ARCHIVED - Default Prevention and Management Policy - June 2011

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Archive: This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

 

PDF Version   (327 Kb, 15 Pages)

Table of Contents

1.0 Effective Date

This policy takes effect on June 2011.




2.0 Application (Who is covered by this policy?)

This policy applies to Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) (hereafter referred to as the Department) officials managing transfer payments. This policy does not apply to funding provided under legislated self-government agreements and funding agreements resulting from federal-provincial accords.

This Policy is based on the implementation of the Policy on Transfer Payments (2008), setting out the policy framework for AANDC default prevention and management activities based on risk management and assessment to assist recipients to be proactive in addressing program and/or financial management and capacity challenges.

This policy repeals and replaces the Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) Funding Agreements: Intervention Policy dated April 1, 2007 and is issued under the authority of AANDC Chief Financial Officer (CFO).




3.0 Policy Statement (What is the policy designed to achieve?)

3.1 Objective

The objective of this policy is to:

3.2 Expected Results

The expected results are:

3.3 Defaults

A default, as specified in the funding agreement, is the occurrence of any of the following circumstances:




4.0 Context (Why this Policy matters?)

The Department recognizes the importance of continued, uninterrupted provision of programs and services for the health, safety and well-being of Aboriginal community members. This policy sets a three part approach of prevention, management, and sustainability to facilitate the effective management of defaults.

Key principles of the approach involve:

  1. Prevention:

    • Where possible, developing recipient capacity and/or funding programs targeted to capacity development for efficient and effective program and service delivery to Aboriginal community members by;
      • Supporting capacity development in Aboriginal communities in a sustainable manner;
      • Ensuring that capacity development is demand driven to meet specific needs of communities as opposed to supply driven;
      • Promoting capacity development within Aboriginal institutions and organizations to work with Aboriginal communities on their capacity gaps; and
      • Promoting community mentoring and linking communities with expertise to those with capacity gaps.
    • Recognition of community identified needs and priorities and their role in default occurrence, as well as default prevention and sustained self-management.
  2. Management:

    • assist and support Recipients, where possible, in addressing situations that could give rise to a default under a funding agreement, and where one occurs, supporting effective recipient management of the default with a flexible range of strategies that will assist Recipients address the default situation and timely recovery;
    • transparency to Aboriginal community members through disclosure of the General Assessment, Management Development Plan and/or Management Action Plan;
  3. Sustainability:

    • Identifying to recipients areas of capacity development that may enhance sustainability and reduce the occurrence of future defaults.

      These principles of Prevention, Management and Sustainability are enabled through a process where:

      • Recipients remain responsible and accountable for compliance with the terms and conditions set out in funding agreement including effective management and use of resources involved, preventing defaults, and remediating and recovering from these defaults in a timely manner when they occur;
      • AANDC provides funding to recipients in accordance with funding agreements, reviewing the recipient's accounting for the appropriate use of the funds provided, and in applying this policy and related directives as appropriate;
      • AANDC strives to develop and maintain a co-operative relationship with recipients to enhance the capacity and financial health necessary for sustainable, efficient and accountable delivery of programs and services;
      • AANDC, where possible, will strive to ensure incidents of defaults that AANDC becomes aware of are clearly communicated;
      • Use of voluntary Management Development Plans will be strongly encouraged for addressing low risk defaults;
      • AANDC, where possible, will strive to make default management progressive, flexible and implemented in a manner which allows the recipient the opportunity to remedy the default; and
      • AANDC, where appropriate, will allow default management to be, on a program specific basis to insure the action taken is reasonable, cost effective and proportionate to program risk.

Achievement of the objectives and expected results of this policy relies on an integrated approach involving effective default prevention, management and sustainability processes, specialized pools of expert resources, who the Recipient will monitor for performance, and capacity development resources available within departmental programs.




5.0 Policy Requirements (How will the policy results be achieved?)

5.1 Responsibilities (Who does what under this policy?)

As Chief Accounting Officer, the Deputy Minister is responsible for:

The Chief Financial Officer is responsible for:

The Regional Operations Senior Assistant Deputy Minister is responsible for:

Assistant Deputy Ministers are accountable to the Deputy Minister for:

Regional Directors General and Directors General are accountable to their Assistant Deputy Ministers for:

5.2 Approach

This policy will support the delivery of programs and services through a three part approach which includes:

  1. default prevention,
  2. default management, and
  3. sustainability.

Figure 1 outlines some of the tools and resources available for each approach.

A text description of this chart is available on a separate page.

5.2.1 Default Prevention

The Department, through ongoing review of information available about the recipient's management of funding and through other strategies, will, to the extent possible, assist recipients in their efforts to prevent the occurrence of circumstances that may give rise to defaults. Such assistance may include, but may not be limited to:

5.2.2 Default Management

Notwithstanding the best intentions of Recipients to prevent the occurrence of default, from time to time defaults will occur. The Directives on Default Prevention and Management and Third Party Funding Agreement Management contain details for the default management process. This process, through the use of departmental tools and resources, will support the recipient in remediating their default. The process is a continuum of default management that includes active monitoring of the situation, requiring the recipient to develop and implement a Management Action Plan to the employment of expert resources.

Subject to the terms and conditions of the funding agreement, the appropriate departmental official may take any one or more of the following actions once a default has been identified:

When deciding what measures to take, the official must, to the degree that is prudent in the circumstances:

Defaults will not automatically result in the need for formal measures.

These measures, and the processes related to them, are described in greater detail in the Directives on Default Prevention and Management, Third Party Funding Agreement Management, Financial Reporting and Reporting Management.

Defaults in reporting resulting in halted funds will be subject to the Directives on Financial Reporting and Reporting Management and the Management Control Framework that is programmed within the First Nations and Inuit Transfer Payments (FNITP) System.

The appointment of a Third Party Funding Agreement Manager would be instituted as a last resort to ensure the continued delivery of programs and services to community members.

5.2.3 Sustainability

The objectives of sustainability are to:

The Department will work within the Community Development Framework with the recipient and other partners where feasible to support capacity development and identify and appropriately apply available resources to help re-establish sustainable program and service delivery and prevent the recurrence of circumstances that may give rise to future defaults.

5.3 Tools

The following is a list of the main tools and resources that may be used to implement this policy:




6.0 Consequences (What happens when significant issues arise under this policy and directives?)

Consequences of non-compliance with this policy and its supporting directives, or of failure to take corrective actions that may be requested by the CFO, may include reporting to Senior Management, requiring additional training, changes to procedures and systems, the suspension or removal of delegated authority, disciplinary action, and other measures as appropriate.




7.0 Enquiries

For enquiries and interpretations please contact the AANDC Transfer Payments Centre of Expertise.




Appendix A: References (What other policies and directives are relevant?)




Appendix B: Definitions

Default management: the process for identifying and managing defaults of a funding agreement.

Financial assessment process: an assessment process developed by AANDC based on accepted accounting and financial standards and a holistic set of indicators and measures designed to consider the operating environment and community as a whole that assists in the determination of the financial position of the recipient.

Funding agreement: a written agreement or documentation constituting an agreement between the Government of Canada and an applicant or a recipient setting out the obligations or understandings of both with respect to one or more transfer payments.

Program: is a group of related activities that are designed and managed to meet a specific public need and are often treated as a budgetary unit. A program can be a project or a service.

Recipient: Is an individual or entity that either has been authorized to receive a transfer payment or that has received that transfer payment.

Third Party Funding Agreement Manager: a prequalified Third Party, appointed by the Department, that administers funding for services otherwise payable to the recipient and the recipient's obligations under a funding agreement, in whole or in part, and that may assist the recipient to remedy defaults under a funding agreement.

 Return to Table of Contents 





Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Politique de la prévention et gestion des manquements - Juin 2011

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Archivé: Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Les informations archivées sont fournies aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elles ne sont pas assujetties aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiées ou mises à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces informations dans un autre format, veuillez communiquez avec nous.

 

Version PDF   (334 Ko, 17 pages)

Table des matières

1.0 Date d'entrée en vigueur

La présente politique prend effet en juillet 2011.




2.0 Application (Qui est couvert par la présente politique?)

La présente politique s'applique aux gestionnaires d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) (ci-après désigné : le Ministère) qui gèrent les paiements de transfert. La présente politique ne s'applique pas au financement dispensé en vertu des ententes sur l'autonomie gouvernementale ni aux ententes de financement découlant d'accords fédéraux-provinciaux.

La présente politique est fondée sur la mise en œuvre de la Politique sur les paiements de transfert (2008), et établit pour AADNC le cadre stratégique des activités de prévention et de gestion des manquements en se fondant sur la gestion et l'évaluation des risques, de manière à aider les bénéficiaires à aborder de manière proactive les défis posés par le programme et/ou la gestion financière, ainsi que les capacités.

Publiée avec l'autorisation du dirigeant principal des finances (DPF), la présente politique abroge et remplace la Politique d'intervention sur les ententes de financement d'Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) datée du 1er avril 2007.




3.0 Énoncé de la politique (Dans quels buts la politique a-t-elle été conçue?)

3.1 Objectifs

La présente politique vise l'atteinte des buts suivants :

3.2 Résultats attendus

Les résultats attendus sont les suivants :

3.3 Manquements

Tel que précisé dans l'entente de financement, on entend par « manquement » la survenance de l'une ou l'autre des circonstances qui suivent :




4.0 Contexte (Pourquoi la présente politique est-elle importante?)

Le Ministère reconnaît l'importance de la prestation continue et ininterrompue de programmes et de services favorisant la santé, la sécurité et le bien-être des membres des collectivités autochtones. La présente politique énonce une approche en trois volets : la prévention, la gestion et le soutien pour gérer efficacement les manquements.

Voici ce qu'impliquent les principes clés de l'approche :

1. Prévention: 

2. Gestion: 

3. Continuité: 

Les principes précités de prévention, de gestion et de continuité seront mis en œuvre par le biais d'un processus au travers duquel :

La réalisation des objectifs et des résultats attendus de la présente politique repose sur une approche intégrée associant la prévention efficace des manquements, les processus de gestion et de continuité, un bassin de ressources spécialisées dont le bénéficiaire suivra de près au chapitre du rendement, et des ressources de développement des capacités disponibles au sein des programmes ministériels.




5.0 Exigences de la politique

(Comment les résultats de la politique seront-ils atteints?)

5.1 Responsabilités (Qui fait quoi en vertu de la présente politique?)

En tant que comptable en chef, le sous-ministre est responsable de :

Dirigeant principal des finances est responsable de :

Le sous-ministre adjoint principal des Opérations régionales est responsable de :

Les sous-ministres adjoints sont responsables envers le sous-ministre de :

Les directeurs généraux régionaux et les directeurs généraux sont responsables envers leurs sous-ministres adjoints de :

5.2 Approche

La présente politique appuiera la prestation de programmes et de services grâce à une approche en trois volets qui comprend :

  1. la prévention des manquements;
  2. la gestion des manquements;
  3. la continuité

La figure 1 illustre certains des outils et des ressources disponibles pour chaque approche.

Figure 1 - Approche en trois volets des manquements

Une description texte du diagramme est disponible dans un nouvel onglet.



5.2.1 Prévention des manquements

Grâce à l'examen continu de l'information qui lui est accessible au sujet de la gestion du financement par le bénéficiaire, et par l'entremise d'autres stratégies, le Ministère aidera dans la mesure du possible les bénéficiaires s'efforçant de prévenir les circonstances pouvant donner lieu à des manquements. Cette assistance peut comprendre ce qui suit, sans qu'on doive s'y limiter :

5.2.2 Gestion des manquements

Malgré les meilleures intentions des bénéficiaires en ce qui concerne la prévention des manquements, de tels défauts surviendront périodiquement. La Directive sur la prévention et gestion des manquements et la Directive sur la gestion des ententes de financement par un séquestre-administrateur contiennent les précisions applicables au processus de gestion des manquements. Par l'intermédiaire d'outils et de ressources ministériels, ce processus aidera à appuyer les bénéficiaires qui cherchent à remédier à leurs manquements. Le processus est un continuum de gestion des manquements qui comprend une surveillance active de la situation et exige que le bénéficiaire élabore et mette en œuvre un plan d'action de la direction et emploie des ressources spécialisées.

Sous réserve des modalités et conditions de l'entente de financement, le gestionnaire compétent du Ministère peut entreprendre une ou plusieurs des mesures suivantes une fois qu'un manquement a été repéré :

Le gestionnaire doit, lorsqu'il décide quelles mesures entreprendre, et dans les limites de la prudence compte tenu des circonstances :

Les manquements ne donneront pas automatiquement lieu à l'application de mesures formelles.

Ces mesures, tout comme les processus qui y sont reliés, sont décrites de façon plus détaillée dans les directives sur la prévention et gestion des manquements, la gestion d'entente de financement par un séquestre-administrateur, les rapports financiers et la gestion des rapports.

Les manquements concernant la production de rapports qui donnent lieu à l'interruption des fonds seront soumis aux directives sur les rapports financiers, la gestion des rapports et le cadre de contrôle de gestion qui sont programmées dans le système Paiements de transferts aux Premières Nations et aux Inuits (PTPNI).

La nomination d'un séquestre-administrateur de l'entente de financement ne serait mise en œuvre qu'en dernier recours, afin d'assurer la prestation continue de programmes et de services aux membres de la collectivité.

5.2.3 Continuité

Les objectifs relatifs à la continuité sont les suivants :

Le Ministère collaborera avec le bénéficiaire et avec d'autres partenaires au sein du cadre de développement communautaire, lorsque cela est possible, afin d'appuyer le développement des capacités, d'identifier les ressources disponibles et de les utiliser de manière appropriée, d'aider à rétablir la prestation continue des programmes et des services et de prévenir la récurrence de circonstances pouvant donner lieu à des manquements subséquents.

5.3 Outils

Voici une liste des principaux outils et ressources que vous pouvez utiliser pour mettre la présente politique en œuvre :




6.0 Conséquences

(Qu'arrive-t-il lorsque de sérieux problèmes surviennent dans le cadre des présentes politique et directives?)

Les conséquences du non-conformité de la présente politique et des directives qui l'appuient, ou du défaut de prendre les mesures correctives exigées par le dirigeant principal des finances, peuvent comprendre ce qui suit : faire rapport à la haute direction, exiger une formation supplémentaire, apporter des changements aux procédures et aux systèmes, suspendre ou retirer le pouvoir délégué, appliquer des mesures disciplinaires et d'autres mesures appropriées.




7.0 Demandes de renseignements

Pour toute demande de renseignements ou toute question concernant l'interprétation, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre d'expertise des paiements de transfert d'AADNC.




Appendice A : Références

(Quelles sont les autres politiques et directives pertinentes?)




Appendice B : Définitions

Bénéficiaire : particulier ou entité ayant reçu l'autorisation d'obtenir un paiement de transfert ou qui a reçu un paiement de transfert.

Entente de financement : entente ou documentation écrite constituant un accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et un demandeur ou un bénéficiaire, qui définit les obligations ou ententes des deux parties en ce qui concerne un ou plusieurs paiements de transfert.

Gestion du manquement : processus servant à repérer et à gérer les manquements à une entente de financement.

Processus d'évaluation financière : un processus d'évaluation élaboré par AADNC, fondé sur des normes comptables et financières et sur un ensemble holistique d'indicateurs et de mesures conçus pour tenir compte de l'environnement opérationnel et de la collectivité dans leur ensemble, et qui aide à déterminer la situation financière du bénéficiaire.

Programme : groupe d'activités connexes qui sont conçues et gérées pour répondre à des besoins publics précis et qui sont souvent traitées en tant qu'unité budgétaire. Un programme peut être un projet ou un service.

Séquestre-administrateur de l'entente de financement (SAEF) : tierce partie préalablement qualifiée, nommée par le Ministère, qui administre le financement destiné aux services qui serait autrement payable au bénéficiaire ainsi que les obligations du bénéficiaire en vertu d'une entente de financement, en tout ou en partie, et qui peut aider le bénéficiaire à remédier aux manquements dans le cadre d'une entente de financement.

Retournez à la table des matières 





Date de modification :