Fire protection in First Nation communities

Find out more about how fire protection on-reserve is funded, and learn more about the #BeFireSafe campaign.

Choose a topic:

Wildfires in First Nation communities

Wildfires are a natural hazard that can put First Nation communities at risk. Wildfire response services are led by provincial and territorial emergency management organizations. To find out what to do before or during a wildfire, or to see the current wildfire risk in your region, visit Wildfires.

Indigenous Services Canada annually budgets $16.5 million in funding for wildfire management services and provides funding to support First Nations wildfire prevention and mitigation activities across the country. To learn more, visit Emergency Management Assistance Program: Funded projects.

Funding for fire protection

Fire protection is the way a community responds once a fire has started. Fire protection services include:

On reserves, fire protection is managed by the First Nation band council. Indigenous Services Canada provides funding for fire protection every year as part of the First Nation's core capital funding.

The level of funding each First Nation receives for fire protection is determined through a regionally-based formula. It looks at several factors, including the number of buildings on the reserve, population, local environment and how close the reserve is to other communities. Between 2008 and 2017, the department provided an average of nearly $29 million annually for fire protection services. This included $4.9 million for fire protection services training.

First Nation band councils can use these funds to run their own fire departments or to contract fire protection services from nearby communities. If a First Nation decides to contract with a nearby community, it is the responsibility of the First Nation to manage that agreement. First Nations that contract with local municipalities may also have access to 9-1-1 services.

First Nations may choose to use fire protection funding on other priorities. The amount of funding each First Nation plans to spend on fire protection is outlined in its annual First Nations Infrastructure Investment Plan.

First Nation communities that receive annual capital funding from Indigenous Services Canada for on-reserve housing may also use those funds for housing insurance.

Since 2007, the department has provided approximately $220,000 per year to the Aboriginal Firefighters Association of Canada (AFAC) to organize a number of awareness and training events, including the National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition and the National Fire Safety Multimedia and Poster Contest for children.

#BeFireSafe education campaign

#BeFireSafe is a national year-round campaign created by the Government of Canada and AFAC. #BeFireSafe highlights the importance of fire prevention all year, both inside and outside the home, and outlines a series of seasonal fire prevention and safety tips. The goal of #BeFireSafe is to reduce the number of injuries, damages and deaths related to fire by raising awareness and promoting education.

Find out more at #BeFireSafe.

Joint First Nations Fire Protection Strategy

In April 2016, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (now Indigenous Services Canada) and AFAC announced an updated five-year Joint First Nations Fire Protection Strategy with an emphasis on increased collaboration between the department and AFAC.

Although the 2010-2015 First Nations Fire Protection Strategy made progress in reducing fire related risks, both the department and AFAC recognized a need to have a more focused approach for:

AFAC meets with Indigenous Services Canada twice each year, in February and August, to review progress and plan collaborative activities.

For more details, see the 2016-2021 Joint First Nations Fire Protection Strategy.

National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition

Sponsored by Indigenous Services Canada and organized by AFAC, the National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition is an annual event aimed at celebrating and training Aboriginal firefighters.

Each summer there is a series of regional competitions, where teams of firefighters from First Nation communities across Canada have a chance to qualify for the national competition. Qualifying teams are chosen from British Columbia, Alberta, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Quebec, Nunavut and the Atlantic region to demonstrate their skills and abilities at the national competition.

At the national competition, teams compete in a series of challenges ranging from rolling hoses, fast coupling drills, and replacing a burst length. Throughout the competition, participants also attend training sessions to improve their skills.

The National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition is a chance to showcase new firefighting techniques and technologies, exchange best practices between communities, and increase awareness about fire prevention.

Find out more about the 2017 National Aboriginal Firefighters Competition.

National Fire Safety Multimedia and Poster contest

The National Fire Safety Multimedia and Poster Contest is an annual event sponsored by Indigenous Services Canada and coordinated by AFAC held in October of each year during Fire Prevention Week. The aim of the contest is to engage children and youth in spreading the word about fire safety through the design of posters or multi-media projects. 

Find out more about the 2017-2018 National Fire Safety Multimedia and Poster contest.

Date modified:

La protection contre les incendies dans les communautés des Premières Nations

Apprenez-en davantage sur le financement de la protection contre les incendies dans les réserves ainsi que la campagne #GareAuFeu.

Choisir un sujet :

Les feux de végétation dans les communautés des Premières Nations

Les feux de végétation dans les communautés des Premières Nations sont un danger naturel qui pose des risques pour les communautés des Premières Nations. Les services d'intervention en cas d'incendie relèvent des organisations de gestion des urgences provinciales et territoriales. Pour savoir quoi faire en cas de feu de végétation ou pour connaître le niveau de risque dans votre région, visitez la page Feux de friches

Services aux Autochtones Canada consacre 16,5 millions de dollars aux services de gestion des feux de végétation et offre un soutien en matière de prévention et d'atténuation aux Premières Nations de tout le pays. Pour en savoir davantage, visitez la page Programme d'aide à la gestion des urgences : projets financés.

Financement de la sécurité incendie

La sécurité incendie est le moyen par lequel une communauté intervient lors d'un incendie. Les services offerts comprennent :

Dans les réserves, la sécurité incendie relève du conseil de bande des Premières Nations. Services aux Autochtones Canada verse des fonds à cet effet chaque année dans le cadre du financement des immobilisations de base des Premières Nations.

Le niveau de financement que touche une Première Nation pour la sécurité incendie est déterminé au moyen d'une formule régionale. Cette formule tient compte de divers facteurs, notamment le nombre de bâtiments dans la réserve, la population, l'environnement local et la proximité de la réserve avec d'autres communautés. Entre 2008 et 2017, le Ministère a versé en moyenne 29 millions de dollars par année pour les services de sécurité incendie, dont 4,9 millions de dollars pour la formation connexe.

Les conseils de bande des Premières Nations peuvent utiliser ces fonds pour assurer le fonctionnement de leur propre caserne ou pour conclure un marché de services avec les communautés voisines dans ce domaine. Si une Première Nation choisit de passer un marché avec une communauté voisine, il lui incombe de gérer cette entente. Les Premières Nations qui passent un marché avec une municipalité locale peuvent aussi avoir accès aux services du 911.

Les Premières Nations peuvent aussi affecter les fonds destinés à la sécurité incendie à d'autres priorités. Le Plan d'investissement dans l'infrastructure des Premières Nations montre les sommes que chaque Première Nation prévoit consacrer à la sécurité incendie.

Les communautés des Premières Nations qui reçoivent un financement annuel de la part de Services aux Autochtones Canada pour le logement dans les réserves peuvent utiliser les sommes afin de souscrire une police d'assurance pour les logements.

Depuis 2007, le Ministère verse environ 220 000 $ par année à l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada pour l'organisation d'activités de formation et de sensibilisation, notamment le concours national des pompiers autochtones et le concours national annuel d'affiches et de multimédia sur la sécurité incendie destiné aux enfants.

Campagne de sensibilisation #GareAuFeu

#GareAuFeu est une campagne nationale qui dure toute l'année et qui a été créée par le gouvernement du Canada et l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada. La campagne #GareAuFeu souligne l'importance de la prévention des incendies tout au long de l'année, à l'intérieur comme à l'extérieur de la maison, et présente divers conseils saisonniers visant à prévenir les feux. La campagne a pour but de réduire les blessures, les dommages et les décès liés aux incendies par la sensibilisation et l'information.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez #GareAuFeu.

Stratégie commune de protection des Premières Nations contre l'incendie

En avril 2016, Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (maintenant Services aux Autochtones Canada) et l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada ont annoncé la Stratégie commune de protection des Premières Nations contre l'incendie en insistant sur l'importance d'une collaboration accrue entre le ministère et l'association.

Bien que la Stratégie de protection des Premières Nations contre les incendies 2010-2015 ait amené certains progrès en ce qui concerne la réduction des risques liés aux incendies, tant le ministère que l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada ont reconnu la nécessité d'établir une approche plus ciblée pour :

L'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada rencontre des représentants de Services aux Autochtones Canada deux fois par année, en février et en août, afin de faire le bilan des progrès et de planifier des activités collaboratives.

Pour en savoir davantage, consultez la page sur la Stratégie commune de protection des Premières Nations contre l'incendie (2016-2021).

Concours national des pompiers autochtones

Appuyé par Services aux Autochtones Canada et organisé par l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada, le concours national des pompiers autochtones est un événement annuel qui vise à célébrer le travail des pompiers autochtones et à approfondir leur formation.

Chaque été, une série de compétitions régionales ont lieu. Des équipes de pompiers des Premières Nations de partout au Canada ont alors la possibilité de se qualifier pour le concours national. Des équipes de la Colombie-Britannique, de l'Alberta, du Manitoba, de Saskatchewan, de l'Ontario, du Québec, du Nunavut et des provinces de l'Atlantique peuvent alors démontrer leurs talents et leurs habiletés lors du concours national.

À l'occasion du concours national, les équipes s'affrontent dans des défis variés, par exemple, roulage de boyau d'incendie, exercices de raccordement rapide et remplacement d'un tuyau perforé. Tout au long du concours, les participants assistent aussi à des séances de formation afin de perfectionner leurs compétences.

Le concours national des pompiers autochtones représente une occasion de montrer de nouvelles techniques pour maîtriser des incendies ainsi que de nouvelles technologies, d'échanger des pratiques exemplaires entre communautés et de renforcer la sensibilisation en matière de prévention des incendies.

Apprenez-en davantage sur le concours national des pompiers autochtones de 2017 (site Web non disponible en français).

Concours national annuel d'affiches et de multimédia sur la sécurité incendie

Le concours national annuel d'affiches et de multimédia sur la sécurité incendie est un événement annuel soutenu par Services aux Autochtones Canada et organisé par l'Association des pompiers autochtones du Canada en octobre de chaque année, parallèlement à la Semaine de la prévention des incendies. Ce concours vise à inciter les enfants et les adolescents à parler de la sécurité incendie au moyen d'affiches ou de projets multimédias. 

Apprenez-en davantage sur le concours national annuel d'affiches et de multimédia sur la sécurité incendie de 2017-2018 (site Web non disponible en français).

Date de modification :