Bilateral Relationships

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

AANDC is engaged in a number of bilateral agreements that foster circumpolar cooperation and promote Canadian priorities. Strong bilateral ties are maintained with Canada's circumpolar neighbours in collaboration with Aboriginal peoples and Northerners to ensure that they are well-positioned to take advantage of international opportunities which will contribute to the economic development of the North.

AANDC actively upholds bilateral agreements with three circumpolar neighbours: the Russian Federation, Norway, and the United States of America.

Canada-Russian Federation

Cooperation on Northern issues between Canada and the Russian Federation has assumed an important place in overall Canada-Russia relations. This long-standing engagement has evolved into active cooperation focussing on broadening of knowledge – including scientific knowledge – as well as the sharing of best practices, capacity-building, a focus on governance, and sustainable development. AANDC signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the Ministry of Regional Development of the Russian Federation in 2007. The Work Plan under this MOU is renewed on an annual basis.

AANDC's priorities within the bilateral cooperation with the Russian Federation include:

  • Facilitating North-to-North partnerships and networks with territorial governments and Aboriginal organizations
  • Building capacity of Canada's northerners to participate in circumpolar cooperation
  • Capacity-building and sharing best practices with Russian government  partners and Aboriginal organizations in the areas of sustainable development and governance
  • Promoting business ties between Canadian and Russian northerners
  • Supporting the Canada-Russia Intergovernmental Economic Commission (Arctic and North Working Group )

Canada-Norway

The Canada-Norway Dialogue was established in 2006 and is an ongoing dialogue that identifies opportunities to strengthen cooperation between Canada and Norway on issues pertaining to the High North. This annual dialogue fosters an exchange of perspectives and best practices that are mutually beneficial for both Canada and Norway.

Canada-United States of America

The Government of Canada and the United States of America work on a wide range of common interests and issues in the context of Indigenous and Northern issues. Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the United States of America Department of the Interior which will  enhance cooperation in a number of areas, including policy and legislation experience, socio-economic development of Indigenous peoples and the North, northern environment and sustainable development, and capacity-building through partnerships.

Relations bilatérales

AADNC a conclu certaines ententes bilatérales qui favorisent la coopération entre les pays circumpolaires et qui font la promotion des priorités du Canada. Celui-ci entretient des liens bilatéraux forts avec les autres pays circumpolaires en collaboration avec les peuples autochtones et les résidants du Nord, afin que tous soient bien positionnés pour profiter des occasions qui se présentent à l'échelle internationale et qui contribueront au développement économique de la région.

AADNC appuie activement des ententes bilatérales avec trois des pays circumpolaires : la Fédération de la Russie, la Norvège et les États-Unis.

Canada-Fédération de la Russie

La coopération autour des questions nordiques entre le Canada et la Fédération de la Russie occupe une place importante dans les relations entre les deux pays. Cet engagement de longue date a évolué en une coopération active axée sur l'élargissement des connaissances – y compris les connaissances scientifiques – ainsi qu'en un échange de pratiques exemplaires et un exercice de renforcement des capacités. L'accent est maintenant placé sur la gouvernance et le développement durable. AADNC a signé un protocole d'entente avec le ministère du Développement régional de la Fédération de la Russie en 2007. Le plan de travail élaboré en vertu de ce protocole d'entente est renouvelé chaque année.

Les priorités d'AADNC dans la coopération bilatérale avec la Fédération de la Russie sont notamment :

  • permettre la création de partenariats et de réseaux dans le Nord entre les gouvernements des territoires et les organisations autochtones
  • renforcer les capacités des résidants du Nord du Canada à participer à la coopération circumpolaire
  • renforcer les capacités et mettre en commun des pratiques exemplaires avec les partenaires du gouvernement russe et les organisations autochtones dans les secteurs du développement durable et de la gouvernance
  • favoriser les liens d'affaires entre les résidants du Nord du Canada et de la Fédération de la Russie
  • soutenir la commission économique intergouvernementale Canada-Fédération de la Russie (Groupe de travail sur l'Arctique et le Nord)

Canada-Norvège

Le Dialogue sur le Nord entre le Canada et la Norvège a été établi en 2006. C'est un exercice continu qui permet de relever des occasions de renforcer la coopération entre les deux pays sur des questions concernant le Grand Nord. Ce dialogue annuel favorise un échange de points de vue et de pratiques exemplaires mutuellement bénéfiques pour le Canada et la Norvège.

Canada-États-Unis

Le gouvernement du Canada et les États-Unis travaillent sur plusieurs dossiers communs relatifs aux questions touchant les Autochtones et le Nord. AADNC a signé un protocole d'entente avec le département de l'Intérieur des États-Unis pour améliorer la coopération dans certains secteurs comme les politiques et la réglementation, le développement socioéconomique des peuples autochtones et des résidants du Nord, l'environnement nordique et le développement durable ainsi que le renforcement des capacités grâce à des partenariats.