Benefits Plan

Background

A Benefits Plan is a statutory requirement under the Canada Oil and Gas Operations Act (COGOA). An operator engaged in the exploration and drilling for and the production and transportation of oil and gas in the Northwest Territories, Nunavut and the Arctic offshore areas is required to submit a Benefits Plan to the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada for approval.

In section 5.2 of the Act a Benefits Plan is defined as

a plan for the employment of Canadians and for providing Canadian manufacturers, consultants, contractors and service companies with a full and fair opportunity to participate on a competitive basis in the supply of goods and services used in any proposed work or activity referred to in the benefits plan.

Overview

A Benefits Plan represents a documented commitment by an operator to provide employment to Canadians and full and fair opportunity to Canadian businesses.

A Benefits Plan should include a detailed description of the proposed project as well as the major components, activities and milestones of the project, supporting maps, tables and figures, expected timeframes and finish date.

A Benefits Plan may vary in comprehensiveness and complexity depending on the scale and scope of the proposed oil or gas work or activity.

An operator is encouraged to notify and submit a Benefits Plan to the Department well in advance of the anticipated start date of a proposed oil and gas work or activity to allow the Department a sufficient period of time for review of the Benefits Plan.

Guidelines

To assist an operator to develop a Benefits Plan, the Department has established the Benefits Plan Guidelines for the North. The Guidelines are intended to streamline the administrative process as well as offer greater clarity on what a company should consider during the development of and reporting on a Benefits Plan.

Contact

For more information about the requirements for Benefits Plan and/or about the Benefits Plan Guidelines for the North, please contact us.

Date modified:

Plan de retombées

Contexte

Selon la Loi sur les opérations pétrolières au Canada le plan de retombées économiques constitue une obligation réglementaire. Un exploitant qui participe à la recherche, notamment par forage, à la production et au transport du pétrole et du gaz dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest, le Nunavut et les zones extracôtières de l'Arctique doit soumettre un plan de retombées économiques au ministre des Affaires autochtones et du développement du Nord canadien aux fins d'approbation.

En vertu de l'article 5.2 de la Loi, le plan de retombées économiques est :

le plan prévoyant l'embauche de Canadiens et offrant aux fabricants, conseillers, entrepreneurs et sociétés de services canadiens la juste possibilité de participer, compte tenu de leur compétitivité, à la fourniture de biens et services dans l'exercice d'activités.

Aperçu

Un plan de retombées économiques est le document par lequel un exploitant s'engage à donner de l'emploi à des Canadiens, et à offrir aux entreprises canadiennes une juste possibilité de participation.

Les plans doivent comprendre une description détaillée du projet proposé, rédigée en termes simples. Ils doivent présenter les principales composantes, activités et étapes du projet, appuyées par des cartes géographiques, des tableaux et des figures ainsi que les échéances et la date d'achèvement prévues.

L'étendue et la complexité d'un plan de retombées économiques peuvent varier en fonction de l'ampleur et de la portée des activités ou des travaux proposés liés au pétrole ou au gaz.

On encourage les exploitants à informer et de communiquer au Ministère un plan de retombées économiques bien avant la date de démarrage prévue pour l'activité pétrolière ou gazière proposée, afin de laisser un délai suffisant pour procéder à un examen du plan de retombées.

Lignes directrices

Afin d'aider les exploitants à créer un plan, le Ministère a mis en place les Lignes directrices des plans de retombées dans le Nord. Celles ci énoncent les attentes du Ministère envers les exploitants quant à la création d'un plan de retombées économiques et à la présentation de rapports à cet effet.

Renseignements

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur l'obligation de concevoir un plans de retombées économiques ou sur les exigences en matière de retombées économiques dans le Nord découlant des nouveaux programmes de prospection, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Date de modification :