Timeline - Indian Residential Schools

Some 150,000 Aboriginal children were removed and separated from their families and communities to attend residential schools. There were over 139 schools located in every province and territory except Newfoundland, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. While most Indian Residential Schools ceased to operate by the mid-1970s, the last federally-run school closed in the late 1990s.

March 27-30, 2014

Truth and Reconciliation Commission hosted its final national event in Edmonton, Alberta.

September 18-21, 2013

Truth and Reconciliation Commission hosted its sixth national event in Vancouver, British Columbia.

April 24-27, 2013

Truth and Reconciliation Commission hosted its fifth national event in Montreal, Quebec.

November 26, 2012

Dedication of the stained glass window commemorating the legacy of Indian Residential Schools. The window was installed directly above the west door of Centre Block where the Members of Parliament enter.

June 21-24, 2012

Truth and Reconciliation Commission hosted its fourth national event in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

January 24, 2012

Historic Crown-First Nations Gathering was held, building on the Canada-First Nations Joint Action Plan.

October 26-29, 2011

Truth and Reconciliation Commission hosted its third national event in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Minister Duncan announces that the Government of Canada will commemorate the legacy of Indian Residential Schools through a permanent installation of stained glass artwork in Centre Block on Parliament Hill.

June 28 to July 1, 2011

Truth and Reconciliation Commission hosted its second national event in Inuvik, Northwest Territories.

January 4, 2011

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada and the Truth and Reconciliation Commission jointly launched a $20 million commemoration initiative, which provided former students, their families and communities the opportunity to pay tribute to their experiences by acknowledging the impacts of the residential school system.

August 18, 2010

The Government of Canada apologizes to the Inuit families who were forcibly relocated to the High Arctic.

June 16-19, 2010

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission held its first national event in Winnipeg, Manitoba. At this event, Canada announced its intent to repeal those sections of the Indian Act that allowed for the establishment of Indian Residential Schools and the removal of children from their homes and communities.

October 15, 2009

Governor General Michaelle Jean re-launched the Truth and Reconciliation Commission in a ceremony at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.

July 1, 2009

Justice Murray Sinclair became the new Chair of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, while Chief Wilton Littlechild and Marie Wilson assumed the responsibilities of Commissioners.

June 11, 2008

The spiritual leaders of the Anglican, Presbyterian and United Churches, along with representatives of the Roman Catholic Church, the leaders of the five national Aboriginal organizations, and the other signatories of the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement were in the House of Commons to hear Prime Minister Stephen Harper offer a Statement of Apology to former students of Indian Residential Schools.

June 1, 2008

Justice Harry Laforme was appointed Chair of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission. Claudette Dumont-Smith and Jane Morley were appointed as Commissioners. Justice Laforme resigned on October 20, 2008 and the remaining Commissioners resigned effective June 1, 2009.

September 19, 2007

Implementation of the IRSSA began.

The implementation of this historic agreement brings a fair and lasting resolution to the legacy of the Indian Residential Schools. Former students could now benefit from the individual and collective measures provided by the IRSSA:

  • A Common Experience Payment for all eligible former students of Indian Residential Schools
  • An Independent Assessment Process for claims of sexual or serious physical abuse
  • Measures to support healing
  • Commemoration
  • The establishment of a Truth and Reconciliation Commission

April 1, 2007

Launch of the Advocacy and public information program.

March 2007

The Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement received approval from nine courts across Canada. This launched a five month opt-out period in which former students could choose to reject the IRSSA.

May 10, 2006

The Indian Residential School Settlement Agreement was approved by all parties the Agreement. It is the largest class action settlement in Canadian history.

May 30, 2005

  • The Government of Canada appointed the Honourable Frank Iacobucci to work with legal counsel for former students, legal counsel for churches and other representatives of former students, including the Assembly of First Nations and other Aboriginal organizations, to conclude an agreement that would address not only cases of abuse but also the broader harms arising from the Indian Residential School experience.
  • Government launched an Advance payment program for eligible former Indian Residential School students who were 65 years of age or older.

November 2003

The Government of Canada launches the National Resolution Framework, which includes a litigation strategy, health supports, a Commemoration program and an Alternative Dispute Resolution process.

June 2001

Indian Residential Schools Resolution Canada was created as a separate department with the mandate to address the legacy of Indian Residential Schools and to manage and resolve claims.

1998

The Government of Canada announced Gathering Strength, Canada's Aboriginal Action Plan. The Plan included the establishment of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation and a Statement of Reconciliation.

1996

The final Report of the Royal Commission on Aboriginal Peoples was released. It recommends a public investigation into the violence and abuses at residential schools and brings the experiences of former students to national attention.

1876

The Indian Act is enacted. It contains a number of clauses that allow the federal government to establish Indian Residential Schools.

Date modified:

Jalons importants – Pensionnats indiens

Quelque 150 000 enfants autochtones ont été retirés de leurs foyers et séparés de leurs familles et de leurs collectivités pour être placés dans un pensionnat. On comptait plus de 139 pensionnats répartis dans les provinces et territoires, à l'exception de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Bien que la plupart des pensionnats aient cessé d'exister vers le milieu des années 1970, le dernier pensionnat dirigé par le gouvernement fédéral a fermé ses portes à la fin des années 1990.

27-30 mars 2014

Le septième et dernier événement national de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation s'est déroulé à Edmonton, en Alberta.

18-21 septembre 2013

La Commission de vérité et réconciliation a tenu son sixième événement national à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.

24-27 avril 2013

La Commission de vérité et réconciliation a organisé son cinquième événement national à Montréal, au Québec.

26 novembre 2012

L'inauguration du vitrail commémorant l'épisode des pensionnats indiens s'est déroulée au Parlement. L'œuvre a été installée tout juste au-dessus de la porte ouest de l'édifice du Centre, par où les députés entrent au Parlement.

21-24 juin 2012

La Commission de vérité et réconciliation a tenu son quatrième événement national à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan.

24 janvier 2012

Tenue de la Rencontre historique entre la Couronne et les Premières Nations. Elle découlait du Plan d'action conjoint Canada-Premières Nations.

26-29 octobre 2011

La Commission de vérité et réconciliation a tenu son troisième événement national à Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le ministre John Duncan a annoncé l'intention du gouvernement du Canada de commémorer en permanence l'épisode des pensionnats indiens en installant un vitrail dans l'édifice du Centre sur la Colline du Parlement.

28 juin au 1er juillet 2011

La Commission de vérité et réconciliation a organisé son deuxième événement national à Inuvik, dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

4 janvier 2011

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada et la Commission de vérité et réconciliation ont conjointement lancé une initiative de commémoration d'une valeur de 20 millions de dollars. Cette initiative donnait aux anciens élèves des pensionnats, à leurs familles et à leurs collectivités, l'occasion de faire connaître leur expérience ainsi que les répercussions du système des pensionnats indiens.

18 août 2010

Le gouvernement du Canada a présenté des excuses aux familles inuites réinstallées contre leur gré dans l'Extrême-Arctique.

16-19 juin 2010

La Commission de vérité et réconciliation a tenu son premier événement national à Winnipeg, au Manitoba. Lors de cet événement, le Canada a annoncé son intention d'abroger les articles de la Loi sur les Indiens qui permettaient l'établissement de pensionnats indiens et le retrait d'enfants de leurs foyers et de leurs collectivités.

15 octobre 2009

La gouverneure générale Michaëlle Jean a procédé à un second lancement de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation lors d'une cérémonie tenue à Rideau Hall, à Ottawa.

1er juillet 2009

Le juge Murray Sinclair a été nommé au poste de président de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation, tandis que le chef Wilton Littlechild et Marie Wilson ont été nommés commissaires.

11 juin 2008

Les chefs spirituels des Églises anglicane, presbytérienne et unie, de même que des représentants de l'Église catholique romaine, les dirigeants des cinq groupes autochtones nationaux et les autres signataires de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, sont venus entendre le premier ministre Stephen Harper lors de la Présentation des excuses aux anciens élèves des pensionnats indiens, à la Chambre des communes.

1er juin 2008

Le juge Harry Laforme a été nommé président de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation (CVR), tandis que Claudette Dumont-Smith et Jane Morley ont été nommées commissaires. Le juge Laforme a démissionné le 20 octobre 2008 et les autres commissaires ont démissionné le 1er juin 2009.

19 septembre 2007

La mise en œuvre de l'accord historique a permis une résolution juste et durable des séquelles laissées par les pensionnats indiens. Les anciens élèves ont pu bénéficier des mesures individuelles et collectives prévues dans la Convention de règlement :

1er avril 2007

Lancement du Programme d'information publique et de défense des intérêts (PIPDI).

Mars 2007

La Convention de règlement a été approuvée par neuf tribunaux du Canada. S'en est suivie une période de retrait de cinq mois, durant laquelle les anciens élèves pouvaient choisir de rejeter la Convention.

10 mai 2006

Toutes les parties ont approuvé la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens. La Convention est le plus important règlement de recours collectif de l'histoire du Canada.

30 mai 2005

Novembre 2003

Le gouvernement a mis en place un cadre de règlement national assorti d'une stratégie de traitement des litiges, de mesures de soutien en matière de santé, d'un programme de commémoration et d'un mode alternatif de règlement des conflits.

Juin 2001

Résolution des questions des pensionnats indiens Canada fut créée comme un ministère distinct dont le mandat est d'aborder les questions touchant aux séquelles des pensionnats indiens ainsi que de gérer et de résoudre les réclamations à cet égard.

1998

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la stratégie Rassembler nos forces – Le plan d'action du Canada pour les questions autochtones. Le plan d'action prévoyait la création de la Fondation autochtone de guérison et une Déclaration de réconciliation.

1996

Le rapport final de la Commission royale sur les peuples autochtones est publié. On y recommande de mener une enquête publique au sujet de la violence et de la maltraitance dans les pensionnats indiens. Le rapport a attiré l'attention du public canadien sur ces questions.

1876

La Loi sur les Indiens est promulguée. Elle comporte un certain nombre de dispositions permettant au gouvernement fédéral d'établir des pensionnats indiens.

Date de modification :