ARCHIVED - Engagement Sessions on Changes to the Indian Act affecting Indian Registration and Band Membership (McIvor v. Canada)

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview

From August to November 2009, AANDC held engagement sessions on Canada's proposed approach regarding a legislative amendment to the Indian Act affecting Indian Registration and Band membership.

These sessions were part of the Government's response to ruling by the Court of Appeal for British Columbia (April 2009) in the case of McIvor v. Canada that the Indian Act discriminates between men and women in regard to registration as an Indian. As a result, the Act had to be amended.

Process

Twelve engagement sessions were held across Canada with representatives from Aboriginal organizations, Aboriginal women's groups, and regional organizations. AANDC also held three co-sponsored national sessions with the Congress of Aboriginal Peoples, Native Women's Association of Canada and the National Association Friendship Centres. Canadians were also invited to submit written comments, resulting in over 150 written submissions.

AANDC officials reviewed the input from each session, as well as all written submissions when drafting the resulting legislation, the Gender Equity in Indian Registration Act.

Status

Completed

What information is available?

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Séances de participation sur les modifications à la Loi sur les Indiens touchant l'inscription des Indiens et l'appartenance à une bande (McIvor c. Canada)

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu

D'août à novembre 2009, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) a tenu des séances de participation sur l'approche proposée par le Canada quant à la modification des dispositions de la Loi sur les Indiens touchant l'inscription des Indiens et l'appartenance à une bande.

Ces séances faisaient partie de la réponse du gouvernement à la décision de la Cour d'appel de la Colombie-Britannique (avril 2009) dans l'affaire McIvor c. Canada. La Cour a conclu que la Loi sur les Indiens traitait les hommes et les femmes différemment pour ce qui est de l'inscription à titre d'Indien. Il a donc fallu modifier la Loi.

Processus

Douze séances de participation ont eu lieu dans tout le Canada auprès de représentants d'organisations autochtones, de groupes de femmes autochtones et d'organisations régionales. AADNC a également tenu trois séances nationales coparrainées avec le Congrès des peuples autochtones, l'Association des femmes autochtones du Canada et l'Association nationale des centres d'amitié. Les Canadiens étaient aussi invités à soumettre leurs commentaires par écrit. Plus de 150 présentations écrites ont été reçues.

Les représentants d'AADNC ont étudié les commentaires reçus lors de chaque séance ainsi que les présentations écrites et en ont tenu compte lors de l'élaboration de la Loi sur l'équité entre les sexes relativement à l'inscription au registre des Indiens.

État d'avancement

Terminé

Renseignements disponibles :

Date de modification :