Frequently Asked Questions

Q.1 What does « Aboriginal » mean?

A.1. The word "Aboriginal" refers to the peoples who first lived in an area before European explorers first arrived at that place. In what we now call Canada, there are three different Aboriginal groups who lived here long before this country was formed: Inuit, First Nations and Métis.

Q.2 What is the difference between First Nations, Inuit and Métis in Canada?

A.2. While there are many differences between First Nations, Métis and Inuit, these names refer to the three main groups of peoples who are the traditional inhabitants of this land.

First Nations are those peoples who historically lived in North America, from the Atlantic to the Pacific, below the Arctic. Inuit historically lived along the coastal edge and on the islands of Canada’s far north. The Métis descend from the historical joining of First Nations members and Europeans.

It is important to remember that First Nations, Inuit and Métis each have their own culture, based largely on the environment they traditionally inhabited.

Q.3 What does « culture » mean?

A.3. The word "culture" means a way of life or way of living. Culture includes the food a group of people eats, the language they speak and their beliefs about the world around them. Canada has been home to many rich and beautiful cultures for thousands of years.

Q.4 Do all Aboriginal groups in Canada speak the same language?

A.4. No. There are more than 50 Aboriginal languages that have been spoken in Canada for centuries! Some of these languages have common roots, so they can be understood by several different Aboriginal groups. For example, Michif, the language spoken by many Métis, is mostly a mixture of French and Cree (as well as English, Ojibwe and Assiniboine) that dates back to the late 1700s.

Q.5 Where do these Aboriginal groups live now?

A.5. When Canada was first being formed the British government signed treaties with many First Nations to settle the land. These treaties set aside areas of land, called reserves, for First Nations. Many First Nations members, as well as Métis, still live on reserves today, but every year more and more individuals move off these reserves to live in cities and towns across Canada.

Most Inuit in Canada live in the country’s youngest territory, Nunavut, but many individuals have also moved south to cities and towns in other provinces. Did you know that Nunavut means "our land" in Inuktitut, the language spoken by Inuit?

Q.6 What does the Department of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development do?

A.6. Our Department, which is more commonly known as Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC), is one of many departments within the federal government that are responsible for maintaining Canada’s special relationship with Aboriginal peoples in this country, as well as Canadians who live in the North. We work with our many different partners in communities across Canada to build a future in which First Nations, Inuit, Métis and northern communities are healthy, safe, self-sufficient and prosperous places in which to live.

Foire aux questions

Q.1 Que signifie « Autochtone »?

A.1. Le mot « Autochtone » désigne les gens qui vivaient à l'origine dans une région avant que les explorateurs européens s'installent pour la première fois à cet endroit. Avant la création du pays, trois différents groupes d'Autochtones vivaient depuis longtemps sur le territoire qu'on appelle maintenant le Canada : les Inuit, les Premières Nations et les Métis.

Q.2 Quelle est la différence entre les membres des Premières Nations, les Inuit et les Métis au Canada?

A.2. Bien que de nombreuses différences existent entre les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuit, on utilise ces noms pour parler des trois principaux groupes de résidants traditionnels de ces terres.

Les Premières Nations sont des peuples qui, historiquement, vivaient en Amérique du Nord, de l'Atlantique au Pacifique, au sud de l'Arctique. Les Inuit vivaient historiquement le long de la côte et sur les îles du Grand Nord canadien. Les Métis sont les descendants de membres des Premières Nations et d'Européens qui se sont unis il y a très longtemps.

Il est important de se rappeler que les Inuit, les Métis et les Premières Nations ont chacun leur propre culture basée en grande partie sur l'environnent où ils habitaient traditionnellement.

Q.3 Que signifie « culture »?

A.3. Le mot « culture » désigne un mode de vie. La culture comprend la nourriture qu'un groupe mange, la langue qu'il parle et ses croyances sur le mode qui l'entoure. On retrouve au Canada de nombreuses cultures riches et belles qui existent depuis des milliers d'années.

Q.4 Est-ce que tous les Autochtones au Canada parlent la même langue?

A.4. Non. Plus de 50 langues autochtones ont été parlées au Canada au fil des siècles! Certaines de ces langues ont des racines communes, alors plusieurs groupes autochtones différents peuvent les comprendre. Par exemple, le michif, que parlent de nombreux Métis, consiste principalement en un mélange de français et de cri (ainsi que d'anglais, d'ojibwa et d‘assiniboine) et remonte à la fin des années 1700.

Q.5 Où vivent maintenant les Autochtones?

A.5. Au début de la création du Canada, le gouvernement britannique a signé des traités avec de nombreuses Premières Nations pour coloniser les terres. Ces traités mettaient de côté des zones de terres, appelées réserves, pour l'utilisation des Premières Nations. Beaucoup de membres des Premières Nations, de même que des Métis, vivent encore dans les réserves de nos jours, mais de plus en plus de personnes quittent chaque année les réserves pour vivre dans les villes et les villages partout au Canada.

La majorité des Inuit au Canada vit dans le plus jeune territoire du pays, le Nunavut, mais il y a en aussi beaucoup qui ont déménagé dans le sud et qui habitent dans les villes et les villages dans d'autres provinces. Saviez-vous que Nunavut signifie « notre terre » en inuktitut, la langue parlée par les Inuit?

Q.6 Que fait le ministère des Affaires autochtones et du Nord canadien?

A.6. Notre ministère, qu'on appelle plus fréquemment Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC), est un des nombreux ministères du gouvernement fédéral responsables de maintenir la relation spéciale qu'entretient le Canada avec les Autochtones du pays, ainsi qu'avec les Canadiens qui vivent dans le Nord. Nous travaillons avec de nombreux partenaires distincts dans les collectivités partout au Canada pour bâtir un avenir dans lequel les collectivités des Premières Nations, des Inuit, des Métis et du Nord sont saines, sécuritaires, autonomes et prospères.