2011-2012 Advocacy and public information projects

Projects

"Advocacy and Communications Proposal for the Indian Residential Schools Unit"

Project Lead: Assembly of First Nations
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

The Assembly of First Nations (AFN) is a national organization representing First Nations citizens in Canada. The AFN is proposing an advocacy and communications strategy to ensure the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (IRSSA), the Independent Assessment Process as well as the Truth and Reconciliation Commission and Commemoration are understood and accessible to all eligible former Indian Residential School students and their families. One area of focus will be on engaging youth and survivors through social media to discuss reconciliation and the IRSSA.

"Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Advocacy and Public Information Program – Indian Residential Schools"

Project Lead: Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba

The primary objective of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) Residential Schools Unit is to properly inform Manitoba First Nation of initiatives, programs, services and/or benefits resulting from the Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement regardless of where they reside within the province of Manitoba. In 2011-2012, AMC will engage youth and Elders, public sector organizations and institutions in dialogue on the legacy of residential schools and in implementing recommendations from the Hidden Legacy Conference, held in February 2011. Educational resources will also be developed for professionals working in schools, public safety organizations and other front line services.

"The Atlantic Policy Congress Advocacy and Public Information Program"

Project Lead: The Atlantic Policy Congress of First Nations Chiefs Secretariat
Location: Dartmouth, Nova Scotia

The Atlantic Policy Congress (APC), was federally incorporated in 1995 and is tasked with conducting policy research and advocacy for 38 Mi'kmaq, Maliseet, Passamaquoddy and Innu chiefs, nations and communities in Eastern Atlantic Canada. APC will focus on reaching out to Aboriginal youth in Atlantic Canada through partnership with the Mi'kmaq Maliseet Atlantic Youth Council.

"Cross Cultural and Cross Generational Understanding"

Project Lead: Coqualeetza Cultural Education Centre Association
Location: Chilliwack, British Columbia

Coqualeetza Cultural Education Centre Association (CCECA) was incorporated in 1973 as a non-profit charitable organization and recognized as a successful Aboriginal cultural centre in British Columbia. CCECA will tour local communities impacted by residential schools and work with district school boards to engage Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal youth in healing and reconciliation.

"The Journey to Freedom: The Stories of Our Children"

Project Lead: Dene Nation
Locations: Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

The Dene Nation serves the 29 Dene Chiefs and Communities in Denendeh, Northwest Territories. Dene Nations' mandate is to advocate, inform, and coordinate on Dene issues. A series of community workshops will be held to promote healing and reconciliation, with a particular focus on reaching youth and intergenerational survivors, high-risk and difficult-to-reach segments of society (incarcerated, homeless, remote communities, etc.), health care and social service providers, and the general Canadian public.

"Going Along on the Journey: Continued Assistance for Indian Residential School Survivors"

Project Lead: Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations Indian Residential School Program's vision is to provide information, education, support and access to information for former students of Indian Residential Schools (IRS) in Saskatchewan. In 2011-2012, FSIN will develop a communication plan to reach survivors, front-line workers, youth and intergenerational survivors on the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement (IRSSA) and its components, and will also engage youth through a conference to promote reconciliation.

"Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts" (Advocacy and Public Information Program)

Project Lead: Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission
Location: Wendake, Quebec

Founded in 1994, the Assembly of First Nations of Quebec and Labrador Health and Social Services Commission assists Quebec and Labrador First Nations and Inuit communities and organizations in defending, maintaining and exercising their inherent rights in the area of health and social services, and in developing and delivering these programs. In 2011-2012, FNQLHSSC will travel with the museum exhibit "Territoires Etrangers" to numerous venues across Canada to educate Canadians on residential schools history in Quebec.

"Regional Ontario-Quebec Youth Symposium on Reconciliation and Restoration"

Project Lead: Gathering Nations International
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Gathering Nations International is a First Nations founded and run non-profit corporation with the purpose of bringing reconciliation, healing and unity in people, nations, churches, and governments. Building upon the "Journey of Freedom" and "National Forgiven Summit" from 2010, GNI will promote the healing power of forgiveness and strengthen individuals and communities through a focused youth investment by creating a forum for and building relationships with Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal youth from Ontario and Quebec.

"Advocacy and Public Information Program - Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society"

Project Lead: Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society
Location: Vancouver, British Colombia

The Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society (IRSSS) was created in 1995 as a subcommittee of the First Nations Summit under the title Provincial Residential School Project and in 2001 was incorporated as a non-profit society, to fully serve all Indian Residential School (IRS) survivors in British Colombia. Funding will help IRSSS continue its mandate of providing information and healing workshops to IRS survivors, communities and the general public. IRSSS will focus particularly on youth, intergenerational survivors, and the general Canadian public to build an understanding of the impacts of Indian Residential Schools on Aboriginal Communities.

"IRSSA Deadline Awareness, National Event Preparation, and Estate Planning Support for Inuvialuit Former Students"

Project Lead: Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
Location: Inuvik, Northwest Territories

The Inuvialuit Regional Corporation was established by the Inuvialuit Final Agreement, also known as the Western Arctic Claim. Funding will help reach Inuvialuit former Indian Residential School students who may require assistance with the Independent Assessment Process (IAP), and to provide supports to Inuvialuit former students to allow them to participate in the IAP knowledgeably and safely; provide former IRS students in remote communities with access to estate and legal planning services; and promote healing and reconciliation through the activities of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada.

"Advocacy and Public Information Program – Legacy of Hope"

Project Lead: Legacy of Hope
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

The Legacy of Hope is a national Aboriginal charitable organization whose purpose is to educate and create awareness and understanding about the legacy of Indian Residential Schools (IRS), including the effects and intergenerational impacts on First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples, and to continue to support the ongoing healing process of IRS Survivors. In 2011-2012, the Legacy of Hope Foundation will build upon existing exhibits that contribute to reconciliation and which reflect the experiences of survivors and intergenerational survivors. Additionally, LHF will target youth and education by mounting a large-scale effort to implement curriculum on residential schools across Canada, giving survivors a voice in classrooms and connecting youth with intergenerational survivors. Expanding distribution of resources developed in the past by LHF will give educators the tools they need to raise awareness about the legacy of residential schools among youth and create dialogue on reconciliation.

"Advocacy and Public Information Program – Métis National Council"

Project Lead: Métis National Council
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Since 1983, the Métis National Council has represented the Métis Nation nationally and internationally. The broad objectives of the Métis National Council with regard to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement are to engage in an information sharing process within the Métis community and with Métis survivors to contribute to the enhancement of benefits to eligible Métis recipients. This year, MNC will focus its efforts on intergenerational healing and reconciliation with a youth-led engagement strategy and outreach campaign that promotes healing and reconciliation and raises awareness of the distinct history of Métis in terms of experiences with residential schools.

"Understanding Our History to Create a Better Foundation for Partnership to Develop a Better Future"

Project Lead: Montana First Nation
Location: Hobbema, Alberta

Montana First Nation is one of the four (4) Hobbema Nations in Central Alberta. In its first year as an APIP partner,  Montana First Nation proposes to contribute to healing and reconciliation by establishing a youth forum for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal youth to learn about and share knowledge of the Indian Residential School legacy. Partnering with Elders and historians, the youth will gain knowledge about residential schools and their impacts on Aboriginal communities.

 "Advocacy and Public Information Program – Mushkegowuk Council"

Project Lead: Mushkegowuk Council
Location:  Mushkegowuk Territory, Ontario

Since 1984, the Mushkegowuk Council has provided political leadership for the unified interests and concerns of the seven First Nations in Mushkegowuk Territory as well as for the provision of guidance and assistance in the development of communities. Funding in 2011-2012 will be applied to address the impacts of the legacy of residential schools in the region.  Mushkegowuk Council will engage high school aged youth through workshops on intergenerational impacts of residential schools to promote healing and for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal youth to promote reconciliation.

"Healing Happens: National Day of Healing and Reconciliation 2011-2012"

Project Lead: Native Counseling Services of Alberta
Locations: Edmonton, Alberta

The Native Counseling Services of Alberta (NSCA) was established in 1970 and has grown into an agency focused on healing and harmony within the Aboriginal community. NSCA has been hosting the National Day of Healing and Reconciliation (NDHR) campaign since 2004. In 2011-2012, NCSA will build upon the campaign from previous years by expanding efforts toward reconciliation through education and outreach, with a particular focus on Aboriginal, non-Aboriginal and ethnic communities. Organizers of NDHR have moved the date to June 11th to coincide with the Anniversary of the Prime Minister's Apology.

"Gender Matters: Building Strength in Reconciliation"

Project Lead: Native Women's Association of Canada
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Since 1974, the Native Women's Association of Canada (NWAC) has worked with Aboriginal women and Aboriginal women's organizations increasing awareness of the differential impacts and unique realities of Aboriginal women and girls in Canada. In 2011-2012, NWAC will provide an important step toward resolving the legacy of residential schools by creating dialogue about the intergenerational impacts of residential schools on Aboriginal women and girls, particularly Aboriginal women and girls who are in conflict with the law, and by providing support for young Aboriginal girls through education and healing initiatives.

"SIVUMUAPALLIANIQ IV: National Youth Forum"

Project Lead: Pauktuutit Inuit women of Canada
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Pauktuutit is the national representative organization of Inuit women in Canada. The goal of this year's APIP project is to help Canadians, particularly youth (Inuit, First Nations, Metis, non-Aboriginal, new Canadians and immigrants) understand the impacts that the legacy of residential schools has had on Inuit and their communities in order to promote the goal of better understanding of the legacy of the Inuit residential school experience. This project will be conducted in partnership with the Terry Fox Canadian Youth Centre.

"Residential School Awareness and Healing"

Project Lead: Rolling River First Nation
Location: Erickson, Manitoba

In 2011-2012, the Rolling River First Nation members and Erickson Collegiate will develop awareness and promote healing through art, music and acting for descendents of former residential schools students through various one-day events, including a youth-empowerment workshop. The major focus at each event will be the effects and after-effects of the Indian Residential School era.

"The Journey Forward: An Oral History Project on the Life of Garnet Angeconeb"

Project Lead: Sioux Lookout Anti-Racism Committee
Location: Sioux Lookout, Ontario

The Sioux Lookout Anti-Racism Committee provides communities in Sioux Lookout and Northwestern Ontario with a forum for building, nurturing and sustaining relationships among Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people. This project will engage Canadians in reconciliation through an oral history project on the life of Garnet Angeconeb. As a central figure in this part of Canada's history, Garnet's entire experience – from childhood, through residential school, to the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement process, to the way forward – puts him in a unique position to share his personal story.

"A Proposal to Participate in the TRC National Event in June 2011"

Project Lead: Tunngasuvvingat Inuit
Location: Ottawa, Ontario

Tunngasuvvingat Inuit (TI) has provided support to Inuit living in Ottawa since 1987 and operates the Mamisarvik Healing Centre, an Inuit-specific, eight-week residential addiction program. This project will promote healing and reconciliation by distributing wellness manuals at the Truth and Reconciliation Commission National Event in Inuvik, NWT.

"New Tribe – Special Edition"

Project Lead: Urban Society for Aboriginal Youth
Location: Calgary, Alberta

For over a decade, Urban Society for Aboriginal Youth (USAY) has developed culturally based programs and strategies that empower and enrich the lives of urban Aboriginal youth residing in Calgary. In 2011-2012, USAY will be engaging youth through the development of a Special Edition of New Tribe magazine, focussed entirely on the legacy of residential schools and its impacts on Aboriginal communities.

"Circles of Understanding"

Project Lead: Vancouver Aboriginal Community Policing Centre Society
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia

The Vancouver Aboriginal Community Policing Centre Society (VACPC) provides community leadership in promoting healthy, positive, transformative relationships between the Vancouver Police Department and the Aboriginal Community by fostering accessible programming that empowers individuals and communities. This project will contribute to reconciliation by developing educational materials to promote awareness of residential schools and its effects on Aboriginal communities.

"SEVEN Youth Media Network – Truth and Reconciliation"

Project Lead: Wawatay Native Communications Society
Location: Sioux Lookout, Ontario

The Wawatay Native Communications Society (WNCS) serves the communication needs of First Nations people and communities of the Nishnawbe Aski Nation territory. In 2011-2012, WNCS will promote healing, understanding and reconciliation by engaging youth and local communities in developing a radio series and a special magazine publication on the legacy of residential schools, particularly on intergenerational survivors, and reconciliation.

Date modified:

Projets d'information publique et de défense des intérêts: 2011-2012

Projets

Défense des intérêts et communications pour le Secteur des pensionnats indiens »

Responsable : Assemblée des Premières nations
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)

L'Assemblée des Premières nations (APN) est un organisme national représentant les citoyens canadiens des Premières nations. Elle propose une stratégie de défense des intérêts et de communications pour s'assurer que la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI), le Processus d'évaluation indépendant, la Commission de témoignage et de réconciliation et les activités de commémoration sont compréhensibles et accessibles à tous les anciens pensionnaires admissibles et à leur famille. Une priorité sera de s'adresser aux jeunes et aux survivants par les médias sociaux pour discuter de réconciliation, ainsi que de la CRRPI.

Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts de l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba [pensionnats indiens] »

Responsable : Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba
Lieu : Winnipeg (Manitoba)

L'objectif premier du Secteur des pensionnats indiens de l'Assemblée des chefs du Manitoba (ACM) est de bien renseigner les Premières nations manitobaines sur les initiatives, les programmes, les services ou les prestations qui relèvent de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, quel que soit le lieu de résidence de leurs membres dans la province. En 2011‑2012, l'ACM conviera les jeunes et les aînés, les institutions et les organismes du secteur public à un dialogue sur les séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats et la mise en œuvre des recommandations de la conférence consacrée en février 2011 aux séquelles découlant des pensionnats indiens. On mettra aussi au point des ressources éducatives pour les professionnels travaillant dans les écoles, les organismes de sécurité publique et d'autres services de première ligne.

« Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts du Congrès des chefs des Premières nations de l'Atlantique »

Responsable : Secrétariat du Congrès des chefs des Premières nations de l'Atlantique
Lieu : Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)

Constitué en vertu des lois fédérales en 1995, le Congrès des chefs des Premières nations de l'Atlantique a pour mandat de mener des activités de recherche en politiques et de défense des droits au profit de 38 chefs, nations et collectivités mi'kmaq, malécites, innus et Passamaquoddy de l'est de la région de l'Atlantique. La priorité sera de fournir des services aux jeunes Autochtones des provinces de l'Atlantique grâce à un partenariat avec le Mi'kmaq Maliseet Atlantic Youth Council

Compréhension interculturelle et intergénérationnelle « Cross Cultural and Cross Generational Understanding »

Responsable : Coqualeetza Cultural Education Centre Association
Lieu : Chilliwack (Colombie-Britannique)

Constituée en 1973 comme œuvre de bienfaisance sans but lucratif et reconnue comme centre culturel autochtone de grande efficacité en Colombie-Britannique, la CCECA visitera les collectivités locales touchées par les séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats et, avec les conseils de district scolaire, engagera les jeunes, autochtones ou non, dans un mouvement de guérison et de réconciliation.

Le voyage vers la liberté : les histoires de nos enfants « The Journey to Freedom: The Stories of Our Children »

Responsable : Nation dénée
Lieu : Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

La Nation dénée est au service de 29 chefs et collectivités dénés à Denendeh dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Son mandat est la défense des droits, l'information et la coordination des affaires dénées. Elle tiendra une suite d'ateliers communautaires pour promouvoir la guérison et la réconciliation en mettant tout particulièrement l'accent sur les services à fournir aux jeunes, aux survivants des générations successives et aux éléments très vulnérables et difficiles à servir de la société (population incarcérée, sans-abri, collectivités éloignées, etc.) et en s'adressant aussi prioritairement aux fournisseurs de services de santé et de services sociaux et au grand public.

Continuer à cheminer : maintien de l'aide aux survivants des pensionnats indiens « Going Along on the Journey: Continued Assistance for Indian Residential School Survivors »

Responsable : Fédération des nations indiennes de la Saskatchewan
Lieu : Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

Avec son programme des pensionnats indiens, la Fédération des nations indiennes de la Saskatchewan vise à informer, éduquer et appuyer les anciens pensionnaires dans cette province, ainsi qu'à leur donner accès à l'information. En 2011‑2012, elle dressera un plan de communications pour servir les survivants, les travailleurs de première ligne, les jeunes et les survivants des générations successives dans le cadre de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens (CRRPI) et de ses volets. Elle s'adressera aussi aux jeunes par une conférence destinée à promouvoir la réconciliation.

Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts

Responsable : Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières nations du Québec et du Labrador
Lieu : Wendake (Québec)

Fondée en 1994, la Commission de la santé et des services sociaux des Premières nations du Québec et du Labrador aide les collectivités indiennes et inuites du Québec et du Labrador et leurs organismes à défendre, maintenir et exercer leurs droits ancestraux dans le domaine des services de santé et de services sociaux, ainsi qu'à concevoir et réaliser de tels programmes. En 2011‑2012, la Commission se rendra avec l'exposition muséale « Territoires étrangers » en de nombreux lieux sur le territoire canadien pour faire connaître aux gens l'histoire des pensionnats au Québec.

Symposium des jeunes Ontario-Québec sur la réconciliation et la restauration « Regional Ontario-Quebec Youth Symposium on Reconciliation and Restoration »

Responsable : Gathering Nations International
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)

Gathering Nations International est une société sans but lucratif fondée et dirigée par les Premières nations et qui travaille à la réconciliation, la guérison et l'unification des peuples, des nations, des Églises et des gouvernements. Dans le prolongement du « Voyage vers la liberté » et du « Sommet national du pardon » qui ont eu lieu en 2010, GNI est là pour faire valoir le pouvoir guérisseur du pardon et donner de la force aux personnes et aux collectivités grâce à un investissement ciblé dans la jeunesse où on crée une tribune destinée aux jeunes, autochtones ou non, de l'Ontario et du Québec et où on cultive les relations avec ces jeunes.

Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts – Indian Residential Schools Survivors Society « Advocacy and Public Information Program »

Responsable : Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society
Lieu : Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Créée en 1995 à titre de sous-comité relevant du Sommet des Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique sous le titre « Provincial Residential School Project » et constituée en 2001 comme société sans but lucratif, l'Indian Residential Schools Survivor Society (IRSSS) est là pour fournir tout l'éventail des services nécessaires à tous les survivants des pensionnats en Colombie-Britannique. Le financement demandé aidera l'IRSSS à poursuivre l'exécution de son mandat consistant à tenir des ateliers d'information et de guérison à l'intention des survivants des pensionnats, des collectivités et du grand public. Elle s'intéressera tout particulièrement aux jeunes, aux survivants des générations successives et au grand public canadien et fera bien comprendre les répercussions de la vie dans les pensionnats indiens sur les collectivités autochtones.

Connaissance des délais de la CRRPI, préparation d'événements nationaux et soutien en planification successorale pour les anciens pensionnaires inuvialuits « IRSSA Deadline Awareness, National Event Preparation, and Estate Planning Support for Inuvialuit Former Students »

Responsable : Société régionale inuvialuite
Lieu : Inuvik (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

La Société régionale inuvialuite a été instituée par la Convention définitive des Inuvialuits, aussi appelée « Revendication de l'Arctique Ouest ». Le financement demandé contribuera à : fournir des services aux anciens pensionnaires inuvialuits ayant besoin d'assistance dans le cadre du Processus d'évaluation indépendant (PEI); permettre à ces derniers de participer au PEI en toute connaissance de cause et en toute sécurité; donner aux anciens pensionnaires vivant dans des collectivités éloignées l'accès à des services de planification successorale et juridique; et promouvoir la guérison et la réconciliation par les activités de la Commission de témoignage et de réconciliation du Canada.

Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts – Legacy of Hope Foundation « Advocacy and Public Information Program »

Responsable : Legacy of Hope Foundation
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)

La Legacy of Hope Foundation est une œuvre de bienfaisance nationale des Autochtones qui vise à mieux faire connaître et comprendre les séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats indiens (répercussions et effets intergénérationnels sur les membres des Premières nations, les Inuits et les Métis) et à entretenir le mouvement permanent de guérison des survivants. En 2011‑2012, la Legacy of Hope Foundation s'appuiera sur les expositions en place qui favorisent la réconciliation et racontent les expériences des survivants et des générations successives. Elle visera aussi les jeunes et leur éducation en organisant une activité à grande échelle destinée à mieux faire connaître les pensionnats partout au Canada, en permettant aux survivants de s'exprimer en classe et en mettant les jeunes en rapport avec les survivants des générations successives. Une répartition plus large des ressources mises au point par la LHF donnera aux éducateurs les outils dont ils ont besoin pour mieux sensibiliser les jeunes aux séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats et faire naître un dialogue sur la réconciliation.

Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts – Ralliement national des Métis « Advocacy and Public Information Program »

Responsable : Ralliement national des Métis
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)

Depuis 1983, le Ralliement national des Métis représente la nation métisse sur le double plan national et international. Ses grands objectifs en ce qui concerne la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens sont de susciter un mouvement d'échange d'information au sein de cette collectivité et avec ses survivants pour que s'améliore l'indemnisation des bénéficiaires métis admissibles. Cette année, le RNM mettra l'accent sur la guérison et la réconciliation des générations successives à l'aide d'une stratégie de participation et d'une campagne de sensibilisation. Il s'agira de promouvoir la guérison et la réconciliation et de mieux faire connaître l'expérience distincte des pensionnats vécue par les Métis.

Comprendre notre histoire afin de créer de meilleures bases pour un partenariat et un meilleur avenir « Understanding Our History to Create a Better Foundation for Partnership to Develop a Better Future »

Responsable : Première nation Montana
Lieu : Hobbema (Alberta)

La Première nation Montana est une des quatre (4) Premières nations à Hobbema au centre de l'Alberta. Pour cette première année à titre de partenaire du PIPDI, elle propose de contribuer au mouvement de guérison et de réconciliation en créant une tribune où les jeunes, autochtones ou non, puissent se renseigner et échanger sur les séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats. Associés aux aînés et à des historiens, les jeunes apprendront à mieux connaître les pensionnats et leurs répercussions sur les collectivités autochtones.

Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts − Conseil Mushkegowuk « Advocacy and Public Information Program – Mushkegowuk Council »

Responsable : Conseil Mushkegowuk
Lieu : Territoire Mushkegowuk (Ontario)

Depuis 1984, le Conseil Mushkegowuk assure le leadership politique des affaires et des intérêts unifiés des sept Premières nations de ce territoire et contribue au développement communautaire par ses conseils et son aide. Le financement obtenu en 2011‑2012 servira à atténuer dans la région les séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats indiens. Le Conseil Mushkegowuk fera participer les jeunes en âge de fréquenter l'école secondaire à des ateliers sur les effets intergénérationnels de l'expérience des pensionnats indiens pour favoriser la guérison ainsi que la réconciliation chez les jeunes, autochtones ou non.

Étape vers la guérison: Journée nationale de la guérison et de la réconciliation 2011‑2012 « Healing Happens: National Day of Healing and Reconciliation 2011-2012 »

Responsable : Native Counseling Services of Alberta
Lieu : Edmonton (Alberta)

Créés en 1970, les Native Counseling Services of Alberta (NESA) sont devenus un organisme de promotion de la guérison et de l'harmonie au sein de la collectivité autochtone. Depuis 2004, ils parrainent la campagne de la Journée nationale de la guérison et de la réconciliation. En 2011‑2012, ils s'appuieront sur les campagnes des dernières années et étendront le mouvement de réconciliation par des activités d'éducation et de sensibilisation où l'accent sera mis plus particulièrement sur les collectivités autochtones, non autochtones et ethniques. Leurs organisateurs ont déplacé les dates et opté pour le 11 juin, qui est la date anniversaire des excuses présentées par le premier ministre.

La condition féminine importe : cultiver la force dans la réconciliation « Gender Matters: Building Strength in Reconciliation »

Responsable : Association des femmes autochtones du Canada
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)

Depuis 1974, l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada (AFAC) travaille auprès des femmes autochtones et de leurs organismes pour mieux faire connaître les répercussions et les réalités particulières aux femmes et aux filles de la population autochtone du Canada. En 2011‑2012, l'AFAC prendra une importante mesure pour atténuer les séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats en suscitant un dialogue au sujet des répercussions intergénérationnelles sur les femmes et les filles autochtones, notamment sur celles qui ont des démêlés avec la justice, et en prêtant leur soutien aux jeunes filles par des mesures d'éducation et de guérison.

SIVUMUAPALLIANIQ IV : Forum national des jeunes « SIVUMUAPALLIANIQ IV: National Youth Forum »

Responsable : Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)

Pauktuutit est l'organisme national qui représente les Inuites au Canada. Le projet PIPDI de cette année vise à aider les Canadiens en général et les jeunes en particulier (Inuits, membres des Premières nations, Métis, non-Autochtones, nouveaux Canadiens et immigrants) à comprendre les répercussions que les pensionnats ont eues sur les Inuits et leurs collectivités, le but étant d'améliorer la compréhension des suites de l'expérience des pensionnats vécue par les Inuits. Ce projet sera réalisé en partenariat avec le Centre Terry-Fox de la jeunesse canadienne.

Prise de conscience des pensionnats indiens et guérison « Residential School Awareness and Healing »

Responsable : Première nation de Rolling River
Lieu : Erickson (Manitoba)

En 2011‑2012, les membres de la Première nation de Rolling River et l'Erickson Collegiate mèneront des activités de sensibilisation et de guérison auprès des descendants des anciens pensionnaires par l'art, la musique et le théâtre en organisant diverses manifestations d'une journée, et notamment un atelier d'autonomisation à l'intention des jeunes. Dans chacune des activités prévues, on mettra d'abord l'accent sur les répercussions immédiates et les séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats.

Le chemin devant nous : un projet de transmission orale sur la vie de Garnet Angeconeb « The Journey Forward: An Oral History Project on the Life of Garnet Angeconeb »

Responsable : Comité antiracisme de Sioux Lookout
Lieu : Sioux Lookout (Ontario)

Le Comité antiracisme de Sioux Lookout procure aux collectivités de ce secteur du nord-ouest de l'Ontario une tribune où sont cultivées les relations entre les Autochtones et les non-Autochtones. L'initiative engagera les Canadiens dans un mouvement de réconciliation grâce à un projet de transmission orale portant sur la vie de Garnet Angeconeb. Figure marquante de cette époque de l'histoire du Canada, Garnet a vécu une expérience unique − enfance, pensionnat, Convention de règlement, perspectives d'avenir − qui le prépare éminemment à faire connaître son histoire personnelle.

Proposition de participation à l'événement national de la CTR en juin 2011 « A Proposal to Participate in the TRC National Event in June 2011 »

Responsable : Tunngasuvvingat Inuit
Lieu : Ottawa (Ontario)

Tunngasuvvingat Inuit (TI) soutient depuis 1987 les Inuits qui demeurent à Ottawa. Elle exploite le Mamisarvik Healing Centre qui est un programme antitoxicomanie en résidence de huit semaines qui s'adresse directement aux Inuits. Le présent projet favorisera la guérison et la réconciliation par la distribution de guides de mieux-être à l'occasion de l'événement national qu'organise la Commission de témoignage et de réconciliation à Inuvik (T.N.‑O.).

New Tribe − édition special « New Tribe − Special Edition »

Responsable : Urban Society for Aboriginal Youth
Lieu : Calgary (Alberta)

Pendant plus d'une décennie, l'Urban Society for Aboriginal Youth (USAY) a conçu des programmes et des stratégies culturellement adaptés qui potentialisent et enrichissent la vie des jeunes Autochtones qui demeurent en région urbaine à Calgary. En 2011‑2012, l'USAY invitera les jeunes à participer à une édition spéciale du magazine New Tribe où il sera entièrement question des séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats et des répercussions sur les collectivités autochtones.

Cercles de compréhension « Circles of Understanding »

Responsable : Vancouver Aboriginal Community Policing Centre Society
Lieu : Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

La Vancouver Aboriginal Community Policing Centre Society (VACPC) assure un leadership communautaire pour la promotion de relations saines, positives et transformatrices entre le service de police de cette ville et la collectivité autochtone par la promotion de programmes accessibles qui aident les gens et les collectivités. Le présent projet contribuera à la réconciliation par la mise au point d'un matériel éducatif de sensibilisation aux pensionnats et à leurs répercussions sur les collectivités autochtones.

Réseau média des jeunes SEVEN − vérité et réconciliation « SEVEN Youth Media Network − Truth and Reconciliation »

Responsable : Wawatay Native Communications Society
Lieu : Sioux Lookout (Ontario)

La Wawatay Native Communications Society (WNCS) se met au service des besoins en communications des Premières nations et de leurs collectivités sur le territoire de la nation nishnawbe-aski. En 2011‑2012, elle favorisera la guérison, la compréhension et la réconciliation en faisant participer les jeunes et les collectivités locales à la réalisation d'une série radiophonique et d'un magazine spécial sur les séquelles de la vie dans les pensionnats, notamment pour les survivants des générations successives, ainsi que sur le mouvement de réconciliation.

Date de modification :