Environmental Review Process for Projects on Reserve Land

Notice

This website will change as a result of the dissolution of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada, and the creation of Indigenous Services Canada and the eventual creation of Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Canada. During this transformation, you may also wish to consult the updated Indigenous and Northern Affairs home page.

Responsible Resource Development is the Government of Canada's plan to modernize our regulatory system, so that Canada's natural resources are responsibly developed for the benefit of all Canadians. Changes enacted as part of Responsible Resource Development will focus federal environmental assessment efforts on major projects that have a greater potential to cause adverse environmental effects.

Under the Responsible Resource Development plan, less complex or lower-risk projects on federal lands, including reserve lands, are still subject to the requirements of all applicable federal laws, standards and permits. In addition, while an environmental assessment will not be required for these lower-risk projects, section 67 of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012) requires that Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) must conduct a review to determine whether a project is likely to cause significant adverse environmental effects before making any decision that would allow a project to proceed. Pursuant to section 71 of CEAA 2012, AANDC will report annually to Parliament regarding this obligation.

To address these environmental review requirements, AANDC developed an Environmental Review Process (ERP), which includes a suite of procedural tools and policies. This Process allows on-reserve projects to proceed in a timely and predictable way, with established service standards and increased collaboration between proponents and Aboriginal communities, as well as any other implicated federal authorities. To ensure that this Process met the needs of Aboriginal communities and any departmental requirements, its development was informed by stakeholder engagement, both internally and with First Nations. Although the Process has undergone a pilot phase, AANDC will regularly evaluate its effectiveness over the next several months and make adjustments, where required.

What Information is Available?

Processus d’examen environnemental pour les projets touchant des terres de réserve

Note

Le contenu de cette page Web peut ne pas présenter exactement les nouvelles exigences législatives de la Loi sur l'évaluation d'impact, entrée en vigueur le 28 août 2019. Nous procédons à la mise à jour de la page. Entre-temps, veuillez envoyer vos demandes à : aadnc.ceceam-ceegec.aandc@canada.ca.

Développement responsable des ressources détaille le plan du Canada pour moderniser le système réglementaire afin que les ressources naturelles du pays soient exploitées d'une manière responsable qui profitera à tous les Canadiens. Les changements apportés dans le cadre de cette initiative axeront les activités d'évaluation environnementale du gouvernement fédéral sur les grands projets qui pourraient avoir des effets dommageables majeurs sur l'environnement.

Dans le cadre du plan de développement responsable des ressources, les projets simples qui posent un risque moindre déployés sur des terres fédérales demeureront assujettis aux exigences des lois, des normes et des permis fédéraux. De plus, même si aucune évaluation environnementale n'est nécessaire pour ce type de projets, l'article 67 de la Loi canadienne sur l'évaluation environnementale (LCEE 2012) exige qu'AADNC procède à un examen environnemental afin de déterminer si un projet est susceptible d'avoir des effets dommageables sur l'environnement. Conformément à l'article 71 de la LCEE 2012, AADNC présentera un rapport annuel au Parlement à cet égard.

Pour répondre à ces exigences, le Ministère a développé un processus d'examen environnemental (PEE), qui comprend un ensemble d'outils et politiques de procédure. Ce processus permet à des projets réalisés sur des terres de réserve de procéder d'une manière plus rapide et de façon plus prévisible, avec des normes de service établies et de renforcer la coopération entre les promoteurs et les communautés autochtones, ainsi que d'autres autorités fédérales concernées. Afin de s'assurer que le processus réponde aux besoins des collectivités autochtones et aux exigences ministérielles, AADNC a misé sur la participation d'intervenants, aussi bien à l'interne qu'au sein des Premières Nations. Bien qu'il ait franchi l'étape du projet pilote, le processus sera soumis à des évaluations ministérielles régulières au cours des prochains mois et sera modifié, au besoin.

De quels renseignements dispose-t-on?

Date de modification :