Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property

"Wendy Grant-John, a former Musqueam chief, said the creation of the Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property is critical because it addresses the need for 'capacity building' among First Nations."

-Kim Pemberton, Reporter: Source Law extends matrimonial rights to those living on reserves
More testimonials

The first part of the Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act came into force on December 16, 2013. The Act provides basic rights and protections to individuals on reserves during the relationship, in the event of a relationship breakdown, and on the death of a spouse or common-law partner regarding the family home and other matrimonial interests or rights. The legislation sets out provisions for the enactment of First Nation laws respecting on-reserve matrimonial real property, as well as provisional federal rules to fill the legislative gap which will come into force on December 16, 2014.

The Government created the Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property to assist with the implementation of the Family Homes on Reserves or Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act. The Centre of Excellence operates at arm's length from the Government of Canada to support First Nations in developing their own matrimonial real property laws, effectively implement the provisional federal rules once in force, and provide assistance with creating alternative dispute resolution mechanisms. The Centre's focus is on disseminating knowledge to First Nation individuals, communities and organizations to assist them in understanding and implementing the legislation. The Centre will not provide legal advice or opinions.

The Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development selected the National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association to host the Centre of Excellence through a call for proposals process which ended April 2, 2013. On December 18, 2013, the Minister officially announced the National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association as the host of the Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property. At that time, the Centre of Excellence became the designated organization for receiving copies of approved First Nations laws enacted under the Act, notices of amendments, and notices of the repeal of those laws.

A national organization of Land Managers, the National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association, is committed to the enhancement of professional development and technical expertise in functions of land management and to providing First Nations the support and assistance to develop fair and transparent processes that incorporate traditional values, and modern practices.

The Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property became operational on November 20, 2013. For more information, please contact:

Centre of Excellence for Matrimonial Real Property
c/o National Aboriginal Land Managers Association
1024 Mississauga Street
Curve Lake, ON K0L 1R0

Telephone:
Toll-Free: 1-855-657-9992
705-657-9992
Fax: 705-657-2999
E-mail: info@coemrp.ca
Website: www.coemrp.ca

Additional Information

Centre d'excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux

« Wendy Grant-John, ancienne chef des Musqueam, a affirmé que la création du Centre d’excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux était cruciale, car elle cible la question du renforcement de la capacité dans les Premières Nations. »

-Kim Pemberton, Journaliste : Source Source : Law extends matrimonial rights to those living on reserves (site Web non disponible en français)
Plus de témoignages

Le pouvoir d’élaboration des lois des Premières Nations prévu dans la Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux (la Loi) est entré en vigueur par décret le 16 décembre 2013. La Loi offre des protections et des droits fondamentaux aux personnes qui vivent dans les réserves durant une relation conjugale, dans le cas d'une rupture de la relation et au décès d'un époux ou d'un conjoint de fait, en ce qui concerne le foyer familial et d'autres droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux. La Loi prévoit des dispositions pour l'adoption de lois des Premières Nations concernant les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux situés dans les réserves, ainsi que des règles fédérales provisoires pour combler le vide juridique; ces règles sont en vigueur depuis le 16 décembre 2014.

Le gouvernement a créé le Centre d'excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux pour aider à la mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux. Le Centre d'excellence fonctionne sans lien de dépendance avec le gouvernement du Canada. Il appuie les Premières Nations dans l'élaboration de leurs propres lois sur les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux et dans la mise en œuvre, de façon efficace, des règles fédérales provisoires; il fournit en outre des recherches sur les mécanismes de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends. Le Centre met l'accent sur la diffusion des connaissances aux membres des Premières Nations, à leurs collectivités et à leurs organisations, afin de les aider à comprendre la Loi et à la mettre en œuvre. Le Centre n'offre pas de conseils ou d'avis juridiques.

Le ministre des Affaires autochtones et du Développement du Nord a sélectionné l'Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones (ANGTA) pour accueillir le Centre d'excellence, dans le cadre d'un processus d'appel de propositions, qui a pris fin le 2 avril 2013. Le 18 décembre 2013, le ministre a officiellement annoncé que l'Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones serait l'hôte du Centre d'excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux. À ce moment-là, le Centre est devenu l'organisme désigné pour recevoir des copies des lois des Premières Nations approuvées et promulguées en vertu de la Loi, de même que ces copies des avis de modifications et des avis d'abrogation de ces lois.

Une organisation nationale regroupant des gestionnaires des terres, l'Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones, se dévoue pour accroître le perfectionnement professionnel et l'expertise technique dans les fonctions de gestion des terres, ainsi que pour offrir aux Premières Nations le soutien et l'aide nécessaires pour l'élaboration de processus équitables et transparents intégrant les valeurs traditionnelles et les pratiques modernes.

Le Centre d'excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux est devenu opérationnel le 20 novembre 2013. Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le :

Centre d'excellence en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux
a/s Siège social de l'Association nationale des gestionnaires des terres autochtones
1024, rue Mississauga
Curve Lake (Ontario) K0L 1R0

Téléphone :
Sans-frais : 1-855-9992
705-657-9992
Télécopieur : 705-657-2999
Courriel : info@cdebim.ca
Site Web : www.cdebim.ca

Renseignements supplémentaires