ARCHIVED - Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS)

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview

The development of a research station in Canada's high Arctic was announced in the 2007 Speech from the Throne. Budget 2009 provided $2 million over two years for a comprehensive feasibility study developed with broad stakeholder engagement to define the scope and scale of the new Canadian High Arctic Research Station (CHARS). Budget 2010 allotted $18 million over four years to translate that feasibility study into the design for the Station. The design phase will include continued consultation and engagement with stakeholders to inform the development of the Station.

Process

During the design phase, AANDC will continue stakeholder engagement through advisory committees and/or technical working groups as well as ongoing input from academic, Aboriginal, territorial, and industry stakeholders.

Additionally, AANDC will engage the host community, Cambridge Bay, and the Nunavut Government on issues specific to the location of the Station including opportunities for integrating the Station into the community layout, land availability, potential partnerships, and labour force availability.

Status

Ongoing

What information is available?

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique (SRCEA)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu

La création de la Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique a été annoncée dans le discours du Trône de 2007. Le budget de 2009 réservait deux millions de dollars sur deux ans pour mener une étude de faisabilité exhaustive nécessitant la participation de nombreux intervenants afin de définir la portée et l'étendue de la nouvelle Station de recherche du Canada dans l'Extrême-Arctique. Dans le budget de 2010, on prévoyait 18 millions de dollars sur quatre ans pour convertir l'étude de faisabilité en un concept pour la Station. Tout au long de l'étape de la conception, on continuera de consulter et de mobiliser les intervenants afin de guider la mise sur pied de la Station.

Processus

Pendant l'étape de la conception, AADNC continuera de faire participer les intervenants dans le cadre de comités consultatifs ou de groupes de travail techniques en plus de recueillir les avis des intervenants universitaires, autochtones, territoriaux et de l'industrie.

De plus, AADNC discutera avec la collectivité hôte, Cambridge Bay, et le gouvernement du Nunavut des questions directement liées à l'emplacement de la Station, y compris les possibilités d'intégrer la Station dans l'aménagement communautaire, la disponibilité des terres, les partenariats possibles et les travailleurs disponibles.

État

En cours

Renseignements disponibles

Date de modification :