Social Media Protocol

Table of contents

This protocol describes how Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada (CIRNAC) and Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) interact with the public on social media platforms. For the list of social media accounts managed by CIRNAC and ISC, visit the stay connected page.

Any other account or page on social networking sites bearing CIRNAC, ISC or the Government of Canada name or likeliness is not an official account managed by CIRNAC or ISC.

Official policy

Our communication in social media channels should not be considered as the authoritative source of new policy or guidance on services and programs from CIRNAC, ISC or the Government of Canada. Any change or evolution in the official position on Government of Canada services and programs, legislation, guidance, investigations and audits will be communicated through more traditional channels, such as official publications (online and offline), speeches, media releases, statements to the traditional media and government websites.

Content

CIRNAC and ISC use social media accounts as an alternative method of interacting with Canadians and of sharing the content posted on their websites, facilitating access to CIRNAC and ISC information and services, and providing partners with an opportunity to interact in an informative and respectful environment.

Your engagement with CIRNAC and ISC via social media is in part governed by the terms of service and use of the relevant third-party social media platform providers, as well as the following terms and conditions. The Government of Canada has no control over the social media platform providers' terms of service and use, but you are strongly encouraged to read them in addition to those that follow.

Links to other websites and advertisements

Social media accounts may post or display links or ads for websites that are not under the control of the Government of Canada. These links are provided solely for the convenience of users. The government is not responsible for the information found through these links or ads, neither does it endorse the sites, businesses, products, services or their content.

Following, "favouriting" and subscribing

CIRNAC and ISC's decision to follow, "like" or subscribe to another social media account does not imply an endorsement of that account, channel, page or site and neither does sharing (re-tweeting, reposting or linking to) content from another user.

Comments and interaction

CIRNAC and ISC will read comments and participate in discussions when appropriate. Your comments and contributions must be relevant and respectful.

CIRNAC and ISC will not engage in partisan or political issues or respond to questions that violate these terms and conditions.

CIRNAC and ISC reserve the right to remove comments and contributions and to block users based on the following criteria.

The comments or contributions:

CIRNAC and ISC reserve the right to report users and their comments and contributions to third-party social media service providers to prevent or remove the posting of content that is contrary to these terms and conditions, or to the terms of service and use of the third-party social media platform.

Availability

CIRNAC's and ISC's social media accounts are managed between 9 am and 5 pm eastern time, Monday to Friday, excluding holidays.

CIRNAC's and ISC's social media accounts are also subject to downtime that may be beyond CIRNAC's and ISC's control because the social media website servers are managed by a third party. Accordingly, we accept no responsibility for social media networks becoming unresponsive or unavailable.

Accessibility of social media platforms

Social media platforms are third-party service providers and are not bound by Government of Canada standards for web accessibility.

If you have difficulty accessing content on our social media accounts, please contact us and we will try to solve the problem or provide you with the information in a different format.

Copyright

Information posted by CIRNAC and ISC on their social media accounts is subject to the Copyright Act of Canada.

Official languages

CIRNAC and ISC respect the Official Languages Act and are committed to ensuring that information products of equal quality are available in both English and French. Posts from CIRNAC and ISC will be published almost simultaneously in both official languages.

Users should be aware that some links direct users to sites of organizations or other entities that are not subject to the Official Languages Act and that these sources are only available in the language in which they are provided.

Privacy

CIRNAC and ISC are committed to respecting individuals' privacy. CIRNAC and ISC's social media accounts are not Government of Canada websites, but represent our presence on various social media websites hosted by third-party service providers.

Third-party social media and privacy

Users who choose to interact with us via social media should read the terms of service and privacy policies of these third-party service providers and those of any applications you use to access them. CIRNAC and ISC use Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram, and Flickr.

Personal information that you provide to the Government of Canada via social media accounts is collected under the authority of Order in Council 2017-1464 for ISC and Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Act for CIRNAC. This information is collected to capture conversations, such as questions and answers, comments, "likes" and retweets, between you and CIRNAC or ISC. It may be used to respond to inquiries or for statistical, evaluation and reporting purposes. Comments posted that violate Canadian law will be deleted and disclosed to law enforcement authorities. Comments that violate our rules of engagement will also be deleted. The personal information is included in Personal Information Bank Outreach Activities (PSU 938) and Public Communications (PSU 914).

To protect your own privacy and the privacy of others, CIRNAC and ISC recommend that you don't include personal information in your comments or any other content you post. Personal information includes home addresses and telephone numbers, photographs containing images of identifiable individuals, and any other information consisting of personal information as defined in paragraph 3 of the Privacy Act.

If you have any questions about your privacy rights as explained in this protocol, please contact CIRNAC and ISC Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Coordinator by:

ATIP Coordinator
Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator
Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada and Indigenous Services Canada
10 rue Wellington, Room 517
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4

If you are not satisfied with our response to your privacy concern, you may wish to contact the Office of the Privacy Commissioner by calling 1-800-267-0441 or via the Internet.

Employees on social media

CIRNAC's and ISC's employees may be active on social media through their own personal accounts, under their own names or pseudonyms. Despite their professional affiliation with CIRNAC, ISC and the Government of Canada, their posts don't represent the official position of CIRNAC, ISC or that of the Government of Canada and should be considered the product of each individual as a private citizen.

Contact information

Questions and requests for general information on the programs, services and publications of CIRNAC and ISC should be directed to the CIRNAC and ISC Public Enquiries Contact Centre.

Media representatives who have inquiries on any program area or issue are invited to contact CIRNAC Media Relations or ISC Media Relations.

Date modified:

Protocole relatif aux médias sociaux

Table des matières

Le présent protocole explique comment Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada (RCAANC) et Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) interagissent avec le public sur les plateformes de médias sociaux. Pour une liste complète des comptes de medias sociaux administrés par Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada et Services aux Autochtones Canada, consultez la page Restez branchés.

Tout autre compte ou page sur un site de médias sociaux qui porte le nom ou les couleurs de RCAANC, SAC ou du gouvernement du Canada n'est pas un compte géré officiellement par RCAANC ou SAC.

Politique officielle

Nos communications dans les médias sociaux ne doivent pas être considérées comme une source de nouvelles politiques ou d'orientation en ce qui concerne les services et programmes offerts par RCAANC, SAC ou le gouvernement du Canada. Tout changement concernant la position officielle du gouvernement du Canada en matière de services et programmes, de législation, d'orientations, d'enquêtes et de vérification sera communiqué au moyen de canaux traditionnels, par exemple, des publications officielles (en ligne et papier), des discours, des communiqués de presse, des déclarations aux médias traditionnels et des sites Web gouvernementaux.

Contenu

RCAANC et SAC utilisent les comptes de médias sociaux comme un autre moyen d'interagir avec les Canadiens et de partager le contenu affiché sur leurs sites Web, de faciliter l'accès à l'information et aux services de RCAANC et de SAC et de donner aux partenaires l'occasion d'interagir dans un environnement informatif et respectueux.

Votre interaction avec RCAANC et SAC au moyen des médias sociaux est en partie régie par les conditions de service et d'utilisation des tiers fournisseurs de plateformes de médias sociaux pertinents, ainsi que par les conditions d'utilisation énoncées ci-dessous. Le gouvernement du Canada n'exerce aucun contrôle sur les conditions de service et d'utilisation des fournisseurs de plateformes de médias sociaux mais nous vous encourageons fortement à les lire en plus de celles qui suivent.

Liens vers d'autres sites Web et publicités

On peut trouver dans les comptes de médias sociaux des liens ou des annonces liés à des sites Web échappant au contrôle du gouvernement du Canada. Ces liens sont uniquement fournis pour accommoder les utilisateurs. Le gouvernement n'est pas responsable de l'information trouvée à partir de ces liens ou de ces publicités, il ne cautionne pas non plus les sites, les entreprises, les produits, les services ou leur contenu.

Suivre, marquer comme « favori » et s'abonner

La décision de RCAANC et de SAC de suivre, d'« aimer » ou de s'abonner à un autre compte de médias sociaux ne signifie pas qu'ils cautionnent ce compte, cette chaîne, cette page ou ce site, pas plus que lorsqu'ils partagent (gazouillis partagés, partage de contenu affiché ou insertion d'hyperliens) le contenu d'un autre utilisateur.

Commentaires et interaction

RCAANC et SAC liront les commentaires et participeront aux discussions s'ils le jugent approprié. Vos commentaires et vos messages doivent être pertinents et respectueux.

RCAANC et SAC ne discuteront pas de questions partisanes ou politiques ni ne répondront à des questions qui contreviennent à ces conditions d'utilisation.

RCAANC et SAC se réservent le droit de supprimer les commentaires et autres contributions et de bloquer les utilisateurs selon les critères suivants.

Les commentaires ou autres contributions :

RCAANC et SAC se réservent le droit de signaler les utilisateurs et leurs commentaires et messages à un tiers fournisseur de services de médias sociaux afin d'empêcher ou de supprimer la publication de contenu contraire aux présentes conditions d'utilisation ou aux conditions de service et d'utilisation de la plateforme de médias sociaux gérée par un tiers.

Disponibilité

RCAANC et SAC assurent la gestion de leurs comptes de médias sociaux de 9 h à 17 h (heure de l'Est), du lundi au vendredi, à l'exception des jours fériés.

Les comptes de médias sociaux de RCAANC et SAC peuvent subir des pannes sur lesquelles RCAANC et SAC n'ont aucune prise, car les serveurs de ces sites sont gérés par un tiers. Par conséquent, RCAANC et SAC se dégagent de toute responsabilité en cas de non-disponibilité des réseaux sociaux.

Accessibilité des plateformes de médias sociaux

Les plateformes de médias sociaux sont de tiers fournisseurs de services et ne sont pas assujetties aux normes du gouvernement du Canada en matière d'accessibilité du Web.

Si vous avez de la difficulté à accéder à du contenu sur nos comptes de médias sociaux, veuillez communiquer avec nous et nous tenterons de résoudre le problème ou de vous fournir l'information dans un format différent.

Droits d'auteur

L'information publiée par RCAANC et ISC sur leurs comptes de médias sociaux est régie par la Loi sur le droit d'auteur du Canada.

Langues officielles

RCAANC et SAC respectent la Loi sur les langues officielles et s'engagent à offrir des produits d'information de qualité égale en français et en anglais. Les messages de RCAANC et de SAC seront publiés quasi simultanément dans les 2 langues officielles.

Les utilisateurs doivent savoir que certains liens les dirigent vers des sites Web d'organisations ou d'autres regroupements qui ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi sur les langues officielles et que ces sites peuvent être unilingues.

Protection des renseignements personnels

RCAANC et SAC s'engagent à respecter la vie privée des personnes. Les comptes de médias sociaux de RCAANC et de SAC ne sont pas des sites du gouvernement du Canada mais ils représentent notre présence sur les divers sites Web de médias sociaux hébergés par de tiers fournisseurs de services.

Médias sociaux de tiers fournisseurs et protection des renseignements personnels

Les utilisateurs qui décident d'interagir avec nous par l'entremise de comptes de médias sociaux doivent lire les conditions d'utilisation et les politiques de confidentialité des tiers fournisseurs de services et des applications utilisées pour y avoir accès. RCAANC et SAC utilisent Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram et Flickr.

Les renseignements personnels que vous fournissez au gouvernement du Canada au moyen de comptes de médias sociaux sont recueillis en vertu de l'autorisation prévue par le décret 2017-1464 dans le cas de SAC et la Loi sur le ministère des Affaires indiennes et du Nord canadien dans le cas de RCAANC. Ces renseignements sont recueillis dans le but de saisir des conversations comme par exemple des questions et réponses, des commentaires, des clics « J'aime » et des gazouillis partagés entre vous et RCAANC et SAC. Ils peuvent être utilisés pour répondre à des demandes de renseignements ou à des fins statistiques, d'évaluation et d'établissement de rapports. Les commentaires affichés qui contreviennent à la loi canadienne seront supprimés et divulgués aux organismes d'application de la loi. Les commentaires qui enfreignent nos règles de participation seront également supprimés. Les renseignements personnels figurent dans le fichier de renseignements personnels portant sur les activités de sensibilisation (POU 938) et sur les communications publiques (POU 914).

Pour protéger votre vie privée et celle des autres, RCAANC et SAC recommandent de ne pas inclure de renseignements personnels dans vos commentaires ou dans le contenu que vous publiez. Les renseignements personnels incluent notamment les adresses personnelles et les numéros de téléphone, des photographies sur lesquelles apparaissent des personnes identifiables ainsi que tout autre renseignement personnel au sens de l'article 3 de la Loi la protection des renseignements personnels.

Si vous avez des questions sur le droit à la vie privée au sens où l'entend le présent protocole, veuillez communiquer avec le coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection de la vie privée pour RCAANC et SAC par :

Coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information
et de la protection des renseignements personnels
Relations Couronne-Autochtones et Affaires du Nord Canada et Services aux Autochtones Canada
10 rue Wellington, pièce 517
Gatineau QC K1A 0H4

Si notre réponse à vos préoccupations au sujet de la protection des renseignements personnels ne vous satisfait pas, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, en appelant au 1-800-267-0441 ou en consultant le site Web du Commissariat.

Les employés et les médias sociaux

Certains employés de RCAANC et de SAC possèdent un compte personnel sur les médias sociaux, sous leur nom ou sous un pseudonyme. Malgré leur affiliation professionnelle avec RCAANC, SAC et le gouvernement du Canada, leurs publications ne constituent en aucun cas la position officielle de RCAANC, de SAC ou du gouvernement du Canada et doivent être considérés comme l'opinion personnelle de citoyens.

Coordonnées

Les questions et les demandes d'ordre général sur les programmes, les services et les publications de RCAANC et de SAC doivent être adressées au Centre de contacts de renseignements du public de RCAANC et de SAC.

Les représentants des médias qui souhaitent obtenir des renseignements sur un secteur de programme ou qui ont une question sont invités à communiquer avec les Relations avec les médias de RCAANC ou les Relations avec les médias de SAC.

Date de modification :