ARCHIVED - Engagement Sessions on Bill C-27, First Nations Financial Transparency Act

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview and Rationale

The First Nations Financial Transparency Act will help ensure that First Nations have democratic, accountable and transparent governments by requiring that a First Nation prepare audited consolidated financial statements and a schedule of salaries and expenses of their chiefs and councillors, which must then be made public.

This would:

Consultation and Engagement

Bill C-27, the First Nations Financial Transparency Act developed as a result of previous legislative initiatives. Most notably, most of the issues surrounding Bill C-27 were discussed in the context of a Private Member's Bill (C-575) in the previous Parliament, which died on the order paper in 2011. Prior to this, many of the same issues were debated in the context of Bill C-7, First Nations Governance Act introduced by the Liberal Government in 2002, which was never passed.

As well, Chief Darcy Bear of the Whitecap Dakota First Nation wrote to the Minister in November 2011 to explore possible solutions to these issues, many of which were addressed in amendments to the bill that were adopted by the Standing Committee on Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development.

Parliamentary Consideration

Information on Parliamentary study of Bill C-27 can be found here.

Status

Closed.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Séances de discussion sur le projet de loi C-27, Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu et justification

La Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations contribuera à assurer le caractère démocratique, responsable et transparent des gouvernements des Premières Nations en exigeant d'eux qu'ils préparent des états financiers consolidés vérifiés et divulguent les salaires et les dépenses de leur chef et de leurs conseillers, qui seront ensuite publiés.

Ainsi :

Consultation and Engagement

Le projet de loi C-27, Loi sur la transparence financière des Premières Nations, est le fruit d'initiatives législatives antérieures. En particulier, la plupart des questions entourant le projet de loi C-27 ont été étudiées dans le cadre d'un projet de loi d'initiative parlementaire (C-575) présenté au Parlement antérieur et mort au Feuilleton en 2011. Précédemment, bon nombre des mêmes questions avaient été étudiées dans le contexte de l'examen du projet de loi C-7, Loi sur la gouvernance des Premières Nations, présenté par le gouvernement libéral en 2002 et qui n'a pas été adopté.

De plus, le chef Darcy Bear, de la Première Nation dakota de Whitecap, a écrit au ministre en novembre 2011 pour explorer des solutions possibles à ces questions, dont bon nombre ont été réglées par des amendements au projet de loi, adoptés par le Comité permanent des affaires autochtones et du développement du Grand Nord.

Examen parlementaire

Vous trouverez de l'information sur l'étude parlementaire du projet de loi C-27 ici.

État d'avancement

Fermé.

Date de modification :