ARCHIVED - Engagement Sessions on the Division of Matrimonial Real Property on Reserves

Archived information

This Web page has been archived on the Web. Archived information is provided for reference, research or record keeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Overview

Between October 2006 and January 2007, Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada, the Assembly of First Nations and the Native Women's Association of Canada worked in partnership to conduct a national consultation process on the issue of matrimonial real property on reserves.

Matrimonial real property generally refers to assets owned by one or both spouses, such as a house and the land on which it sits. Due to a legislative gap, First Nations people living on reserves have lacked the matrimonial real property rights and protections other Canadians have during a relationship, or when a relationship ends due to separation, divorce or death.

Process

Dialogue and engagement sessions were held with First Nation individuals and leaders, Aboriginal women's organizations, other interested organizations and representatives from the provinces and territories. AANDC's special Ministerial Representative (Wendy Grant John) also held sessions with key stakeholders to help build consensus on solutions.

A final report by the Ministerial Representative includes findings from the consultations and recommendations for action. This report helped shape the proposed legislation called the Family Homes on Reserves and Matrimonial Interests or Rights Act.

Status

Completed

What information is available?

 

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Séances de participation sur la division des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves

Renseignements archivés

Cette page a été archivée dans le Web. Les renseignements archivés sont fournis aux fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Ils ne sont pas assujettis aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et n'ont pas été modifiés ou mis à jour depuis leur archivage. Pour obtenir ces renseignements sous une autre forme, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Aperçu

Entre octobre 2006 et janvier 2007, Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), l’Assemblée des Premières Nations et l’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada ont collaboré afin de mener un processus national de consultation sur la question des biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dans les réserves.

Les biens immobiliers matrimoniaux désignent généralement les biens détenus par l'un des époux ou les deux, par exemple une maison et le terrain sur lequel elle est érigée. En raison d’un vide législatif, les membres des Premières nations qui vivent dans une réserve ne bénéficiaient pas des droits et des protections en matière de biens immobiliers matrimoniaux dont bénéficient les autres Canadiens pendant une relation ou après une séparation, un divorce ou un décès.

Processus

Des discussions et des séances de participation ont eu lieu avec les membres et les dirigeants des Premières nations, les représentants des organisations de femmes autochtones et d’autres organisations concernées ainsi que les représentants des provinces et des territoires. La représentante spéciale d’AADNC, Wendy Grant John, a aussi tenu des séances avec les intervenants clés afin d’arriver à un consensus quant aux solutions à appliquer.

Le rapport définitif de la représentante ministérielle contient les conclusions des consultations ainsi que des recommandations quant aux mesures à prendre. Le contenu du rapport a servi à l’élaboration de la proposition législative intitulée Loi sur les foyers familiaux situés dans les réserves et les droits ou intérêts matrimoniaux.

État d’avancement

Terminé

Renseignements disponibles

Date de modification :