Aboriginal Lands and Economic Development

AANDC is working to respond to new and changing economic conditions—and the unique needs of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit people in Canada—so Aboriginal people and communities can participate more fully in Canada's economy.

As part of these efforts, the Department looked at its economic development programs to see how they could be improved and simplified to benefit more Aboriginal people. AANDC also held engagement sessions with Aboriginal groups across Canada to seek their views on how the Department could improve its lands, communities, and other economic development activities.

As a result, AANDC's economic development programs will be streamlined into five overarching programs effective April 1, 2014, without any changes to funding formulas. Application and reporting requirements have also been simplified for recipients.

These two main economic development programs are:

  • Community Opportunity Readiness, which addresses the financial needs of Aboriginal communities seeking to establish the conditions for economic development to take place. The program is a consolidation of the former community economic opportunities program, the major projects investment fund, and the community-based components of the Aboriginal business development program.
  • Lands and Economic Development Services, which helps Aboriginal communities build and manage a solid land base for economic development activities, including capacity and expertise for such management. The program is a consolidation of the former community economic development program, reserve land and environment management program, community support services program, land and environment action fund, and commercial leasing.

The Department will also continue to make available to First Nations communities several legislative options to help them activate commercial projects on reserve lands. For example, through the First Nations Land Management Regime the administration of land from the Department can be transferred to a participating First Nation so they may develop their own land codes to govern an economic development activity on these lands. The First Nations Commercial and Industrial Development Act may also be used by First Nation communities who want to create a system for the registration of reserve lands so they can capitalize on a major real estate opportunity. The First Nations Fiscal Management Act helps First Nations participate more fully in the Canadian economy, builds stronger business environments, and meets local needs.

AANDC will continue to look for ways to improve its programs as economic conditions change and the needs of Aboriginal people continue to evolve. This is consistent with the vision of the Federal Framework for Aboriginal Economic Development: to work together to ensure that Aboriginal people enjoy the same opportunities for employment, income, and wealth creation as other Canadians.

The Department will also test new ideas and programs. For example, AANDC recently piloted the joint First Nation-Municipal community economic development initiative to improve the economic prosperity of participating municipalities and adjacent First Nations by examining opportunities for economic development and land use planning.

Terres et développement économique des Autochtones

AADNC s'efforce de tenir compte des conditions économiques nouvelles et en évolution – ainsi que des besoins uniques des Canadiens des Premières Nations, d'origine métisse ou d'origine inuite – afin que les Autochtones et les collectivités autochtones puissent participer plus activement à l'économie canadienne.

Dans le cadre de cette démarche, le Ministère a examiné ses programmes de développement économique pour déterminer la façon dont ils pourraient être améliorés et simplifiés pour profiter davantage aux Autochtones. AADNC a également tenu des séances de participation avec des groupes autochtones de partout au Canada pour connaître leurs points de vue sur la façon dont le Ministère pourrait améliorer la gestion de leurs terres, le développement des collectivités et d'autres activités de développement économique.

Par conséquent, à compter du 1er avril 2014, les programmes de développement économique d'AADNC seront réorganisés en cinq programmes généraux, mais aucun changement ne sera apporté aux modes de financement. Les exigences relatives à la présentation des demandes et à la production de rapports ont également été simplifiées pour les bénéficiaires.

Ces deux programmes principaux de développement économique sont :

Le Ministère continuera aussi d'offrir plusieurs options législatives aux collectivités des Premières Nations pour les aider à entreprendre des projets commerciaux sur les terres de réserve. Par exemple, grâce au régime de gestion des terres des Premières Nations, la gestion des terres par le Ministère peut être transférée à une Première Nation participante afin qu'elle puisse établir ses propres codes fonciers en vue de gérer une activité de développement économique sur ces terres. Les collectivités des Premières Nations, qui souhaitent créer un système d'enregistrement des terres de réserve, peuvent aussi recourir à la Loi sur le développement commercial et industriel des premières nations afin de tirer parti d'une importante possibilité foncière. La Loi sur la gestion financière des premières nations permet aux Premières Nations de participer plus pleinement à l'économie canadienne et favorise un environnement propice aux affaires tout en répondant aux besoins locaux.

AADNC continuera de chercher des moyens d'améliorer ses programmes au fur et à mesure que les conditions économiques changent et que les besoins des communautés autochtones continuent d'évoluer. Cette démarche est cohérente avec la vision du Cadre fédéral pour le développement économique des Autochtones, qui favorise la collaboration pour s'assurer que les communautés autochtones profitent des mêmes possibilités d'emploi, de revenu et de création de la richesse que les autres Canadiens.

De plus, le Ministère évaluera les nouvelles idées et les nouveaux programmes. Par exemple, AADNC a récemment dirigé l'initiative commune de développement économique communautaire Premières Nations-municipalités visant à améliorer la prospérité économique des municipalités participantes et des Premières Nations vivant à proximité.

Date de modification :