2010-2011 Advocacy and public information projects

Projects

 

Advocacy and Communications for the Indian Residential Schools Unit

Project Lead: Assembly of First Nations
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

The Assembly of First Nations (AFN), formed in 1982 (previously the National Indian Brotherhood), is a national organization representing First Nations citizens in Canada. The AFN is proposing an advocacy and communications strategy to ensure the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, the Independent Assessment Process as well as the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Commemoration are understood and accessible to all eligible former Indian Residential School students and their families. The primary audience and priority will be former IRS students and families in remote and isolated communities.

 

"Outreach"

Project Lead: Dene Nation
Locations: Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

The Dene Nation is an Aboriginal Governmental Organization serving the 29 Dene Chiefs and Communities in Denendeh, Northwest Territories. Dene Nations' mandate is to advocate, inform, and coordinate on Dene issues. The Dene Nation will organize and deliver five community information sessions and support to Dene communities, Indian Residential School (IRS) survivors and front-line workers relating to the IRS Settlement Agreement. The Dene nation will particularly focus on former IRS survivors not yet reached, such as the homeless and incarcerated.

Indian Residential Schools

Project Lead: Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Indian Residential School Program's Vision is to provide information, education, support and access to information for former students of Indian Residential Schools (IRS). This year's funding will expand outreach to include those survivors who are homeless, incarcerated in Federal or Provincial institutions or otherwise disadvantaged with respect to information about and participation in the IRSSA; provide outreach in remote and isolated communities and provide survivors with information on the IRSSA; and promote healing and reconciliation by helping Canadians to understand the IRSSA and the impact that the legacy of the IRS has had on First Nations communities.

IAP Outreach/Support Activities

Truth and Reconciliation National Event Preparation Project Lead: Inuvailuit Regional Corporation
Location: Inuvik, Northwest Territories

The Inuvialuit Regional Corporation was established by the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, also known as the Western Arctic Claim. Funding will help reach Inuvialuit former Indian Residential School (IRS) students who may require assistance with the Independent Assessment Process (IAP), and to provide supports to Inuvialuit former students to allow them to participate in the IAP knowledgeably and safely; provide former IRS students in remote communities with access to estate and legal planning services; and promote healing and reconciliation through the activities of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Advocacy and Public Information Program

Project Lead: Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba

The primary objective of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) is to properly inform Manitoba First Nation of initiatives, programs, services and/or benefits resulting from the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement regardless of where they reside within the province of Manitoba. For the 2010-2011 fiscal year, funding will help AMC inform communities, and in particular Indian Residential School Survivors, of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, the Commemoration Initiatives, and the Independent Assessment Process.

National Intergenerational Impacts Conference

Project Lead: Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba

Funding will go towards the National Intergenerational Impacts Conference. The purpose of the conference will be to identify and understand intergenerational impacts caused by Indian Residential School so that potential solutions may be identified.

The Atlantic Policy Congress Advocacy & Public Information Program

Project Lead: The Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs Secretariat
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

The Atlantic Policy Congress (APC), was federally incorporated in 1995 and is tasked with conducting policy research and advocacy for 38 Mi'kmaq, Maliseet, Passamaquoddy and Innu chiefs, nations and communities in Eastern Atlantic Canada. APC will particularly focus on former IRS students not yet reached, such as those located in mental health institutions, the homeless and the incarcerated.

Residential School Settlement Agreement

Project Lead: Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated
Locations: Iqaluit, Nunavut

Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) assists Inuit who are former Indian Residential School students to better understand and access programs under the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement (IRSSA), including the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and the Independent Assessment Process. NTI will reach out to underserved target groups such as urban and homeless Inuit and incarcerated and isolated populations by providing information on compensation and commemoration initiatives under the IRSSA.

Journey Forward

Project Lead: Pauktuutit Inuit women of Canada
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Pauktuutit is the national representative organization of all Inuit women in Canada. The goal of this project is to focus on providing information on the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement to former Inuit residential schools survivors and to promote and facilitate Inuit healing and reconciliation from the legacy of the residential schools experience.

Wedamoshin (Tell Me) Project

Project Lead: Nishnawbe Aski Nation
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) represents 49 First Nations communities within the territory of the James Bay Treaty 9 and the Ontario portions of Treaty 5. The "Wedamoshin (Tell Me)" Project will provide resources and information on an ongoing basis to NAN communities and Indian Residential School survivors on residential school issues; information to residential school survivors within the NAN territory who are still unfamiliar with the Independent Assessment Process and the work of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC); and assist residential school survivors who are interested in actively participating TRC national and regional events.

"Healing Happens: National Day of Healing and Reconciliation"

Project Lead: Native Counselling Services of Alberta
Locations: Edmonton, Alberta

The Native Counselling Services of Alberta was established in 1970. The "Healing Happens: National Day of Healing and Reconciliation" (NDHR) initiative will form partnerships and support initiatives designed to educate Canadians about the collective history with respect to residential schools and the policies affecting Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people relations and other ethnic groups; explore healing and reconciliation issues and develop information resources that describe the impact historical policy implementation has had on Aboriginal individuals, families and communities and other ethnic groups; distribute information and resources that will increase community capacity to create healing and reconciliation opportunities for Aboriginal peoples, and between Aboriginal peoples and other ethnic groups; develop and distribute promotional materials to community organizations throughout Canada to enhance their participation in the NDHR campaign; support, encourage and facilitate the process for community organizations throughout Canada to celebrate NDHR each year by hosting an event.

National Forgiven Summit

Project Lead: Gathering Nations International
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Gathering Nations International is a First Nations founded, non-profit corporation established for the purpose of bringing reconciliation, healing and unity in people, nations, churches and governments. Funding will help to bring First Nations, Inuit, and Métis people face to face with representatives from the Government of Canada to give and receive forgiveness, and to celebrate that freedom together; to educate the public not only about the negative impacts of Indian Residential Schools (IRS), but also the positive future that is possible; to encourage sharing diverse viewpoints on IRS issues; to share stories of forgiveness, healing, and hope; to contribute to the restoration of Aboriginal families through a shared positive, intergenerational experience; and to create a positive experience shared between Aboriginal and non-aboriginal families and people.

The Elder and Youth Gathering on Reconciliation and Hope

Project Lead: Gathering Nations International
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Funding will help to rebuild broken relationships between elders, youth, and families; reinforce cultural identity of youth; promote an appreciation of heritage to positively affect self-esteem; acknowledge that descendents of survivors were impacted by Indian Residential Schools (IRS) and have a place in reconciliation efforts; and provide information and support resources related to IRS.

"Exhibitions, Education and Outreach Program"

Project Lead: Legacy of Hope
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

The Legacy of Hope is a national Aboriginal charitable organization whose purpose is to educate and create awareness and understanding about the legacy of Indian Residential Schools (IRS), including the effects and intergenerational impacts on First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples, and to continue to support the ongoing healing process of IRS Survivors. Funding will go towards fostering awareness among young Canadians of the history and legacy of the IRS system in Canada and the issues it engenders; supporting Survivors and providing them with a private, respectful and culturally-appropriate forum with which to share their stories; providing information on available health supports; creating exhibitions and educational materials that communicate experiences; and in providing information to communities on best practices in healing and de-colonization. Funding will also be used to ensure that Survivors have a voice in education, to build on existing educational materials as well as create innovative new resources and delivering mechanisms.

Projects of Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services dealing with Indian Residential Schools issues

Project Lead: Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission
Location: Wendake, Quebec

Founded in 1994, the Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission assists Quebec and Labrador First Nations and Inuit communities and organizations in defending, maintaining and exercising their inherent rights in the area of health and social services, and in developing and delivering these programs. Funding will go towards promoting healing and reconciliation while informing communities, organizations and Indian Residential School (IRS) survivors of all components of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement; and pursuing outreach into remote communities, schools and with IRS survivors who are homeless or are incarcerated in federal or provincial institutions. Funding will also be used to develop, promote and distribute the documentary named: "The Heritage of the Québec Indian Residential Schools" as well as develop a museum exhibition from this work, to promote the truth and healing on this subject with all Canadians.

Métis Survivors of Indian Residential Schools

Project Lead: Métis National Council
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Since 1983, the Métis National Council (MNC) has represented the Métis Nation nationally and internationally. The broad objectives of the Métis National Council with regard to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement are to engage in an information sharing process within the Métis community and with Métis survivors to contribute to the enhancement of benefits to eligible Métis recipients. Funding will go towards maintaining and updating MNC's interactive Métis Residential Schools' portal, held within the Métis National Council website; and organizing and assisting Métis survivors and family members of survivors in Advocacy and Public Information which will ultimately contribute to the ongoing healing and reconciliation process.

Culturally Relevant Gender Based Models of Reconciliation

Project Lead: Native Women's Association of Canada
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Funding will help to reach the large number of Aboriginal women incarcerated in federal and provincial institutions to advise them of their potential benefits under the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement and to attempt a modest scale reconciliation that could be used as a model or could be a best practice that would influence change in the correctional system and to provide better outcomes for Aboriginal women.

2010 – 2011 Indian Residential School Survivors Society

Project Lead: Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society
Location: Vancouver, British Colombia

The Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society (IRSSS) was created in 1995 as a subcommittee of the First Nations Summit under the title Provincial Residential School Project and in 2001, was incorporated as a non-profit society, to fully serve all Indian Residential School (IRS) survivors in British Colombia. Funding will help IRSSS continue its mandate of providing information, response and healing workshops to IRS survivors, communities and the general public. IRSSS will focus particularly on preparing for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission national, regional and community events and the sexual abuse issues that may be brought forward to the TRC by survivors, as well as how to address intergenerational issues. In addition, IRSSS will continue its work in informing the Canadian public about the history and impacts of IRS, will continue to dialogue with key groups such as the Canadian Jewish Congress, the Japanese Canadians, the Chinese Benevolent Society, as well as high schools, post-secondary institutions and churches on issues of truth-telling, truth-listening, sharing of histories (both common and divergent) and on how all can participate in the Truth and Reconciliation process.

Renewed Relations: Creating a model for healing and reconciliation from Indian Residential Schools

Project Lead: Sioux Lookout Anti-Racism Committee
Location: Sioux Lookout, Ontario

The Sioux Lookout Anti-Racism Committee provides communities in Sioux Lookout and North western Ontario with a forum for building, nurturing and sustaining relationships among Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people. Funding will go towards developing a handbook for communities interested in exploring the legacy of Indian Residential Schools (IRS) and understanding the IRS Settlement Agreement. The handbook will guide these communities in the process of creating safe spaces for dialogue so that healing and reconciliation can be nurtured and sustained.

 

Date modified:

Projets d'information publique et de défense des intérêts: 2010-2011

Projets

 

Défense des intérêts et communications pour le Secteur des pensionnats indiens

Responsable du projet : Assemblée des Premières Nations
Endroit : Ottawa (Ontario)

L'Assemblée des Premières Nations (APN), créée en 1982 (appelée auparavant la Fraternité nationale des Indiens), est un organisme national qui représente les membres des Premières nations au Canada. L'APN propose la mise en œuvre d'une stratégie pour la défense des intérêts et les communications afin de s'assurer que tous les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et leurs familles comprennent bien la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, le Processus d'évaluation indépendant, ainsi que le mandat de la Commission de témoignage et réconciliation du Canada et les activités de commémoration, et qu'ils y aient accès. Les personnes ciblées de façon prioritaire seront les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens et leurs familles, dans les collectivités éloignées et isolées.

Sensibilisation (Outreach)

Responsable du projet : Nation dénée
Endroit : Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

La Nation dénée est une organisation gouvernementale autochtone au service des 29 chefs dénés et de leurs collectivités de Denendeh, soit les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Le mandat de la Nation dénée est de défendre les intérêts des Dénés, d'informer ce peuple et de coordonner les questions relatives aux Dénés. La Nation dénée organisera cinq séances d'information communautaire et en assurera la prestation. Elle soutiendra les collectivités dénées, les survivants des pensionnats indiens et les intervenants de première ligne dans le cadre de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens. La Nation dénée concentrera plus particulièrement ses efforts sur les survivants des anciens pensionnats indiens qui n'ont pas encore été rejoints, notamment les personnes sans abri et incarcérées.

Pensionnats indiens

Responsable du projet : Fédération des nations indiennes de la Saskatchewan
Endroit : Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

La vision du Programme sur les pensionnats indiens de la Fédération des nations indiennes de la Saskatchewan est d'informer, d'éduquer et de soutenir les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, ainsi que d'accès à l'information. Le financement de cette année sera consacré à augmenter le nombre d'activités de sensibilisation à l'intention des survivants qui sont sans abri, incarcérés dans des établissements fédéraux ou provinciaux ou autrement défavorisés par rapport à l'accès à l'information sur le sujet et à la participation à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI). Il servira également à fournir des services de diffusion de l'information dans les collectivités éloignées et isolées, de même qu'à fournir aux survivants des renseignements sur la CRRPI et à promouvoir la guérison et la réconciliation en aidant les Canadiens à bien comprendre la Convention et les séquelles des pensionnats indiens sur les collectivités des Premières nations.

Activités de sensibilisation et de soutien dans le cadre du Processus d'évaluation indépendant

Préparation du premier événement national de la Commission de témoignage et réconciliation du Canada
Responsable du projet : Société régionale inuvialuit
Endroit : Inuvik (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

La Société régionale inuvialuit a été instituée dans le cadre de la Convention définitive des Inuvialuit, aussi appelée la revendication de l'Arctique de l'Ouest. Le financement contribuera à rejoindre les anciens élèves inuvialuit des pensionnats qui pourraient avoir besoin d'aide dans le cadre du Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI); à leur fournir des services de soutien de manière à leur permettre de participer au PEI en toute connaissance de cause et en toute sécurité; à fournir aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens résidant dans des collectivités éloignées un accès à des services de planification successorale et à des services juridiques; à promouvoir la guérison et la réconciliation par le biais des activités de la Commission de témoignage et réconciliation du Canada.

Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts de l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba

Responsable du projet : Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba 
Endroit : Winnipeg (Manitoba)

L'objectif principal de l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba (ACM) est d'informer adéquatement les Premières nations du Manitoba sur les initiatives, les programmes, les services et les avantages découlant de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, indépendamment du lieu de résidence des membres dans la province du Manitoba. Au cours de l'exercice de 2010‑2011, le financement permettra à l'ACM de renseigner les collectivités, et plus particulièrement, les survivants des pensionnats indiens, sur la Commission de témoignage et réconciliation du Canada, les initiatives de commémoration et le Processus d'évaluation indépendant.

Conférence nationale sur les séquelles intergénérationnelles

Responsable du projet : Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba
Endroit : Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Le financement servira à l'organisation et à la tenue de la Conférence nationale sur les séquelles intergénérationnelles. Le but de la conférence sera d'identifier et de comprendre les séquelles intergénérationnelles causées par les pensionnats indiens afin de trouver des pistes de solution.

Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts du Congrès des chefs des Premières nations de l'Atlantique

Responsable du projet : Secrétariat du Congrès des chefs des Premières nations de l'Atlantique
Endroit : Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Le Congrès des chefs des Premières nations de l'Atlantique a été constitué en vertu d'une loi fédérale en 1995. Il a pour mission de procéder à des recherches sur les politiques et à la défense des intérêts de 38 chefs, nations et collectivités mi'kmaq, malécites, passamaquoddy et innus du secteur oriental de l'Atlantique du Canada. L'APC ciblera les anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens qui n'ont pas encore été rejoints, notamment ceux qui se trouvent dans des établissements de santé mentale, ainsi que les personnes sans abri et incarcérées.

Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens

Responsable du projet : Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated
Endroit : Iqaluit (Nunavut)

La Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) aide les Inuit qui sont d'anciens élèves de pensionnats indiens à mieux comprendre les programmes mis en œuvre dans le cadre de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI), y compris dans le cadre de la Commission de témoignage et réconciliation du Canada et du Processus d'évaluation indépendant, et à accéder à ces programmes. La NTI axera ses efforts sur la communication avec des groupes cibles mal desservis, notamment les Inuit vivant en milieu urbain et sans abri, ainsi que les populations incarcérées et isolées, en leur fournissant des renseignements sur les initiatives d'indemnisation et de commémoration entreprises dans le cadre de la CRRPI.

Cap sur l'avenir (Journey Forward)

Responsable du projet : Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada
Endroit : Ottawa (Ontario)

Pauktuutit est l'organisme national représentant l'ensemble des femmes inuites du Canada. Le but du projet est de centrer les efforts sur la diffusion d'information sur la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens aux survivants inuits des pensionnats indiens, ainsi que de promouvoir et de faciliter la guérison des Inuit et leur réconciliation à la suite des séquelles de leurs expériences dans les pensionnats.

Projet « Wedamoshin (Tell Me) »

Responsable du projet : Nation nishnawbe-aski
Endroit : Ottawa (Ontario)

La Nation nishnawbe-aski regroupe 49 collectivités des Premières Nations sur le territoire de la baie James faisant l'objet du Traité no 9 et dans certaines parties de l'Ontario faisant partie du Traité no 5. Le projet « Wedamoshin (Tell Me) » vise à fournir des ressources et de l'information sur les questions liées aux pensionnats sur une base continue aux collectivités nishnawbe-aski et aux survivants des pensionnats indiens. Il vise également à fournir de l'information aux survivants des pensionnats sur le territoire nishnawbe-aski, qui ne connaissent pas encore le Processus d'évaluation indépendant et le travail de la Commission de témoignage et réconciliation du Canada, et à aider les survivants des pensionnats qui le désirent à participer activement aux événements nationaux et régionaux organisés dans le cadre de la Commission.

Étape vers la guérison : journée nationale de la guérison et de la réconciliation (Healing Happens: National Day of Healing and Reconciliation)

Responsable du projet : Service autochtone de counselling de l'Alberta
Endroit : Edmonton, Alberta

Le Service autochtone de counselling de l'Alberta a été créé en 1970. L'initiative Étape vers la guérison : journée nationale de la guérison et de la réconciliation vise à créer des partenariats et à soutenir des initiatives visant à renseigner les Canadiens sur l'histoire collective des pensionnats et sur les politiques ayant influencé les relations entre les populations autochtones et non autochtones, ainsi que d'autres groupes ethniques. Elle vise aussi à explorer les questions de la guérison et de la réconciliation pour établir des sources d'information qui décriront les séquelles de la mise en œuvre de politiques historiques sur les Autochtones, leurs familles et leurs collectivités, ainsi que sur d'autres groupes ethniques; à diffuser de l'information et à fournir des sources d'information qui habiliteront davantage les collectivités à créer des occasions de guérison et de réconciliation pour les Autochtones et entre les Autochtones et d'autres groupes ethniques; à préparer et à diffuser des documents promotionnels aux organismes communautaires au Canada afin d'accroître leur participation à la campagne mise de l'avant dans le cadre de l'initiative; à soutenir et à encourager les organismes communautaires au pays à participer à la célébration de la journée nationale annuelle de guérison et de réconciliation en devenant l'hôte d'un événement, ainsi qu'à les accompagner dans ce processus.

Sommet national du pardon

Responsable du projet : Gathering Nations International
Endroit : Ottawa (Ontario)

Gathering Nations International est une société sans but lucratif fondée par les Premières nations dans le but de favoriser la réconciliation, la guérison et l'unité entre les personnes, les nations, les églises et les gouvernements. Le financement servira à organiser des rencontres en personne entre des membres des Premières nations, les Inuit, les Métis et les représentants du gouvernement du Canada afin de donner et d'obtenir le pardon et de célébrer cette délivrance ensemble; d'informer le public non seulement des conséquences négatives des pensionnats indiens, mais également de la possibilité d'un avenir positif; d'encourager le partage de différents points de vue sur les questions liées aux pensionnats indiens; de partager des histoires de pardon, de guérison et d'espoir; de contribuer au rétablissement des valeurs familiales autochtones au moyen d'une expérience intergénérationnelle partagée et positive; de créer une expérience positive de partage entre les personnes et les familles autochtones et non autochtones.

Rassemblement des aînés et des jeunes pour la réconciliation et l'espoir

Responsable du projet : Gathering Nations International
Endroit : Ottawa (Ontario)

Le financement aidera à rebâtir les liens rompus entre les aînés, les jeunes et les familles; à renforcer l'identité culturelle des jeunes; à promouvoir la fierté de leur héritage pour favoriser l'estime de soi; à reconnaître que les descendants des survivants des pensionnats indiens ont subi des séquelles et qu'ils doivent occuper une place au sein des efforts de réconciliation; à fournir de l'information et des ressources de soutien sur toutes les questions liées aux pensionnats indiens.

Programme d'expositions, d'éducation et de sensibilisation

Responsable du projet : Fondation autochtone de l'espoir
Endroit : Ottawa (Ontario)

La Fondation autochtone de l'espoir est une organisation autochtone caritative nationale dont l'objectif est d'informer, de sensibiliser et de favoriser la compréhension des séquelles des pensionnats indiens, y compris les incidences et les répercussions intergénérationnelles sur les membres des Premières nations, les Inuit et les Métis, et de continuer à soutenir le processus continu de guérison des survivants des pensionnats. Le financement servira à sensibiliser davantage les jeunes Canadiens sur l'histoire des pensionnats indiens au Canada, sur les conséquences de ce régime et sur les problèmes qu'il a engendrés; à soutenir les survivants et à mettre à leur disposition un forum privé, respectueux et adapté à leur culture pour partager leurs expériences; à fournir de l'information sur les services de soutien en santé; à créer des expositions et à préparer du matériel éducatif pour communiquer leurs expériences; à fournir de l'information aux collectivités sur les pratiques exemplaires en matière de guérison et de décolonisation. Le financement servira également à s'assurer de donner la parole aux survivants en ce qui a trait à l'éducation, à mettre à profit le matériel didactique existant, ainsi qu'à développer de nouvelles ressources innovatrices et à mettre en œuvre des mécanismes.

Projets de la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador relatifs à la question des pensionnats indiens

Responsable du projet : Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières Nations du Québec et du Labrador
Endroit : Wendake (Québec)

Créée en 1994, la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières nations du Québec et du Labrador aide les collectivités et les organisations des Premières nations et inuites du Québec et du Labrador à défendre, à maintenir et à exercer leurs droits fondamentaux dans les domaines de la santé et des services sociaux, ainsi qu'à développer des programmes connexes à ces domaines et à en assurer la prestation. Le financement servira à promouvoir la guérison et la réconciliation par le biais de la diffusion d'information aux collectivités, aux organisations et aux survivants des pensionnats indiens sur l'ensemble des éléments de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens; à poursuivre les efforts de sensibilisation dans les collectivités éloignées, dans les établissements d'enseignement et auprès des survivants des pensionnats indiens qui sont sans abri ou incarcérés dans des établissements fédéraux ou provinciaux. Le financement servira également à rédiger, à promouvoir et à diffuser le documentaire intitulé The Heritage of the Quebec Indian Residential Schools, ainsi qu'à préparer une exposition de musée à partir de ce documentaire, dans le but d'encourager auprès de tous les Canadiens la diffusion de la vérité et la guérison en ce qui a trait à cette question.

Survivants métis des pensionnats indiens

Responsable du projet : Ralliement national des Métis
Endroit : Ottawa (Ontario)

Depuis 1983, le Ralliement national des Métis représente la Nation métisse sur le plan national et international. Les objectifs généraux du Ralliement national des Métis par rapport à la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens consistent à amorcer un processus de partage de l'information au sein de la communauté métisse et avec les survivants métis afin de contribuer à l'accroissement des avantages pour les bénéficiaires métis admissibles. Le financement servira à maintenir et à mettre à jour le portail interactif des pensionnats indiens des Métis, qui fait partie du site Web du Ralliement national des Métis. Il servira également à coordonner l'aide aux survivants métis et aux membres de leurs familles dans le cadre du processus d'information publique et de défense des intérêts qui, en définitive, assurera la continuité de la guérison et de réconciliation.

Modèles de réconciliation adaptés à la culture et basés sur le sexe

Responsable du projet : Association des femmes autochtones du Canada
Endroit : Ottawa (Ontario)

Le financement aidera à rejoindre un grand nombre de femmes autochtones incarcérées dans des établissements fédéraux et provinciaux afin de les informer des avantages prévus pour elles dans le cadre de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens et de tenter une réconciliation, sur une échelle réduite, qui pourra ensuite servir de modèle ou de pratique exemplaire en vue d'amorcer un changement dans le système correctionnel et fournir de meilleures perspectives d'avenir aux femmes autochtones.

2010 – 2011 Indian Residential School Survivors Society

Responsable du projet : Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society
Endroit : Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

La Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society (IRSSS) a été créée en 1995 à titre de sous-comité du Sommet des Premières nations, sous l'appellation de Provincial Residential School Project et, en 2001, elle était constituée en société sans but lucratif au service de tous les survivants des pensionnats indiens en Colombie-Britannique. Le financement aidera l'IRSSS à réaliser son mandat en fournissant de l'information, en organisant des ateliers de réponse et de guérison pour les survivants des pensionnats indiens, les collectivités et le public en général. L'IRSSS concentrera plus particulièrement ses efforts à la préparation des événements nationaux, régionaux et communautaires organisés dans le cadre de la Commission de témoignage et réconciliation du Canada, aux questions liées aux sévices sexuels qui pourraient être présentées à la Commission par les survivants, ainsi qu'à la manière d'aborder les problèmes intergénérationnels. De plus, l'IRSSS continuera d'informer le public canadien sur l'histoire des pensionnats indiens et sur les séquelles qui en découlent, de maintenir un dialogue avec les groupes clés, notamment le Congrès juif canadien, les Canadiens japonais, la Chinese Benevolent Society, ainsi qu'avec les écoles secondaires, les établissements postsecondaires et les églises. Ce dialogue portera sur l'expression de la vérité, l'écoute de la vérité, le partage des expériences (à la fois communes et divergentes) et la façon dont tous peuvent participer au processus de vérité et de réconciliation.

Renouveau des relations : création d'un modèle de guérison et de réconciliation à la suite du régime des pensionnats indiens (Renewed Relations: Creating a model for healing and reconciliation from Indian Residential Schools)

Responsable du projet : Sioux Lookout Anti-Racism Committee
Endroit : Sioux Lookout (Ontario)

Le Sioux Lookout Anti-Racism Committee fournit aux collectivités du district de Sioux Lookout et du Nord-Ouest de l'Ontario un forum pour bâtir, maintenir et soutenir les relations entre les Autochtones et les non‑Autochtones. Le financement servira à rédiger un guide pour les collectivités souhaitant à connaître les séquelles des pensionnats indiens et à comprendre la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens. Le guide orientera ces collectivités engagées dans ce processus pour créer des espaces sûrs favorisant le dialogue, de manière à pouvoir soutenir et maintenir les efforts en vue de la guérison et de la réconciliation.

 

Date de modification :