Yukon Devolution

On April 1, 2003, Yukon became the first territory to take over land and resource management responsibilities, as the final major step in the territory’s devolution process. On that date, amendments to the federal Yukon Act came into effect, based on the Yukon Northern Affairs Program Devolution Transfer Agreement between the federal government, the Government of Yukon and signatory Aboriginal groups. Prior to Yukon devolution, the Government of Canada, through the Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development, governed most natural resources in the territory.

Devolution negotiations began when Yukon’s Devolution Protocol Accord was signed in September 1998 by the Government of Canada, the Government of Yukon, the Council of Yukon First Nations on behalf of its members, as well as the Kwanlin Dün First Nation, Liard First Nation, and the Kaska Tribal Council on behalf of the Ross River Dena Council and the Kaska Dena Council.

In August 2012, amendments were made to resource revenue sharing arrangements under the Yukon Northern Affairs Program Devolution Transfer Agreement and the 1993 Canada-Yukon Oil and Gas Accord allowing Yukoners to benefit from arrangements similar to those recently agreed to in principle as part of Northwest Territories devolution negotiations. These amendments ensure a greater portion of the revenues generated from the mining and resource economy in Yukon will be available for use in the territory.

What other information is available?

You may also be interested in:

Date modified:

Le transfert des responsabilités au Yukon

Le 1er avril 2003, le Yukon est devenu le premier territoire à assumer les responsabilités de gestion des terres et des ressources, la dernière grande étape du transfert des responsabilités à ce territoire. À cette date, les modifications à la Loi sur le Yukon, loi fédérale, sont entrées en vigueur, conformément à l’Accord de transfert au Yukon d’attributions relevant du Programme des affaires du Nord, conclu entre le gouvernement fédéral, le gouvernement du Yukon et les groupes autochtones signataires. Avant le transfert des responsabilités au Yukon, le gouvernement du Canada, par l’intermédiaire d’Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord Canada, régissait la majorité des ressources naturelles dans ce territoire.

Les négociations sur le transfert des responsabilités ont commencé en septembre 1998, à la signature du protocole d’entente sur le transfert d’attributions au Yukon par le gouvernement du Canada, le gouvernement du Yukon, le Conseil des Premières nations du Yukon pour le compte de ses membres, ainsi que par la Première Nation de Kwanlin Dün, la Première Nation de Liard et le Conseil tribal Kaska pour le compte du Conseil des Dénés de Ross River et du Conseil des Dénés Kaska.

En août 2012, les dispositions relatives au partage des recettes de l’exploitation des ressources de l’Accord de transfert au Yukon d’attributions relevant du Programme des affaires du Nord et de l’Accord Canada-Yukon sur le pétrole et le gaz de 1993 ont été amendées. Les Yukonnais ont pu ainsi bénéficier d’arrangements similaires à ceux ayant fait récemment l’objet d’une entente de principe dans le cadre des négociations sur le transfert des responsabilités aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Ces amendements, permettront au Yukon d’investir une part plus importante des revenus de l’exploitation minière et de l’exploitation des ressources dans son territoire.

Renseignements

Autres liens d’intérêt

Date de modification :