Upper Canada Land Surrenders and the Williams Treaties (1781-1862/1923)

Upper Canada Land Surrenders

After years of conflict in North America between the British and the French, the Treaty of Paris was signed on February 10th 1763. That treaty saw France cede its claim to colonial territories in North America, including Acadia, New France, the interior lands of the Great Lakes and Ohio, and the Mississippi valley, to Britain. Recognizing the limitations of their claims, British administrators like Superintendant of Indian Affairs Sir William Johnson believed that the successful development of Britain's colonies depended on stable and peaceful relations with Aboriginal peoples.

On October 7, 1763, Britain issued a Royal Proclamation to direct how the colonies should be administered. The wide ranging document dealt with the administration of the new provinces of Quebec and Florida, compensated soldiers for their participation in the Seven Years' War, and established a western limit to settlement for the colonies. The Royal Proclamation also stipulated that the new Indian Department would be the primary point of contact between Aboriginal peoples and the colonies and stipulated that only the Crown could purchase Aboriginal lands. This was to stop the widespread encroachment of settlement on Aboriginal land and maintain strong and peaceful relations.

The first land cession under the protocols of the Royal Proclamation was concluded between Sir William Johnson of the Indian Department and the Seneca, a member group of the powerful Six Nations Haudenosaunee Confederacy. In 1764, the Seneca negotiated a treaty with the British that granted the British unimpeded access to two miles on either side of the Niagara River for the purposes of communication and travel between Lake Erie and Lake Ontario. The land cession was only one part of the Niagara Conference, which renewed alliances, restored trade interrupted by the War, and strengthened Britain's presence in the Great Lakes Basin. Three additional land surrenders were concluded between the Department of Indian Affairs and Aboriginal communities between 1764 and 1783. These surrenders covered very small parcels of land and dealt more with security and trade than settlement.

The outbreak of the American War for Independence and the subsequent recognition of the United States of America in 1783 had a severe impact on the relationship between the British Crown and its Aboriginal allies. The loss of the American colonies brought some 30,000 United Empire Loyalist refugees to the remaining British colonies in North America. These refugees called upon colonial administrators to open up new lands for settlement. Settlers were not the only refugees: Aboriginal peoples who had fought alongside the British were also dispossessed by the war. As a response, a series of land surrender treaties were negotiated between Indian Department agents with the various Anishinaabe peoples living along the shores of the St. Lawrence River and the lower Great Lakes. Between 1783 and 1812, fifteen land surrender treaties were concluded in the Upper Canadian peninsula. By preceding the arrival of settlers in the area, the land surrenders peacefully established an agricultural colony in the region and helped the Crown compensate its Aboriginal allies for losses incurred during the war with the Americans. The terms of the treaties negotiated in Upper Canada were relatively simple. The documents described the groups involved in the surrender, the extent of the lands surrendered, and what Aboriginals were to receive in compensation. Before 1818, Aboriginals were compensated with one-time payments in goods or money or both, paid to the signatories at the time of the treaty. These treaties did not always establish reserved lands for Aboriginals to live on.

In the period following the War of 1812, European immigrants came in increasingly large numbers to Upper Canada to join the earlier loyalist settlers. With the establishment of a lasting peace between Britain and the United States, Aboriginal peoples began to lose the influence they once held over British officials, and as more immigrants arrived, the pace of land surrenders increased to provide settlers with land for farming. The treaties conducted between 1815 and 1860 covered all the remaining lands of Upper Canada, from the productive agricultural lands south of Lake Huron to the resource-rich lands around Lake Superior and Georgian Bay.

As new British policies focused on ideas of transforming Aboriginal people to a new way of life, Indian agents shifted their roles from solidifying military alliances with Aboriginal nations towards encouraging Aboriginal peoples to abandon their traditional ways of life and to adopt a more agricultural and sedentary lifestyle. In the colonies of Upper and Lower Canada, the Indian Department became the vehicle for the expression of the new plan of "civilisation". After 1818, British administrators opted for a yearly payment, or annuity, in an effort to reduce the initial expense of treaty-making. Annuities could be funded by revenue earned from the sale of the surrendered lands. Annuity monies were used by the Indian Department to build agricultural communities on which they intended to settle Aboriginal peoples. The annuity money funded home construction and purchased agricultural implements and livestock.

By the 1830s, there were only a few pockets of unsurrendered First Nation lands in Upper Canada. In 1836, a treaty concluded by Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada Sir Francis Bond Head established Manitoulin Island in Georgian Bay as a reserve for the dispossessed First Nations population. This landless population was to be encouraged to relocate to the island where they would be removed and protected from the more harmful aspects of colonial society, specifically alcohol and prostitution. Few First Nation groups, however, did relocate to Manitoulin Island.

As more lands were taken up by settlers, new interest in a surrender of the Saugeen (today know as the Bruce) Peninsula and Manitoulin Island developed during the 1850s and 1860s. Throughout the 1850s, several attempts were made by the Indian Department to secure the sale of these lands, which finally culminated with the Saugeen Treaty of 1854, and in 1862, another treaty surrendering the majority of Manitoulin Island. By the time Confederation of the new Dominion of Canada was established in 1867, nearly the entire land mass of the Province of Ontario at the time was ceded by a treaty.

Williams Treaties (1923)

Between 1764 and 1862, colonial officials, in an attempt to secure a continuous band of settlement along the St. Lawrence River and along the Lower Great Lakes, negotiated a number of land surrender treaties with the Aboriginal groups of the region. When Confederation was declared in 1867, it was widely held that these lands in the Province of Ontario were all legally surrendered to the Crown through treaties. By the 1910s, however, concerns were being raised that some of the treaties were problematic and that not all the lands of Central Ontario were covered by a treaty.

In fact, throughout the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the Chippewa of the Lake Simcoe region and the Mississauga of the north shore of Lake Ontario had complained that some of the treaties concluded during the colonial period were highly problematic with faulty descriptions, incomplete documents and failed payments. Furthermore, it appeared that an extensive parcel of land covering the Muskoka and Upper Ottawa River region were never included in any of the Upper Canada Land Surrender treaties. Their complaints were ignored until 1916 when the Federal Minister of Justice appointed R.V. Sinclair to investigate the matter. One of the primary issues that had come to light was the possible claims by the Lake Simcoe Chippewas over the southern lands ceded by the 1850 Robinson-Huron Treaty which they had not signed. Sinclair concluded that there were a number of problems with the existing treaties and that some lands had never been fully surrendered to the Crown.

In 1921, the federal government approached the Ontario provincial government regarding the Aboriginal claims and after a year and a half, the two levels of government worked out a procedural agreement for addressing the issue. The agreement called for the appointment of a three-man commission, consisting of Department of Indian Affairs' lawyer, A.S. Williams, as chairman, R.V. Sinclair, whose experience with the issue dated from 1916, and Uriah McFadden, a lawyer from Sault Ste. Marie. Their goal was to investigate the claims and, if they deemed it appropriate, to negotiate an arrangement with the Aboriginal peoples involved.

In its 1923 report, the Williams Commission revealed that the Indians' claims were not only valid, but were also far more extensive than those that had been suggested by the 1916 Sinclair investigation. The two governments involved, having been suddenly confronted with a report that not only validated the claims to the central portion of the province but also verified ancient claims to lands on the north shore of Lake Ontario and to a sizeable tract below Lake Simcoe, moved very quickly to extinguish the Indian title to those regions. The lands in question were already being used by the government for settlement and the exploitation of its natural resources. Though part of the territory had likely been acquired by the government more than a century previous, it was decided that new surrender agreements should be taken in light of the problematic documentation for the original agreements.

Asking Williams and his colleagues to finish the process that had started, the treaty commission negotiated two separate treaties, known as the Williams Treaties, one covering the lands between Georgian Bay and the Ottawa River; and another for the lands along the shore of Lake Ontario and the lands up to Lake Simcoe respectively signed on October 31st and November 21st, 1923. The Williams Treaties saw the First Nation signatories surrender all their rights and title over the lands in question, including hunting and fishing rights. The agreement signed on October 31st, 1923 addressed the existing claims of the Lake Simcoe groups that had unresolved title claims to the lands of the Muskokas and Upper Ottawa River, as well as any underlying claims to the lands surrendered by the 1850 Robinson-Huron Treaty. Meanwhile, the November 21st, 1923 treaty covered the lands implicated by some of the more problematic land cession agreements dating from the 1780s.

In addition to the initial payments and the continuing annuities, the Treaties preserved the signing bands existing reserves but did not provide for any new reserve lands. The Williams Treaties also departed from some existing practices included in earlier treaties such as the Robinson Treaties (1850), and the Numbered Treaties. Where these treaties established continuing rights to hunt and fish, new reserve lands and yearly annuities, the Williams Treaties were more like the Upper Canada Land Surrender treaties with single cash payments, few if any reserves and the surrender of all rights.

This was not only a departure from what had become an established practice, it also created some potential problems. Nearly half of the October 31st treaty overlapped with territory taken in the Robinson-Huron Treaty. This has led to a different sets of rights over the same territories as the Robinson-Huron Treaty clearly recognizes a continued right to hunt and fish throughout that area.

According to Ontario premier Howard Ferguson, speaking on the future of the Williams Treaties, "… every tribe that could possibly have a claim on the 'white man's' government had been taken care of." Ultimately, the Williams Treaties secured the surrender of the last substantial portion of land in southern Ontario that had not been given up to the government. The conclusion of the 1923 Williams Treaties marked the cession of nearly all the remaining Aboriginal lands to the Crown – only two small parcels of lands remain unceded – they also mark the end of the long standing treaty process initiated in 1763.

Date modified:

Cessions de terres du Haut-Canada et les traités Williams (1781-1862/1923)

Cessions des terres du Haut-Canada (1781-1862)

Après des années de conflit en Amérique du Nord entre les Britanniques et les Français, le Traité de Paris a été signé le 10 février 1763. En vertu de ce traité, la France cédait à la Grande-Bretagne ses prétentions sur les territoires coloniaux en Amérique du Nord, notamment l'Acadie, la Nouvelle-France, les terres intérieures des Grands Lacs et la vallée de l'Ohio et du Mississippi. Reconnaissant les limites de leurs revendications, les administrateurs britanniques comme le surintendant des Affaires indiennes, Sir William Johnson, croyaient que le développement fructueux des colonies britanniques dépendait de relations stables et harmonieuses avec les Autochtones.

Le 7 octobre 1763, la Grande-Bretagne a adopté une proclamation royale pour orienter l'administration des colonies. Le document de grande portée traitait de l'administration des nouvelles provinces du Québec et de la Floride, indemnisait les soldats pour leur participation à la guerre de Sept Ans et établissait une frontière occidentale pour les colonies. La Proclamation royale prévoyait aussi que le nouveau Département des Indiens était le point de contact principal entre les Autochtones et les colonies et que seule la Couronne pouvait acheter des terres aux Autochtones. Ceci visait à faire cesser l'empiètement généralisé des colonies sur les terres des Autochtones et à maintenir des relations stables et harmonieuses.

La première cession de terres en vertu des protocoles de la Proclamation royale a été conclue entre Sir William Johnson du Département des Indiens et les Sénécas, un groupe membre de la puissante confédération des Six Nations/Haudenosaunee. En 1764, les Sénécas ont négocié un traité avec les Britanniques, lequel accordait aux Britanniques le libre accès à deux milles de chaque côté de la rivière Niagara à des fins de communication et de déplacement entre les lacs Érié et Ontario. La cession de terres ne constituait qu'une partie de la conférence de Niagara, qui visait à renouveler les alliances, à restaurer les échanges interrompus par la guerre et à renforcer la présence des Britanniques dans le bassin des Grands Lacs. Trois autres cessions de terres ont été conclues entre le Département des Indiens et les collectivités autochtones entre 1764 et 1783. Ces cessions concernaient de très petites parcelles de terres et étaient davantage axées sur la sécurité et le commerce que sur les colonies.

Le déclenchement de la guerre d'Indépendance américaine, suivi de la reconnaissance des États-Unis d'Amérique en 1783, a eu de profondes répercussions sur la relation entre la Couronne britannique et ses alliés autochtones. La perte des colonies américaines a entraîné l'arrivée de quelque 30 000 Loyalistes de l'Empire-Uni, qui se sont réfugiés dans les colonies britanniques restantes en Amérique du Nord. Ces réfugiés ont demandé aux administrateurs des colonies de nouvelles terres pour les colonies. Les colons n'étaient pas les seuls réfugiés : les Autochtones qui s'étaient battus aux côtés des Britanniques avaient aussi été dépossédés par la guerre. En guise de réponse, une série de traités de cession de terres ont été négociés entre les agents du Département des Indiens et les Anishinaabe vivant sur les rives du fleuve Saint-Laurent et des Grands Lacs inférieurs. Entre 1783 et 1812, 15 traités de cession de terres ont été conclus dans la péninsule du Haut-Canada. Étant donné qu'elles précédaient l'arrivée des colons dans la région, les cessions de terres établissaient de façon pacifique une colonie agricole dans la région et aidaient la Couronne à indemniser ses alliés autochtones pour les pertes subies durant la guerre contre les Américains. Les conditions des traités négociés au Haut-Canada étaient relativement simples. Les documents décrivaient les groupes concernés par les cessions, la superficie des terres cédées et les indemnisations qui allaient être versées aux Autochtones. Avant 1818, les Autochtones étaient indemnisés au moyen de paiements uniques en marchandises ou en argent, ou au moyen des deux, versés aux signataires au moment de la conclusion des traités. Ces traités n'établissaient pas toujours les terres de réserve pour les Autochtones.

Dans la période suivant la guerre de 1812, des immigrants européens sont venus en nombres de plus en plus importants au Haut-Canada pour se joindre aux premiers colons loyalistes. Compte tenu de l'établissement d'une paix durable entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis, les Autochtones ont commencé à perdre leur influence sur les représentants britanniques et, au fur et à mesure que des immigrants arrivaient, le rythme des cessions de terres augmentait afin que les colonies disposent de terres agricoles. Les traités conclus entre 1815 et 1860 incluaient toutes les autres terres du Haut-Canada, des terres agricoles fertiles au sud du lac Huron jusqu'aux terres riches en ressources entourant le lac Supérieur et la baie Georgienne.

Puisque les nouvelles politiques britanniques étaient axées sur l'idée de convertir le mode de vie des Autochtones, les agents des Indiens ont transformé leurs rôles; autrefois, ils établissaient des alliances militaires avec les Autochtones, et à ce moment, ils les encourageaient à abandonner leur style de vie traditionnel pour adopter un style plus sédentaire et axé sur l'agriculture. Le Département des Indiens est devenu le vecteur de mise en œuvre du nouveau plan de « civilisation » dans les colonies du Haut et du Bas-Canada. Après 1818, les administrateurs britanniques ont opté pour un paiement annuel, ou une annuité, afin de réduire les dépenses initiales liées à la conclusion de traités. Les annuités pouvaient être financées par les revenus provenant de la vente des terres cédées. Le Département des Indiens utilisait les annuités pour créer des collectivités agricoles aux fins de l'établissement des Autochtones. Les annuités ont servi à financer la construction d'habitations et l'achat d'instruments et de bétail pour l'agriculture.

Vers 1830, il ne restait que quelques parcelles de terres non cédées appartenant aux Premières Nations dans le Haut-Canada. En 1836, un traité négocié par Sir Francis Bond Head, le lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, a établi sur l'île Manitoulin, dans la baie Georgienne, une réserve pour la population des Premières Nations dépossédée. On devait encourager cette population dépossédée à s'installer sur l'île, où elle serait écartée et préservée des volets les plus dangereux de la société coloniale, c'est-à-dire l'alcool et la prostitution. Toutefois, peu de Premières Nations se sont installées sur l'île Manitoulin.

Au fur et à mesure que les colons utilisaient les terres, un nouvel intérêt pour la cession des terres de la péninsule de Saugeen (aujourd'hui connue sous le nom de péninsule Bruce) et de l'île Manitoulin a vu le jour dans les années 1850 et 1860. Au cours des années 1850, le Département des Indiens a essayé à plusieurs reprises de vendre ces terres, ce qui a abouti au Traité Saugeen, en 1854, et à un traité cédant la plus grande partie de l'île Manitoulin, en 1862. Jusqu'à la création de la Confédération du nouveau Dominion du Canada en 1867, presque toute la masse terrestre de la province de l'Ontario avait été cédée par un traité.

Traités Williams (1923)

Entre 1764 et 1862, voulant obtenir une bande continue de colonisation le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent et des Grands Lacs inférieurs, des représentants coloniaux ont négocié un certain nombre de traités de cession de terres avec des groupes autochtones de la région. Lorsque la Confédération a été déclarée en 1867, il était largement entendu que ces terres de la province de l'Ontario avaient toutes été cédées sur le plan juridique à la Couronne par le biais de traités. Dans les années 1910 cependant, des inquiétudes ont été soulevées au sujet des traités qui posaient problème et concernant le fait que le traité ne portait pas sur toutes les terres du Centre de l'Ontario.

En fait, à la fin du XIXe siècle et au début du XXe siècle, les Chippewas de la région du lac Simcoe et les Mississaugas de la rive nord du lac Ontario s'étaient plaints que certains traités conclus durant la période coloniale posaient vraiment problème étant donné qu'ils contenaient des descriptions faussées, des documents incomplets et des fautes de paiement. En outre, il semble qu'une grande parcelle de terres dans la région de Muskoka et du cours supérieur de la rivière des Outaouais n'avait été incluse dans aucun traité de cession de terres du Haut-Canada. Ces plaintes ont été ignorées jusqu'en 1916, moment où le ministre fédéral de la Justice a nommé R.V.Sinclair pour faire enquête sur cette question. L'un des principaux enjeux mentionné étaient les revendications possibles des Chippewas du lac Simcoe concernant les terres du sud cédées au moyen du Traité Robinson-Huron de 1850, qu'ils n'avaient pas signé. Sinclair a conclu qu'il existait plusieurs problèmes concernant les traités existants, et que certaines terres n'avaient jamais été complètement cédées à la Couronne.

En 1921, le gouvernement fédéral est allé voir le gouvernement de l'Ontario en ce qui concerne les revendications autochtones, et un an et demie plus tard, les deux ordres de gouvernement avaient établi un accord de procédure pour régler la question. L'accord réclamait la nomination d'une commission comportant trois membres, c'est à dire l'avocat du ministère des Affaires indiennes, A.S. Williams en tant que président, R.V. Sinclair, dont l'expérience concernant la question datait de 1916, et Uriah McFadden, avocat de Sault Ste. Marie. Ils avaient pour but était d'enquêter les revendications et, s'ils le jugeaient approprié, de négocier une entente avec les Autochtones concernés.

Dans son compte rendu de 1923, la Commission Williams a révélé que les revendications des Autochtones n'étaient pas valides et étaient beaucoup plus importantes que celles qui avaient été suggérées par l'enquête Sinclair de 1916. Étant donné que les deux gouvernements concernés avaient été soudainement confrontés à un rapport qui ne validait pas seulement les revendications pour la partie centrale de la province, mais qui vérifiait aussi d'anciennes revendications pour des terres sur la rive nord du lac Ontario et une parcelle de terrain considérable au sud du lac Simcoe, ils se sont dépêchés à supprimer les titres autochtones sur ces régions. Les terres en question étaient aussi utilisées par le gouvernement pour la colonisation et l'exploitation des ressources naturelles. Puisqu'une partie du territoire avait probablement été acquise par le gouvernement plus d'une décennie auparavant, il a été décidé que de nouvelles ententes de cession de terres soient conclues en raison de la documentation relative aux ententes initiales qui posait problème.

Demandant à Williams de terminer le processus entamé, la Commission a négocié deux traités distincts, connus sous le nom de Traités Williams – l'un d'eux concernait les terres entre la baie Georgienne et la rivière des Outaouais et l'autre, les terres sur la rive du lac Ontario et celles se rendant jusqu'au lac Simcoe; ils ont été signés respectivement le 31 octobre et le 21 novembre 1923. Dans le cadre des Traités Williams, les signataires des Premières Nations ont cédé leurs droits et leur titre sur les terres en question, y compris leurs droits de chasser et de pêcher. L'entente signée le 31 octobre 1923 concernait les revendications existantes des groupes du lac Simcoe ayant des revendications de titres non réglées sur les terres de Muskoka et du cours supérieur de la rivière des Outaouais, ainsi que toute revendication sous-jacente sur les terres cédées par le Traité Robinson-Huron de 1850. Dans l'intervalle, le traité du 21 novembre 1923 concernait les terres touchées par certaines des ententes qui posaient le plus problème datant des années 1780.

En plus des paiements initiaux et des annuités en vigueur, les traités conservaient les réserves existantes des bandes signataires, mais ne prévoyaient pas de nouvelles terres de réserve. Les Traité Williams s'écartaient de pratiques existantes, comme dans les premiers traités, notamment les Traités Robinson (1850) et les Traités numérotés. Alors que ces traités établissaient des droits permanents de chasser et de pêcher, à de nouvelles terres de réserve et à des annuités annuelles, les Traités Williams ressemblaient davantage aux traités de cession de terres du Haut-Canada, en ce sens qu'ils prévoyaient des paiements en argent, peu de réserves, le cas échéant, et la cession de tous les droits.

Cela ne constituait pas seulement l'abandon d'une pratique établie, mais cela créait des problèmes potentiels. Près de la moitié de la superficie du territoire visé par le traité du 31 octobre chevauchait le territoire concerné par le Traité Robinson-Huron, ce qui avait mené à un ensemble de droits différents sur les mêmes territoires puisque le Traité Robinson-Huron reconnaissait le droit permanent de chasser et de pêcher dans toute la région.

Selon le premier ministre de l'Ontario Howard Ferguson, qui parlait de l'avenir des Traités Williams, on s'était occupé de chaque tribu qui pouvait avoir une revendication à soumettre au gouvernement des « hommes blancs ». En bout de ligne, les Traités Williams ont assuré la cession de la dernière partie substantielle de terres du sud de l'Ontario qui n'avait pas déjà été cédée au gouvernement. La conclusion des Traités Williams en 1923 a marqué la cession à la Couronne de presque toutes les terres autochtones restantes – seules deux petites parcelles de terres n'étaient pas cédées. Elle a également marqué la fin du long processus de conclusion de traités entamé en 1763.

Date de modification :