victoria, Fort Rupert, and Nanaimo. Like treaties in Central Canada from the same period, these treaties were simple land transactions between the First Nations of the Island and the British Crown. The treaties included provisions for reserved village sites and protected Aboriginal peoples' right to hunt and fish in the ceded territories. A peaceful relationship between settlers and Aboriginal communities resulted.

Douglas was the primary agent for treaty-making. In negotiating the land purchases, the governor's first priority was to secure lands vital to the future operations of the HBC, which included the development of agriculture and mining in the colony. As Victoria was to be the base of settlement for the new colony, his initial interest was to secure the lands of the south-eastern part of the island between the Haro and Juan de Fuca Straits. Nine agreements were concluded in 1850, one each between the Company and the Songhees, Klallam, and T'souke inhabiting the lands between Cadboro Bay and Sheringham Point. The diversifying commercial interests of the HBC led to the signing of two more agreements in 1851. Negotiated in two parts with the Kwakiutl around Fort Rupert on the northern tip of Vancouver Island, these agreements secured Company access to the coal deposits in the area and prevented further conflict between miners and Aboriginal peoples living on the land containing the deposits.

In 1852, interest in establishing a saw mill on the Saanich Peninsula prompted Douglas to conduct two more treaties to secure HBC control of lands north of Fort Victoria. The South Saanich Treaty was negotiated with a small group of ten Aboriginal signatories living south of Cowichan Head. However, overlapping claims to the northern part of the peninsula made it difficult for Douglas to conclude separate agreements with the individual groups living there. Instead, he concluded one single treaty: the North Saanich Treaty included 117 signatories. As with the 1851 purchases at Fort Rupert, demand for access to the coal beds around the Nanaimo River in 1854 was the impetus for the last land surrender treaty that Douglas negotiated. For that surrender, Douglas met with the Sarlequun people, who had resettled around the HBC post at Nanaimo, to purchase an area twenty by ten miles in size around the river and the coal deposits.

The terms of the fourteen "deeds of conveyance" that Douglas negotiated were almost all identical in nature. Aboriginal signatories relinquished any claim to the lands specified in the treaties in exchange for a payment in goods, continued occupation of reserved lands, and the right to hunt and fish "as formerly" on unoccupied ceded lands. Based upon these agreements, the HBC was responsible for surveying and officially setting aside the villages and cultivated lands of each signatory group. These reserved lands would not be held in fee simple by the Aboriginal people but, similar to the reserved lands in Upper Canada, the title of the land would be vested with the Crown for the exclusive use of their Aboriginal occupants. Compared to the treaties that followed in the Confederation era, the Douglas Treaties were small, covering only 358 square miles of land. They covered only the lands that Douglas anticipated would be needed for settlement and trade. In the decade following the purchase at Nanaimo, treaty-making on Vancouver Island came to a halt. The increased costs of the growing colony made treaty-making an increasingly expensive project.

Date modified:

Les Traités Robinson et les traités Douglas (1850-1854)

Les traités Robinson-Supérieur et Robinson-Huron (1850)

Avant les années 1850, le plus grand nombre de traités conclu qui concernent ce que nous appelons aujourd'hui l'Ontario était axée exclusivement sur les terres du sud des Grands Lacs et le fleuve Saint-Laurent puisque le vecteur principal était l'offre de nouvelles terres pour des collectivités agricoles. Au fur et à mesure que la colonie prenait de l'expansion, de nouveaux intérêts et de nouvelles industries ont commencé à voir le jour, ce qui nécessitait de nouvelles ressources. Les terres du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs ont commencé à attirer l'attention des gens qui étaient à la recherche de ces ressources. À compter des années 1840, des compagnies minières ont envoyé des prospecteurs et des arpenteurs sur les terres autochtones non cédées bordant les lacs Huron et Supérieur afin d'essayer de trouver des dépôts possibles. Elles ont obtenu des permis du gouvernement colonial pour faire de l'exploration minière dans la région, même s'il n'y avait pas de traité portant sur la cession des terres.

Les Abishnawbe des Grands Lacs supérieurs étaient très inquiets par cette pratique puisqu'ils croyaient fermement que la colonie n'avait aucun droit sur ces terres. En 1847, ils ont présenté une pétition au gouverneur général lui demandant de leur verser une indemnité pour les terres qu'ils avaient perdues au profit de l'exploration minière. Une enquête en 1848 relative à leurs plaintes a entraîné une recommandation visant à entreprendre des négociations en vue de l'établissement d'un traité pour les terres des bassins versants des lacs Supérieur et Huron. Les représentants coloniaux se sont dépêchés de procéder au règlement de la revendication à la suite d'un violent conflit qui a éclaté entre les guerriers des Premières Nations et des mineurs de la baie Batchawana en 1849. Après une expédition des agents Vidal et Anderson des Indiens dans toute la région pour informer les Abishnawbe des négociations à venir au cours de l'été de 1849, une rencontre a été planifiée à la fin de l'été 1850.

Le Conseil exécutif a ordonné à William Benjamin Robinson, ancien commerçant de fourrures de Muskoka et membre de la législature coloniale, de négocier un traité. Robinson a reçu un budget de 7 500 £ pour acquérir la plus grande superficie de terres possible. Le Conseil s'attendait à ce que Robinson obtienne les droits sur une grande superficie de terres du bassin versant des lacs Supérieur et Huron et qu'il colonise au moins la rive nord du lac Huron et les sites miniers le long de la côte est du lac Supérieur. Au cours du printemps 1850, Robinson a réalisé un voyage de prospection sur les terres cédées proposées le long des lacs Huron et Supérieur.

Robinson est retourné aux lacs Supérieur et Huron à la fin du mois d'août 1850 pour négocier un traité. Il a visité les différentes collectivités autochtones de la région de Sault Ste. Marie, où s'étaient réunies des représentants des nations vivant sur les rives nord des lacs Supérieur et Huron. Les discussions relatives au traité ont débuté le 4 septembre à l'entrepôt de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson, à Sault Ste. Marie. Robinson a affirmé aux chefs autochtones rassemblés qu'il se préparait à offrir un paiement unique de 4 000 £, puis de 1 000 £ par année, pour le territoire le long des lacs. Les chefs des nations autochtones vivant au nord du lac Supérieur ont accepté ces conditions. Toutefois, celles vivant sur les rives du lac Huron demandaient une annuité de 10 £ par personne ainsi qu'une grande parcelle de réserve. Robinson a répondu qu'il ne pouvait pas accepter ces conditions.

Puisqu'il n'était pas possible de convaincre les nations du lac Huron de changer d'avis, Robinson a négocié un traité distinct avec les nations du lac Supérieur. Les terres cédées incluaient les terres sur la rive nord du lac Supérieur, de la baie Batchawana jusqu'à la rivière Pigeon, et vers le nord jusqu'au coeur des terres, en échange d'un paiement unique de 2 000 £, puis de 500 £ par année. Les habitants autochtones de la région ont conservé leurs droits de chasser et de pêcher sur le territoire jusqu'à ce que les terres soient récupérées pour l'aménagement ou l'établissement de colonies, et des terres devaient servir à constituer des réserves pour chaque groupe. Les chefs du lac Supérieur ont accepté ces conditions, et le Traité Robinson-Supérieur a été signé le 7 septembre.

Robinson a mentionné qu'il avait négocié un traité avec les nations du lac Supérieur pour reprendre les négociations avec les nations du lac Huron. Il a dit aux chefs du lac Huron qu'il offrirait le paiement mentionné, un paiement unique de 2 000 £, puis de 600 £ par année, aux nations qui signeraient un traité, alors que les autres n'auraient rien du tout. Le 9 septembre, les chefs autochtones du lac Huron ont accepté, et un autre traité, appelé Traité Robinson-Huron, a été signé à Sault Ste. Marie par les chefs ojibwas habitant sur les rives de la baie Batchawana au lac Supérieur et les rives du lac Huron en sol canadien. Le territoire cédé comportait les terres sur les rives du lac Supérieur, entre la baie Batchawana et Sault Ste. Marie ainsi que les rives du lac Huron, entre Sault Ste. Marie et Penetanguishene, des rives du lac jusqu'au cœur des terres. Comme pour le traité du lac Supérieur, les Autochtones concernés par le traité du lac Huron conservaient leurs droits de chasser et de pêcher sur le territoire jusqu'à ce que les terres soient récupérées pour l'aménagement ou l'établissement de colonies, et des terres devaient servir à constituer des réserves pour chaque groupe.

Même si Robinson a affirmé dans son compte rendu que les traités des lacs Supérieur et Huron étaient axés sur les mêmes conditions, comme pour tous les traités antérieurs, ils étaient en réalité assez différents. Les traités Robinson diffèrent quant à leur contenu par rapport aux cessions de terres antérieures du Haut-Canada. À la place de négocier des parcelles de terres relativement petites et denses, dans les ententes de 1850, d'énormes parcelles de terres sont cédées en collaboration avec des groupes différents et disparates. En outre, les traités Robinson ont modifié la manière dont les annuités, les paiements annuels obligatoires, étaient versées – on versait maintenant des paiements en argent à tous les membres des bandes au lieu de sommes forfaitaires annuelles versées aux bandes sous la forme de marchandises ou de paiements en argent. Comme c'était devenu la pratique pour les cessions de terres du Haut-Canada depuis les années 1820, ces deux traités ont officialisé la création de terres de réserve pour chaque groupe signataire, même s'ils n'indiquaient pas clairement la taille des terres de réserve. En bout de ligne, les traités Robinson-Supérieur et Robinson-Huron maintenaient le droit permanent de chasse et de pêche sur tout le territoire visé par les traités jusqu'à ce que les terres soient « récupérées » – qu'elles soient utilisées pour l'exploitation minière et le développement des ressources ou encore l'établissement de colonies. Bien que des traités de cession de terres du Haut-Canada contenaient certains de ces éléments, les traités Robinson les réunissait tous pour la première fois. Cette façon de faire était considérée comme étant tellement efficace que les traités Robinson sont devenus un modèle pour les traités ultérieurs conclus pendant la période suivant la création de la Confédération.

Traités Douglas (1850-1854)

En 1821, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson (CBH) a reçu un permis exclusif de commerce avec les Autochtones vivant dans toutes les régions non colonisées de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Ce permis s'ajoutait à l'ancienne charte qui accordait à la Compagnie le monopole du commerce sur toute la Terre de Rupert, le bassin hydrographique de la baie d'Hudson. Le permis a été renouvelé en 1838 pour 21 autres années, au moment où le gouvernement britannique a choisi d'établir avec plus de précision le territoire sur lequel la CBH était autorisée à faire le commerce; le permis renouvelé accordait à la CBH le monopole du commerce sur toutes les terres à l'ouest de la Terre de Rupert, y compris le Département de Colombie, qui incluait la plus grande partie de la Colombie-Britannique actuelle, et les États de Washington, de l'Oregon et de l'Idaho. Le permis visait précisément à renforcer les revendications des Britanniques relativement à la région contestée aux OU contre les États-Unis. À la suite du Traité de l'Oregon de 1846, qui accordait aux États-Unis toutes les terres au sud du 49e parallèle, la CBH a reçu un nouveau permis. Le permis de 1849 décrivait le territoire de la CBH en fonction des nouvelles ententes en matière de frontières entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis – il exigeait que la Compagnie établisse une colonie de la Couronne sur l'île de Vancouver en tant que condition pour maintenir son monopole du commerce des fourrures.

La ville de Fort Victoria, créée en 1843, est devenue la nouvelle capitale de la Colonie de l'île de Vancouver. En 1851, le facteur en chef de la CBH à Fort Victoria, James Douglas, a été nommé second gouverneur de la colonie. Pendant le temps où il a occupé ce poste, rien n'avait plus d'importance pour lui que la politique des affaires indiennes. De 1850 à 1854, James Douglas a négocié 14 acquisitions de terres auprès des Autochtones de Fort Victoria, de Fort Rupert et de Nanaimo. Comme dans le cas des traités du Centre du Canada de la même période, ces traités étaient de simples transactions foncières entre les Premières Nations de l'île et la Couronne britannique. Les traités incluaient des dispositions pour des sites de villages réservés et la protection du droit de chasse et de pêche des Autochtones sur les territoires cédés. Il en est résulté une relation harmonieuse entre les colons et les collectivités autochtones.

Douglas était l'agent principal de l'établissement de traités. Dans la négociation d'acquisitions de terres, la priorité principale du gouverneur était d'obtenir des terres essentielles aux activités futures de la CBH, notamment le développement de l'agriculture et l'exploitation minière dans la colonie. Puisque Victoria devait être la base de la nouvelle colonie, l'intérêt premier de Douglas était d'obtenir des terres au sud-est de l'île, entre les détroits de Haro et de Juan de Fuca. Neuf ententes ont été conclues en 1850, entre la Compagnie et les Songhees, les Klallam et les T'souke habitant sur les terres entre la baie de Cadboro et Sheringham Point. Les intérêts commerciaux diversifiés de la CBH ont permis la conclusion de deux autres ententes en 1851. Négociées en deux parties avec les Kwakiutl dans les environs de Fort Rupert à l'extrémité nord de l'île de Vancouver, ces ententes ont permis à la Compagnie d'avoir accès aux gisements houillers dans la région et ont évité d'éventuels conflits entre des mineurs et des Autochtones vivant sur les terres où se trouvaient ces gisements.

En 1852, l'intérêt en vue de l'établissement d'une scierie dans la péninsule de Saanich a incité James Douglas à conclure deux autres traités pour que la CBH contrôle les terres au nord de Fort Victoria. Le Traité de Saanich Sud a été négocié avec un petit groupe de 10 signataires autochtones vivant au sud de Cowichan-Head. Cependant, le recoupement des revendications relatives à la partie nord de la péninsule a rendu la tâche de Douglas plus ardue; celui-ci voulait conclure des ententes distinctes avec chacun des groupes vivant à cet endroit. Il a plutôt conclu un seul traité : le Traité de Saanich Nord touchait 117 signataires. Comme pour ce qui est des acquisitions à Fort Rupert en 1851, la demande d'accès aux couches de houille le long de la rivière Nanaimo en 1854 était l'incitatif pour le dernier traité concernant la cession de terres qui a été négocié par James Douglas. Pour cette cession, James Douglas a rencontré les Sarlequun, qui s'étaient réinstallés aux alentours du poste de la CBH à Nanaimo, pour faire l'acquisition d'une parcelle de 20 milles par 10 milles près de la rivière et des gisements houillers.

Les conditions des 14 « actes formalistes de transport » négociés par Douglas étaient pratiquement toutes identiques. Les signataires autochtones ont abandonné toutes les revendications territoriales précisées dans les traités en échange d'un paiement en marchandises, de l'occupation permanente des terres de réserve et du droit de chasser et de pêcher « comme anciennement » sur les terres cédées inoccupées. Selon ces ententes, la CBH avait la responsabilité d'arpenter et d'établir officiellement les villages et les terres cultivées de chaque groupe signataire. Ces terres de réserve ne devaient pas être détenues en fief simple par les Autochtones mais, comme pour ce qui est des terres de réserve du Haut-Canada, les titres des terres devaient être attribués à la Couronne pour utilisation exclusive par leurs occupants autochtones. Comparativement aux traités qui ont suivi la création de la Confédération, les parcelles rattachées aux traités Douglas étaient de petite taille, puisque leur superficie ne représentait que 358 milles carrés de terres. Elles contenaient uniquement les terres qui seraient requises selon Douglas pour établir les colonies et pour le commerce. Au cours de la décennie qui a suivi l'acquisition à Nanaimo, la négociation de traités sur l'île de Vancouver a pris fin. Les coûts accrus de la colonie en croissance ont rendu la négociation de traités de plus en plus coûteuse.

Date de modification :